Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (70)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I went from an older Sportster to this bike, deciding that I wanted to go a little faster. This bike did the trick. I acquired a 2001 YZF600R for myself for my 26th birthday and have been scraping pegs on it since. The only down side I have found is tires for it aren't cheap. If your looking at this bike for a first "crotch rocket", I would highly recommend it, great motorcycle.
- Larry, Hiwassee, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great all around bike for touring and street riding. It has amazing power and handling and the braking is superb. I took it on a 1,700 mile, 4-day trip and was very comfortable. I have been riding bikes since 1969 and this FZ-1 is the best bike by far. It is rock solid reliable, has easy maintanance and a high MPG. It's a great all-around package.
- Len, Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-17 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 50K miles on my Yamaha and it's still running like a top. I have: Sync'd the carbs twice myself, once at a shop, changed the plugs once and air filter twice. I've changed the oil (Yamalube semi-synth) every 2500-3K, the 4-chain/sprocket sets (520) and the brake pads once. This needs to be done again now. It looks brand new! I think the '01 R6 is an anomaly in motorcycle manufacturing....seriously. Hardly any service and still going strong. I don't think I will ever sell this bike. See you soon for a 675....maybe.
- David Blechinger, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-07 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello fellow riders, I have always wanted this bike since the first review I read from the european market. I got myself a great deal on a used 2001 with 13,000 and change on the clock. It came with two jackets, two helmets, extra brake pads, flush mount signals(if i want to install them) some extra fluids and some minor mods. I have spent most of my riding career on vintage sport tourers, i.e. Yamaha FJ's and XJ's, Honda V65's, a 1993 Kawasaki Concours and a 1996 Triumph Sprint. Ergonomically, my 1983 XJ 900 Seca has been the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. I also found it very fun to ride, as it was way ahead of it's time in design. The bike handled amazingly well for it's day, it cornered and stopped well and had great acceleration and torque for a 100hp bike, especially considering it was shaft drive. I was expecting a little more performance from this bike simply from the technological advances in recent years, what I wasn't expecting was the hair scorching acceration of this bike. This bike is amazing. Coming from vintage bikes to this bike was like being transported into the future via a time machine. This bike amazes me in every category. What a nimble little rocket this thing is. I am enjoying every minute on this trusty steed. The kicker is how cheap it is to maintain this bike. Over 20,000 miles before you have to pull the valve covers. Brilliant. Ride fast, but ride safe. Will
- William Hemmingway, West Bend, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-26 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike 2 years ago with 6k on it. I put about 6-8k on a year by sport, touring, commuting. The power is amazing. I can sit on it all day. My insurance is cheaper than a lot of full plastic sportbikes (which is kinda funny). I don't understand why you would want to hide that sexy motor in the first place?! My girl loves sitting on the back of this bike instead of laying on my back.
- TreadHead, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-13 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It starts the first time and is smooth in town but still has gobs of power. On a recent trip to Ocala and back I averaged 48 mpg. No oil use and still no leaks. I am waiting to see what the next 24,000 will bring.
- Gator007, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having cruisers for a many years I made it over to the sport side of things. Now I am older and do like the comfort that most cruisers offer, but after yopu make it to the dragon you can understand why I now ride a more sport touring machine. No trailer queen here! I really was looking at a ZRX but decided that a decent fairing and centerstand was well worth it. My last bike had a centerstand and it is a rather nice feature. In stock form the FZ1 is a really great bike, but add a Corbin seat and a better windscreen (Givi,ZG,etc) and you've got a bike you can really put the miles on. Great performance with great handling from the factory. If you have it hammered down, grab on to the bars tight cause you're in for a great rush. That stout tubular frame really holds things together. I really like the torque, for the most part downshifting is just optional. Can be a little buzzy, nothing major at all, and the enginge heat is noticable. I was considering a newer FZ6, but found a really great deal on an 01 with extremely low miles.
- Jim, RTP, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned 18 and have wanted a sport bike for a long time. I bought this bike about a month ago and have been riding it everywhere since then. It's my first bike and has been an excellent one to learn on. It has got plenty of punch, especially in the high RPM's. Despite this the bike is extremely comfortable and easy to ride. Very forgiving handling and excellent breaks. Great all around bike, especially for the price.
- Josiah Leis, Merino, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 YZF600R, I love it except for the 2nd gear problem over 10000 miles. Customer service wasn't much help. Searching the internet I have found that many owners of this bike have the same problem. If you are interested in this bike be aware.
- BKC, Mayfield, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike really kicks after the 4000rpm range, and takes off so hold on. Very comfortable for long rides and fast. No need to spend the extra for the R6 this thing will keep up with it if you know how to ride. Take the motorcycle safety course and you can even show newbies up on 1000s.
- michael bayliss, lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say, I'm STILL in love. It's fast, it handles, and it's comfortable. NO problems, knock on wood. Settled on Amsoil, change it ALOT more often than they say to, and Honda Red Can chain lube. The bike just gets BETTER. I've got a full fairing on it, bobbed that ugly rear fender, NOW it looks like what it is, a sport bike, only it's comfortable. Did I mention comfortable? EXACTLY what I wanted.
- R. Treamer, Grand Rapids , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my bike about a month ago in February of '04. I've already put nearly 1,000 miles on it despite the cold weather here in Michigan and I LOVE this bike. It is my first bike but after much research and after laying my eyes on one in person, I knew it was what I wanted. My dad has a Honda Shadow and we wanted to be able to ride together so I needed a comfortable bike. This bike WINS in this category... I can ride for a couple hours before I really need to get off and take a break. As far as performance, the bike packs PLENTY of punch. It's my first bike as I said before and I find the power scary at times... If you leave this bike in first gear and roll back the throttle all the way, the front tire comes off the ground at about 9,000 rpms when the power band kicks in. You can hit 100 mph in just a few seconds on this bike if you want to. The overall quality of the bike is exceptional and up to Yamaha's par. So if you're looking for a nice bike that's comfortable enough to tour on but gives you the performance of the sport-class. I highly recommend the YZF600. You know you love it when you're willing to bundle up and ride around town when it's 35 degrees outside.
- Josh Gillean, Holland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 2001 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Capable of pulling a wheelie anywhere from 15-80mph. It is possible to wheelie at higher speeds too. Once the wheel is up it's no problem reaching speeds over 100mph on 1 wheel. This bike is also capable of reaching speeds of over 175mph off of the show room floor with no modifications. If it's attention you seek the R1 is the answer. It seems everyone takes notice of my R1.
- Smithers, Burnsville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2001 R6, my 2002 R6 was stolen from me, so I decided to try some other bikes, Suzuki, Kawasaki, even tried the CBR. None of these bikes, in my opinion, do it like the R6. This bike is so unbelievable when I am not riding it I sit around and daydream about it; my wife who could care less about motorcycles loves this bike. The R6 demands respect from everybody. don't waste your time with anything else.
- Matt, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hands down Yamaha R6 is the best sportbike ever made. I just bought my 4th R6 2 days ago(everytime I sell it , I end up buying another one a couple of months after), I took a Suzuki gsxr1000 from the line all the way to the end of 2nd gear. I would never touch any other bike than an R6 (maybe Ducatti)
- Dcc, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great..... it handles great .... it keeps up with other bikes at higher speeds ..... one of the most comfortable street bikes you'll ever sit on and if u find it in the right color you'll be turning heads at every turn
- Daniel Gonzalez, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-17 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT A 2001 IN 2003 AND I've BEEN RIDING IT FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND LOVE IT. PLENTY OF POWER, ( EVEN THOUGH ITS BOTTOM OF THE BARREL FOR YAMAHA SPORTBIKES). ITS A GREAT STARTER BIKE. FIRST AND SECOND ARE A LITTLE JUMPY AND COULD BE SMOOTHER FOR AROUND TOWN RIDING BUT (NATURALLY) ITS SMOOTH ON THE HIGHWAY. GET IT IF YOUR JUST LEARNING , OTHERWISE, THE R1'S THE WAY TO GO.
- BRENNAIN, ROCKPORT, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R6 new and have had it for 2.5 years. This bike still amazes me. I still find something fun an exciting I can do with this bike. This bike will do 163mph and still has something left. Bike does need a steering dampner, got a Scotts which is great. Honda's are more comfy, suzuki's are about as fast but the R6 has best of both worlds and the 15,500 redline makes me smile every time:)
- Brandon G., Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great bike,great looks,mind blowing performance,the best bike i have ever had.i just cant stay off it.i just wish the weather in the uk was as good.
- rob johnston, newcastle upon tyne, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-28 2001 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike feels like it has UNLIMITED POWER. Even at 111mph it has plenty of power to give. If you want it just turn the trottle and it's there. 100mph is fast but what's really amazing is how quickly you get there with little effort from the bike. I still haven't seen this bike's true power because I'm still breaking in the engine. It has become a task to calm this SAVAGE BEAST. After the engine is broken in pretty well is when I will no longer try to calm the R1 down. This machine was ment to be driven very fast. The bike in not very heavy at all. It's the size of a 600 (R6) and can maneuver with incredible agility. I do notice the vibration (this seems to be common with the R1) around 5000rpm and the clutch complaints that I've read about. I think that clutch is just a Yamaha thing because I noticed that same thing with my YSR50. It doesn't bother me at all, it's just noticable. I think that the R1 is very comfortable for a sports bike, but after holding on for dear life I find that I need a break to stretch a bit. I've been on other bikes that are less confortable. I haven't ridden very many bikes, but so far the R1 is by far the best!
- Kazuya Mishima, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-09 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I just bought my 2001 R6 (the red one) 6 days ago as a totaled bike. I worked hard and fast to get it back up and running. So now it is up and running, and it is a total blast. I have never done anything this fun...Its as fun as a barrel of (insert anything you find fun here)! I dont reccomend this bike for anyone cocky, it shows u who is boss and knows what it wants...if it doesnt get what it wants, it will assert its power all over you and put you on the ground...dont be suprised if when you are on the ground the bike is standing over you and staring you down. This morning i crashed my little red wonder, i was only going about 7 mph, it slid out from under me when it hit some gravel at a stop sign. The ground ripped up my pants, but i'm ok, the clutch lever's end broke off but doenst need replacing. Now I know hoe to treat my bike, i will hug it every night before i go to sleep, because it is the greatest machine i have ever sat on, honestly, it is an incredible ride, and people always give you looks. I actually was driving in a small neighborhood at about 5 mph under the speed limit (dont know why i was going slow), and a lady walking on the sidewalk started waving at me to signal i should slow down! this bike doesnt even have to be moving fast to look fast. If you want a bike to love and hold, and one that will love you back,get an R6, I love it!!!!! -Ryan
- Ryan Lovelace, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-08 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
MY 2001 600R THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPT. OF 2002 HAS BEEN A BLAST! IT HANDLES EXTREMELY WELL AND IS VERY QUICK AT THE HIGHER RPMs. NOT ONLY DO I ENJOY RIDING IT BUT WHAT A LOOKER IT IS! THE BIKES PAINT COLOR IS BLACK AND LOWER AREA IS A SILVER GRAY WHAT A BEAUTY. THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE TO SAY AT SLOWER SPEED OR LOWER RPMs ITS A BIT SLUGGISH FOR IN TOWN DRIVING. OTHER THEN THAT.......I LOVE IT!!!!!!
- rich, PORTLAND, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 2001 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2001 YZF R1 brand new in 2001 from a local dealer. When I rode the bike home for the first time I noticed that the power delivery did not seem right for this type of bike.It felt weak and slow. At first I thought it was just that I had to get use to the bike. But I noticed 3 weeks after I had purchased the bike, all of a sudden it woke up! This thing was suddenly fast, smooth and responsive and had lots of torque especially in the 4000-5000 RPM range.It was a totally different bike. But it went back to its crapy mode about 10 miles later. I constantly does this and it is frustrating. Just to prove how low on tourque this thing can get, I can't even whillie the dam thing in 1st gear. No it is not the clutch slipping, I had that checked. I have taken it all the way up to 8000 RPM and tride to power whillie it and it just won't come up.I hate this bike because it is so inconsistent I. I have taken it back to the dealer several times and all that YAMAHA has to say is that there is nothing wrong with it. You tell me. Does this sound like an R1 to you.
- Everardo, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-08 2001 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I kept the bike basically stock except for a slip-on D&D polished aluminum muffler (the stock ones were too quiet). It's still basically brand new with only a thousand miles on the clock. The first thing I noticed when I picked this bike up from the dealer was that the transmission made a metallic "clunk" during shifts esp. going into 2nd gear. No problem with the rest of the gears (I don't even clutch from 2nd). Also, the digital trip meter goes to zero when your fuel switches to reserve...I think the warning light would have been sufficient. Everybody's complaint? Yes, there is that infamous front end shake during rapid acceleration...something that can easily be cured by a steering damper. My oil? Mobil 1 10W-30 Pure Synthetic. The clutch works fine with it, thank you. Why pay 4x more for Yamalube? Ergonomics? Trust me, it's worth the pain. Long trips? You may want to shake your wrists every 15 minutes to allow blood to circulate through your hands. Maintenance? Almost none required aside from oil changes but do check the chain for lubrication and proper tension; all those burn-outs tend to cause it to slacken a bit. Get off the highway (that's for cruisers) and check out the small country roads in the Poconos.
- MaroSpeed2000, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-28 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my YZF 6 months ago. I am 18 and this is my first bike. reviews told me that it wasn't a real begginers bike but it's really close to one. I love it It has a decent low end and a powerfull punch on the higher RPM's. I started riding it with my Dad and Uncle on typical beach road trips. and it's a beauty. My uncle has a Ducati 900 Super Sport. and I have no problem in keeping up with him. I love this ride and I shake every time I decide to take a ride. The only problems of the ride is it's extreamly quiet can which I replaced for a Yoshimura carbon fiber can. That solved the problem. luckaly I didn't have to re jet. other than that it's a wild machine with good inough power to woop some BMW ass and good enough toride easy on an a long touring trip. A GREAT BALANCE of easy riding and a trou Monster when you hit the gas. a definite BEAUTY, but Still a BEAST!
- JR Castro, San Salvador, El Salvador

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: