Honda Magna Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Magna Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Magna Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-01 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Magna new in 97 and moved from Michigan to Kansas to Colorado. This bike has cruised the expressways in Detoit, the Great Plains of Kansas and the mountains of Colorado, Wyoming and Montana. I've changed oil and lubed the chain and tightened it on occasion. I've changed the coolant and brake fluid at 16K but that's it. The performance has been great! The reliability has been perfect. It has surprised a lot of people who have ridden in the twisties in the mountains with me. We have always gotten compliments on the looks. In 2003 I gave the Magna to my wife and bought a Yamaha FZ1. She has riden it for 2 years and just loves it. My nieghbor recently took it for a ride and unfortunately totaled it. We were crushed. We've been looking for a replacement bike for a month and My wife has now told me we are not looking at anything else. She will not want another bike unless she has another pristeen Magna. Anybody have one for sale, reasonably close? Help me Please. What a great ride.
- Tom Buchhop, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-15 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanting to get back into riding after 35 yrs, I started looking at Harleys. My first cycle was a Honda 305 Scrambler so I checked out a nearly new 2002 Magna from a private owner, and the looking was over. What an awesome machine. Looks are killer, runs like a screamer, and is very easy, comfortable, and confident on mountain roads or Atlanta's freeways. Quality engineering and performance is just what you would expect from Honda, and if you compare the total cost of ownership, you will be hard pressed to beat the Magna.
- Jake, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-15 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great around-the-town & back-roads cruiser. Someone over 6 foot tall my find the bike to be a bit small on longer cruises, say over 300 miles. So an upgraded seat might do the trick quite well, it has for me. Great bike overall!
- GR1ZZ, Kalamazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-25 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE ALWAYS ROAD 4 CY ROAD BIKES STARTING WITH 76 CB 750,PUT MANY,MANY MILES ON THAT BIKE, HAVE HAD OTHER MAKES AND MODELS UP TO THE PURCHASE OF THE 2002 MAGNA, IT IS A BIKE THAT YOU LOOK FORWARD TO RIDE, IT IS SMOOTH AND FAIRLY QUICK, THE CHAIN IS A PAIN BUT YOU GET USED TO IT, FOR THE PRICE MY HARLY, AND HONDA RIDING FRENDS SEEM IMPRESSED, IT WILL STAY WITH THE VTX 1800 UP TO OVER A 100 FROM THE LINE, THE GAS MILAGE EVERY BODY COMPLANS ABOUT IS EASALY TAKEN CARE OF IF YOU PAY ATTENTION TO THE TRIP COUNTER, WITH THE EXTENDED WARRENTY HONDA HAS I HAVE 4 YEARS OF VERY FUN RIDING AHEAD, AND THEN IT WILL BE TIME FOR A NEW ONE, I LIKE OTHERS WISH HONDA WOULD PAY MORE ATTNTION TO THE V4S THEY HAVE A FOLOWING, IMPROVE ON IT, POSSIBLY IF NOT A V65, MAYBEE A 900 OR 1000,
- I AM HAPPY, NORTHERN GREAT LAKES, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-25 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a highly customised Magna (my first bike) and loved it. It had a screen,paint job, cobra slash cut pipes which sounded fantastic, cobra pillion floorboards, driving lights etc. Now own a Triumph Sprint ST which is a sweet bike. The main reason I sold the Magna was its small fuel tank. If they could beef up the grunt to say 1100cc and have say an 18ltr tank it would be one horn machine.
- Geoff Worsley, Adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-18 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding and cross-country'ing my Magna for almost four years now. Never had a problem with the bike yet! To me the look (the symmetry and chrome overlay of the engine) is more important than the name of a motorcycle--and Magnas epitomize that.
- Chuck, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2002, I can't imagine anything better. The ride is smooth, the sound is great, and I think she is beautiful. The dealer convinced me to try it, so I tested it against others...no comparison. I was hooked. The only drawback is lack of accessories that fit, most noteably hard sadlebags. A girl needs her stuff.
- Linda, Champaign, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-02 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For thelife of me,I cannot understand why Honda dosn't update the Magna! Like one of the reviews stated give us an 1100 Magna! There is no compitetion between the v-twin stock and the v-4!!! Company's keep building old looking outdated motorcycles,and wonder why sales are down!!!! Give us a new Magna please! Are you listening Honda???
- Fred Thomas, Plattsburg, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-24 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking hard for the last 4 months, I purchased a 99 Magna with 2024 miles on it. During the "looking period" I rode 3 different Harleys, a Mean Streak, Honda Spirit,Yamaha FZ1, VTX 1800 and a Road Warrior. I think I might have been happy with the FZ1, but it has way more power/ speed than I neeed since I am a new rider with only a 1,000 miles on a XR650L. The Kaw. Mean Streak also caught my attention a little. However, the Magna is lighter, quicker, smoother running, quieter and easier to ride than any of the others. My mpg is 40-46 and I'm working on smoother shifting so I expect that to increase a little. As far as ergos, I am 55 yeasrs old, 6 ft tall, weigh 200lbs. and find the bike very comfortable. So far, I do not plan to add a custom seat or a windshield. I am however looking for saddle bags. Any help there would be apprciated. If someone came along and offered me $2,000 more than I paid for the bike, I can't imagine that I would even come close to selling. This is a seven star bike.
- C. Urbanski, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-15 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just brought home my 95' Magna (4K orig. miles) and love it. Last bike I purchased was in 82' so this one is new to me. My quest for a new (used) bike covered many months of reading reviews (thanks to all of you who have posted) and test riding many bikes. Since I was looking for a "sport minded" cruiser the Magna fit the bill perfectly. I test rode all the new cruisers on the market from Honda and Yamaha to include the VTX1800 retro, Valkyrie and Yamaha Road Star, Warrior and Vmax. These are all very nice rides but when it comes to a balance of power and quickness/dollar the Magna is the clear winner by more than a 1/4 mile. I have noticed several posts on why Honda is not building the "big brother" to this bike and it is simple arithmetic. Add more HP and weight to this machine along with a few thousand dollars and you lose the entire purpose of this bike. "Kick Ass" fun on the cheap. For a few thousand more I would have purchased the Valkyrie with much of the same smooth flowing power of the Magna just tons more of it to spare. For now I will have a blast with my Magna and pick up a Valk in the next few years. Sorry, but the Magna will not be for sale at that time!
- JD, river falls, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-05 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 97 magna with just over 5K on it. I bought it used, installed V&H slip on pipes and a jet and shim kit. I don't know what hp I get, but I would like to know b/c I kick the crap out of every Harley I can find. This bike is great for city riding, very responsive for a cruiser and does just fine on the freeway. I only wish the gas tank was bigger! Other than that this bike rocks! Why doesn't Honda make a bigger deal over this bike? They could own the market. Time to go for a ride...
- Ed, College Station, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1998 Magna changed my riding forever. The comfort is good (upgradeable to fantastic with an aftermarket seat), the power is awesome, and unlike any V-Twin I've ridden, smooth as silk. I liked it so much than when I went looking for something more "sporty" I bought its sibling, the VFR 800. I have nearly 10,000 miles on this bike now and can truly say I feel it is the best motorcycle I have ever owned. But get this, the other day at my dealer I saw a 1994 Magna with 65,300 miles on it!! that's not a typo -- sixty-five thousand and three hundred! The mechanic told me that was absolutely correct and they had been through the maintenance schedule on the thing twice and were on the third round! Me and my Magna are going to be together a lot longer. Only complaint: fuel capacity is too small, but I can live with that.
- KMac, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-21 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my magna for 4 years and it still runs like a raped ape. someone was looking for specs, i have some as per cycle world magazine Sept. 2001..... it has about 80 horses @ the wheel and about 50 ft lbs of torque. it runs low 12's in the 1/4 mile and its top end is between 130 and 135 mph... that part is my own expeience, trust me you dont want to go much faster. i have yet to race anyone with it, but by reading your reviews i think i'd do pretty well. I've added some accessories, i wrote a review a little while ago...."9k miles and". here i have a picture included, at least i hope so.
- space, blackwood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-20 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1996 Honda Magna in April 2002. I was looking at a Harley and other bikes. I decided to try a less expensive bike to start with. I had not been on a bike for 35 years and wanted to know if I would like it before going for a new and more expensive modle. The problem I have now is where do I go from here. The bike has beauty, and brawn. It will cruse on the freeway at 75mph without a hitch. It is great around town, and in the mountains, well what can you say for a bike that just loves to go places. I cannot believe that a 750cc bike will out ride a $20,000 Harley but it does. Magna handles like a dream in the curves, shoots down the straightaway like a bullet. I have had no problem with stability in the wind, side, back or head-on. I do wish it had a drive shaft, the chain oil makes my back wheel very messy. Everyone talks about dual-disk brakes in the front and disk in the back and I wish I had these also, but the brakes on the bike are adequate for reasonable riding. This is not a sport bike, but it thinks it is, it is not a cruiser but it looks like one. The Magna is a bike for a man or woman who wants to ride and love every second of it. What you may want on the bike to make it better, a windshield, better foot pegs, a Mustang saddle or some other third party saddle, the OEM saddle will make you walk like Festes on Gun Smoke after about 50 miles. All in all I love this bike!!!
- David L. Ricktts, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-16 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from Laughlin, and talk about power the Magna has it. I always wanted one so when a 97 came up for 3,500. I jumped on it. It only had 3600 miles. The Harleys and Indians I rode with could not keep up, and when a $30,000.00 drag Harley tried me at a red light it was embarrassing. No Harley that I've seen comes close to the Magna on acceleration. Great bike, stay verticle.
- Hiway Thunder, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-05 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Simply a great bike, a power-cruiser that can pretty much do it all. I bought a V-Twin cruiser 6 months ago and just traded it in a '02 Magna. The V-Twin just didn't have the smooth highway speed and passing power that the Magna does. Test-ride a V-Four Magna and you'll never be satisfied with a V-Twin. The only faster cruisers are the VTX and the VRod, both with much bigger engine sizes and much more expensive. There are other bikes out there that look better, but the Magna feels better when you're on it. If you want performance rather than pretty looks, then the Magna should be your first choice. The following forum offers great info and advice about everything Magna: http://forums.delphiforums.com/magnarider/start
- Betamax, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-03 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 1994 Magna. I got it from an old farmer. It was parked for about a year. After changing the oil and filling it with premium I took it out for a real test ride. This bike is the most versitile bike I have ever rode. It can keep up with a sport and lug along with a cruizer. There is ample room for a passenger. I love grabbing a hand full of throttle and needing to tighten my grip to stay on. I really have no down side to report, except maybe the lack of aftermarket airfilter kits. Does anyone know where to get one?
- Ratfink, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has to be one of the best kept secrets in all of motorcycledom. Inexpensive, comfortable, and FAST. With all the hype about new "power cruisers" why...oh why..has Honda forgotten about this gem. They don't even include it in any of their advertising. If they are looking for a new "niche" vehicle, why not an 1100cc version with the same 4 into 4 pipe styling and more than one color available. Honda....are you listening ?? You are definitely missing something here. A lot of us are tired of the HD lookalikes. Build a new Magna and we will come !! In the meantime, I'll ride my current Magna till the wheels fall off.
- rick, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-16 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchase a 1996 Magna in perfect condition with only 2800 on the clock. My intention was to find a bike that was a little more comfortable for longer daytrips and easier for my wife to climb on to ride with me. I also own a 1996 Suzuki Bandit 600 that I put a Stage 1 kit from Holeshot on,(pipe, K&N, advance timing and jet kit). I love the difference it made in the mid-range and at 8Kto 12K it rips. So, any cruiser would have alot to live up to. So far, the Magna is easing the transition to a more sedate ride. But not enough to take away the thrill of a powerful motorcycle. A different power delivery (more broad), but she gets. I miss the braking power of the Bandit and it handles quicker but again I am not riding the same type of bike. From a guy that likes powerful bikes, you can't go wrong if you want to stray into cruisers but keep the thrill of a sport-tourer. If anyone has any performance specs about my Magna, I am having trouble finding road test and performance data because the media is not really paying attention to this bike right now, even though it will blow the doors off most of the so-called "powercruisers". And, there cheap!
- Gordon Cerniglia, Malta, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-31 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at a v-twin to start with and then I found a Magna. What a ride. The Magna has it all. Power, looks, and a great price. Lots of chrome as well. I highly recommend anyone that is looking for a cruiser to drive a Magna after trying a few v-twins and then make your choice.
- Smellfunny, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-24 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VF750C Magna is by far the most bang for your buck. With a starting price of only $7499 you can't go wrong! You want to cruise- get a Magna You want a drag bike- get a Magna You want to tour- get a Magna You want to leave V-Twins at the line- that's right, get a Magna. Mountain twisties, country backroads, or beach strip cruising, it's ready for anything!!
- GoocherLee, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What an incredible bike. Its the perfect mix of everything. It can Cruise, it can Race, and it can be made to Tour. Its the best all around bike I have ever owned. Granted it has some of the same problems that other bikes have. Poor stock seat and not the most stellar suspension, but because of the low initial cost all this can be taken care of pretty easily. With the low 12 second 1/4 time, there are only two V-twins that can hold a candle to this bike, at almost twice the cost. I'm gonna hold on to this baby for a long time.
- MagnaMan, ., Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: