Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (24)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-05-19 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We'll keep this short and to the point. Morgana (the bike) is purple, black, and lots of chrome. She's fast and a looker. She's also built for comfort. What a great first ride!
- BJ Mitchell, Savage, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-10 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now I know you thought I was going to brag about the poop of this 1100 cc bike. For it's size it's just right, after all it's a cruiser plain and simple. What I'm refering to is what it did to the Summer. I enjoyed riding it so much that the warm riding season up north past like a rocket. I can't say enough good things about this bike it still makes my heart flutter every time I look at it. Ride Safe.
- John, Silver Creek , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-31 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my Vstar Classic and LOVE IT. If you are new to biking and like the "hobby aspect" of biking, that is riding for fun and customizing the bike...... then this is your bike. There are TONS and TONS of resources on the web on how to make changes and nods to this bike. .... oh and did I mention how much fun it is to ride.
- Wofat 2020, Stillwater, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-01 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only thing wrong with this bike occurs at 70 + mph. It either needs another gear or more ponies (or slow down). I put Cobra drag pipes on and it made a world of difference. I have put 3500 miles in one year completely free of problems. I don't think you can find a better scooter for under $6,000.
- Brad, Chico, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-19 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 V-Star Classic a year ago this month. I'm about to turn over 3000 miles. I've loved every single one of them! One of the biggest pleasures I get is from how many heads the bike turns wherever I ride. When I do finally stop it's as though I have a people magnet in the saddlebags. Compliment #1 is how beautiful it is and #2 is nearly everyone thinks its a Harley and swears its at least a 1200 or bigger! I have no complaints however I do wish the bike had a 6th gear for interstate driving and I wish there was a mid range between the 650 and 1100. A 800 or 900 V-Star would be almost too much to ask or would it. What about it V-Star riders? You too Yamaha! I'd like to hear from you. I love this bike!
- Mike Davis, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-24 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first sreet bike I have owned, and the first bike I've ridden in 20 years. I got the Deep purple color scheme and while I take some ribbing from my friends who own Harleys I can't help but notice That my V-Star turns way more heads than they do. I agree with the other reviewers that it could use another gear, however, I am a big guy (280 pounds) and ths bike hauls me with my wife at hiway speeds all over the state. Now I'm ready for the 1100 and to my suprise my wife wants my 650! If there are any guys out there that want to turn their wives into bikers, I suggest a V-Star Classic. It has plenty of muscle to get you started and the beauty to attract attenton. I love it.
- Doug Jeffreys, Jhnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-08 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Once I realized I was actually going to buy a bike (for the first time) I got on the net and found that the "Star" line from Yamaha had the classiest looking cruisers in a market full of classy-looking cruisers (and at around $6000 the 650 was the classiest of the classiest. I got mine in December from a dealer who had a brand-new 2000 left over. After 1000 miles I have a short list of positives and negatives. With a plum and red two-tone paint job the bike is a work of art. It handles crisply in the corners, giving me the confidence to lean more and more each time. It maneuvers well in town, and has enough guts for the interstate. It's comfortable for two passengers. It starts right up and I've had no problems. On the dark side, like other reviewers, I feel it screams (literally) for one more gear. Many times I'll work the clutch only to find I'm already in fifth. It sometimes pops into neutral from second - which is disconcerting while trying to get through an intersection. Once when I ran out of gas on a twisty road, I found it difficult to reach the petcock while moving, and impossible to turn it with winter gloves on. This could be a problem if you can't make it to the side of the road. Anyway, as a relative novice I have to say that I could stand some more power and that maybe the V-Star 1100 or one of the Kawasaki 800's would've been a better choice, but the 650 is a great bike for the money.
- Jack, Nyack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rode bikes as kid. Did not ride for 40 years. Went shopping. Bought a V-star 650. Wonderful first bike. Great around town bike. Not comfortable for wife who has had back problems. (Did not expect her to ride) She loved to ride. Bought a 2001 Goldwing. Fantastic touring, power bike. A little too much around town. Am considering moving up to maybe a V-star 1100 or Roadstar. Really no need to as 650 is plenty around town. cruises at 50 to 60 beautifully. If you want to cruise at 65 to 75, I would suggest you try the 650 and the 1100 before you buy. The 650 will cruist at 70 or 75 but it is pushing a little. Thanks.
- Wiley Montana, Lake Jackson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-29 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't ridden in 40 years and feels good to be back in the seat. Glad I bought V-Star 750 and not V-Star1100. Did not have confidence in my ability to handle the bigger bike. Just right for a 60 year old man. Bought it a week ago and have put 300 miles and really appreciate the rider friendly 750. I do think it needs the 6 th gear as other reviews have stated. But really glad I bought this Classic !!
- J Blackerby, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-07 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I'm very pleased with the Classic 650. I had been looking at everything from Sportsters to Shadows for a while. Well, I came home from work a few weeks ago to find that my wife had bought me a black 2002 Classic for my birthday (what more could a man ask for in a wife). I've put 500 miles on it so far and i love it. It's got plenty of usable power. It's got the low-end grunty power and lots left over to pass. I'm 6-02 and fit comfortably on it. It's even got a good throaty sound as you ride through town. If you're looking at cruisers in this range, I recommend a "classic" from Yamaha.
- Donnie, Monticello, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-06 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased bike this spring and installed a new Champion Escort sidecar on it. We have put 2600 miles + on this bike and we weigh 500lbs together. It cruises easy at 60mph., at 75mph ,that's it and motor roars at that speed. At 40mph in 5th gear it will go up hill at a slight grade and pick up to 60 with ease.After that it takes longer to go faster. Gas mileage is 38οΎ—42, not bad with a hack. As we are old and this is enough bike for us. We plan to ride the Blue Ridge Parkway the first week of October. This bike is perfect for us and our kind of riding.
- Big R, West of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-14 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have to begin with the fact that i bought a Honda Shadow Spirit two weeks ago. what does that have to do with this review, plenty. i wanted a new bike for a while (my 85 virago took a dump on me) and i'd been hoofing it (well i have a car but.....) for about 2 months. i got the bright idea to stop at my local motorcycle shop (here in the sunshine state there is one in every town) and check some out. after playing the price game i left with a 2000 Honda Shadow Spirit. it's a nice bike but really underpowered. i rode about 20 miles and the shift linkage started coming off. i tightened it and after another 20 miles it came apart again, i called the dealer to come and get it. now i'm really jonesing for a ride. that bike rode smooth as silk and no amount of repair will ever get my virago to ride like that. well the dealer seeing his deal (and my money) heading out the door asked what he could do for me. i had spotted a dark blue/black 1100 v-star classic on the floor when i saw the Shadow but figured i couldn't afford it. being the great guy he was (yea right) the dealer gave me the same price on the V-Star as the Shadow. after riding it home i felt the lure of bigger displacement (i had a one day return policy) so i took it back because he had also offered me a 1500 Vulcan classic for a grand more. i went back for the same reasons that others have stated, the Yamaha doesn't have great highway legs. when cruising at highway speeds you feel a buzz through the floorboards and the handlebars and i find myself looking for 6th gear. so i said to myself "what's another grand?". well to my surprise not a whole lot. the Kaw had more vibration at 70 than the V-Star. i have to be honest and say that i knew that i could take the Kaw above the 100mph mark and still have throttle to spare but that's not why i was buying the bike. i ride around town and along the ocean (it's a great ride day or night) and for the times i want to take a long trip (Daytona is 200 miles north) i can put up with the tingle. my point is that even though i really wanted the Road Star the V-Star is a great overall package. sharp looks, good power and great value (just beat up your dealer) make me a happy v-star owner. i should know, i rode a bunch before i made my choice. you could do a lot worse with your money. it's a 10 on the smiles per miles meter. enjoy your ride and keep the rubber side down and your face in the wind.
- Zippy, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-10 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too agree, this bike is needing another gear at 70 mph , it sounds like it could blow-up cause of the high rpm, but my Yamaha dealer has assured me it won't. I like everything about my bike but that. I wished I would have bought the Road-Star also.
- Robert Jager, Salina, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-21 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V Star Classic in March of 2001.have had no problems with it but definitely needs a 6th gear. It also seems like I'm constantly shifting. It has great response until about 50 mph. I would like to try a road star next. I'm not all about speed but, I like to know the power is there. Its a good bike for town or rural driving but it's not much for interstate.
- J. Rustad, Cresco, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-11 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike on 2-14-01, that was the aim, a v star for Valentines Day. Man what a great gift to myself! This is all I ever wanted in a bike -- fast, easy to ride, and I don't know what bike these guys have been riding but I have no problem cruisin her purle hiney at 70-80. I changed the oil and filter, and final drive oil myself. Hey guys, 80w-90 for final drive, and 10w-30 for engine oil. Sometimes checker or autozone carry the filter, and man what a crazy looking filter! Anyway, if they want to call it a chick bike, then they haven't looked at the 883 sportster!! A very good price for a great bike. Only complaint I have is about the clearcoat on the gas tank. You know where it starts getting dull and scratchy because you wear chaps. Ride on.
- v star grrl, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got it in April 01. Motor dyno at 36 HP and near the same in torque (from another motorcycle web site). Not a hot rod but it is quick enough with enough power to pull long hills with out down shifting, two up to boot. Could use another gear. It is smooth at 70 to 80 mph. It pulls from low rpm so you can forget what gear your in. Catch myself putting around in 3rd or forth at off idle. GPM? Grins Per Mile. I have soft side bags and that dropped my mileage to mid to low 40s. W/O it is around 50. Lots of compliments on looks and mistaken for a larger displacement. It is the black out engine treatment I think. Over all I am pleased. Limited accessories in the aftermarket.(passenger floorboards).
- Dave, Round Rock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-24 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. For the money it's fantastic. When I ride to work I have to go up rt128 (if you're from the Boston area you know what this means -- 80 mph, with 6ft of space between you and the traffic around you, while the various drivers apply make up, read books, fold laundry, and/or drink their morning coffee). In short - a motorcyclist's nightmare.) Although the V Star looks like a big motorcycle, the engine really feels like it's working hard at these speeds. I'm sure a 6th gear would be a real plus. don't get me wrong, I love my V Star, and totally understand why it's one of the most popular cruisers bought by women (no misogynistic slam - remember I own one too!) Either next year, or 2003, I'll probably get the Road Star. Same great quality, fit, and finish, but a whole lot more motorcycle! If I can bear to part with my V Star, that is! A parting recommendation: If you are new to motorcycling, take a Beginners Motorcycle Riders course, it'll teach you things it would take years of trial and experience to pick up by yourself.
- Neil, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike last week, having never owned or ridden before. Learned the gears from the owner's manual! In no time I was out and around, and put 200 miles on it the first weekend (city and country). As I'm just breaking it in, I really can't comment on top end speed or power. I've had it up to 60 briefly, and it ran smooth and seemed to have much power left. I am big (6"2", 230 lbs), and it fits nice and pulls me along as fast as I want to go, so far. I think the bike is the best looking one anywhere near this price. Handling is great, too. Only problem so far as been occasionally putting it into neutral accidentally with the heel shifter---oops!
- Mike, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-14 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 23-year absence from owning a bike, I recently purchased a silver on green V Star Classic. The bike made it easy to get re-acquainted with riding and was a good bargain. My wife enjoys riding with me and an optional backrest put her at ease. I get compliments from every type of bike owner and they all think it is at least 1100cc. With about 850 miles over the last 4 weeks, I have had "0" problems. Last weekend, on a 130 mile trip north, I easily cruised at 60-65 mph & had some throttle left. I bought this bike for back roads and rural highways. A bigger bike would be better suited for the interstates.
- Dave, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wasn't going to buy a bike but my friend ran out and bought a 1100 Sabre and I was so envious that I started looking into a purchase. that's when I noticed the $30 a month deal- wow! I bought one the next day. Well I wished I would have waited for the new promo Yamaha now has-$30 on any bike till 01-02. The bike is beautiful, I get lots of compliments and it really is fun to drive (after you put some pipes on it) but because I am so shamefully shallow, I can't stand people asking "how big is it. It's only a 650 wow it looks so much bigger. Dan keeps up with us pretty well for a little bike." And this little jewel from my brother who is even more shallow than me- "he thinks he some kind of a Harley guy and its only a 650!" He then proceeds to borrow it and tells me how much fun he had for only a 650. In the end it really is a great bike although I am constantly worried about dragging the floorboards when I get brave and that is really extreme driving. My wife loves driving on it and we have met some nice people. I just think a 1100 minimum if you can afford it. I could of but I was buying a bike for the first time in 20 years and remembered my friends 650 Kawi being very fast and justified the purchase especially after I saw the bike. Moral - it's all ego cause the bike is great. The front brakes are awfully noisy. Dyno guy Dano from FLA
- Dano, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I've purchased and the last time I was on a bike was over 15 years ago. I have to keep reminding myself that it has been a long time because I certainly don't feel like it. I am very comfortable on it and love every minute of it. I commute to work 100 miles a day and loving every day! My friend just bought a VStar 1100 and I like the more power in it. But I may just stick with my own for a while longer.
- Perry, Los Angeles, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-07 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, let me say that in general this is a heck of a nice bike. I get compliments all the time on its looks. Most people don't realize that it's only a 650. Everyone but me that is. The bike runs really nice until it gets to about 50-55mph and then it just pretty much runs out of gas. Riding at 65mph on the interstate, this thing seems like it's screaming its lungs out. Yamaha needs a 6th gear in this thing bad, and I don't understand why they didn't put one in. It seems like it has the power to pull another gear. I wish I could trade it in on something that runs more relaxed on the highway, but I'd probably get killed on the trade in. Believe me, I'm no speed demon, I just don't want my bike to feel like it's going to throw a rod at 65mph. Anyone with any suggestions as to how to get this thing more top end or power, feel free to email!
- Mark, New Castle, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 V-Star classic 650 on January 20th of this year. It is the Stardust Silver/Forest green color and it is a beautiful bike! This is my first motorcycle and I feel like I was born on it. I now have almost 1600 miles on it, mostly ridden in cold weather. It is going to be a blast in warm weather! I have absolutely no complaints and have thus far, had no mechanical problems with the bike. So far, I am averaging 50 mpg.
- Scott, Bend, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello fellow bikers and perspective newbies! I took delivery of my new V-Star Classic just 5 days ago! My wife and I rode to Myrtle Beach over the weekend, and WOW, what a motorcycle! I had priced the HD fat boy, but for one-third the cost, and NO wait, I had an awesome ride! A few complaints: Local dealer had NO V-Star Classics and could NOT get any more, so I had to buy from Rock Hill, SC. The speedometer cable fell off, so I have no idea how fast I'm going. We'll see how the LOCAL dealer honors the warranty! Another thing: I purchased aftermarket pipes for my V-Star, a set of Bub pipes. Rejetting was required, and at a total cost of $616.00, you'd think the dealer that installed them would've made sure everything was ok, but one of the bolts was too long, and scraped my swing arm down to the metal! I took matters into my own hands and cut the bolt off to provide clearance for the swing arm. Also, there is a bad scratch on the pipes, and the dealer is going to replace them within the week (as soon as they get 'em) they tell me. Seems that I might have my warranty work done locally, NOT in Rock Hill! But otherwise, the 650 V-Star is a wonderful bike. I have the silver over green, and I get complimented on my bike every time I take it to the street. C'mon dealer, don't let me down! The factory provided a great bike! Bikers like me just love them!
- Big Norm Smith, Florence, SC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: