Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews (41)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-03-26 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had the V Star 1100 Classic now for a year and it has been a great bike. Looks good, has all the options on it and is pretty comfortable to ride. Would like a 6th gear to quiet her down a bit on the highway. And would like a different oil location, but other than those two things, this is a GREAT bike for the money.
- JS, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Star 1100 two years ago and have had a blast on this machine since. No problems, just routine maintenance and TLC is all this beefy beast requires. I recently completed a 22 state POSSE ride with the HOG group and only a handful of the Harley riders noticed my bike was not a Harley. I rode every state west of the Mississippi with them without a hitch. The Rocky Mountains were a test for me and my skills, more than they were for my V-Star. It performed well in the elevations and had plenty of power reserve to handle the inclines. I also enjoyed the superb braking and ease of handling this bike gave me on the trip because those Rocky Mountain inclines are soon followed by steep declines and curves that make a person hug the the seat. The V-Star is well balanced and has a low center of gravity making it your partner when it comes to staying up-right. I wouldn't trade this bike for any other... really. I will buy a Harley though, then of course will come the time when I will have to choose which of the two fine machines to ride that day. P.S. Those Harley owners who did notice my bike were understanding and kind and each one expressed delight that at least I was riding. It's because of the kindness of these folks and my love of riding that I will get a Harley someday. The HOG group rocks!
- Sal, Merkel, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-07 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used from an individual and then took off with my son to San Diego CA last May. I had not ridden much in the last 20 years. And with out any pre trip rides we headed out. This machine took the abuse of 100 degree temps and 12,000 feet elevation we only changed the oil in LA and spent 15 days on the road so a lot of those days were 500-mile days. Not a problem for this Bike it works like a dream the whole trip. Comfort and control are the hallmark of this bike. I look forward to many more miles of fun and memories.
- Robert Greene, Battle Ground , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After test riding many makes and models, I choose the Yamaha V-Star Classic. This was my "move-up" bike from a 2000 Honda Shadow VLX. I wanted a smoother ride with more power. I was ready to buy new but I found a used bike at a Western WA dealer in mint condition with low miles for about less than a 2003 or 2004 model. I truly enjoy this bike and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced mid-size cruiser.
- RTD, Bainbridge island, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-11 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2003 at the end of the season, once on it, I rushed to get 3000 miles on it in 45 days...I've had a few months, many miles and not a single regret. Added some bigger pipes, Hypercharger, etc...stock seats & windscreen....up and down the state, across the island,....not a moments problems...I would recommend this bike to any Cruiser interested riders.
- Stephen McNeil, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-20 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding a motorcycle about more than 10years experience. I had a 99' Honda Magna as new one, but I had to sell it because of my wife in last 4year's ago. My wife understood my good attitude to ride a bike during I was asking to her to buy a bike again, and finally she allowed me have one in last christmas season. But I had a condition to get one is that has to be under $6k ??? I like a cruiser a lot,so I purchased 2002' a brand new v star classic because right pirce range to my wife's request. (I actually wanted a bigger engine than a v star classic.) where ever I go with this bike, many people asked me how big engine size or how much I paid for it. This one absolutely has a look from people and me and ride is great and fun. When I ride between 65-75mph on highway,no shake,not weak at all. Even my wife liked it a lot,so she gave a creadit to get an accsorries even. So I cromed more on the bike and got the windshield,Vance Hines exhaust,jet kit,performance air filter,back rest,passenger floorboard,luggage bags, etc.. for all that I spent another more than $3k and now it look like a KILLER!, SO BEAUTIFUL! I have a plan in this August to go to the Lake Tahoe, about 300 mile far a way from my home and can't wait. This one is so well done to ride and look and price as one of American cruiser and I call her a "Miss America!" you've got to deserve it!
- Young Kim, Castro Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-24 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Simply put, this is the best cruiser I've ever owned and one of the best I've ever ridden regardless of price. At 6' 200# I'm no little guy and the "ol'Man" (the V-Star) and I have no trouble keeping up with the "big dogs" on rides through the White Mountains of New Hampshire or the open interstate. While the stock seat was only good enough to get the bike home, the Mustang seat that replaced it has been a true friend. Add a winshield, Cobra Slash-Cut Pipes, Hypercharger, highway light mounted on an "eye-brow bar" and Leatherlyke bags and this bike not only turns heads going down the road but also when sitting still. If you're in the market for a great cruiser, look no further, this "is" the one.
- Coolwaterbend, Franconia , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-28 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Oh I thought I would inject a little humor into one cold winter. The bike looks great under it's cover, will probably run great when I put the battery back in. Right now the snow blower is my best friend only because it's too dam cold to ride the bike.
- Me , NA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my V-star 1100 classic for 3 months and 3000 miles. I love it, plenty of power, not one problem yet. I added a windshield, bags, sissy bar, chap, cruise, and a few other things. I have no valve noise to speak of yet. I am considering the external oil filter conversion kit for quick oil change. This bikes turns heads, many ask me how I like my Harley until they see it up close. Pipes are next, then a light bar and I will be thoroughly happy. Can say enough good about it, I think its the best out there for the money.
- Paul, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-30 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife, who is a very accomplished rider who has tested just about everything out there, just purchased a 2001 V Star 1100 Classic c/w Leatherlyke hard bags. As the "maintenance man" I have had the opportunity to "test" it (hey, someone's gotta do it). Fit and finish are excellent. It runs and handles very well. Brakes are excellent. It seems like the RPM is lower at highway speeds compared to a Virago 1100 but there's no tach, so it may just be an impresssion. For a cruiser, it handles the highway speeds very well and the ability to mount the Leatherlyke hard bags is a big advantage if you want to do some touring. Personally, I will hang on to my "mint" Virago longer though, I have got used to the following features that most current cruisers don't have now; - cast wheels - tachometer - instruments up above the bars - center stand - easier oil change - gas cap hinged to the tank Having brought up these points, of the current "crop" of cruisers out there, this one is hard to beat IMHO. She is very happy with it and that's the main thing.
- GB, Fort Erie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-15 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 1000 miles and one month I am now sure that I love this bike. Can't beat the price, performance is great and it turns heads. I find the famous valve noise to be minor, what you would expect in a bike without hydraulic lifters. I would rather hear a little valve noise than nothing as I can tell exactly how the valves are doing! Do it yourself valve adjustments are easy (get the service manual for this bike - it's worth the money). The stock exhaust was too quiet for my taste. I liked the look of the stock setup so I tried a mod first before buying new pipes. It turned out perfect - nice meaty rumble without the harshness of some aftermarket pipes and for only 10 bucks. Check out pics of how to do the mod on my website at: www.hillsmarina.com then hit the motorcycle button on the left side of the page.
- T. Hill, Stonewall, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-02 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 in April,(1100 Classic), the factory floorboards were a nice feature, I added the Yamaha boulevard windscreen it looks sharp. Overall the bike is a beauty, I have put 2000 miles on it, and can say the factory seat must go, but as for the performance it is perfect. It is my first cruiser and I love it, it may not have the torque of my old Suzuki 800 but it hey its a cruiser. I highly recommend anyone looking for a loaded cruiser for FAR under even $9k go for it! The Honda Sabre was my second choice like the other reviewer, but the Yamaha was far more comfortable, even with its factory seat. Way to go Yamaha.
- Jane , Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-25 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Put 75K on a Virago and now have 7K on the vstar. Good balance and center and a comfortable enough ride. Similar problems; valve noise, oil light and poor maintenance design. Also I hit the running boards on the pavement when cornering occasionally, which will get your attention. Despite these minors . . . still have bugs in the teeth.
- Tom, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-24 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike around a year ago for my wife. The seat was low enough for her to get her feet flat on the ground after I put an 1 1/2" lowering kit on the rear. I rode the bike home from the dealer and was immediately impressed by the power at highway speed. It is actually stronger than both the Harley Deuce and Fatboy I have ridden! We've added Corbin studded solo seat, fender rake, Yamaha windshield, bags, mirrors, and lots of extra chrome assessories from Yamahas vast selection. Also Cobra pipes. This bike looks and sounds great! I've put around 2000 miles on it myself enjoying every mile. Valve noise, yes, there is some. All the 750 Hondas and 900, 1000, and 1100 Kaw's I rode back in the 60's, 70's, and 80's had the same noise, and they ran forever with no problems. If you do not like the noise, put on louder pipe like we did. If you think you have to have a gas tank that says Harley Davidson on the sides, fine. But the V-Star 1100 is just as good or better for half the money. I've ridden bikes for over 35 years and 360,000 miles. This bike is a winner!
- Barry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-29 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding all sorts of cycles over the years (and not having one for 8) I got the fever and decided to buy another one. After several months of research and reading forums (like this one) I took the plunge and bought a 2000 V Star 1100 Classic. (didn't see the 2000 listed in the forum) The odometer just rolled over 20k miles. I have had a few minor issues, the "famous clicking from the front" and I lost oil pressure in the NC Mountains on a trip due to a loose oil line on the rear cylinder, courtesy of my dealer's previous service. A week after I bought the bike it wouldn't crank or even turn over. It was a cut wire on the starter. (no biggy) Other than the few things I mentioned, it has been awesome. Oil changes are a bit longer due to the filter cartridge. You have to remove the lower exhaust pipe to get to it. I also didn't like the stock seat as someone mentioned. I bought a Mustang seat and it's paid for itself in comfort. It does sit you a little farther forward than stock, which I didn't like being 6'1". However, the Corbin was a little too $$ for me and I've gotten used to the Mustang. You sit low and the passenger seat is a nice backrest. I've added the seat, National Cycle windshield and lowers, Yamaha engine guard, Kuryakyn hwy pegs, Generic passenger floor boards from JCWhitney ($50.00)(she doesn't ride much), Leatherlyke saddle bags, Cobra sissy bar and luggage rack, Hard Krome slip on exhaust, Cobra jets in the carb, and a K&N air filter. Trips are very comfortable. The bike handles very well in the curves. I've logged mile after mile of great trips. I've even completed a Bun Burner Iron Butt on it. 1150 miles in 19 hours. Overall I've been very pleased with the V Star and would recommend it to anyone. It's a great bike at a great price. And even at the biker events I hear... Hey man, nice looking bike!
- Andy, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-18 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am still enjoying my bike very much. I have had only one minor problem with the bike. My fuel pump went out on my bike back in May 2001. It took Yamaha awhile to get a fuel pump located, but they made up for my troubles by giving me another year warranty on my bike. Replace rear tire at 8838 mile, still get an average of 50 mile per gallon, I have no clatter noise from my engine as some of the other riders have had. But the oil change procedure is a pain. But there is someone that has made an oil filter conversion kit for the 1100 V Star Classic, here is the website check it out for yourself, http://home1.gte.net/bradk/spinon/ It seems like Yamaha would change that, I would be willing to pay extra for a bike with a spinoff oil filter. But my bike is running fine and I would still recommend this as a good bike to ride and not so hard on the pocket book. Please Yamaha put a spinoff filter on your future models. Ride safe all.
- Mark, Morrilton, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-08 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in April, 2001 and after 6000 miles I am very happy with it. I've owned many motorcycles over the past 15 years and this is my all time favorite! For $8199, you get many features found only on more expensive bikes such as shaft drive, triple disc brakes, floorboards, heel & toe shifter and lots of chrome and polished aluminum pieces. At 600 lbs and about 50 hp at the rear wheel, the vstar won't win any races but has enough power for passing cars when necessary. The neutral seating position and wide handlebars make it handle quite well for a cruiser and the powerful disc brakes can bring this bike to a stop very quickly. The wide padded seat and floorboards make it easy to get comfortable on this bike although I would recommend a windshield for extended highway riding. One gripe I have is that the tank-mounted speedometer is hard to see without taking your eyes off the road. I get about 50 mpg which means about a 160-180 mile range before having to switch to reserve. As far as maintainence, valve adjustments are easy for the backyard mechanic (about 45 min.) but changing the oil filter is a royal pain. About 3/4 of the entire exhaust must be removed for access. Nitpicks aside, I would highly recommend this bike for its good looks, comfort, and great price.
- John Vincent, Tyngsboro, MA, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a V Star classic 1100 for over a year. In this year I have ridden the bike over twelve thousand miles and in this time have not had any trouble with the bike. Have added a hyper charger that gives the bike more performance. Added a mustang seat and backrest that helps a lot on long rides. Would suggest different pipes for better sound, I installed a set of double d. Hard chrome that sounds great.
- Jim, Hartessle, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-15 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my 1100 for 8 months now. Had the valves adjusted 3 times and it still is terribly loud. Sick of hearing it. Guess I'll have to trade although with the valve noise i'll do lousy on a trade.
- Mike, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-12 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my bike on a March morning and it was about 10 degrees far. It drove very nicely home. Then it sat for about 2 months. I now have about 2000 miles on it and never been happier with a purchase. It has all the power I will ever need I weigh 235 pounds and it has no problem hauling me around. Even with the wife on the back we can do 70 mph at about an 1/8 of a throttle. Had the oil light come on once but my dealer found a service bulletin on it and replaced the level sensor and there are no more problems. I added some Willie and Max super black magic saddle and fork bags, and a Yamaha backrest for the wife. The next thing I get will be some Vance & Hines exhaust.
- Mark, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-05 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased the custom 1100 2001 model, and loving it. I have always been a Honda man, but took a chance. I read and compared the shadow Sabre and the Custom , and there was no comparison. I am very satisfied with the handling in the corners and power coming up and out. Looking for nice priced bike this is the one.
- Frazier Hylton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-04 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 V-Star 1100 Custom. The price was certainly right. I added a windshield, engine guards, extra front lights, sissy bar, rear bag, floorboards, luggage rack and hope to get a better seat (shouldn't be too difficult) and Vance & Hines exhaust. Even with all of these improvements I should still be under ten grand. I too have the clicking noise but not the oil light problem. I did a lot of shopping for this - my first bike - and determined that the V-Star gave me the most bike for the best price. The only other bike that I considered was the Shadow Sabre, and the seat on that seemed much worse than the Yamaha.
- Bob, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-29 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looks like no one has purchased the 2001 custom yet (or at least reviewed it). I just traded my 2000 Honda ACE 750 for the VStar 1100 custom. I love the way the bike looks and it's nice to finally have some more power...especially when my wife is on the back. Unfortunately, this is where the compliments will end...The valve clatter is way loud!!! The dealer insists (as well as Yamaha) that this is normal and I shouldn't concern myself with this. Also, I'm hearing a loud "clanking" sound that sounds like it's coming from under the seat. I only hear this when I'm in gear and moving. The dealer I bought the bike at says they can't hear it (typical), but I've been riding long enough to know when I hear something that doesn't sound right. Fortunately I've found a dealer (a little farther away) with "5 star certification" (let this be a lesson) who is taking the time to really listen, and they think they'll be able to fix it...we'll see! Other complaints...the stock throttle/grip is way too loose. Some new grips should fix this. I guess the bottom line is this...if my dealer of choice can't quiet what I'm hearing then I guess I have no choice but to put some aftermarket pipes on...then I won't hear it anymore! If it turns out to be something that screws up me, my wife, or the bike itself, Yamaha will be hearing from my lawyer. Too bad my Honda didn't look so cool. Other than that I really like the bike.
- Todd, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-20 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 1100 classic in May. No problems so far. Lots of power and runs great! Just put a jet kit and pipes (Big difference)!!!
- Armando, McAllen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-11 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Baby boomer owner and after a bit over 1500 miles all is great. 1000 miles done in a two-day run and bike was surprisingly comfortable and handles very well at all speed, (even reached 170 Km/hr, (105 m/hr) with lots of throttle left over...). It burned the Cobra slip ons after 1000 miles though. What a sound with the Cobra pipes ! Can't wait to replace the pipes...with the warranty I hope. Exchanged my Virago 96 for this 2001 model Extra power and up-to-date design won me over. Affordable price did not send the wife into a frenzy.
- Polynomial, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: