Aprilia Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Aprilia Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Aprilia Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-01-31 2002 Aprilia RSV Mille R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This really is a racebike with lights. What drives you crazy in traffic will make perfect sense at 70mph+. It was made to go fast and the rear view mirrors are useless to someone of my girth. Have plenty of points available on your drivers license.
- Mcguire, Bremen, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-29 2002 Aprilia Scarabeo150 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up a 2002 150 with 300 miles on it, Yes BETTER than new!!!! Ridin motorcyles and scooters for 40 years. This machine is Outrageous! Handling comfort, speed.
- olbull, worcester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-13 2002 Aprilia Scarabeo150 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Scarabeo 150 used, with about 700 miles on it late this past summer. It really caught my eye - I wondered what it was (motorcycle? scooter?), plus the color (Mosaic Gold) is a standout. I have taken it on mostly short commutes, usually back roads, but have also gotten on most of the local freeways and easily kept up with traffic. If it is windy, I am buffeted around quite a bit, but it is easy enough to avoid the freeway when it is windy. Like many first bike owners, now I want a bigger bike because I really don't want to take this one on longer trips - it really is too small for that - too light and gets tiring on longer rides. I plan to get another Scarabeo (the 500). I love the performance, reliability and style.
- Casey, Bloomington, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2002 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding and tweaking this bike for 7 months. What a great ride. No regrets.
- doug smith, costa mesa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2002 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow! This is the most fun I have ever had on 2 wheels. No regrets. This is the 7th bike I have owned and by far the most enjoyable to ride. Can't shake that ear to ear grin off my face. Just had it de-restricted and now I can't think of ever riding my other bike again. Most under rated bike out there.
- doug smith, costa mesa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-17 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I have owned a CBR1000, Harley FatBoy (good looking but terrible bike), an ST4 and the Futura. So, I've had a wide assortment to help tune my opinions. I got rid of a red ST4 for my ash black Aprilia and would have to give the nod to the Aprilia over the ST4 for a few reasons: comfort (as measured by hands and butt), body styling (much better looking than the ST4), fit/finish (the Duc constantly rattled and squeaked), and reliability (still no problems). The only drawbacks are <ol> <li>engine sound (its okay, but not NEAR like the Duc, and aftermarket pipes are only available from a few less than impressive designs). <li>the dealer network isn't as good in my area (Cincinnati) as Ducati--so thank goodness the reliability is at least higher. If you want the raw feel of a motor with the potential for a long trip requiring hard bags, get the Duc. If you place higher value on reliability and comfort in the event you might take longer trips more frequently - you'd probably be happier with the Aprilia.
- Sport Tourer-Cincy, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2002 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 22 months, it's still a blast to ride. Most miles in a day: 432, average milage 43-46 mpg, have seen over 50 mpg on a few occasions (57mpg once). It is very hard to keep from twisting the throttle though. The midrange torque is what this machine is about, just roll it on and it goes. It's perfect for riding the backroads, the long straightaways are boring and I hate interstates. I have no problems to date, maintenance is not as costly as a Ducati, check valves every 9300 miles, mine have never needed adjusting, as they're still in tolerance. I'm hard on the rear tires though, just depends how hard you twist the throttle. I've been getting 3k out of a rear tire and 6k out the fronts, I ride pretty aggresively though. This is the most fun bike I ever owned. It's not a long distance tourer but a good backroader. If I lived in the mountains, I would not want anything else.
- J. B. DUPRE, BASILE, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2002 Aprilia RS 50 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to turns heads everywhere I ride. Just bought it new 11/03 from my local Aprilia dealer, it is the rare GP-1 model. It was between this and the 2004 Ninja 250R and the Aprilia won me over. The RS50 was a more expensive and not as powerful, but more than makes up for that in different areas. It is rare, exotic and looks like a true GP racing bike. I also like the fact that it is a two stoke. When the warranty runs out at the end of 2004, I will consider modifying it. Until then, I will enjoy riding a true Italian race bike and all the attention it gets!!
- Mike Ginni, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2002 Aprilia RS 50 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 5 yrs riding experience, the bike is 196lbs so it tosses around very easy, I have raced other experienced riders and have smoked them on any size bike 600-1000, great for beginners or others, big bore kit a must!
- John, ManchVegas, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-29 2002 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best sport Vtwin for the money bar none. of course I did not buy it new because a barely used one is so affordable it should be illegal. Love the HP and torque. Stretch to gas tank is a little long compared to some others but I have relatively long arms. Reliability has been excellent. Services are great but a little costly if you go by the manual. Most can be done yourself if you any mechanical aptitude. Aprilia makes a great product and extremely satisfied and will be an Aprilia owner for life.
- Frank Enheimer, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2002 Aprilia RS 50 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you live in the US and are a 2-stroke fan, the RS-50 is a great compromise over the hard to find RZ's and RD's, of the mid 1980's. Although not as fast as the last of the 2-stroke imports, a fully modified RS, will keep most riders very entertained. The bike itself is engineered very well, and its brakes and suspension are capable of handling much higher speeds that even a modified bike are capable of. The catch....? On top of the sticker price, expect to drop at least $1000 in performance parts into your RS, to make it road worthy. Sure you could ride it around in stock form, but acceleration is so slow, that you will grow tired of people in cars (with disgusted looks on their faces) tailgating you away from traffic lights. Dont expect miracles from all the upgrades however, as you will still not be able to keep up with your buddy on his 600. The mods do make the RS, much safer and easier to ride with the only exception being a very narrow powerband. A beginner will have a very hard time with a Modified RS, because of this. It takes some very smooth clutch and throttle control to drive in traffic.
- Rob_Watton, Utica, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-29 2002 Aprilia RSV Mille R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want to ride in the cold dont buy a mille it wont start. On the other hand it does make you feel like a rock star and the ground clearance forget about it this thing should come with elbo pucks,100mph stopies no problem just two finger those brembos. But now the bad part,dealer back up it has to be the worst out of the top manufacturers months on end to receive parts,and num nuts service personel. I really do hope this changes because if the cube derived bike is ever built I will be the first in line
- Dan mukahirn, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-29 2002 Aprilia RSV Mille Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put over 7,000 miles on my '02 Mille this first year. This is an incredible motorcycle. It has power throughout the RPM band. Great brakes. The whole chassis is finely tuned and thought out. Its very comfortable too. It seems to me that the 999 is Ducati's answer to the Mille's success. I've taken it to the track a few times and it simply loves that kind of riding too. Its no wonder that Aprilia is doing so well in their world wide sales.
- Pete, Lincolnville, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-02 2002 Aprilia RSV Mille R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want the V-twin feel of a superbike, this is it. I Only have 425 miles on this '03 RSV R Haga Replica, but it comes with all the s*#@! Ohlins front, rear &#038; steering damper, new Brembo 4 pods (two fingers may be too much, they so smooth and powerful), Carbon add-ons, term/ti twin mufflers, eprom performance chip, performance gearing, adj. levers, pirelli dragons, OZ wheels, plus 130hp rotax beast of a motor, 403lbs. There's 59 more out there just like mine in the USA. Ride a ducati, ride an RC51, do your homework. The ducati guys know, so does Honda, Aprilia gives much more and will make you a better rider in the real world. Nothing else comes close. Huge torque, great manners for a superbike. Its so thrilling to ride and its like being on a rope the curves. In the really challenging tight curves it comes out exploding with torque. Of course, after a 200 miles its time to get off and reflect. Yes, the aggressive position will tire you out. But, this is from a 20 yr. Harley guy. I'm 46, don't be your dad, don't follow, lead on Aprilia.
- H8rain, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2002 Aprilia ETV 1000 CapoNord Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Break-in on the Caponord is accomplished in two phases. The first 600 miles restrict you to 5000 rpm, and avoiding full throttle operation. The second phase (to 900 miles) allows occasional full throttle and an rpm restriction of 6250. During both phases, steady speeds are to be avoided, and full use of the transmission is encouraged. Brakes are not required to be babied after the first 60 miles, but normal caution should be exercised as they complete bedding in. With 1100 miles, I still consider the bike to be a first rate machine! It has not disappointed me in any category. The engine vibration that I mentioned in my first report has largely disappeared. The excellent transmission has only gotten smoother. The brakes are awesome - especially the front. Handling of the bike is superb, and power delivery just keeps a big grin on my face. The seat could stand some improvement - butt burn at about 100 miles - but I can say that about every stock seat I have ever ridden. I am not sure how I am going to rectify that yet. I have the hard side bags on my bike - and they are quite large, attractive, and weather proof. The rear seat can be removed to reveal a much larger cargo area for a tail bag or duffle. Add a tank bag, and a solo rider can move his belongings... :) I have seen claims of top speed in the range of 135+ mph. I believe that the claim is an accurate one. However, it is the all around utility of this bike that sets it apart, no the ability to go fast. I am happy to recommend it with no reservations!
- Jack Brown, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-08 2002 Aprilia RS 50 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I didnt actually own this bike but i have a few friends with them. Being only 125lbs it was strange to ride, its a bit weak at pulling away and to get even a good start the exhaust is gona moan at ya with the high pitch scream, but when it comes to handling, brakes and top speed it is the best 50 in the road, i have had 70mph on it and had to stop very very very fast as a car pulled out in front of me, the brakes saved me from being road kill, but use them properly, I've seen too many accidents due to riders not knowing how to brake properly. I advice going to a training school b4 riding it just to gwet a feel for it but other than that just jump on and have fun
- Andrew Copland, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I loved my Ducati ST2, I couldn't resist the chance to upgrade to this futuristic beauty (illusion red) that I have had my eye on since its introduction. I wasn't disappointed, quite the contrary. All of the high-tech features like four-valve head, single swing arm, digital information center, spot-on electronic ignition, etc. etc. place this bike well ahead of the others in it's class. I also own a VROD which can't be beat for pure pizazz, but I'd choose the Futura for touring. The ergos are perfect for me (5ft 10") including the comfy seat and the great windshield that gives just the right amount of wind protection without taking the fun out of the ride. The avant-guard, stealth styling and the bright red paint get almost as many stares as the VROD. The versitality of the 6-speed gearbox allows precise control in all riding venues. Fourth and fifth around town and sixth on the highway. I've owned many Harleys and all kinds of Japanese bikes and, I must say, I loved them all. I just love this one a little more than the rest. Aprilia is here to stay.I give it a 10.
- Bill B, Plantation, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike... and so does my favorite passenger for the excellent seating ergonomics, the INCLUDED hard bags, the 8,000 miles with NO problems, the great wind protection, the way it attracts all sorts of favorable comments from a wide range of riders AND non-riders (it's a people magnet and a great way to meet new people), it's daring but not weird styling, excellent suspension for the pothole riddled roads I often have to ride, it's great fit and finish.... and more reasons. I don't want to bore you, just go buy one.
- DanM., Western part of:, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Aprilia RST 1000 Futura Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent wind protection and luggage capacity. Very smooth powerful engine. Questionable workmanship (paint, assembly work, etc.) Dealer network few and far between. Tires wear out quickly.
- Matt Sheffield, Windsor, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: