Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-04-03 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a deal! Six years ago, I was on my way to see a Harley Softail Heritage Classic and pulled into my Yamaha dealer first. I'm glad I did. I got soooo much more bike for the money. The reliability has been the best I've ever had (been riding over 30 years). It's been ridden to VT, TN, FL and I can sit in the stock seat all day long. The stock tires lasted 20k miles! This is the best bike I ever owned.
- Bob, Burlington, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The opening title says it all. I have a '01 roadstar silverado, I purchased used. I got it for a great price and can't say enough good things about this bike. Having owned 3 harley's in the past (sportster, and 2 old shovelheads) I can honestly say I have no regrets of buying this bike. I have owned it for 3 weeks now and have put over 1500 miles on it, all pretty much weekend riding so far with an after work ride on occasion and haven't had a single problem. Only problem so far is finding the time to ride. I plan on going to sturgis this year (1800 miles one way) and I'm not trailering!!!! Bottom line is if you want a great looking, powerful, good sounding, comfortable and dependable bike look no farther than a roadstar silverado. As for sound, if you want it loud they make pipes for it... if you want it quiet keep it stock. I have to laugh after owning Harley's in the past I haven't been drowned out by a louder bike yet. So far I have set off 2 car alarm's (to my knowledge) not trying to. The looks I get are great and I love this bike. You can't go wrong with this choice, I found out the hard way thinking harley made the only bike I would ever need. So if your ego is in check by a roadstar, if you worry what the other people will think, well hang your head and buy the H-D. Just hope it's the right model or year for whomever you're wanting to impress. I on the other hand am happy as can be with my Silverado.
- Brian Leneave, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-02 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Road Star is one of the most beautiful production motorcycles I have seen. The comfort level is amazing. I like to get away from the rat race once in a while. I ride from 150 to 450 miles in one day. I have never been disappointed in the comfort and reliability of this bike. I think the windshield is a must for touring and the saddlebags are adequate for short trips. I have replaced them with larger bags, but the OEM bags were the best fit for the Road Star Style.
- Anthony Pretti, Saugus, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-12 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a black 2001 1600 Roadstarlast spring in Rochester N,H, and i put 5700 mi,s on. I think it cost about half what the Harley does; No one riding a harley has ever tryed to overtake me; I don;t know for sure why but i do know it has a wicked 4th gear I think it;s a great ride....
- Don Hislop, Gilmanton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Star two summers now,about 9,000mi. Added a set of V&H long shots,for sound and power.A K&N air filter,better air flow. And the proper jets, to pull it all together. haven't had it on a Dyno for the read out. But the performance increase, over stock, is well worth the cost. It's just short of Yamaha's stage one kit. It's plenty powerful, and really looks sharp. It's a bike that can be easily customized, and the price is right.
- Rich , Veneta, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great overall bike. The Finish is great, and at 43, the looks I get are not for me. The accessories that came with the bike are excellent, and a great value. I traded for the Royal Star back rest, which is about 4 inches higher, so my wife could ride more comfortably. After about 2300 miles I started to see a small oil leak at the bottom of one of the cylinders. When I brought it in to have them look at it, they were very surprised because they hardly have any problems. The leak is slight, and there is no dripping. I bought the extended warranty though, so it should be taken care of. The seat is not as comfortable as I would have hoped. My '77 LTD 1000 has better excelleration. But if had had to buy another bike, I would still buy this one. The power and rumble of the stock pipes is nice, yet it is nice and quiet down the road. I like hearing just the wind rushing by me ears. Yamaha did well with this one.
- Scott Rousseau, Coon Rapids, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS IS BY FAR THE NICEST BIKE I HAVE OWNED.HAVE OWNED HONDA,KAWASAKI,AND YAMAHA.YAMAHA HAS HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD WHEN THEY MADE THIS BIKE.LOOKS,STYLING,CLASS,AND HANDLING MAKE THIS THE BEST BIKE FOR THE MONEY!HAVE HAD LOTS OF PEOPLE THINK IT WAS A HARLEY WHEN THEY FIRST SAW IT,BUT THEN THEY SEE IT'S A YAMAHA AND ARE IMPRESSED.ONE GUY SAYS IT DOESN'T SOUND LIKE A HARLEY,BUT WHY PAY MORE $ FOR SOUND.I RECOMMEND THIS BIKE TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A COMFORTABLE CRUISER WITH ALL THE POWER THEY'LL EVER NEED.
- Tom Chimera, Seneca Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-03 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 Silverado about 3 years ago, when they first come out, and have had absolutly no problems. I love it, best bike ever, in 45 years of riding. I recently installed a K&N unrev limiter that allow's it to rev to 5000rpm, and in addition to my Vance and Hines Long shots, and jet kit, You can't believe the extra power it makes!Love it!
- Footpegs, Wellsville, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-15 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my 2001 Silverado for over a year now & it has never let me down in style, ride,or comfort. 2 trips to the smokies, this bike is a dream. I've added Cobra pipes,custom air filter cover,and a back rest.(Gittin' old ya know) As for the squeeky headlight I hear so much about, take the front of the headlight apart and look at the 2 adjustment screws. At the end of these is a small piece of nylon contacting the interior of the headlight housing. Put some cable lube at the little nylon pieces and wiggle around a little to get the lube between the nylon & the headlight housing. It takes very little lube to do the job. This cured my squeek & I hope it helps everyone else.
- Smokey, P'cola

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-05 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a new-to-me '01 Silverado with only 1925 miles on it. A friend has one and after he added Vance & Hines pipes, it reminded me of my Harley (a Dyna Wide Glide, which I still have). With typical H-D snobbery I viewed his bike as a wanna-be without much value on it's own. Well, my Dyna, after two years of riding has 70k miles. I thought I'd better get a second bike so the Harley will last. Now we get to the Yamaha part. I rode the bike home after my purchase and was not prepared for the power and smoothness of this ride. I looked down and I was doing 90 on the freeway. Oops! Here's my current assessment: the clutch is smoother and easier on the hand, the tranny is wider- and better-spaced, the horn sounds like a horn should, the cornering is direct and stable, and the gas mileage is awesome: between 45 and 50 mpg. On the down side, there are rattles that are a bit unnerving. And yes, the headlight squeaks. But the two-tone paint job is outrageous and seems to change from maroon to a glittering red in the sunlight. Riding two up doesn't seem to change the handling very much. Altogether a wonderful bike. Anyone have a fix for the headlight?
- Larry, Banning, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-23 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is the standard model. Not the Silverado. I took it off the showroom floor a month ago I paid 9700.00 and have spent 600.00 for a luggage rack, sissy bar, saddlebag supports and have some 240.00 saddle bags on backorder. Mine is red and black. I now have 1200 miles on it. Not one bit of trouble. I thought a 1000 miles was a long break in period but I followed it exactly. I can not park it without having people coming over and going nuts over it. My last ride was a750 Virago. The Virago is noisy at speed, there is no engine noise with this bike. Super smooth and powerful. Handles nice, like the large gas tank and the range, about 45 miles to the gallon. Love that idle, the vibes. Just right. The clock and the 2 trip odometers are a nice touch. Wish it had a flip up gas cap like my Virago. Do not like having to take the seat off to use the helmet lock and why not have a 2nd lock on the other side? Wish the choke control was on the handlebar. IT IS ONE BIG BAD BIKE !!!!! LOVE IT. Ride safe.
- Bill Knapp, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-29 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a new Silverado and it is by far the BEST bike I have ever owned. In the past I have owned Hondas and Kawies, but this is by far the best. The style is to die for. I can't count the times people have asked how old is your bike, because of the RETRO LOOK or how many have commented on how beautiful the bike is. I retired in September and this was my retirement present for myself. The torque is fantastic - the looks just great - the performance is all you could ask for. At HALF the price of a "Fat Boy" I know I got the great deal, a great bike and when people ask how I like I just say "Try and slap the SMILE off my face." Buy one you will LOVE IT!!
- David Fennell, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I know there are others like me out there trying to get as much information as possible before making a new purchase on a very expensive, but worthwhile source of fun and adventure. Hopefully, the following will be of some assistance. Let's face it, motorcycles are toys that may be argued by some as an unnecessary expense. Baah!!! I say...Baah!!! Those who oppose motorcycles simply don't understand what it feels like to cruise at 80 mph on two wheels...they don't understand the enabling sense of freedom...they just don't get it!!! Whether you've been riding for twenty years or twenty days this is the bike for you. I picked up the bike about 8 weeks ago and have put on close to 1500 miles. It may not sound like much to some, but it's been raining here for the last 3 weeks. No problems to speak of yet. This bike has awesome power. Most of my riding has been two up so I can vouch for the feeling of effortless movement. My girlfriend loves the bike...she says the pillion is very comfortable. One complaint that I have is the passenger foot pegs are too close to the pipes...too easy to melt the soles of the passengers' shoes onto the pipes. It's a minor complaint though because those ugly factory pipes need to go anyway. (I'm still waiting for my Hard Krome double D's). There is also a lot of plastic that needs to be replaced, but that's part of the fun of spending more money to customize the bike to your own taste. I am not getting engine noise that others on this web-site have complained about, but I do agree with another review that the gas mileage is not that great. It's only a little better when riding solo. I've owned bikes in the past, but this was a leap of faith purchase because no dealers in the northeast let you take test rides. I can honestly say that this was the right choice. I was close to buying a Harley...a "Fat Boy", but decided on this instead. Now it's easy to justify spending another 2 grand on chrome with the money I saved. Another minor complaint is the selection of available colors. I chose black. What's up with rootbeer and burgandy??? I want a custom paint job anyway. Overall, I couldn't be happier with the performance and looks of this tremendous machine...this "toy".
- Rango, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-10 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased a Road Star Silverado. This bike is one fine ride! I have had several people stop and give several compliments on how the bike looks. Even some of my Harley rider friends had to admit that this bike was one fine ride. I plan on changing out the pipes soon with some Vance & Hines long shots and put on a stage one jet kit. This one did it for me!!!
- Todd , Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-29 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Moved up from a 2001 V-Star Classic with maintenance problems (see its review). I am racking up the miles and everything (important) is looking good. I would buy it again. The following issues are minor but I would like to know if anyone else is also having them: A) At times front brakes get very loud and jerky. B) Pay attention to the oil level when refilling, it overfills onto the floor with the fifth quart! Just like the manual says! C) I am only getting 42MPG travelling 80-85mph in the highway :-) D) Saw a fellow 2001 Star bike disabled during bike week - oil dripping from somewhere near the carburetor. E) Suggest removing and reinstalling air filter assembly before having to do it on the road. It's a bear. F) Any tricks to easily and reliably removing the seat. Sometimes the solenoid just won't release it. It can take an eternity sometimes. G) By the way - How will the seat be removed the day the battery dies? Since you have to remove the seat to get to the battery! Anyway - Non of these items are major - yet. Ride long and be safe!
- Polo, Jacksonville, FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Maybe you should buy one and copy it! I've owned alot of street bikes(13), in the last 24 years, and ridden many more, but none have pleased me the way my new Silverado has. With my experiences, has come some personal knowledge of knowing good from bad. This bike is good. I used to judge how good a bike was by how "smooth" it was, meaning the lack of any vibration. That was before I knew there was such a thing as good vibration !! The roadstars vibrations are never annoying, rather a subtle reminder that you're riding a 1600 V-twin and not a wing. The torque is low and massive. If there was ever a reason to pull a car or something with a motorcycle, this is what you would want. The ride is smooth as glass. Handling is easy and accurate. Stock sound is a little on the dull side, but you know how to fix that yourself, right? It has come to my attention since owning my star, that most Harley riders I come in contact with, seem even more hostile than usual about my "jap" bike, which leads me to believe that I made the right choice. They must really care that I only paid half as much for my "Harly that doesn't break down". In my opinion, this is the best all-round cruiser on the market. Buy one and see for yourself.
- Rider, Dave

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-23 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kids are grown and haven't ridden for twenty five years. I chose this bike based on reviews, magazine reports, and style. I made the right choice, it rides like a dream and is very strong. My headlight does rattle as others have said, I believe I can easily fix that. The valve train noise in my bike seems to be temperature sensitive, it seems to quiet down to what I would consider a nominal level at operating temerature. Of course it's not that cold here in Phoenix so it may be more of a problem in a colder climate. As long as it's not abnormal I can easily live with it the way it is in view of its plentifull positive attributes.
- Rider, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-04 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2000 Silverado last July and just love it. I have owned 3 Harley's prior to this. I must say you can't beat this bike for power, looks and value. It handles well and sounds great, even with factory pipes. Prior to buying I test rode many including the Indian Chief. This bike out performs them all. At first I experienced a headlight squeal which drove me crazy. All that is needed is a rubber gasket around the inner headlight housing. I have not had a headlight squeal since. Test ride one todayYou'll be glad you did
- Greg Allen, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My dad owned a Harley and he had me riding it by the time I was 13. Over the years I've tried several different bikes but could never find anything like the Harley I learned to ride on---until I found the RoadStar. My wife, who was very upset about me buying this bike, is the first to suggest we go for a ride. WE BOTH ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!
- Ron Frentz, Kelowna, Btitish Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-21 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I saw this bike at the motorcycle show in Chicago last week and fell in love. I have not had the chance to ride one yet but have put a deposit down for an April delivery.(the bike is there, just holding it for better weather). Everyone has said how nice the ride is but also complained about lifter noise and rattles in the headlight. Anyone have any greavances with their machine? Please post to this site. thx
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-18 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Road Star for about a year and think it is the best bike I have ever had. I have owned seven bikes in the past ranging from a Triumph to Hondas, speedsters to sportsters and to me there in no comparrison. The sheer power of the bike is beyond comparrison, which I think made Honda and the rest get off their butts -- even Harley. It handles like the fine balanced machine it is, with a hint of roughness from the past. I've seen some of my die hard Harley friends cut their eye and casually walk over, saying "Oh, this is the Road Star". I now know what"Live to ride", really means.
- Anthony Craig, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-12 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 99 Silverado, I've had it for a year and half and I have 17000 miles on it When it had 500 miles on it, I put Vance & Hines Long Shots on it, had it tuned on the Dyno and I have done nothing else to it but ride it. This is the smoothest, best sounding, most comfortable bike I have ever owned. My wife is always very comfortable even on long trips. It handles great and it has great passing power at highway speeds, there is never a need to shift down even on hilly roads. The bike always get a lot of stares and I am constantly being told how great it looks(green &silver). I caught a lot of flack from some of my friends when I bought a Yamaha, but after we rode together, I rarely hear anything from them. I have enjoyed this bike more than any bike I have had. I have ridden Harleys for years and i have had a lot of Harleys; a 165 HUMMER, a SPRINT H, an XLCH, just to name a few of the old ones if anyone can remember those. By the way i got rid of a 97 FLSTF(fat boy) to buy this Sillverado and I have had no regrets. I recommend this bike very highly, LOOKS, CRUISER STYLING, POWER, COMFORT, SOUND, this bike has it al!!.
- Dan Harkness, Round Rock Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has truckloads of torque and is surprisingly swift for a large cruiser. Comfort is excellent (I went on a 2200 mile tour two days after I bought it without even thinking twice about it). Plenty of customizing accessories out there to individualize the bike to your taste. Really love the bike!
- John Asbury, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is more fun than this 55-year-old should have. My wife and I have been riding a Venture and though it was a great machine, this is it! The torque is fantastic; the sound is right on. I also wanted a Harley, but this has chewed at least one up. The style is classic cruiser. A few extras will only make it more of a stand out. The exhaust will be upgraded in the near future. Try it you'll like it!
- new owner, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: