Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (33)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-15 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I remember the first time I saw a review of the very first 916 and I said I must have that bike. Moving forward about ten years, I was at the bike show with my wife and the new 999 was just released. I looked it up, down, and all around. I threw a leg over it and remember saying to my wife this doesn't thrill me but I could get used to it. My wife watching my reaction to the bike said I can tell you hate the design. Why don't you just get your 998 while you still can but it better seat Two. I have put 14,000 miles on my 02 998 Biposto and couldn't be more happy with the bike. The bike has been upgrated to meet my street and track requirements. The Ducati Superbikes are wicked in the hand of the experienced rider and unbelievable on the track.
- Geoff Walls, Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-28 2002 Ducati 900 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The more I ride my bike the more I like it. I have seen a couple of these as leftovers, one in the shop in Yorktown, VA. This was the final year and only 115 were made for the US in Sienna Gray. I haven't had to do any major maintenance, just the normal 600 mile and then oil and filters. This thing has a broader power band than a Buell. It pulls away from a stop nicely with 2000 rpm and once you get to 4000 rpm you best be hanging on if you open it up in 1st - 4th gear, 5th and 6th are overdrive gears. The rev limiter kicks in around 8750 rpm. The aluminum swingarm was only on the 2002 model. The Ohlins rear shock was only on the 2002. This bike loves to be ridden like you mean it, it has the usual Ducati high CG due to the rear cylinder sticking straight up, 90 degree V twin. When you do a full racing tuck the bike really feels like it is a part of you. The mirrors get a weird violent vibration below 4000 rpm, around 3500, I guess. The mirrors give you a nice view of your elbows; you have to adjust your position to use them. I have done some 300 mile days and it is actually easier on my tailbone than my Electra Glide. This is a great street bike; it has more useable power on the street than the inline 4 hyper bikes. Who wants to have to shift a million times and keep the revs above 10,000 to commute in city traffic? Get yours before they are all gone!
- Warhawk, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-11 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently by chance I wandered into a Ducati dealer minutes after he had wheeled a new 998 onto the floor which had been redirected from an overseas market where they don't sell. A bit different to Australia where everyone loves the 916/996/998 family and wants one. Sitting next to a new 999 (does nothing for me) there was no contest I walked out minutes later the owner of a new 998. Picked up the next day with plates in somewhat warm weather and city traffic and minutes later I was asking myself "what in the heck did I do"? This thing is like a sauna at 105C with fans flat out, the clutch is killing me, and anyhing beyond second gear and I'm in trouble with the law. The long way home was my plan out of the city and across through the wine country into the hills. What a skitso machine! My 998 transformed from being a traffic hating bike to just the most pleasurable machine for the sports rider in the matter of a few Ks, predictable power, wonderful sound, fantastic grip, enormous brakes and roadholding and I can look at it like a classic piece of art all day long. I can also understand city dwellers not getting full value from the 998 but I'm really fortunate to live where there are windy roads, hills, no traffic lights, just sheer enjoyment everytime with my 998. Smile, estatic, easy to ride no surprises and I'm 55, have a 76 Guzzi Le Mans bought new and an AJS 7R for the last 37 years. Now my collection is complete. If you get a chance, ride a 998.
- Dale Lapthorne, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2002 Ducati Monster 750 i.e. S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey I just saw that no one had reviewed the bike I just bought, so just so you all know, this bike is sweet. I got a killer deal on eBay and after a couple months of ownership I have no regrets. This is my first bike and someone who is 6' 3" might be too tall for this bike but I able to deal with it. It is a sweet bike. I will never get anything other than a Ducati.
- Justin, Santa Clara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-04 2002 Ducati 900 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It may not have the power of the run of the mill liters, but it does handle better than my R6 and it has just the right amount of torque to pull you out of that maximum lean angle. Not the torture rack that the super bikes are and I can easily ride two up for 400+ miles. In my opinion, there is no match to any bike on the market today. This bike is unparalled in the canyons. It rails corners like it's glued.
- abn375, Concord, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a ridiculously amazing motorcycle. When you start this thing up, it sounds like it means business. Once it warms up, it sounds even better. A very satisfying rumble/roar. As far as acceleration goes, this is a fast, fast motorcycle. The engine delivers an instant hit of serious power as soon as you twist the throttle. It's almost like the bike is one step ahead of you, the acceleration is so immediate -as if it was reading your mind. However, the power is delivered in a very rider-friendly manner. No huge rush of power lurking in the higher RPMs - you don't need it because it is already there. I suspect the Japanese litre-bikes would pull away in a long straight away, but you will have them off the line. The bike feels very firmly planted, but I haven't really pushed it going around turns. One of the things that surprised me was how comfortable I found the riding position to be. I've gone on a couple hour-long rides so far, and no hint of a problem. One thing I will say is that this is a bike that is NOT made for commuting or sitting in traffic. The mirrors are useless, the clutch pull is heavy, and the engine runs very hot. If you can find one of these motorcycles in your area that is in good condition, buy it NOW. You won't be disappointed. Word of caution, though: watch your license!
- Jason W., Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-03 2002 Ducati 750 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Simply put, this Italian marvel is a Legend. It isn't for everyone, yet those that have had the distinct pleasure to push it to its unending capabilities know its awesome abilities. She fits me like a glove! I added a set of Remus Pipes and a 180 in the back and she is a piece of incredible canyon destroying machinery. Everyone has a Harley, GSX-R, CBR but only the very few know of and own the charm and beauty of the Ducati 750 Super Sport. When on her I feel like Mike Hailwood on the roads of Man. Ahhhh, to ride a DUC is simply a dream and legendary! And hey, when I am a half mile out, the girlfriend knows to be outside waiting to hop on... the true roar of twin thunder is coming!
- Rick "CHIEF" Poedtke, Canyon Country, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-30 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike fully lives up to its hype. The ergonomics are barely acceptable until you ride it on a track (or curvy road) - when it all makes sense, and becomes "invisible". Ridden above 8/10's, it's a very symbiotic experience. Below that, you're on your own. The engine is totally linear and flexible. Huge ability to out accelerate almost anything coming off of turns because it is so tractable. The clutch may be "talkative", but it's been totally reliable so far. Brakes are fantastic, but after a couple of track days, there are huge improvements to be made by a thorough fluid flush and fresh HH+ pads. At times when you think you've reached their capacity to slow you, just squeeze harder and they'll produce. Can be a bit tempermental starting in very cold weather, but show me a highly-tuned exotic car that isn't. Might be a by-product of an open exhaust and computer, too. This is definitely the pinnacle of design for Ducati since the '70s. Though not ugly, the 999 series just doesn't capture the same passion. The price is (out)dated ergonomics and instruments. I still haven't felt any 999 envy - even seing the "R" models released stateside.
- Corse Rider, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-09 2002 Ducati 750 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has 2k mikes on it so far. I have test driven some of the other bikes brands (new '04s). I can't say that any delivered the same fun-to-drive feeling. I live in a hilly area with lots of winding roads. This bike has been nothing but joy. Bottom line, it looks good and feels good, and is very easy to ride. It is a real confidence booster - it follows the rider commands no matter how tight the curves.
- AA, woodinville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-08 2002 Ducati Monster 750 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a long period of indecision between the Ducati Monster and the Kawasaki Z1000 I finally made a decision. At first I wanted the Ducati, then I heard a few ugly things about them, and decided to look elsewhere toward the Z1000. The Z1000 is faster and has a nice array of after market items, but the colors are horrible. The Ducati is slower and less comfortable but the design is superb, and the handling is incredible. It was a tough choice, but I don't regret going with the Ducati. Some people say the engine is underpowered, but I strongly disagree. Low and midrange perform well within, if not surpassing, the region of acceptability. However, it does top out around 120-125mph, so do not expect to keep up with your friend's GSX-R. Then again for what it's worth, I think it's worth a whole lot more than other bikes, and so will the women checking you out as you fly by.
- Mike, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After some time of contemplating a bike in the Ducati class, I decided after returning from Laguna Seca that as life was not getting any longer, and I had to make my move. The good folks at at my dealership located me a red 998. Holy Red Devil!! This bike rides with surgical precision, and the power is indescribably delicious... I have a new addiction, and am a self admitted speed freak. This bike is the ultimate rush!
- Red Devil, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-19 2002 Ducati 900 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If I said all I wanted to say, I would be writing a 5000 word essay. This bike rocks, maybe not the fastest bike out there, but hey, we are riding on normal roads with speed limits. The handling is phenomenal, power is fantatstic, & the riding position is agressive enough without killing you. With some additional acessories, (ie Performance carbon cans & & few other mods) , it looks great & sounds just as well. Once you get a Duc , you will never go back.
- Justin, Sydney, NSW , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2002 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only bad thing about this bike is that it makes me think about the next Ducati I'll get.Fantastic
- Bill, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-15 2002 Ducati Monster 750 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Monster was my first bike ever and I love it. I have never been on a bike before and since I bought this bike, I have had no problems. Just because I am saying that this is a great starter bike doesn't mean you will get bored with it. I have had it for over a year now and I have not got anywhere near being bored with it, yet. I highly doubt I will either........ If you don't have a Ducati Monster yet, get it or get a bigger and faster Ducati... I feel that the guys with the Japanese bikes will be following you.
- Venerick, Franklinville, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-08 2002 Ducati Monster S4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. I had a 800s and totaled it, an i am so glad. I was disappointed w/ the power of the 800, but the 101hp of the S4 is plenty. I almost flipped it yesterday. Anyway, great bike. Not much on top end, but who wants to go 140 on a bike anyway. Lots of torque, Lots. Love this bike!!
- DUfuknCATI, birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-30 2002 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 40 years old and bought this bike as my first bike in December 2001. I got over 8000 miles on it and never get to tired to ride my Monster. Soon I will be upgrading to one of the Superbikes, but I will never sell my Ducati Monster. She is a beauty and a lot of fun to ride.
- Matthias Resch, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2002 Ducati Monster 900 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to jump back into the motorcycle scene now that my kids are a little more self sufficient. I'm a little to old for the severe riding position of the 600's (GSXR etc.). It came down to the Speed Triple and the Monster. I chose the monster! What can I say? It looks amazing and has the performance to match. I have been out riding with friends on supersports and have no trouble keeping up. The handling is inspiring and the acceleration is nice and smooth as the engine is torquey even at low revs. And then there is the intangible of owning "the Ferrari of motorcycles". Everywhere I go, people comment on the beauty. It's the right bike for those of us who want to ride, but don't want the pain and suffering of a supersport.
- Marty Fisher, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2002 Ducati 900 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a Duc, my Indian was in the shop, they were making deals on 2002 leftovers. I am 44 and this bike is my 12th it is just a lot of fun. I know it wont beat a honyamakawsuki except maybe in the twisties when it gets tight. Then again it has a lot more class and gets a lot more respect from those that know. Hmmm maybe a MV Agusta next, gonna need a bigger garage.
- Warhawk, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-10 2002 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so much fun to ride. Though the horsepower is not as great as many sportbikes, it definitely makes up for it in the twisties (and of course that's the best part of riding). I'm 5'5" and 125lbs. The bike is not too heavy or too tall. I'm not flat-footed when I'm on it, but I feel very stable. Every once in a while, I have problems backing up when I'm on it (if ground is sloping). This is a great 2nd bike. I would not recommend it for beginners, because of the torquiness of the bike. Plus it would be an expensive lesson learned to drop this bike (which many beginners do ... I did on my first bike). Overall I would definately recommend this bike. You'll have fun and get a lot of looks on it - Hey it's a Ducati!!!
- Mary, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-01 2002 Ducati Monster 900 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I didn't ride for about 20 years and saw one of these and new I had to have one. Have not been disappointed. Extraordinary handling, braking, acceleration and ..oh yeah... it is drop dead gorgeous. I have added titanium Leo Vince pipes and a larger rear sprocket. The thing just flat out flies. Buy one.
- Tom, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-28 2002 Ducati 748S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike stirred my insides from the first time I placed eyes on it in the showroom. The exclusivity alone made we want to ride it out of there that day. For the extra $3000 CDN over the 748 model, it was well worth the money. The Marchesini wheels ALONE would cost more than that aftermarket. Even though the seaating position is something to be desired, you will reap the benefits of having forearms like Popeye...but any Ducati enthusiast will know in advance that this has been the same for quite some time now. Performance wise, it could use a little more in the bottom end. Pulling the front end up in 2nd gear is not something that just requires rolling over on the throttle. But that's for the showboats...and this bike is defintitely for a subdued rider that wants to be noticed..and trust me...YOU GET NOTICED! Through the hairpins, this thing handles like a dream...if your 3/4 of your way out of a turn...crank it over...you'll be pleased in all senses. The nice thing about this bike is that it actually looks faster just standing there...for when you see it move, it's like everything is in slow motion...all you can do is loon on in awe and jealousy. If you already own one of these bikes, and are thinking of selling it, shake your head. This model/yr/paint scheme was only available in 2002MY. If you do NOT already have one...and you know where you can get one...JUMP on it. This bike will do nothing but increase in value as time goes by. Investment or pleasure, you will not be disappointed if you have, or are going to have a bike like the 2002 748S. Enjoy!!!
- Rob M., Windsor, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-06 2002 Ducati 750 SuperSport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 750SS for almost a year now and I think its one of the most underated bikes. I've had nothing but enjoyable miles and the lean angles on this bike is just tremendous. It just gives you so so much confidence when riding. Though my helmet gets flopped around alot, the bike is ROCK stable when buffetted by strong sidewinds; this even though the bike is rather tall. Power output is adequate and not intimidating. How fast can you go anyway in normal street and back roads riding? It is just a joy to ride. I weigh about 185 pounds. The complaints I have is the clutch which can be a pain after long riding in traffic. The clutch can also be very snatchy at low gears. Finally, the 750SS has so much road presence compared to most other bikes. People look and stare, drivers pull closer at the stops to get a look. Believe me, this bike looks beautiful in the sun, in the person. Sounds so cliche, but photos do not capture the subtleties of the design. The Supersport definitely is a Bike with stacks of character and involvement. Been sounded many times before by Duc owners, but the fact is for all its inadequacies, you know that you are riding something very simple and yet very special.
- Desmo, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-06 2002 Ducati Monster 900 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a friend of mine's monster 900 I have a 2002 Speed Triple. The quality and fit and finish, is amazing good on this bike. The brembo brakes are precise and solid, handling is excellent too. My only disapointment is the engine, my Speed Triple not only beats it, but annialaites in this department. The duc engine is a vibrating/shaking monster, and does sound lika monster but has very little hp. It will not pull below 3,000 rpm just shakes an will not accelerate. Wheelies were pretty impossilble. And if you have any 600 crotch rocket you will eat this one up.. Great bike if just want cruise/tour on but very slow, and get ear plugs for the resonanating exhaust...
- Jay, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-09 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 998 delivers... performance, handling, exhaust note, looks. It has given me more ear splitting grins, coupled with howls of delight, unlike any other motorcycle I've ridden. It has exceeded all expecations for a sporting ride -- five stars.
- Steve Farson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, I own Ducati's 998R Superbike since a year with absolutely no problems at all except normal maintenance which every bigbore sports bike demands. Handling-Speed-Power=awesome. No respect for the traffic rules, I do whatever I want because nobody can catch you when you are on this bike. You tend to dissapper at the blink of an eye. Ultimate. Couldn't expect anything more than this from science.
- NAVNEET, CALIFORNIA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: