Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I went from an older Sportster to this bike, deciding that I wanted to go a little faster. This bike did the trick. I acquired a 2001 YZF600R for myself for my 26th birthday and have been scraping pegs on it since. The only down side I have found is tires for it aren't cheap. If your looking at this bike for a first "crotch rocket", I would highly recommend it, great motorcycle.
- Larry, Hiwassee, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned 18 and have wanted a sport bike for a long time. I bought this bike about a month ago and have been riding it everywhere since then. It's my first bike and has been an excellent one to learn on. It has got plenty of punch, especially in the high RPM's. Despite this the bike is extremely comfortable and easy to ride. Very forgiving handling and excellent breaks. Great all around bike, especially for the price.
- Josiah Leis, Merino, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 YZF600R, I love it except for the 2nd gear problem over 10000 miles. Customer service wasn't much help. Searching the internet I have found that many owners of this bike have the same problem. If you are interested in this bike be aware.
- BKC, Mayfield, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike really kicks after the 4000rpm range, and takes off so hold on. Very comfortable for long rides and fast. No need to spend the extra for the R6 this thing will keep up with it if you know how to ride. Take the motorcycle safety course and you can even show newbies up on 1000s.
- michael bayliss, lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my bike about a month ago in February of '04. I've already put nearly 1,000 miles on it despite the cold weather here in Michigan and I LOVE this bike. It is my first bike but after much research and after laying my eyes on one in person, I knew it was what I wanted. My dad has a Honda Shadow and we wanted to be able to ride together so I needed a comfortable bike. This bike WINS in this category... I can ride for a couple hours before I really need to get off and take a break. As far as performance, the bike packs PLENTY of punch. It's my first bike as I said before and I find the power scary at times... If you leave this bike in first gear and roll back the throttle all the way, the front tire comes off the ground at about 9,000 rpms when the power band kicks in. You can hit 100 mph in just a few seconds on this bike if you want to. The overall quality of the bike is exceptional and up to Yamaha's par. So if you're looking for a nice bike that's comfortable enough to tour on but gives you the performance of the sport-class. I highly recommend the YZF600. You know you love it when you're willing to bundle up and ride around town when it's 35 degrees outside.
- Josh Gillean, Holland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great..... it handles great .... it keeps up with other bikes at higher speeds ..... one of the most comfortable street bikes you'll ever sit on and if u find it in the right color you'll be turning heads at every turn
- Daniel Gonzalez, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-17 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT A 2001 IN 2003 AND I've BEEN RIDING IT FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND LOVE IT. PLENTY OF POWER, ( EVEN THOUGH ITS BOTTOM OF THE BARREL FOR YAMAHA SPORTBIKES). ITS A GREAT STARTER BIKE. FIRST AND SECOND ARE A LITTLE JUMPY AND COULD BE SMOOTHER FOR AROUND TOWN RIDING BUT (NATURALLY) ITS SMOOTH ON THE HIGHWAY. GET IT IF YOUR JUST LEARNING , OTHERWISE, THE R1'S THE WAY TO GO.
- BRENNAIN, ROCKPORT, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-08 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
MY 2001 600R THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPT. OF 2002 HAS BEEN A BLAST! IT HANDLES EXTREMELY WELL AND IS VERY QUICK AT THE HIGHER RPMs. NOT ONLY DO I ENJOY RIDING IT BUT WHAT A LOOKER IT IS! THE BIKES PAINT COLOR IS BLACK AND LOWER AREA IS A SILVER GRAY WHAT A BEAUTY. THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE TO SAY AT SLOWER SPEED OR LOWER RPMs ITS A BIT SLUGGISH FOR IN TOWN DRIVING. OTHER THEN THAT.......I LOVE IT!!!!!!
- rich, PORTLAND, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-28 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my YZF 6 months ago. I am 18 and this is my first bike. reviews told me that it wasn't a real begginers bike but it's really close to one. I love it It has a decent low end and a powerfull punch on the higher RPM's. I started riding it with my Dad and Uncle on typical beach road trips. and it's a beauty. My uncle has a Ducati 900 Super Sport. and I have no problem in keeping up with him. I love this ride and I shake every time I decide to take a ride. The only problems of the ride is it's extreamly quiet can which I replaced for a Yoshimura carbon fiber can. That solved the problem. luckaly I didn't have to re jet. other than that it's a wild machine with good inough power to woop some BMW ass and good enough toride easy on an a long touring trip. A GREAT BALANCE of easy riding and a trou Monster when you hit the gas. a definite BEAUTY, but Still a BEAST!
- JR Castro, San Salvador, El Salvador

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-11 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've never written a review on anything before, but I felt compelled to write one on this bike. It's just that good. If you're looking for a bike with all the latest technological advances which do absolutely nothing in the real world, except maybe impress your friends, this is not it. But if you're looking for a great bike at a great price that does it all and does it well, this is the one. This is my second bike (I have a 2001 in black). My first bike was a used 450cc Honda Nighthawk. I don't agree with some people who claim this is a good beginner bike. If you're just starting out, get a used bike without fairing under 600cc's and definitely take a safety course. If this is your first bike, chances are you'll drop it at some point, and repairs are expensive. don't be fooled, this is a high-performance sportbike and it has to be respected. Ok, I'll list some of my likes and dislikes about the YZF600r. PROS: -Very comfortable. The seating position is a great mix of sport and touring. I've spent hours in the saddle with barely any wrist or back pain, and I'm relatively tall (about 6'). I sat on a bunch of other 600's including the ZX6-R and CBR600F4i. The plush seat and relatively upright seating position of the YZF beats them all in this regard. -More than enough power. Unless you're a lunatic on the road in which case you won't be riding for long anyway, this bike will satisfy your need for speed. I've ridden with friends who have 600- 900cc sportbikes and I have no problem hanging with them. -Good brakes and suspension. The front brake will stop you on a dime. The stock suspension is set a little bit soft, but if you tighten it up a little it's great for the highway and the backroads. -Great fit and finish. Not only does this bike look great, but Yamaha also paid attention to a lot of small details. The dash is nicely finished with no wires hanging out like other bikes in this class. The rear tire even has a hugger on it, which is a nice feature. -Reasonable price. Use the money you save on a good set of protective gear (jacket, pants, and gloves). CONS: Not much to list here, but there are a few minor things. -Mirrors could be set a little wider to offer better visibilty of the rear. -Somewhat clunky gearbox. This sometimes causes missed shifts from 1st to 2nd, but I hear this a common problem on this bike. However, a Factory Shift Kit (about $100) should solve that problem and result in cleaner, crisper shifts. OVERALL: Well, I hope you've made it through my long-winded review so far. Overall, this is a great bike and the last of a dying breed. It seems that most of the sportbikes out there are just skeletons, trying to lose more and more weight and gain fractions of seconds on the quarter mile. But all of this is meaningless in the real world. The YZF is a true real world sportbike that brings a smile to my face everytime I ride it. I hope this review was helpful to you and ride safely!!
- Raj, North Brunswick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-19 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a new 2002 and can't say enough great things about it. It is as capable and comfortable as the Honda CBR600F4i, but costs considerably less. Also, it has fantastic brakes and suspension. don't overlook this bike for something newer and trickier -- it is one of the best values in motorcycling out there.
- Steve Serdikoff, Montgomery Village, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-15 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 600R in July of 2001 after carefully researching magazine articles, internet sites(powersportsnetwork.com) and visiting local dealers. I was unsure on which bike to buy. I knew for a fact that I wanted something sporty, reliable and inexpensive. I thought about an R6 and GSXR-600, but I'm glad to know that it was only a thought. I am very pleased with my YZF. It is a very comfortable bike that has enough power to hang in with some of the big boys. Most people complain about their back and ass after 40-60mins of riding and I'm looking at them saying that's the price you pay for buying a bike that isn't ergonamically fit for long rides. I have plans on replacing the pipe, because mine is too small and too quiet. Other than that it is a great bike. It looks good, rides good and the price as well as the insurance are good. I recommend this bike for anyone who's looking for a sporty, comfortable bike that's forgiving on the wallet.
- C. Raymond, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-10 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are those descisions we sometimes make that just work out better than we expect, this is one. I researched all the latest 6's and had settled on the ZX6r, negotiated the final price and went to a few dealers to just take one last look. I saw the 600R and liked it enough to go home and do some more research. Went in offered the substantially less than the 6999.00 listed price and walked out with a great deal. Now to the important part, how does this bike stack up. Handeling 4 stars, this bike gives great feedback and has a great powerband for spirted canyon riding, heavy though. brakes 5 stars, progressive, strong and very good feel. Engine 5 stars, I have a yoshimura rs3 race with a stage one jet kit and the stock air filter. 92.7 at the rear wheel at about 80 degrees. stock figures were 89.1. Just a god bike out of the bunch, maybe! R6 being done that day also, Akrapovic and jet kit with K&N filter 95.3 r.w. and it was 6 pounds down on the torque. We raced a little and it was a toss up in an uncontrolled street drag race. In the canyons (where I ride mostly) I had a clear advantage with the type of power needed to go fast, and I am just a better rider than she was (Joking)You just can't lose with this bike!
- Sparky, Tempe, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-07 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first I wanted the R6 but after doing some research on what features matter to me most, the YZF600 was the clear winner. Its quick, comfortable, more forgiving, good for 2 up riding, looks great and is cheaper than the rest of the 600 crop. Enough said, its time to go riding.
- TooSlick, Santa Clarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-23 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike new on 7/98 and haven't had a single problem yet...Knock on wood. It can keep up with all 600s unless your insane or you ride on the track. I added a D&D pipe and a 170 rear tire and it works great. I also whipped out the Dremel tool to remove the huge fender and made a custum plate/turn signal bracket to tidy up the rear. I installed short stalk turn signals on the back and flush mount on the front. I also changed the front sprocket down one tooth which gives it big time snap... enough to wheelie without the clutch in first gear. Overall I think the bike is great without any modifications but I never leave well enough alone. Buy one and you wont be sorry... Unless your worried about impressing the crowd with the latest tech that offers no real world advantage.
- Andrew Baker, Ashland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Must say this is a great starter bike. I bought this bike after a terrible time with a 95 Honda CBR600 F3. The Honda was just a bad bike bought from a bad dealer, so don't think that i'm saying Honda is a bad company. That bike was fully done and scared me to death with the amount of power due to it being my first bike. But, after getting rid of it, i bought a new 2001 600R, which i am very happy with. I bought this bike last May (01) and this is now what, Feb 02, and i have 12K miles on it. After a month of riding, i took the bike on a full trip to Va from Fl, and took a quick ride through the Blue Ridge Mts, in Western Va. Even though i was rained on most of the time there, it was a great ride with great handling. This July 02, i have a trip planned to Ohio, Jersey, Va, and Deals Gap before returning to Florida. Money letting, i may take her to a track day before the end of the year. This bike is wonderful. For a tall person, compared to its brotheren the R6 and R1, it is meant for comfort with power and style. I recently put a 180 size tire (up from 170) on the rear and a D&D chrome/ brushed slip on pipe(w/o jet), and the power has bolted (late Jan 02)! It is a Sport Tour bike w/o the full sport bike feel for the price. Soft suspension and comfortable seating position is meant for daily riding, especially for us taller people. I have topped at 153, so I am very impressed (have not tested with new pipe yet). Anyone looking for a starter bike should look this way. It may not be the raw brute force and power of some of its other 600 brothers like Yamaha, Honda or Zuki pure blooded sport bikes, but it still has the power to keep up and get around the traffic with alot of fun and confidence w/o running into the back of a van like what almost happened to me recently after my new D&D installation, or worst a tree. Power wise, it still has the ability to make me pee my pants occasionally. UP'S I love the power and looks, it keeps people asking what size engine it contains. The Blue color made me change my whole wardrobe. Made for the first timer and tall person!! DOWN'S Not really a down, but once i pay it off, i'll be looking to move to a bigger engine w/o losing the sport tour look of alot of fairing! So lots of money will eventually be dumped into a new engine and getting it fitted into the 600R frame. I'm a straight away kinda guy and have a "Need For Speed", and considering i want my next bike to be a Hyabusha, this is a start. With this bike being my first all time ride (compared to the crappy Honda i bought), it was a good start. Starting with a 600 overall keeps me alive alot longer than starting beginner with a upper class full blooded sport bike!! Real Down's Power band goes from 6-12,000 RPM very fast, will find it hitting the rev limiter well before you feel like shifting!! With my D&D exhaust, i just want to hear her scream!!!!
- Altimate Medic, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-18 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently read a review listed on this website, and wanted to add additional praise for this bike. This is my first bike and haven't had a single problem yet. I love the way it handles, the power and overall excitement are fantastic. This bike alone has sold me on being a Yamaha customer for life. As the other review states this bike can be molded to your own personal style, and preference. If your looking for an all around great bike, this is the one.
- Jeff, Hoffman Estates , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-14 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike last May and I never rode a bike before. This is a great first bike to start off at. It handles great, brakes are good, power is good, and looks are awesome. I've put 4,300 miles on it already. The only thing I think they can improve on is a bigger pipe, that is about it. It is also easy to customize, I easly installed flush mounted signals for the front, trimmed up the rear fender, installed short stacks in the rear and a clear tail light lens. If you are looking for your first bike, no need to look any further.
- James, Browns Mills, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: