Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (41)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-06-14 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new after not riding for several years. I thought it would be a great bike until I wanted to move up in size. I was so wrong!! This beautiful ride is gorgeous, comfortable and super reliable! Who could ask for more!! Maintenance is cheap - mileage and performance are outstanding!! I expect this bike will take me to 100k+. Last bike I'll ever need! Thank you Honda, I'm going to enjoy every mile and save money all the while!!
- william, Bunker hill, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-28 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike from my son-in-law and the first time I saw it I thought It was a Harley Fat Boy from the street. Have owned it for 3 years now. Changing back sprocket to a smaller sprocket by 2 teeth made all the difference in performance in the top end speed not to mention gas mileage. I will have this bike for years to come. Great ride on long trips. Love the blue Motiff on my 2002 ACE
- Fred Neiggemann, Streator, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my ACE brand new in 02. I average 6K miles a year riding. Aside from regular, scheduled maintenance (tires, brakes, oil, etc), I've only had to spend $1.98 on 2 O-rings for a small antifreeze leak between the heads. Never been down for ANY repairs. Takes the wife and I up and down the mountains of western PA without a problem. Only bad point is the stock seat which a Mustang seat fixed and high RPMs at highway speeds which a smaller rear sprocket cured. Will never sell it or use it as a trade.
- Dan, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the MSF a couple of years ago and began my reentry into bikes on a Honda 250 rebel I bought shortly after the course. I used it for a season and went all last year without a bike. I wanted to get one this year and sort of focused on a used Shadow or Vulcan. I just could not get by the fact that the Vulcan (I think) is not an attractive bike. I picked up an 02 Shadow Ace with less than 2600 miles. The bike is a dream. It took just a few minutes for it to feel like I had been on it forever. It is forgiving and feels all around like this bike was made for me. It is easy to maneuver being fairly light, but just heavy enough to feel solid as all out on the road. I know it is a 750 but it certainly feels like it has more than enough get up and go than I will ever need. If you have a chance to ride one-ride one-if you're thinking of buying one-buy it.
- aj, westford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a starter bike right out of getting out of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course (I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE FOR EVERYONE!). I looked around and test-drove the Yamaha, which felt too big and loafy, as if they were trying to replicate Harley Davidson. I test drove the Suzuki's but the quality, fit and finish was not up to par. I finally looked at my father in law's 750 ACE, and forced the dealership (DFW HONDA) to let me have a test drive. After much reluctance, they let me roll in the parking lot. I LOVED IT! It may only be a 750 but the first time I twisted the throttle, it pushed me back in my seat. It made the best exhaust sound, kind of like a gentleman's Harley Davidson. Rides like one too. The only complaint I have is that the transmission can get clunky as when you shift you may hear a loud clanging sound. Other than that, nothing but excellence. I have only had to replace a battery due to my own fault. Otherwise, this will be the first of many Honda's as I am a lifetime fan! Maybe my next will be an 1100.
- John Perry, M.B.A., Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-24 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about this bike. From the day I got it I have enjoyed riding 24 miles each way back and forth to work as weel as numerous relaxing rides and runs with others. Dependable is not a word I used often in this day and age but this bike defines the word.
- Domenick, North Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle in 20 years. I was lucky enough to find my 2002 A.C.E. with just 600 miles on it. After owning it for two months I decided to try a little distance ride. I ordered a set of luggage for the sissy bar packed and went from Dallas through Little Rock to Champaign, Illinois and returned through St. Louis to Kansas City, Tulsa and back to Dallas. Nice cruiser. It gets great gas mileage at 40-45 gallons per which was a plus at over $3.00 per gallon. Very comfortable and affordable bike.
- Chris, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride bikes a lot when I was in my teens. 10 years later, after looking at online images and reviews of ACE's for about a year, bought it in February of 2004. And not a minute too late as it was the very last one at that dealership and probably in the whole SF Bay Area as Honda discontinued making ACE's in 2003. The bike looks very attractive. I got complemented on it less then 100 feet out of the dealership and still am after 1.5 years (I take a very good care of it though). Its candy red color and lots of chrome gives it a sporty feel and people get very surprised to find out that it's a Honda (who knew Harley is not the only one who makes cruisers?) and that it costs under $7000. It rides and handles great on twisty country roads at 40-50 mph. However, you start to feel its strain on freeways going 75-80 mph. Its 745 cc engine was not quite designed for fast riding. I am guessing this is where the meaning of word "cruiser" really kicks in. However, unlike other cruisers, it wasn't really designed for long rides either. Stock seats, especially the passenger one, literally becomes a pain in the behind after 4-5 hours of continuous riding. Other than though it is great.
- Michel, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this as my first road bike with only dirt bike experience in my youth. It is cheap and comes with great reviews from the moto rags. This bike is really too small for my 6'4" 285 pound frame, but only because of the seating position and bit of a lack of torque (compared to bigger bikes). The brakes are just OK. This bike REALLY shines in its handling. I've been on bikes that SHOULD have handled as well as this bike and while they turned in quicker they were much too twitchy. It's no sport bike, but it's extremely stable and smooth and can cut quick enough that it would surprise many. The most limiting factor, of course, is its ground clearance, which with a bit of experience most riders will be testing regularly. The power of this bike is plenty for a newbie, but larger and/or experienced riders will want more quickly (as I did), particularly after a test ride on a bigger cruiser or just about any other bike. I still have this bike, but it doesn't get much use. My main ride is now a 2005 Triumph Sprint ST (after having a Kawasaki Drifter 1500). I love the looks of the bike, particularly after I put all the little chrome bits on it, but it really doesn't fit me too well and sadly while this bike would have been powerful 20 years ago, today its just not up to par.
- Jeremy C, Woodinville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have driven this bike almost every day for 3 years. I have chromed every conceivable part on this bike and have enjoyed every minute of hovering over the computer looking at options! A friend swapped bikes for a small drive a week ago. He had a VTX1800. I wanted my bike back after 5 miles. It just feels great. Corbin seat, freeway bars, hypercharger, Vance & Hines pipes, etc. The only option that I still want is the triple tree rake upgrade. Still can't put that much into it yet. If I could find a fork extension I would probably buy it! Happy riding. Also my bike has NEVER left me stranded anywhere! Super reliable!
- Steve Grantham, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being in the military I had just returned from a tour to the desert and decided I needed to treat myself. Having never owned a bike, and not riding I needed something to learn on. I was driving home one day and saw one of the nicest bike's I had ever seen. It looked like a much bigger bike ( than the 750 it is ). I wrote a check out the next day. Since then the bike has never given me a problem and I continue to add new accesories when I can. Great bike for the price!
- j j, clovis, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles off and on since 1977. I've had 400cc, 750cc, 800cc and 1100cc. I just purchased a used Honda Shadow ACE Deluxe, 2001 in just about mint condition. As you know it is 750cc. I don't believe all this bunk that it is a beginner's bike or an "entry level bike." This is a great bike. It looks good and does the job for me. I am 50 years old and plan on keeping this bike a long time.
- John Froude, Tucker, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-13 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm an old Harley rider but sold the Harley when I retired at age 50 to travel for a bit. I bought the ACE brand new in 2002 and didn't get to ride much that year but in 2003 I put tons of miles on it. It's a small bike that doesn't look small, my husband has a 1600 Yamaha Roadstar and parked side by side there isn't a lot of size difference (until you look at the engine). It is an exceptional deal for the price and it doesn't have to be your first ride ---- it could be your last.
- Ann Perfitt, Sorrento, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-24 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rarely give anything a "5 star" or a "100%" rating, but a 4 star rating would be under doing it! I would give this bike a "9" of a 10 star rating. I'll try not to bore you on many details, but I will tell you that I would buy a 3rd Honda Shadow ACE VT750. Yep, we have 2 of them! I've had my 2002 for almost 2 years and my wife has had her 1999 ACE for over a year. I'll tell you the ""con's"" first although it's not really a con! The 750 CC engine is just that... 750 CC's!!! Many people put down this bike because of it's power. Well, hello... buy a bike with a bigger engine. The ACE (American Classis Edition) is a retro v-twin with a mid-sized engine, rear drum brake and a chain drive because that's what the old bikes had!! Both my wife and I have some common sense and are handy with various items. My wife tore her '99 ACE down to the frame and rebuilt it with custom and handmade parts! She did do a lot of work. I, on the other hand love the look of the bike. Perhaps that's the reason why my bike is 99% stock. However, I'm getting ready to change it. A very simple complete grey paint job with a black iron cross on the tank will give my bike a German WWII retro look while still competing with todays demands. ᄂᄂ I've heard of many people complaining about the drivers seat being hard and uncomfortable. I personally don't find that to be true. It's a large retro solo seat that fits my 216 lb butt nicely. We're willing to give you any type of info that you may need. E-mail us.
- JohnBycker, Crestview, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-22 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first street bike this year, and decided on the Ace 750 Deluxe. Since I have been riding it I have been very happy. I have ridden and do ride motorcycles, but usually in the dirt. With this being my first street bike, I don't have much to compare it to, but can still give my opinion as a rider. My largest reason for buying it was the looks!!! 2nd was because it was a Honda. I've put a few thousand miles on it and these are my opinions on the bike. The bike feels comfortable when riding, but only takes about 1 1/2 hours for your butt to start going numb. With the pegs positioned more forward then underneath you, it doesn't allow for much moving around to keep the numbness away. I find my self bending my legs and putting my feet up on the rear pegs just to take pressure off of my upper butt. The air filter which protrudes from the right side of the bike at knee height is somewhat annoying at first, but after a few rides, you forget it is even there and are just used to it. The handle bars are in a position that might seem a bit wide and akward, but has not given me any problems or discomfort. Instrument control is very simple and easy to read, but I would like to have seen them try and incorporate a tachometer. I just like knowing what RPM the motor is at on a 4-stroke engine. The exhause sounds very nice, but could be a touch louder(aftermarket pipes are available). I don't like the type of loud that shakes windows when you drive by, but I do like a decent volume when accelerating, and a mellow rumble when cruising, but not to the point where it becomes annoying after an hour or so of cruising. Regarding performance, it's not a sport bike, so how much can you ask for. You got to ask yourself when looking at this bike do you want neckbreak acceleration? If so, it's not the one to get. It has 39 H.P., enough to give you some pick up in lower gears, but once your in 4th or 5th, don't expect to feel a surge when you twist the throttle. Top end, I've had it up to 95 mph (it is capable of a little more), but this is not the speed I would suggest driving at for more than a minute. This bike is not designed for cruising that fast. To much wind for the seating position, you might as well be a parachute getting towed behind a drag car. My girlfriend and I take rides together a lot. The bike has no problems cruising the back roads up or down hill, curvy or not between the speeds of 50 - 75 mph. I actually think it's sweet speed is 60 mph. You can still pass cars on a two lane road, just not in half a second like on a sport bike. The engine has enough power to make any new rider happy, or a person that is returning to riding after a long time off. If however you are a speed freak, then don't bother. I ride with a friend who has the Yamaha V-star 1100, and his bike is really not much quicker. Does he beat me if we race.. Yes. But when you ride one and then the other, your not like.. Wow! what a difference. Regarding handling, The bike has a nice ride, the front suspension feels a bit soft, and the rear feels a bit harsh on sharp bumps. The rear suspension does have spring preload settings, so you can make minor adjustments to smooth out the ride. The bike feels pretty comfortable in the turns, it doesn't resist the lean, and the handle bars don't shake while turning like on some cruisers I've ridden. Steering effort is minimal by yourself, or two up. With the bikes 532 pound weight, it doesn't feel like a tank between your legs either. It allows for easier more relaxed riding in city environments, or tight maneuvering. You don't feel that if the bike starts to tip your gonna crap your pants trying to hang on to it. I do think that Honda could have smoothed out the transmission a little bit. It shifts up fine, no clunk and minimal noise. Down shifting is not as nice. You really have to find the sweet spot when down shifting to avoid the clunk. It's not a bad clunk, just a bit louder than I think it should be considering it's a 2003 not a 1975 bike. Neutral is easy to hit when downshifting. I find myself slowing while in second gear untill the motor is at idle speed, then downshifting to avoid hitting neutral. If you do downshift into neutral while still going around 20 mph, don't try and downshift until you slow down a bit, or you might as well not even use the clutch. Actually the gearbox is the only thing that I would say needs improvement on an overall very good bike. The clutch action is nice, easy pull and smooth engagement. I still have mixed opinions on the chain drive. It does dirty up the rear rim a little bit, more noisy than drive shaft, and more adjusting, but it's easy to replace, and not expensive when it does finally wear out. Just to recap, I overall am very happy with the bike, I have enjoyed every mile I have put on it. I often realize that on the final few miles before pulling into home, I wish the ride was just beginning because the bike is just that pleasant to ride. I know I can't give a comparison between one bike and another, but I can give you advice on what I do and don't like about this one. I think the pros far out way the cons. Good luck on your choice.
- Sanders, bartlett, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think this bike is pretty awesome, from the amount of chrome that comes standard on the bike to the deep throaty sound it makes when you fire it up. The ride is smooth "like butter" and very comfortable. It is a great starter bike, not too big and not to small. Just enough power to get you there without giving you to much to get into trouble.
- Greg Hermann, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 78 CB750 to this motorcycle. I bought it brand new and did A LOT of research on it. I then broke it in and immediatly rode it with a BMW and another 01 750 Spirit. Style-wise it reminds you of the "classic" bikes. It sounds great. Looks great. I love it. The "blue motif" is something I have never lived down though.. hahahhaha Excellent cycle. Lots of fun to ride. Well worth the $$$
- Curt, Terre Haute, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-31 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned 6 bikes so far from a Honda ST100 to a Yamaha Road Star and now the Honda Shadow 750. I loved my dolled up Yamaha Road Star (1602 motor) but had to sell it when I got divorced. I bought the Honda when I got back o my feet mostly because of it's price and Honda's reputaton for having good reliability. I have to admit for a small cruiser it's very good. It pulls well off a stop and stops good too. I'd recommend this bike to anyone just starting riding, to anyone small or to anyone who like myself is short on funds. If you're use to a bigger bike and can afford to spend more however I'd pass this one up. Personally I'll be moving back to a bigger bike, maybe another Road Star, but who ever I sell this little Honda to will be getting one heck of a good deal for a very reliable ride.
- Ray, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-13 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
MY WIFE BOUGHT ME A 2002 ACE CLASSIC 9 MONTHS AGO. wE HAD LOOKED AT FEW AND DECIDED ON THE ACE. IT IS MY SECOND BIKE I HAVE OWNED AND AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT. IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE TO RIDE AND ACCELERATION IS GOOD. IT COULD BE A LITTLE FASTER ON TOP END BUT IT TAKES ME WHERE I WANT TO GO AND I WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE IF I HAD TO.
- LARRY, GRANGER, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I know,I was too.First of all,this 2002 is my first bike,took the course and you know the rest.I read every possible thing about the ACE I could find on here.You really can't go wrong with this bike....it handles well,smoooth and I know the looks of it are very pleasing to the eye.Power?...well it depends all on how fast you NEED to go....for me I am happy with this aspect of the bike.....this is one beautiful cruiser.
- Kaber, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2002 Honda Shadow A.C.E Deluxe 750. I'm a new rider but I am having a blast riding this bike. I get alot of stares as I come down the street and not from just the good looks of the machine but the aftermarket Cobra exhaust and jet kit I had thrown on it. I've been told it looks and sounds like a Harley Fatboy, but a bit smaller version. I initially bought it because of the way it caught my eye in the showroom and the price was right.
- Kurt Jeglinski, Manchester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-24 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. fit, finish, style,sound, and all that chrome. Smooth ride, and Honda dependability. One and only one complaint, I keep looking for that next gear. The power is there, it just needs that sixth gear.
- Doc, Chicago suburbs, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-19 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great looks and handling but very lacking in the power department... so lacking that it's boring. I've had this bike for 13 months and I've already sold it... looking at the 1300 VTX now...
- Dan Sabourin, Orleans, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-03 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine since 5-3-2002. It's been great. It's a smooth ride, enough power for 2 up riding.
- Mike, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-19 2002 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Black 2002 Ace in April and already have 924 miles on it. But its been the best 924 ever. I sometimes wish it had some more power but if that lack of power is a comfortable, confidence-boosting, 1st timers bike then I'll take the latter. I could not even imagine owning another bike. This truly is an amazing machine and I can honestly say I made the best decision when I bought this bike.
- Mark, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: