‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Billy Nolfe

Mobile, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2001 Midnight Star is more of a bike than I coud have ever hoped for. I bought it used off the internet from a car dealership in Florida and was kind of skeptical about what I would recieve. Man was I thrilled with what was delivered. It was in like new condition and ran like a dream. All my friends love the way that it looks, sounds, and rides. The Harley riders still put it down because it is a Yamaha but end up being quiet after I blow by them on the interstate. Yamaha has out done the competition in the cruiser class when they introduced the Roadstar line of motorcycles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hughey

Covina, California

Reviewed on 2005-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned and ridden everything from a 50cc ATC to an Electra Glide. Overall, the Road Star is my all time favorite. I love the power, sound and handling. It's an exceptional machine. I am VERY pleased with my Midnight. The reason for the four-star comfort rating is highly personal -- being 6'4" doesn't put me in the "fit most people" category. I purchased the bike in July '05; at the time, it had just over 2k miles. Today, (November '05) it has well over 12,000 miles. Needless to say, this baby doesn't get much time to rest. It is ridden virtually every day with NO major problems or concerns. I love it, my wife loves it, my buds are envious. I especially enjoy riding with those who have Harleys --- for several reasons: My bike is ALWAYS ready to go; we can run off and leave just about all of them; my YamaHog runs smoother and gets better MPG; we have more money for nicer rooms and better food ;-). When shopping for a motorcycle, I found a Harley which was smaller, was 5 years OLDER yet was selling for twice the price I paid for my Star (actually more than twice). My only regret is buying from the place that I did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kerry Lewis

Danvers, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased the Midnight Star for one reason. I thought it would be a great bike to customize. Well after putting $5000 into parts the bike is just about done. I've got a bike that turns heads and has about 100 HP for less than the price of a stock Fatboy.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve M

Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviewed on 2002-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
WOW!!! I thought that this bike wouldn't really compare with my XS1100 Special but it sure does! Not as quick as the Excessive One but it will definitely be much more comfortable on the long rides. Thank you YAMAHA for another acheivement in EXCELLENCE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gregg ledford

holden, Maine

Reviewed on 2002-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
if you are interested in a cruiser, you cant go wrong with the roadstar. i bought my black beauty the midnight star 6 weeks ago. i havn't had a bike for the last 10 years, i am thoroughly impressed, i just fell in love again. couldn't be more pleased or impressed a beautiful inspiring piece of iron, buy one now and enjoy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darth Vader

Vermont

Reviewed on 2001-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my new Midnight Star 6 weeks. Just had the 4000 mile service done yesterday at Roadside Marine in Vermont. I changed the stock pipes to V & H Longshots. My God, it's perfect ! Best bike I ever owned and I'll never sell it. It handles too well on these Green Mountain back roads. Get one and keep the shiny side up !
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Bragg

Eatontown, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2001-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Road Star back in March and have logged over 4000 miles on her since, both highway and backroads. My dream has always been to own a Harley cruiser but after careful consideration and comparisons not only with Harley but with most of the other major bike companies I came home with my midnight star. It's a everyday rider for me and only sits in the garage when it's raining too hard or the snow is falling and I have no complaints. My longest trip so far is a little over 400 hundred miles at an average rate of 80mph the whole way and she didn't even sneeze. If styling and performance is what you're after I highly recommend that you give this bike a long look. Just one note! I would recommend the longshots, rumbles down the road undistinguishable from the Harley and sounds great. Have fun and enjoy the freedom that only comes from riding a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck The Toolmaker

London, Ontario

Reviewed on 2001-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The midnight star has it all !! I picked up my 01 Midnight* 2weeks ago.. the best cruiser out there. I had the dealer put V&H Longshots on the beast right away, I can't get over the sound it makes ! Pure power with looks and style. If you want a great cruiser or are going from a sport bike to a cruiser.. pick up a Road* and you won't be dissapointed..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Young

Huntington Beach, California

Reviewed on 2001-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hello I bought my Midnight from Hollywood Yamaha. First of all I was not going to buy a Yamaha, I wanted the Kawi 1500. But when I went in to look at the Road Star, I was greeted by Jack the owner of the dealership. To my surprise I saw that bike and just fell in love. I mean LOVE. When i finally bought the bike I could not belive how nice this bike is. I rode a zx-7- for 3 years and i thought i would hate a cruiser but no way. I have 4 buddies that ride harleys and I have rode their fatboy's . I will tell you right now that this bike has so much more power then a Fatbot and feels and handles 100 times better. If anyone is thinking about buying a Harley or anything else do your home work and do not miss out on the roadstar. And if you live in California PLEASE GO SEE JACK//// OR ERIC AT HOLLYWOOD YAMAHA ON HIGHLAND///SOUTH OF SUNSET BLVD.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Thompson

Grass Valley, CA

Reviewed on 2001-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought, or should say, traded some vehicles for my first Harley Davidson. It sounds good but you have to wrench a lot on it just to keep it going. So, I went by the local Yamaha store to purchase a tube for the flat on my Harley, and saw the midnight star sitting in the showroom. I sat on it and knew it was my bike! Two days later it is in my garage. I can't talk enough about it! The performance and cruising on this bike is absolutely wonderful. I'm still breaking in the engine so I have to take it easy. But at any cruise speed its pure comfort and vibration free. The modern technology for the gauges and other safety features are absolutely great. The large fuel capacity is a real plus for me because I plan on taking some long rides this summer and exploring the great outdoors. What I like most of all about this big cruiser is, it is just plain good looking! The Midnight Star is by far one of the best looking bikes on the road. And I own one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: