Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

BJ Mitchell

Savage, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
We'll keep this short and to the point. Morgana (the bike) is purple, black, and lots of chrome. She's fast and a looker. She's also built for comfort. What a great first ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Silver Creek , New York

Reviewed on 2002-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Now I know you thought I was going to brag about the poop of this 1100 cc bike. For it's size it's just right, after all it's a cruiser plain and simple. What I'm refering to is what it did to the Summer. I enjoyed riding it so much that the warm riding season up north past like a rocket. I can't say enough good things about this bike it still makes my heart flutter every time I look at it. Ride Safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wofat 2020

Stillwater, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my Vstar Classic and LOVE IT. If you are new to biking and like the "hobby aspect" of biking, that is riding for fun and customizing the bike...... then this is your bike. There are TONS and TONS of resources on the web on how to make changes and nods to this bike. .... oh and did I mention how much fun it is to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad

Chico, California

Reviewed on 2002-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The only thing wrong with this bike occurs at 70 + mph. It either needs another gear or more ponies (or slow down). I put Cobra drag pipes on and it made a world of difference. I have put 3500 miles in one year completely free of problems. I don't think you can find a better scooter for under $6,000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Davis

Clarksville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2002-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2001 V-Star Classic a year ago this month. I'm about to turn over 3000 miles. I've loved every single one of them! One of the biggest pleasures I get is from how many heads the bike turns wherever I ride. When I do finally stop it's as though I have a people magnet in the saddlebags. Compliment #1 is how beautiful it is and #2 is nearly everyone thinks its a Harley and swears its at least a 1200 or bigger! I have no complaints however I do wish the bike had a 6th gear for interstate driving and I wish there was a mid range between the 650 and 1100. A 800 or 900 V-Star would be almost too much to ask or would it. What about it V-Star riders? You too Yamaha! I'd like to hear from you. I love this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Jeffreys

Jhnstown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-02-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is the first sreet bike I have owned, and the first bike I've ridden in 20 years. I got the Deep purple color scheme and while I take some ribbing from my friends who own Harleys I can't help but notice That my V-Star turns way more heads than they do. I agree with the other reviewers that it could use another gear, however, I am a big guy (280 pounds) and ths bike hauls me with my wife at hiway speeds all over the state. Now I'm ready for the 1100 and to my suprise my wife wants my 650! If there are any guys out there that want to turn their wives into bikers, I suggest a V-Star Classic. It has plenty of muscle to get you started and the beauty to attract attenton. I love it.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

Nyack, New York

Reviewed on 2002-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Once I realized I was actually going to buy a bike (for the first time) I got on the net and found that the "Star" line from Yamaha had the classiest looking cruisers in a market full of classy-looking cruisers (and at around $6000 the 650 was the classiest of the classiest. I got mine in December from a dealer who had a brand-new 2000 left over. After 1000 miles I have a short list of positives and negatives. With a plum and red two-tone paint job the bike is a work of art. It handles crisply in the corners, giving me the confidence to lean more and more each time. It maneuvers well in town, and has enough guts for the interstate. It's comfortable for two passengers. It starts right up and I've had no problems. On the dark side, like other reviewers, I feel it screams (literally) for one more gear. Many times I'll work the clutch only to find I'm already in fifth. It sometimes pops into neutral from second - which is disconcerting while trying to get through an intersection. Once when I ran out of gas on a twisty road, I found it difficult to reach the petcock while moving, and impossible to turn it with winter gloves on. This could be a problem if you can't make it to the side of the road. Anyway, as a relative novice I have to say that I could stand some more power and that maybe the V-Star 1100 or one of the Kawasaki 800's would've been a better choice, but the 650 is a great bike for the money.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wiley Montana

Lake Jackson, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Rode bikes as kid. Did not ride for 40 years. Went shopping. Bought a V-star 650. Wonderful first bike. Great around town bike. Not comfortable for wife who has had back problems. (Did not expect her to ride) She loved to ride. Bought a 2001 Goldwing. Fantastic touring, power bike. A little too much around town. Am considering moving up to maybe a V-star 1100 or Roadstar. Really no need to as 650 is plenty around town. cruises at 50 to 60 beautifully. If you want to cruise at 65 to 75, I would suggest you try the 650 and the 1100 before you buy. The 650 will cruist at 70 or 75 but it is pushing a little. Thanks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Blackerby

USA

Reviewed on 2001-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
haven't ridden in 40 years and feels good to be back in the seat. Glad I bought V-Star 750 and not V-Star1100. Did not have confidence in my ability to handle the bigger bike. Just right for a 60 year old man. Bought it a week ago and have put 300 miles and really appreciate the rider friendly 750. I do think it needs the 6 th gear as other reviews have stated. But really glad I bought this Classic !!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donnie

Monticello, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First off, I'm very pleased with the Classic 650. I had been looking at everything from Sportsters to Shadows for a while. Well, I came home from work a few weeks ago to find that my wife had bought me a black 2002 Classic for my birthday (what more could a man ask for in a wife). I've put 500 miles on it so far and i love it. It's got plenty of usable power. It's got the low-end grunty power and lots left over to pass. I'm 6-02 and fit comfortably on it. It's even got a good throaty sound as you ride through town. If you're looking at cruisers in this range, I recommend a "classic" from Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: