Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-10-20 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a while and it's still a joy to ride. More than fast enough for the street. Great front brake - rear isn't as good because it lacks feel. Handles exceptionally but requires some time to set it up for your weight and riding style. Very comfortable and does good on fuel, not that that's why you buy a bike like this. The only issues I have had with this bike is the speed sensor has failed twice (taking care of by warrenty) and a rear valve cover gasket leaked, but that was because of a pinched vent line. The gasket was so easy to fix I did it myself. I really recommend getting a high flow air filter and rejet because the jetting is bad from the factory. Even with the stock exhaust rejetting transformed the way it ran. The bike sounds bloody amazing with aftermarket exhaust. Be warned this bike gets a lot of attention just because it's so different. If you are looking for a sporty bike that stops and turns well and you can tour as well as commute, I recomend the Buell. You can't ride it without getting off with a big grin and at the end of the day isn't that the reason you ride a bike? Fun factor: 10!!!
- Rod, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-20 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Actually I like the name Cyclone but it's such a blast to ride. I've ridden every style of bike and have ridden the Cyclone at demo rides for years. Now, I finally have one!!! This bike does not disappoint. I sold my Ducati Monster 750 to buy this bike and am so glad I did. The combination of Power, real comfort, American made, power, sound (yes a Buell sounds better than a Ducati), and did I mention power? This thing ought to have a tractor tire in the rear because you could use its 100 ft. lbs. of torque to pull stumps out of your back 40 (that's acres). It absolutely romps my friends ZX750r. that's right...The ZX 750 cannot keep up. Until of course the numbers go above say...110 (not that I'd know) Standing still I get so many positive comments and questions about the bike that I'm constantly talking about it (not that I mind). Durability is still in question. I read a lot of reviews that talk about durability. We will see. Fit and finish is way better than it used to be with the Buells. All the welds are smooth and professional looking. The switchgear is also much improved. Downsides are minor but noteworthy...the air box has grown on me, but I get many, many negative comments about it...Everyone that looks at the bike hates it. Also, the brakes don't seem to be that strong. I may ante up for another rotor/caliper set in the front. The engine has pre-detonation (pinging) under load once hot, even with Premium fuel. The engine also tends to backfire softly once when coming to a stop (embarrassing). Also, the front fender is so small that small pebbles from the road hit you in the face and collect on your seat as you ride (honestly). All in all this bike rocks and I'll take the good with the bad because it is comfortable to ride and is raw American power.
- Dan Gregg, Franklin, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-08 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great machine. Put 13000kms on it in a year and a half. Had a few minor problems but Buell stood by with the warranty. Never let me down yet. Did a 4000km trip to Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho and Montana. Seat was very comfortable; it is a replacement for the original that had a mark on it. New one seemed softer and more comfortable but it was a Buell seat. Great mileage, comfortable, versatile, pretty and overall a great bike. I wish they still made them, as I would probably buy another in a few years. It is not the fastest bike in the world but I knew that going in. In a few words it is just a lot of fun to drive and they really do grow on you. Give one a try.
- Dave Lindhorst, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-24 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike handles great. 4500 miles and no problems. It always wants to go to the inside in a corner. that's just Buell's way of saying "I want to go faster. Back in college riding my '61 ironhead this is the bike I always dreamed of. It's not as fast as other sport bikes but boy does it turn. Just plain fun to ride.
- Dave Higbee, Layton , Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-08 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
YES AN R1 OUT HANDLES YOU AND HAS MORE TOP END. BUT DOES IT YELL OUT LOOK AT ME WHEN IT FLIES BY. I HAVE OWNED AND RIDDEN MANY BIKES FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD. BUT WHEN IT COMES TO ALL AROUND FUN AND HOOLIGANISM ON TWO WHEELS THERE IS NO MATCH!! I HAVE MANY GOODIES ON MY MISTRESS INCLUDING FORCEWIND STRAIGHT EXHAUST(LOUD AS IT SHOULD BE) I HAVE HAD TO WRENCH BUT IF YOU CAN TURN A WRENCH ON A LAWNMOWER YOU CAN FIGURE THIS MONSTER OUT. AND WHATS BETTER THAN TO BUY SOMETHING AMERICAN
- MARK LARSON, MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-31 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too traded in my Blast for a Cyclone. The people at Bloominton Harley and Buell were great, they gave me a great deal and I really trust their knowledge and honesty. My Cyclone is the beautiful blue with black frame and it growls every time i push the starter. Great riding position and tons of torque off the line. It always feels like i should be holding on tighter. It doesnt go 150 mph but im not a big track rider and i can't go that fast on the street. Real world power, with a combination of style and snap off the line.
- Matt Kelley , Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-15 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i like the bikes styling and i can smoke all of my friends through the turns but it should be faster. i have a load of problems from broken motor mounts to busted belts and my tranny now pops out of gear about 100 times a ride. i see alot of people who wrote the reviews saying buells must break because people are beating on them but thats what a sportbike is for i don't beat on it i just ride it how it was supposed to be ridden not like some 50 year old who is having a mid life crisis
- cody ziegler, whithouse, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-05 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 ,Gray and Orange, M2 Cyclone in Nov.2001 and it has been nothing but fun! Alot of people are complaining about the 1999-2000 Cyclones saying that they are a troublesome bike.I talked to a guy who owns a 2000 Cyclone(it looked like it had been wrecked many times), and he said it has been in the shop alot.There had been alot of recalls,I mean alot!! So maybe Buell has finally gotten it right.I think those people who have alot of problems are not breaking them in properly and are running them hard. I've had mine for a year with 3000 miles on it and it's been trouble free! It handles great and has excellent acceleration.The only complaint I have is the(stand out like a sore thumb)air filter.When I get my tax refund back I'm going to buy that Buell racing kit. So if your looking for a bike that is fun to ride every day and will turn heads and having people asking who makes that?Then this the bike for you. So enjoy I know I will! is
- Robert, Lyndhurst, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having minored in Physics predisposed me to liking Buells before I purchased my first motorcycle. I'm very impressed by Mr. Buell's sense of purpose in designing his cycles with mass centralization. My M2 weighs nearly the same as my 1980 Yamaha XS650, but boy is there a difference in being able to handle the bike both on and off (pushing it into the garage) the road. The seat is one of the most comfortable I've sat in. Having an hour commute each way has allowed me to experience the joy of still having feeling in my gluteus where the same ride on other cycles has rendered it numb. I'm sad to see the M2 model is in its final model year, but I am convinced by what I've seen so far with the recently released XB9R there are blue skies ahead for Buell Motorcycles.
- Russ, Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-17 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my M2 in January, and now have about 2000 miles on it. This bike is great in the mountains, lots of touque and solid handleing. I've taken it on several rides of 200 + miles and one 500 mile weekend, and was surprised at the comfort of the bike. It's no Goldwing but I was not tired or felt beat up at the end of the day. I've had no problems other than a few loose bolts after about 1000 miles. The bike is a Harley and if you are looking for a high reving crotch rocket or a freeway cruiser you are better off buying Japanese. But if you want something diffent and like to ride the mountains, you won't go wrong with an M2.
- Jim, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-26 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an '02 M2 several months ago and having a great time on this bike. I have other rides in the garage, but this one turns heads and gives me major grins. It looks different, has an interesting but comfortable riding position, and is overflowing with character. The things seems alive when straddling it, and I enjoy its bellowing exhaust note.
- Steve Farson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-05 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Buell Cyclone just a few months back as a replacement for my old Buell Blast. BOY, what a difference! This thing really moves you, & in more ways than one! I was really impressed w/ the great riding position & SOLID feel of the bike. There is TONS of Torque & a fantasic feel of control. You can put this thing through the twisties at full throttle w/o bating an eye. One other thing to sing praise for was the price. For $7995.00 this is the best deal on two wheels!!! Now the bad stuff, the seat latch is ULTRA cheap & there is no low fuel light, Bummer. You must be very careful about where you choose to purchase your new Buell. I live in Arizona & first tried Chosa's Harley/ Buell in Mesa AZ. Needless to say, I had a HORRIFIC experience there. They treat Buell & it's customers like the "Red Headed Step Child". The salesmen & managment were "used car lot" cheesey & the vibe was crap. I then ventured over to Chandler Harley/Buell in Chandler AZ. The buying experience there was much better. I wound up getting everything I wanted & was very pleased w/ the overall experience. I think they still would have been happier selling me a Harley, but they answered all my questions, returned all my phone calls & gave EXACTLY what I wanted...BRAVO!!! All in all, I LOVE my 2002 Buell Cyclone!!!
- James Swann, Tempe, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i bought a new 2002 m2l in november 2001. i have really enjoyed the bike. handles really nicely, adequate power for someone who just came back to riding after a 15 year layoff. i will be adding a few hop up items in near future, can't leave it stock . must personalize it . would recommend this bike to anyone. really great motorcycle for the money
- Kenneth Dyer, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-29 2002 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2002 M2 since September 1, 2001, and have put just over 3000 miles on it. In the fall, I often used the bike on my 2 hr (one way) commute. It is sufficiently comfortable for a couple of hours on the highway, but is most at home in the twisties. The engine is great; no nead to wring its neck to have loads of fun. The suspension is more than adequate at anything but ridiculous speeds. Most importantly, the thing makes me smile more than any motorcycle I have ridden. I own the Buell saddlebags making it great for errands or weekend getaways. So far, it has been perfectly reliable. I would recommend it to anyone that wants something a little different.
- Eric, Roanoke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: