Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-07-17 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 50K miles on my Yamaha and it's still running like a top. I have: Sync'd the carbs twice myself, once at a shop, changed the plugs once and air filter twice. I've changed the oil (Yamalube semi-synth) every 2500-3K, the 4-chain/sprocket sets (520) and the brake pads once. This needs to be done again now. It looks brand new! I think the '01 R6 is an anomaly in motorcycle manufacturing....seriously. Hardly any service and still going strong. I don't think I will ever sell this bike. See you soon for a 675....maybe.
- David Blechinger, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2001 R6, my 2002 R6 was stolen from me, so I decided to try some other bikes, Suzuki, Kawasaki, even tried the CBR. None of these bikes, in my opinion, do it like the R6. This bike is so unbelievable when I am not riding it I sit around and daydream about it; my wife who could care less about motorcycles loves this bike. The R6 demands respect from everybody. don't waste your time with anything else.
- Matt, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hands down Yamaha R6 is the best sportbike ever made. I just bought my 4th R6 2 days ago(everytime I sell it , I end up buying another one a couple of months after), I took a Suzuki gsxr1000 from the line all the way to the end of 2nd gear. I would never touch any other bike than an R6 (maybe Ducatti)
- Dcc, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R6 new and have had it for 2.5 years. This bike still amazes me. I still find something fun an exciting I can do with this bike. This bike will do 163mph and still has something left. Bike does need a steering dampner, got a Scotts which is great. Honda's are more comfy, suzuki's are about as fast but the R6 has best of both worlds and the 15,500 redline makes me smile every time:)
- Brandon G., Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-09 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I just bought my 2001 R6 (the red one) 6 days ago as a totaled bike. I worked hard and fast to get it back up and running. So now it is up and running, and it is a total blast. I have never done anything this fun...Its as fun as a barrel of (insert anything you find fun here)! I dont reccomend this bike for anyone cocky, it shows u who is boss and knows what it wants...if it doesnt get what it wants, it will assert its power all over you and put you on the ground...dont be suprised if when you are on the ground the bike is standing over you and staring you down. This morning i crashed my little red wonder, i was only going about 7 mph, it slid out from under me when it hit some gravel at a stop sign. The ground ripped up my pants, but i'm ok, the clutch lever's end broke off but doenst need replacing. Now I know hoe to treat my bike, i will hug it every night before i go to sleep, because it is the greatest machine i have ever sat on, honestly, it is an incredible ride, and people always give you looks. I actually was driving in a small neighborhood at about 5 mph under the speed limit (dont know why i was going slow), and a lady walking on the sidewalk started waving at me to signal i should slow down! this bike doesnt even have to be moving fast to look fast. If you want a bike to love and hold, and one that will love you back,get an R6, I love it!!!!! -Ryan
- Ryan Lovelace, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-03 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have had my bike for a few months now and for all that complain about the sound i but on an arkrapovic full race system and jetted. this doesn't even compare to my f4 (which i sold) had it ran through the dyno machine and 900cc+ machines get eaten up! the full pipe sounds incredable. bike handles better than anything else.
- rob seitz, slc, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-24 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'M 23 YEARS OLD AND HAVE BEEN RIDING FOR ABOUT 12 YEARS. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE WHAT THE R-6 BRINGS TO THE TABLE. ALL OF MY PREVIOUS BIKES HAVE BEEN HONDA'S. THE MOST RECENT BEING A CBR 600. I THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER SELL...........THEN I WAS INTRODUCED TO THE R6. ASIDE FROM ITS SUPERIOR DESIGN, IT IS THE MOST WELL BALANCED MACHINE I HAVE EVER RIDEN. COMFORTABLE SEAT, FOOT PEG POSITION, OH AND DID I MENTION IT IS QUICK AS HELL! I RIDE WITH ALOT OF 900cc BIKES AND THEY STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW I KEEP UP AND PASS THEM. TAKE THE REVS UP TO 13 TO 14 AND YOU ARE PASSING THE 100MPH MARK BEFORE YOU ARE HALF WAY DOWN THE ON RAMP. THIS IS ONE BIKE YOU WILL NEVER HAVE ANY REGRETS ABOUT PURCHASING. P.S. IF YOU ARE RIDING ANOTHER 600 AND YOU DO NOT WANT TO FEEL BAD ABOUT YOUR BIKE, THEN STAY AWAY FROM R-6.
- DENNIS WEIDE, WAUKESHA, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-31 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike, wanted something that had the look and great spec's. The R6 is simply fantastic. I ride with a group of friends on the weekends, R1, 929, TL1000 etc. As you can see all are bigger bikes, but, my R6 will stay with each until we reach about 170 mph. Not that this is the R6's limit, but more my limit. 170 way too fast on two wheels. The R6 will run circles around each one in the twisties, and the control / confidence is unbelievable.
- Prince Regg, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-15 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike basically just cause any girl on the back looks good as hell from the back. After riding alone, the hell with a girl on the back. i ride the south Chicago strip alone with my guy and his gsxr1000 and believe me next summer my $900 racing suit will come in handy. The sitting position feels to good, makes you feel that you can maneuver anyway you want. i made a 42 degree turn doing at least 125mph, scraped my knee on the ground and fell in love. I mean i leaned into the turn so hard butt handled the bike perfect, cause once i got out the turn i hit a stand up wheelie for a block and a half so i know i had complete more than complete control. And the crazy part is i learned to ride 3 months ago. !!!!! The bike is raw as hell. !!!!! Honda, Kawasaki, and Suzuki has not ah damn thing on this one . (good try fellas) !!!!! Yamaha your looking at the next 599cc racing / stunt champion.
- Lil Chris, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-28 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally purchased my 2001 R6 on 6/23/01 and I haven't been able to stop her from screaming yet. The bike is awesome, it holds a line with no problem, very stable in high speed sweepers, and the brakes scrub off the speed with ease. I've tried to adhere to the recommended break in period, but it's extremely hard when you have this reving engine begging for more. With 900 miles on the bike, I have already explored the 14,000 and 15,000 rev range. She loves to be ridden hard. On the down side, the stock pipe does not do justice for this bike from a sound standpoint. I quickly added a Leo Vince slip-on that made an already perfect bike even more perfect. If you are thinking about a sportbike, there is no need to look any further than the "Mighty R6".
- K.Lee, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I want to first state that this is my first sport bike and that the comments made are from a armature joy-rider (ear to ear smile)... Now let me tell you that I love this bike. It has the ability to do what ever you ask it to and more. I have adjusted my line in a fast corner, popped the front wheel a few time (all my accident), and even laid it down so low I swear I personally felt the pavement temp. On to the basics, I like the seat and the position. I rode the bike for 5 hours the first day after not riding for 3 years, and in the mourning after without pain I rode the bike for 3 more hours. I am going to keep this short because in all the bike mags the bike speaks volumes for itself. My personal advice Keep the RPMs high the bike loves it. It is what it was made to do and it is what it wants to do. What the bike does at 9 to 10K RPMS can only be experienced. WOW!!!
- Brown, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-01 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So, I've been riding for 8 years, the last 4 without a bike of my own...and I decide it's time to buy my first sportbike. I love speed, so I really want something slick. I was not too interested in the liter bikes, the Busa's and ZX-12Rs...something "manage-able". I was pretty much set on the GSXR750. Prefect size, just got FI, fast, big enough to handle the odd passenger, pretty damn sweet lookn to boot....I was always a Yamaha boy, but I wasn't ready to spend the big bucks on the R1, and I had been told to stay away from the R6, that it was one of the most dropped bikes, it was far too nervous for someone's *first* sportbike, etc....I couldn't find a CBR F4 in Silver around here...and there wasn't really anything else I was that interested in... BUT, unfortunately my financing didn't come through, problems in my past (5 freakn years ago, but anyway...) the banks just didn't want to finance me. I was having to jump through some pretty big hoops to get the GSXR, and it was not looking to good. Then the owner of the store offered to finance me personally, through his own financing, but he could only do it on a Yamaha product, so very reluctantly, I bought the R6. Now on the review: Oh my God....I love this bike. There is nothing I don't like about it. Really. I can ride it for 6 hours in a day, no problem. It is sooo far, I've wheelied it 3 times, all by accident. And it handles like a dream. Really. Many people say that the bike *needs* a steering damper, but I like the steering....very responsive. Maybe it's because it's my first sportbike, so I do not know the difference, but to me, it handles like it's on rails. One time I entered a corner wayyyy to fast, and I remembered some advice I read that said no matter what, don't pound the brakes and ride off the road, just drop that SOB down and try to take to the corner, you'd be surprised who far the bike can lean....well, I scared the crap out of myself, but I took the corner, and I scrapped the toe of my boot in the process....what a feeling. This bike has given me so much confidence in my riding....it's unbelievable! So in 2 weeks, it's off to the track...racing school with my baby. that's where she belongs, that's where I know she'll be happiest! If you're looking for a bike that you will not outgrow for years to come...that will elevate your confidence, and drive you to be a better rider, than this is the bike for you. If you want some little speedy thing, that requires no skill and no concentration, then get something else. Sean PS, the KerKer carbon fiber can sounds like a jet engine on this bike!! It is soooo worth it! (and the Dyno Jet kit is a huge pain to install on this bike...again, worth it though.)
- Sean, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I didn't wait till 1000 miles, to take it to 15,500 rpm's You have to get on it a little, or your bike will be weak. I put a d&D carbon fiber pipe on it. LOUD as hell, Sounds great. Also I made a custom rear tail enclosure, and put all the flush mount turn signals on. Next I'm going to powder coat the wheels white. In first gear, the tire lifts right off the ground when you floor it around 8000, also the second gear wheelies in this thing rip hard. It is so easy to control, and the cornering is awesome. This thing needs a steering stabilizer though. I'm sure a lot of people have dumped this thing because of that. It's real shaky when you go over bumps, while accelerating, or when the wheel comes down after a wheelie. My roomate has a GSXR750 2000- This is supposed to be the baddest bike except for the new 1000GSXR, but he only pulls me by about 5 or 6 bike lengths, in 2nd and 3rd, but I stay right with him up to 160mph. that's it, out of this bike, but 160 is fast enough for me. Email me at norstarguru@hotmail.com, for a pic of my custom undertail enclosure - I can make you one for pretty cheap- REAL PIMPY- This bike and the GSXR600 are the tightest bikes out, the GSXR has a little more power but the R-6 has better cornering and seat position- I love it.
- Nate Galek, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First the Good: Tons of power through all the gears. It has great stability and handling. I have a very short inseam and I thought that this might be a problem, but the seat height and the stability is excellent. It is by far the best looking bike in its class (it's a head turner). Now, the Bad: The positioning of the handle bars make it a killer on the wrists when meandering around town. Must invest in new grips. The bike has virtually no sound with the stock muffler. People can see you, but they can't hear you. Must invest in a new slip on V & H, etc. The passenger seat is terribly uncomfortable for any period of time. I don't know this first hand, but I have heard it plenty from my wife. Overall: Even with the few shortcomings, I absolutely love it. It is the best sports bike of its class and the most affordable, in my opinion. I will let you know more once I get past the break-in period and get to see what she can really do.
- Chris Hammond, Manteno, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-12 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it for the looks and the performance. I am a Race Marshall and have seen first hand what this thing can do on the track. The R6 is so much lighter than my Ninja 600 I traded in and the handling oh so sweeeeeet. The power is great. I took it easy not revving the engine past 6000 rpm for the first 1000 km's. At 1200 km's I replaced the stock exhaust with a Hindle super sport pipe. Out went the stock air filter in came the K & N. Not only does it sound much nicer it rips big time. If I didn't know any better I'd swear that some one slipped in an R1 engine by mistake. What a difference. The bike now sounds and performs as bad as it looks. Yamaha thanks for scaring me silly. Definitely a winner.
- Peter , Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-02 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A couple of hundred more miles till it is broken in (can't wait). I won't be riding this bike to 100% of its potential (nor mine on the street anyway) so for me, it was basically the looks. I owned a '98 F3 before and this bike is about as comfortable. The riding position seems a little more extreme but isn't that bad really (especially when you try to get under the miniscule windscreen). The cornering and stability of the bike does inspire confidence.. as do the brakes. The main drawback for me is how hard it is to turn in a parking lot - which I knew about before the purchase. One more thing, if you take off the read mudguard/turn signal ... make sure you have someone to help you put it back together.
- AA, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So Light but, unbelievably fast. Handles effortlessly, some vibration (only noticed by the vibration of the mirrors) and no shield protection. I would put a smaller louder pipe on next years model, so that the other bikes can hear and see you as you blast by. More comfortable than any other sport bike I know. I love my new R-6 !! Tried Kaw. Tried Honda now I think I'll stick with this a long time. YOU GO YAMAHA !!
- Greg, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still breaking this baby in and it just keeps telling me to go faster. I used to ride a 2000 Ninja 6R, but I was dumb enough to let a buddy crash it for me. The YZF is quicker, more stable, and doesn't have that annoying dead spot at 3,000rpm like the 6R does. Also, the YZF feels lighter (a lot) and corners so much better. All the reviews say how the F4 is confidence inspiring, but I can honestly say that the R6 is so much more confidence inspiring than the Ninja. This bike was meant to race b/c engine slowdown is very noticeable, shifting casually is a little jerky...it wants you to rip through the gears, but since I'm still breaking it in, I don't rip yet. The only downfall, and I knew this buying the bike, is it has minimal wind protection and the clip-ons are low and in. Awesome for control and cornering, but give it an hour and your hurtin. I would sacrifice a little pain to have a bike this good though. I still do my commute (about 45 min) and love every minute of it. Was thinking about getting some Heli-Bars -- aftermarket clip-ons that raise them about 1.5 inches and bring them back about 5 degrees. Anybody have any experience w/ these bars on sportbikes? Happy Ridin'
- Jt, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: