Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David Blechinger

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 50K miles on my Yamaha and it's still running like a top. I have: Sync'd the carbs twice myself, once at a shop, changed the plugs once and air filter twice. I've changed the oil (Yamalube semi-synth) every 2500-3K, the 4-chain/sprocket sets (520) and the brake pads once. This needs to be done again now. It looks brand new! I think the '01 R6 is an anomaly in motorcycle manufacturing....seriously. Hardly any service and still going strong. I don't think I will ever sell this bike. See you soon for a 675....maybe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my 2001 R6, my 2002 R6 was stolen from me, so I decided to try some other bikes, Suzuki, Kawasaki, even tried the CBR. None of these bikes, in my opinion, do it like the R6. This bike is so unbelievable when I am not riding it I sit around and daydream about it; my wife who could care less about motorcycles loves this bike. The R6 demands respect from everybody. don't waste your time with anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dcc

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hands down Yamaha R6 is the best sportbike ever made. I just bought my 4th R6 2 days ago(everytime I sell it , I end up buying another one a couple of months after), I took a Suzuki gsxr1000 from the line all the way to the end of 2nd gear. I would never touch any other bike than an R6 (maybe Ducatti)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon G.

Fredericksburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-07-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my R6 new and have had it for 2.5 years. This bike still amazes me. I still find something fun an exciting I can do with this bike. This bike will do 163mph and still has something left. Bike does need a steering dampner, got a Scotts which is great. Honda's are more comfy, suzuki's are about as fast but the R6 has best of both worlds and the 15,500 redline makes me smile every time:)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Lovelace

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, I just bought my 2001 R6 (the red one) 6 days ago as a totaled bike. I worked hard and fast to get it back up and running. So now it is up and running, and it is a total blast. I have never done anything this fun...Its as fun as a barrel of (insert anything you find fun here)! I dont reccomend this bike for anyone cocky, it shows u who is boss and knows what it wants...if it doesnt get what it wants, it will assert its power all over you and put you on the ground...dont be suprised if when you are on the ground the bike is standing over you and staring you down. This morning i crashed my little red wonder, i was only going about 7 mph, it slid out from under me when it hit some gravel at a stop sign. The ground ripped up my pants, but i'm ok, the clutch lever's end broke off but doenst need replacing. Now I know hoe to treat my bike, i will hug it every night before i go to sleep, because it is the greatest machine i have ever sat on, honestly, it is an incredible ride, and people always give you looks. I actually was driving in a small neighborhood at about 5 mph under the speed limit (dont know why i was going slow), and a lady walking on the sidewalk started waving at me to signal i should slow down! this bike doesnt even have to be moving fast to look fast. If you want a bike to love and hold, and one that will love you back,get an R6, I love it!!!!! -Ryan
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rob seitz

slc, Utah

Reviewed on 2002-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
i have had my bike for a few months now and for all that complain about the sound i but on an arkrapovic full race system and jetted. this doesn't even compare to my f4 (which i sold) had it ran through the dyno machine and 900cc+ machines get eaten up! the full pipe sounds incredable. bike handles better than anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DENNIS WEIDE

WAUKESHA, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2002-01-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'M 23 YEARS OLD AND HAVE BEEN RIDING FOR ABOUT 12 YEARS. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE WHAT THE R-6 BRINGS TO THE TABLE. ALL OF MY PREVIOUS BIKES HAVE BEEN HONDA'S. THE MOST RECENT BEING A CBR 600. I THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER SELL...........THEN I WAS INTRODUCED TO THE R6. ASIDE FROM ITS SUPERIOR DESIGN, IT IS THE MOST WELL BALANCED MACHINE I HAVE EVER RIDEN. COMFORTABLE SEAT, FOOT PEG POSITION, OH AND DID I MENTION IT IS QUICK AS HELL! I RIDE WITH ALOT OF 900cc BIKES AND THEY STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW I KEEP UP AND PASS THEM. TAKE THE REVS UP TO 13 TO 14 AND YOU ARE PASSING THE 100MPH MARK BEFORE YOU ARE HALF WAY DOWN THE ON RAMP. THIS IS ONE BIKE YOU WILL NEVER HAVE ANY REGRETS ABOUT PURCHASING. P.S. IF YOU ARE RIDING ANOTHER 600 AND YOU DO NOT WANT TO FEEL BAD ABOUT YOUR BIKE, THEN STAY AWAY FROM R-6.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Prince Regg

USA

Reviewed on 2001-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First bike, wanted something that had the look and great spec's. The R6 is simply fantastic. I ride with a group of friends on the weekends, R1, 929, TL1000 etc. As you can see all are bigger bikes, but, my R6 will stay with each until we reach about 170 mph. Not that this is the R6's limit, but more my limit. 170 way too fast on two wheels. The R6 will run circles around each one in the twisties, and the control / confidence is unbelievable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lil Chris

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2001-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the bike basically just cause any girl on the back looks good as hell from the back. After riding alone, the hell with a girl on the back. i ride the south Chicago strip alone with my guy and his gsxr1000 and believe me next summer my $900 racing suit will come in handy. The sitting position feels to good, makes you feel that you can maneuver anyway you want. i made a 42 degree turn doing at least 125mph, scraped my knee on the ground and fell in love. I mean i leaned into the turn so hard butt handled the bike perfect, cause once i got out the turn i hit a stand up wheelie for a block and a half so i know i had complete more than complete control. And the crazy part is i learned to ride 3 months ago. !!!!! The bike is raw as hell. !!!!! Honda, Kawasaki, and Suzuki has not ah damn thing on this one . (good try fellas) !!!!! Yamaha your looking at the next 599cc racing / stunt champion.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

K.Lee

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2001-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I finally purchased my 2001 R6 on 6/23/01 and I haven't been able to stop her from screaming yet. The bike is awesome, it holds a line with no problem, very stable in high speed sweepers, and the brakes scrub off the speed with ease. I've tried to adhere to the recommended break in period, but it's extremely hard when you have this reving engine begging for more. With 900 miles on the bike, I have already explored the 14,000 and 15,000 rev range. She loves to be ridden hard. On the down side, the stock pipe does not do justice for this bike from a sound standpoint. I quickly added a Leo Vince slip-on that made an already perfect bike even more perfect. If you are thinking about a sportbike, there is no need to look any further than the "Mighty R6".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: