Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Touring Bikes

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

paffel

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Imagine riding a couch down the highway - that's the 1800 Honda Goldwing. Greatest touring bike ever! The color stands out for other traffic to see. The flood lights add safety especially at night when wanting to see more in the roadsides. It rides like a dream.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Pennington

Cleves, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the 2002 new when it first was on the dealer's floor. I have since put over 103,000 miles on it with very little problems. The only problems I have had are with tire mileage. I was used to getting 24,000 plus miles on tires with my 1994 SE 1500 and now I am getting half of that. Not the bikes fault, the tires just do not last as well as the motorcycle does. I do all my own servicing with oil changes. Primarily I use Synthetic oil at approximately 8,000 miles depending on conditions. I have an extended warranty until 2008 and have not had to use it yet. The frame was not cracked like some bikes were and with a hint of overheating, the dealer completed the recall on the ECM. That is the ONLY time the Wing has been in for mechanical repair. There were two other occasions where things were not right and that is explained below. The CB radio was replaced under warranty and the CD Changer/player was replaced under warranty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Roberts

Naperville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I hadn't ridden in 30 years when a trip to SD (while sturgis was happening) gave me the bug. My wife thought I was nuts when I bought an '04 Spirit 1100. Before I knew it, she was hooked as a co-rider. Then we found the Wing. It's simply an unbelievable machine. It does everything you ask and has plenty left with amazing creature comforts. I took it to a sport rider training class (filled with 20 year olds on crotch rockets) and this old man (52) kept up fine. After 6,000 miles on the Wing, the Spirit is mine... but the Wing is ours. And by the way, the GWRRA is an awesome group of folks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam Davis

Green Bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2002 Pearl Orange Gold Wing 1800 in August of 2003. It was brand new but hadn't sold because of the color. I love the orange color, but I didn't anticipate wanting to color coordinate myself with my bike. This is my first Gold Wing and I have found out from others that this is a common phenomenon. The bike drives awesome. Handles better than a sport bike to me. I can drive it longer because of the protection the bike affords me. I went through the original set of Dunlaps at 12,000 miles and I replaced them with Metzlers Me880's. I paid $200 for the rear tire and $160 for the front. It is very easy to remove the rear tire compared to the 1500 Wing. Put the bike on the center stand, take one panel off the back with 5 screws, and a single bar with two screws, then reach up and take the 5 automotive style lug nuts off and pull off the rear tire. I can't wait to start doing all of the other labor on the bike. Too bad nothing ever goes wrong with it. I am looking forward to the air filter change, some people have said that takes about 3 hours to do. I get about 35 to 38 miles to the gallon one up around town and 41 to 44 one or two up on the highway. If you see an orange Gold Wing around Green Bay, Wisconsin weaving back and forth in the lane, you can just know, I'll be grinning from ear to ear.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Bessinger

Galion, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had many (many) cycles over the years. My father even had a cycle business (so I have rode) many brands over the years. But nothing like the Wing. I had taken my 2 year old Suzuki Intruder in for an Oil change, and saw the new 2002 Pearl Orange Goldwing and rode it home. It's been the best and I love it. Only problems were the two recalls. For the frame weld and over heating problem, "it was in the Honda shop almost two weeks".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Preston Hale

Dickinson, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike in Oct. 2003. I haven't had a bike for 19 yrs. Last bike I had was a 1100 interstate. This is the best bike I've ever owned, I can't say enough about it. My wife says I'm going through my second childhood sure is fun is all I got to say. 5 Stars plus.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mel Stark

Marshall, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bike is great, only exceeded by the quality of the service. Injector pump sounds and cam chain sound loud, but who can really complain. Great work Honda, and thanks again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Blaine, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned several Goldwings, the latest being a 1500SE. Most of my riding is done 2 up. Three of the people we ride with bought 2001 Wings. We all love riding the "twisties". It became somewhat of a challange to keep up with the 2001's. I avoided a "test" ride on one of their bikes because I had heard that, if you ride one, you'll buy one. Well, I did and I did. What a ride! We go all weekend, sometimes 700 miles or more. We just can't get enough. One of our riders describes the experience as "liquid power". I installed a set of highway pegs and have ground off quite a lot of chrome. The only problem I've noticed is that my bike likes higher octane fuel when we ride two up pulling a cargo trailer. I think I'll keep 1)the wife, 2) the higher octane fuel, and 3) the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tom janik

hobart, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-02-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
my son owns a harley ultra classic my wing out performs it all. power looks sure is great to listen to the cd and hear it!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Wise

Mineral City, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
bought my first wing in november 01,Yellow,the fastest, what I've wanted for a long time. It was great around the state for short rides,with no problems.Then when my wife and i took it on the cross country trip we always wanted to dowe found the problems everyone was talking about, got stuck in atraffic jam in ILL. and the temp guage started going up, thank god I was close to an exit. After about 200 miles the seat is like a brick, the cd changer stuck a few times, the speedometer stuck when going away from the sun, the left bag would not open, the trunk would not close,the noise in the intercom is terrible. I spent about 600 bucks trying to get thesame wind protection that my brother got on his 1500 with no luck. sold the bike two weeks after we got back, will never go back to a wing, honda will not stand behind it, and own up to there mistakes
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: