Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruiser reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

41 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

JS

Kansas City, Missouri

Reviewed on 2005-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have had the V Star 1100 Classic now for a year and it has been a great bike. Looks good, has all the options on it and is pretty comfortable to ride. Would like a 6th gear to quiet her down a bit on the highway. And would like a different oil location, but other than those two things, this is a GREAT bike for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sal

Merkel, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my V-Star 1100 two years ago and have had a blast on this machine since. No problems, just routine maintenance and TLC is all this beefy beast requires. I recently completed a 22 state POSSE ride with the HOG group and only a handful of the Harley riders noticed my bike was not a Harley. I rode every state west of the Mississippi with them without a hitch. The Rocky Mountains were a test for me and my skills, more than they were for my V-Star. It performed well in the elevations and had plenty of power reserve to handle the inclines. I also enjoyed the superb braking and ease of handling this bike gave me on the trip because those Rocky Mountain inclines are soon followed by steep declines and curves that make a person hug the the seat. The V-Star is well balanced and has a low center of gravity making it your partner when it comes to staying up-right. I wouldn't trade this bike for any other... really. I will buy a Harley though, then of course will come the time when I will have to choose which of the two fine machines to ride that day. P.S. Those Harley owners who did notice my bike were understanding and kind and each one expressed delight that at least I was riding. It's because of the kindness of these folks and my love of riding that I will get a Harley someday. The HOG group rocks!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Greene

Battle Ground , Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike used from an individual and then took off with my son to San Diego CA last May. I had not ridden much in the last 20 years. And with out any pre trip rides we headed out. This machine took the abuse of 100 degree temps and 12,000 feet elevation we only changed the oil in LA and spent 15 days on the road so a lot of those days were 500-mile days. Not a problem for this Bike it works like a dream the whole trip. Comfort and control are the hallmark of this bike. I look forward to many more miles of fun and memories.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RTD

Bainbridge island, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After test riding many makes and models, I choose the Yamaha V-Star Classic. This was my "move-up" bike from a 2000 Honda Shadow VLX. I wanted a smoother ride with more power. I was ready to buy new but I found a used bike at a Western WA dealer in mint condition with low miles for about less than a 2003 or 2004 model. I truly enjoy this bike and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced mid-size cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen McNeil

Long Island, New York

Reviewed on 2003-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a 2003 at the end of the season, once on it, I rushed to get 3000 miles on it in 45 days...I've had a few months, many miles and not a single regret. Added some bigger pipes, Hypercharger, etc...stock seats & windscreen....up and down the state, across the island,....not a moments problems...I would recommend this bike to any Cruiser interested riders.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Young Kim

Castro Valley, California

Reviewed on 2003-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding a motorcycle about more than 10years experience. I had a 99' Honda Magna as new one, but I had to sell it because of my wife in last 4year's ago. My wife understood my good attitude to ride a bike during I was asking to her to buy a bike again, and finally she allowed me have one in last christmas season. But I had a condition to get one is that has to be under $6k ??? I like a cruiser a lot,so I purchased 2002' a brand new v star classic because right pirce range to my wife's request. (I actually wanted a bigger engine than a v star classic.) where ever I go with this bike, many people asked me how big engine size or how much I paid for it. This one absolutely has a look from people and me and ride is great and fun. When I ride between 65-75mph on highway,no shake,not weak at all. Even my wife liked it a lot,so she gave a creadit to get an accsorries even. So I cromed more on the bike and got the windshield,Vance Hines exhaust,jet kit,performance air filter,back rest,passenger floorboard,luggage bags, etc.. for all that I spent another more than $3k and now it look like a KILLER!, SO BEAUTIFUL! I have a plan in this August to go to the Lake Tahoe, about 300 mile far a way from my home and can't wait. This one is so well done to ride and look and price as one of American cruiser and I call her a "Miss America!" you've got to deserve it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Coolwaterbend

Franconia , New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2003-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Simply put, this is the best cruiser I've ever owned and one of the best I've ever ridden regardless of price. At 6' 200# I'm no little guy and the "ol'Man" (the V-Star) and I have no trouble keeping up with the "big dogs" on rides through the White Mountains of New Hampshire or the open interstate. While the stock seat was only good enough to get the bike home, the Mustang seat that replaced it has been a true friend. Add a winshield, Cobra Slash-Cut Pipes, Hypercharger, highway light mounted on an "eye-brow bar" and Leatherlyke bags and this bike not only turns heads going down the road but also when sitting still. If you're in the market for a great cruiser, look no further, this "is" the one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Me

NA

Reviewed on 2003-01-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Oh I thought I would inject a little humor into one cold winter. The bike looks great under it's cover, will probably run great when I put the battery back in. Right now the snow blower is my best friend only because it's too dam cold to ride the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Springfield, Missouri

Reviewed on 2002-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my V-star 1100 classic for 3 months and 3000 miles. I love it, plenty of power, not one problem yet. I added a windshield, bags, sissy bar, chap, cruise, and a few other things. I have no valve noise to speak of yet. I am considering the external oil filter conversion kit for quick oil change. This bikes turns heads, many ask me how I like my Harley until they see it up close. Pipes are next, then a light bar and I will be thoroughly happy. Can say enough good about it, I think its the best out there for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GB

Fort Erie, Ontario

Reviewed on 2002-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife, who is a very accomplished rider who has tested just about everything out there, just purchased a 2001 V Star 1100 Classic c/w Leatherlyke hard bags. As the "maintenance man" I have had the opportunity to "test" it (hey, someone's gotta do it). Fit and finish are excellent. It runs and handles very well. Brakes are excellent. It seems like the RPM is lower at highway speeds compared to a Virago 1100 but there's no tach, so it may just be an impresssion. For a cruiser, it handles the highway speeds very well and the ability to mount the Leatherlyke hard bags is a big advantage if you want to do some touring. Personally, I will hang on to my "mint" Virago longer though, I have got used to the following features that most current cruisers don't have now; - cast wheels - tachometer - instruments up above the bars - center stand - easier oil change - gas cap hinged to the tank Having brought up these points, of the current "crop" of cruisers out there, this one is hard to beat IMHO. She is very happy with it and that's the main thing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 41 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: