Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (9)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-03-27 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Real Red 2002 FXDX for 13 months and would like to update my impressions. The original seat was terrible - I replaced it with Harley's Sundowner accessory touring seat and am very happy. I never liked the black exhaust - I replaced it with V&H Longshots (with baffles), had the carb rejetted, and had a Screaming Eagle high-flow breather installed. The improvement in throttle response is very impressive. It also runs a lot smoother and the occasional, annoying carb backfire is gone. The suspension and brakes are excellent - once I got the adjustable suspension set where I like it, I haven't messed with it. Better tires, than the stock Dunlops, would greatly improve the machine's handling and braking abilities. Nonetheless, it'll hustle down a twisty road at a satisfyingly brisk pace. I recommend using synthetic oils. I use Amsoil in the engine and tranny and Harley's primary lube in the primary. It shifts noticably better and runs a lot cooler. Finally, I like the fact that I've never seen another one like mine. Like it or not, it stands out from other Harleys because of it's lack of chrome. With the installation of a few select chrome goodies, it's a real stunner.
- Alan, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-03 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2001 model H-D Superglide Sport in June. The tank and fender color I chose was white pearl which is a beautiful color with the black. When the bike was new, I could feel quite a bit of engine vibration at idle, 2000rpm's and at 3000rpm's. At about 7000 miles, I noticed that the vibrations had deminished. The bike now has 8000 miles on it, and the engine vibrations are still deminishing. My guess is the engine is really getting broken in now. It takes a while with the 0.001" - 0.0015" piston to cylinder clearances. Other than a night prowler 340cfm breather kit and rejeting the carb, the engine is stock from the factory right down to the factory exhaust pipes. We estimate about 70hp and 85 ft-lbs of torque. The engine turns up very quickly, much like a small block chevy, with no vibration at all. At about 50 mph on the interstate, I can simply roll back the throttle in high gear, and the torque will slingshot the bike to 90 mph in just a few seconds. I took it to charlotte motor speedway last summer where I rode it around the track. I passed through the first turn at about 50mph. When I began to come out of the turn, I rolled back the throttle and held it wide open down the back stretch until I had to back off to negotiate the next turn. The bike hit 100 mph easily, and the distance between the two turn is only about 3/8 of a mile. For 70 hp, that's pretty impressive! The bike rides great and handles better than any bike I've riden in its class. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who's looking for a power cruiser. It will hold it value unlike most other motorcycles.
- Gary Kilpatrick, Jamestown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my toy since Nov. It has 6300 miles on her. With a few engine mods and better pipes the Fxdx really roars. I can't wait to install the S.E. 103 cu. in. stroker kit on her to see what she'll do. The only problem I've had is a grounded stator and a 21/2 mile walk and push to the house. Other than that she's a damn fine machine, wouldn't trade her for the world.
- garemo, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2002 FXDX I purchased in April of this year. I love it but noticed your Dec. 2001 article about alterning the handlebars for better positioning. I'd be interested in what you did, where I can get the parts and now to do the work to upgrade them. I also had a HD previously...the first Superglide in 1971. Wish I had that baby today...I'm told it might be worth some money. Anyway, I'm very happy w/my 2002 FXDX (silver). It starts, runs, performs better than I'd dreamed. A real winner. Appreciate your input. Thanks. Randy
- Randy Kathmann, Fishkill

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have 13000 miles since november 01. nothing has had to be touched on this machine. the 88-89-12200 sporty carb needle straightened out any running questions. the platinum plugs i installed are clean. the engine broke in perfectly with synthetic 20-50 amsoil and has never used a drop. syn in the primary and trans has worked perfectly. i converted my crash{engine guard}bar to an oil cooler along with 2 wimmer 8 1/2" coolers with a jag adapter and lockhart thermostat. the bike is exactly what i want in a motorcycle . i just wish i could talk the guy who bought my 72 super glide into selling it back to me, but his wife won't let him sell it.
- fred, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-20 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This really is a great looking & performing bike... on the Harley scale of performance, that is. However, it still blows my mind that after spending nearly $14,000 on the bike, I still have to put a LOAD of additional money into it to truly make it perform. I think that's what Harley Marketing Dept. calls a win-win situation. Make a slowish, expensive bike that people love (like me) to buy, and then sell them all the pricey parts they need to make it go. Oh, they're good.... and yup, I dig this bike!
- Mo, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-08 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance modifications I have made to my 2001 FXDX (Vivid Black, what else?) are as follows: Cams: H-D Screamin’ Eagle SE-203 Performance Ignition System: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 6,200 RPM Performance Exhaust: H-D Screamin’ Eagle II Slip-Fit Coil: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 6,200 RPM Performance Spark Plug Wires: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Air Intake: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Air Cleaner & Breather Kit Push Rods: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Adjustable Spark Plugs: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 12mm Triple Platinum Carburetor: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 42mm Mikuni Flatside #165 main jet, #20 pilot jet, #98 jet needle, #60 pump nozzle) DYNAMOMETER RESULTS (May 30, 2001) Max. Horsepower: 78.6 hp @ 5,800 rpm Max. Torque: 88.4 ft.-lbs. @ 3,900 rpm This bike easily beats all other local Harleys I have encountered, and regularly runs with my local sportbike friends running Honda VFRs. In a drag race, the superior torque of the FXDX easily allows my bike to outrun the sportbikes off the starting line (though they get past me in the turns later on).
- Steve Brantley, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-19 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike stock is already a great bike, lots of power and torque. The first thing I did was put foward controls, big air kit, thunderslide kit, and Screaming eagle Pro 2into1 pipe on it. (It woke up considerably). I still was not satisfied, so I then put Screaming Eagle 203 cams, and 9.5 to 1 flat top pistons(also high performance valves and springs) in it along with Andrews quick adjust pushrods, and a 7200 rpm screaming eagle ignotion and module. Let me tell you, The difference is Night and Day, I went from around 62hp and 78 ft/lbs torque to 92hp and 98 ft/lbs torque. All of that in conjunction with the awesome suspension already existing on the bike make it an awesome scooter. I also had to get rid of the "Pretty Jade Green Paint", I had it Painted Black Satin, just like the rocker boxes. It's alot of fun to pull up next to a "JAP" rocket and make them wonder "Should I? or Shouldn't I?". If you have any questions regarding the bike E-mail me.
- Bret Hinson, Brunswick, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-25 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third motorcycle and my first HD. I've only put 75 miles on it, so these are just my initial impressions - I'll submit an update in a few months. It's a surprisingly nimble handler. The brakes are first-rate, as is the clutch and the transmission shifts cleanly. I'm 6'1", with a 34" inseam, and find the riding position to be pretty good, although I'll eventually be wanting a seat better suited for two-up riding and with better low back support. I think certain colors look better with the blacked out engine treatment - mine is Real Red and looks stunning.
- Alan, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: