Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-25 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall the bike is amazing. The power that comes out of it is extraordinary, and the 4 strokes can't compare at all. The back suspension is perfect, nice and soft, not a worry on the big jumps. The front suspension is a big stiff, but it's fixable. It's a fairly reliable bike, usually starts first or second kick every time and there's plenty of compression. I rode a mate's 2007 KTM SX-F250, and the power that that bike produces is absolutely horrible compared to the YZ. It's a perfect bike for racing. I usually ride in the forestry, and it's perfect for out there. The bike can usually get a top speed of about 150km./h., but obviously the bike isn't meant for long straights. It's got plenty of power for all the corners and the tight tracks. Overall, it's a 5-star bike. I'll never be upgrading.
- Matt Robson, Gympie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Couldn't be happier with this bike. Suspension is firm and hooks up well out of turns. Power delivery is phenomenal. Loads in mid-range and top-end of torque spectrum. Very reliable. All parts and components have held up well...just a top-end change every 40-50 hours or so.
- Todd Henry, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZ-250 is a nice bike. Its top end conquers the longest straights on the track and the bottom toughs it out through the roughest trails with ease. The only complaint that I have for the bike is that when you go to order parts the Yamaha parts list on the computers reads Competition N1 which is the YZ-250 but right above it it reads YZ250F so when you ask to order parts for a YZ-250 people see the competition N1 and the YZ250F and click on the 250F by mistake. This has happened to me on numerous accounts due to the way the computers are set up. But as for the goods on this bike, it really is an easy bike to ride. I bought it after I sold my TTR-125L and I thought it would be difficult to be able to ride it well. But it was quite easy to learn how to handle it and the low end power lets you just lug along through the back woods with ease unlike the YZ125 which you're constantly feathering the clutch on rough trails and tight spots.
- Matt Redding, Hopkinton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-20 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the best bike that I have ever owned. When I bought it a few months ago, it was bone stock except for a few add-ons here and there. This bike has a very powerful engine and I wouldn't plan to change anything. It is what you could say a wicked bike, it will keep up with the 05 CRF450 no problem and hill climbing on it is great. It's an all around great bike! Very Strong - No problems.
- Travis Coleman, Fedscreek, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-22 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. It has it all; great suspension, excellent handling, very broad powerband, and the most usable power. My previous bike before this was a TTR-125L, and what a difference. I will never go back to a four-stroke!!
- Steve Brohl, Almont, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-11 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does it all. With smooth power and great gearing, this thing can hang on the trails, at the track, or the hill climbs. It can always go faster than you are willing. It's built tough, too. If it doesn't start on the first kick, replace the spark plug and it will. I haven't had any major problems whatsoever.
- ted, akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-19 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is great. I went from a CR125 to this and absolutely love it. The only complaints I have are that the forks are a little soft and the radiator fins seem very weak. I have let numerous people ride it and one liked it so much he sold his CR for the YZ. I highly recommend this bike to all!
- Kyle, Belmont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-11 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2001 YZ 250 has all the groceries. Second gear is tall and the handling is great. The gearing is excellent and the sound is awesome. After 2 yrs of riding it still runs fine.
- Justin De Grote, Sacred Heart, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-18 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
iv had the bike got 1yr now and i cant think of a better bike. in all the bikes that i have had this has been the most reliable, powerfull and has a massive powerban with an expansion chamber!
- Dutch, Muswellbrook, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-18 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had two current YZ's, one bone stock, the other a complete race bike. Stock the bike is really good. Some minor tweaks like making sure the spring rates are correct for the rider weight and wheelbase adjustments. This will help prevent fork bottoming and ensure proper ride height which effects handling greatly. In stock trim the YZ has smooth broad power with a mid hit that is strong yet manageable. The race bike has motor and suspension mods from Pro Circuit along with bars, top and bottom clamps, larger brakes. This brings the bike up to almost pro standards. On the track these mods are most noticeable. Incredible power and sharper turning are the most improved aspects. Landing from jumps or speeding bumpy downhills the suspension soaks up the landings with complete control and the bike doesn't wander or twitch. Of course the big difference is money. At under $6000 stock you can't go wrong with a YZ. If you race expect to spend at least $2500 more to upgrade the package.
- Mr. MX, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: