Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-07-29 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years of owning Japanese bikes, I finally got my first Harley. Great choice for a first bike, one of the nicest sporsters I have ever seen. Tons of chrome, drag bars, forward controls, etc. Added some drag pipes and carb rejetting, a small sissy bar and now all the guys with their big Japanese cruisers are a bit jealous. Only problem with this bike is at speeds over 65 vibration can be a bit of a problem, but thats why the speed limit is 65 right? With 2 people on board bike is a bit small, so I'm looking at one of the Dyna models now to move up to. I want a bigger bike, but I will still keep my little Sportster, as there is no better around-town bike for the money.
- CJ, pompton plains, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-05 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 3300 miles on the clock and having just got back from a faultless 1243 miles across France in eight days, this bike is getting better and better. Perfect for crusing on French back roads at the 90kph speed limit. Only the bad vibes through the bars above 60 mph stop it being 5 stars. The first one was definately a Friday afternoon job!
- Rich Clements, Wiltshire, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first time I got my 2002 Sportster 1200 custom up to 75mph the left mirror broke off. Other than this small problem I have had nothin but fun owning a Harley Sportster, even standing 6'3.
- Schroeder, Kennewick, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding my 2002 1200c sporty all summer and have no complaints. I get a lot of comments like "How much money did you spend on chrome?" I always answer " None, it came like that". People can hardly believe it. It is a head-turner for sure. After about 2,500 miles, the oil stopped leaking out of the air cleaner. I only get a small drop or two after each ride. Also the ride seamed to smooth out quite a bit. I really enjoy riding the bike and have had no problems whatsoever. I just wish it had a bigger tank. Harley finally made a bike i can afford a be proud of! Way to go harley!
- scooterman, Orion , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-01 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and I've never been happier. I've had many other types of bikes, but they all fail in a comparison to this American muscle. Samson pipes, let everyone hear me coming and improves the look of the bike alot. Great bike and for those of you that don't like the vibration, I guess you don't know what American hot rods are like and should sound and feel like. Topeka Harley was great so if you want one, talk to them. It's worth the drive.
- Larry, Overland Park, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine in May put 2500 miles on it in no time! Just Love it!! Put over $3000 of chrome and stuff...wow...now it's a crowd magnet. Great ride..should of bought one sooner...
- Frank, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 XL1200C for tooling around town since I already own a 2001 FLHT for longer rides. The Sportster handles well and is fun to ride below highway speeds, any faster and the vibrations can become bothersome. I have changed saddles, added tons of chrome, and added the stage 1 kit (hi-flow air cleaner, rejet, and Vance & Hines pipes). As is frequently the case it began to leak oil out of the air cleaner! This is not a rarity, in fact, the factory is aware of the problem and I was told by a customer service representative that it's quite common. They have been working with me (reluctantly!) to solve the problem, they have replaced just about every seal in the motor. The problem still exists!!! Rest assured this problem is real and it has nothing to do with too much oil in the bike!!! The new redesigned Sportster is due to arrive at the dealers as a 2004 model, if you want a XL it may be worth the wait.
- Mark Dixon, Concord, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Screaming Eagle air clear and carburetor rejet kit installed, and the baffles removed from my mufflers. It runs much better and sounds awesome. It actually runs smoother at highway speeds. The previous few reviews confirm what I said before, you either love it or you hate it. It's loud, rough, and flashy, and a lot of cheaper bikes are faster. But it has style. I think the ones that leak oil out the air cleaner may be being overfilled with oil ever so slightly.
- Chuck Connor, Warren, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an older Sporty, a garage kept 1986 883 bored to 1200 with over 30k miles. It is a solid dependable bike, it has a solid ride though easily maneuverable. Vibratition is not much of an issue if you fill your handlebars half way with BBs to dampen the vibration. My only issue with high speed riding is wind noise and buffeting hitting my helmet. I have a small windshield which helps some. Over all its a cool bike thats fun to ride. Check out the pic below.
- sdb, adelphi, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike was a Honda Shadow Spirit 750. My wife and I are a combined 280lbs and this 750 was inadequate for comfortable highway riding. Went to the Honda dealer to look for a bigger engine. Went away riding a preowned '99 HD Sportster 1200 Custom. It had a great deal more vibration and it took a little getting use to. But know that I'm familiar with the extra power and transmission, this bike is amazing compaired to the Honda. The chrome is real, and the manuverability and power give us reassurance at highway speeds, which tend to be in the upper 70's or higher. Even at 90mph, a roll on the throttle is instantly realized with an aggressive but controlled lunge forward. The forward mounted controls are at just the right position for a comfortable cruising position. This bike is pleanty big for longer trips, expecially with the custom handle bars and seat.
- adam wheat , indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-19 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned a 2002 XL 1200 custom since March.Real Red and Diamond Ice is the color.Also have replaced the seat with a Lepera solo bare bones.Also have Samson Big Guns Low Magnums with the Screaming Eagle a/c.Does this thing scream, and it looks beautiful as well.Receive lots of compliments now, where I didn't with the Yamaha or the Suzuki in the past. They are good bikes but you don't get nearly the recognition that one receives after purchasing a Harley. Quality, performance, and legendary style in one motorcycle. Best bike I have ever owned and will ride it for years to come. It will grow old with me. Ride safe and just ride, no matter the brand name. Just ride.
- Luke Dennehy, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-06 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently took delivery of a 2002 1200 custom sportster. I have about 600 miles on it and love it. The controls are in the right spot, the handlebars are great, and the seat is even comfy. With cycle-shack slip-ons, a high flow air cleaner and a carb adjustment, this bike will blow away any stock dyna or softail! I traded in my fxr low rider to buy it so i know for a fact it will out perform a low rider! My only complaint is that my right foot falls asleep and i don't know why. As far as im concerned, with the black/chrome motor, slotted chrome rear wheel and laced front wheel, bullet turn signals and headlight, foward controls, and drag bars, this IS the best bike you can buy for the money! Overall it looks good, rides good and sounds great! If your thinking twice, dont! If your a bad-ass and say its only a sportster, than you have no idea what your talking about cause this sporty will keep up with the pack, if not pass it.
- ironmasher, Youngsville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-02 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes, it's a Harley, and to some that may be enough. But, I'm not sure if I love it or hate it! I sold my 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic for the mystique of a Harley, what I found was a bike that is hard to live with. The bike bottoms out on almost every bump, leaks oil out of the air cleaner which runs down the side of the bike(I was told by the dealer that this was normal!). I am definitely getting more respect out on the street, but my body (uncomfortable and fatigued) keeps saying "where's the Yamaha". I may be a bit too tall for this bike at 6'1", perhaps, that is why I am not in love with the way this bike feels. Though, I have only had this bike for 500 miles I am considering getting rid of it. It has attitude, but that's not enough.
- Patrick Coutermarsh, Dracut, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike and had initial doubts when I saw other, more dressed out bikes available. Then I threw some slip fit- Screamin Eagle,Baloney pipes on her and the heads turned. This bike burns and handles like a dream. The original muscle bike lives on...
- John Daynard, Little Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-08 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as I liked the looks and it was a Harley so resale would be good if I wanted to dump it. The dealer wouldn't let me test any of the bikes and now I know why. I bought it and after spending 4 hours tightening all the crap the dealer forget to I had it running fairly well. Now this is a brand new bike and it never seemed to run perfect. I put 4,500 miles on it and then it happened. I switched bikes with my friends Honda Sabre. His bike was smoother, faster, handled better, started and ran perfectly, and he had 19,000 miles on his with no problems. I sold mine for 1800 less than I had in it and ordered the Sabre in black. Sorry Harley but mystique alone doesn't cut it with me. I ride because I want to ride. I don't want to be a mechanic and I could care less what others think of metric bikes.
- sman, Syr, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-25 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been looking for a cruiser for a while now and have ridden most of them from 800 to 1800 cc. I have now bought a 2002 1200 custom and after only 120 miles, I know I made the right choice for me. In the UK unlike the USA, to buy a cruiser, you really are bucking the biker system and you will get criticized often, well I love all bikes, I'm happy and that's what counts!. The handling is far better than I thought, I love the torque and the stage 1 sound is great, a 'must-have'. Maybe I'll update when I've cracked out some more miles and run it in. On the Harley, the bike makes the statement and gets the attention, all I have to do is ride it. Great bike.
- Wizard, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-20 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my new Sportster after just three months, and bought a new Valkyrie Interstate as well as a new Shadow Sabre. The Harley feels like it is going to shake apart at highway speeds, and is just too small physically for the average adult. I invested $7000 in improvements to the motor and a new seat and tons of chrome. It still rode like a very poorly designed machine. I'll take my Honda's any day, thank you.
- Christopher, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-09 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my vivid black Sportster in December 2001 and have found no faults with it yet. It rides exactly as I hoped it would. It has a comfortable riding position, it looks great, and handles wonderfully. The only accessories I added so far are a chrome luggage rack, a sissy bar and a detachable windshield. Every part seems to be made according to high quality standards. I hope to add the Screamin' Eagle pipes and air filter, and rejet the carb soon, to get the extra horsepower, because my one less than enthusiastic comment about the motorcycle is that it seems underpowered. Otherwise, it is a great bike. The dealers I have visited, on the other hand, I have found to be less than impressive. I am sure that there are some great dealers out there, and some that are just average, but the few I experienced in the Baltimore area seemed less than professional and too much like used car dealers. That is, slick and manipulative, with inadequate (or even horrible) customer service after signing an order unless you keep after them. I realize that that is because they CAN give crappy customer service and still sell all of their allotment of motorcycles from the factory, but it is still a shame. That is why Harley dealers can get away with claiming to charge MSRP for their bikes, but then adding on hundreds of dollars in "prep and set-up" fees.
- Tom, Owings Mills, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-08 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's noisy, it viberates, Its loud and I love it. If you want a smooth bike buy a gold wing. If you wants something that reminds you that your on a motorcycle BUY a Harley. I'm not disapointed that I did. Great short trip bike and lots of fun around town.
- Stan, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-23 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only a Sportster, I don't think so!! This bike has it all, looks, comfort and all the power you could want. A great ride for cruising moderate distances.
- Rick, Joppa, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: