Honda VTX 1800C Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (104)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX 1800C Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda VTX 1800C Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-16 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike yesterday and love it. I rode it home in a 40 mph. cross wind and it stayed glued to the road. My last bike that I loved was a 2000 Honda Shadow 1100, but this beast is a dream come true. When I decided it was time for an new bike, I expected to get the VTX1300 but stumbled across the 1800 for about the same price, and got the bike I really wanted. Crack the throttle on this bike and you better have a good grip. If you don't think the front tire will not lift off the ground, hit a dip at full throttle from a start. This bike is a beast and if you are going to have a passenger, put a back rest on it, she will slip off if you don't. This bike will put a smile on your face and keep it there. I expect to ride this bike for years, and yes I will compare it to Harleys. No, the resale isn't as good, but then again the bike is about 1/3 the price to begin with. So get over the HD name and buy what rides good. I will take a water-cooled bike over an oil-cooled bike any day. Yes, I did make that choice when I bought my Shadow, it came down between that or an XL1200. I chose the Honda.
- Mike M., Gainesville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VTX 1800C used from my neighbor in Feb. 06, with 11,500 miles on the bike and have since added 7,000 miles on the fastest cruiser on two wheels. My VTX came with V&H long shots, Power Commander & Hyper Charger, and on top of all this it was dyno tuned to maximize this rocket of a motorcycle. It also came with a Corbin seat and Honda Line windshield. After my first year on the road with this bike, I have backed off a bit on the thottle and am now averaging about 35 mpg. I love the power & speed to pass anything in my way and look forward to the next ride everyday of the week.
- Greg D., Mount Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-27 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Logged over 11000 miles this last summer on this bike. Not one bit of trouble. Rode it to Sturgis, from CA, the Grand Canyon, Vegas, Death Valley, Reno Street Vibrations, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, etc. Added a Mustang touring seat which I highly recommend. Looks great and allows you to sit for 3-4 hours without discomfort. Added tallest aftermarket windshield I could find and chrome lowers. The lowers are a must. Otherwise the wind comes under the windshield and shoots right up into your helmet. If you wear a full face helmet the nosie level is maddening w/o the lowers. Added Bubb pipes too. I love the power of this bike. I road with 7 riders to Sturgis. All of them on Harleys. The VTX blew everyone of them away. Especially on hill climbs. I'm looking for a sport tourer just to ride something different. Eyeing the new Triumph Tiger. Think I'll keep my VTX though. The resale isn't that great. I still get lots of compliments on the bike. Especially the pipes. Would recommend the bike to buy. Great value when compared to a Harley. Although the HOG club is a lot of fun.
- daddirt, santa cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-01 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike since Oct. of 2001 and I have nothing to complain about except for the seat, but all stock seats are horrible so I'm not upset at all. The power of the bike is exceptional. When I first got it a friend of mine on a stock 600cc Ninja challenged me to a race to 100mph, and when I hit the mark I looked in my mirror to see how far behind me he was. AWESOME.
- Rob Miller, Upper Sandusky, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a first full time rider, I found this bike fun and easy to ride. It handles great and there is plenty of power if needed. Very smooth ride. Love it!
- Mark Fritts, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my VTX1800c new right before July 4th in 2002. I've been on many trips with it and it's a great straight-line cruiser. Get this bike in the twisties and you're bound to scrape the foot-pegs. It's a heavy bike, but handles well at slow speeds. Being heavy, it doesn't get pushed around in the wind like other bikes. The only problem I've had with mine is a spring on the kickstand broke, but my dealer replaced it under warranty. The muffler is pretty big (I nickname it the "Cannon") and it gets pretty hot. More than one passenger has done the dance-of-discomfort by touching their leg against it. The low-end grunt is awesome...the engine pulls strong at very low RPM's. For straight-line cruising, this bike is my choice. If I'm going to go where there are twisties, I take my Yamaha FJR1300. Two completely different bikes, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.
- Craig Baumgartner, Bluffton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-20 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Former Goldwing rider goes to VTX 1800 Retro. I love the bike. It has so much power and is smooth from low gear to 5th geat. I have mounted a few accessories and am waiting on the chrome radiator cover to come in. Sound is a little to low, needs more growl sound, but not bad. I can tell you it is much better a bike than what some of the magazine writers say it is. It is easy to handle, takes corners prety well, and is balanced excellent. Only gripe is the limiter set too low and I exceed the limiter sometime, and that really slow it down whe you want it to go fast!!!. Come on Honda, raise the limit. Beautiful, fast comfortable bike.
- Tom Hilton, Richmond, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-24 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like my 1800Retro. that's why I bought it. It looks better than any other "affordable" bike. It has alot of power. Comfortable ride everytime, fast or slow or cornering!! Tons of accessories are waiting for you when you are ready throw out more money. I keep mine in a my garage and not a shop. You can guess where I'll be when I am finished with this review. p.s. Factory floorboards, are great. I have learned that their mounting bracket will not allow the bike to lay down "and squize my right leg off". Wow, I am outa here!!
- A.K., Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-08 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I stated in my previous article it was love at first site I have now purchased my VTX 1800C and must say I am very please with the ride. I will change or upgrade the seat and add some more goodies to her to dress her up but I must say it feel goods to pull along side of a Harley an be given the thumbs up rather than your normal snobbish look when they catch up at the next light. All they can do is look amazed and reconize it is an awesome feeling not to say the bike turns heads where ever you go. HAT'S OFF TO HONDA!!!!
- JERRY WINFIELD, BUFORD, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-24 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best scoot I have ever thrown a leg over... from riding in town, to the interstate, there is nothing it can't handle. The added accessories like the Hypercharger and the PC3 are real pluses!!!
- Barry Kern, Bogue Chitto, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I FINALLY got my VTX. Been looking at this bike since it first came on the market. I went from a 550 6 speed rev happy yamaha to an 1800 cc beast and LOVING every minute of it. My favorite color is now Illusion Blue!! The bike looks fast standing still and gets compliments all the time. Only complaint is that its too easy to hit the rev limiter having all this fun and the pegs will drag when you bring the fun factor up to much in the curves. The bike handles nicely for the size (too nicely sometimes when the pegs are draggin while your going for more lean angle.....LOL). I am 5' 8" and have no problems with the seat height or weight. Added a windshield and backrest for longer rides, and didnt have the problems of previous posters waiting on the parts! And now I can go from a windshield and backrest to a single seated rocket in less than a half hour. Its great being able to "transform " the ride so quickly!! AWESOME. After 1000 miles of smoking rear tires, a few wheel hops(YEP.....it does happen),and lots of hole shots, the bike continues to amaze me. Its fast, its smooth, its got power in ANY gear.....just twist the throttle, hold on, and SMILE. Lots of bike and lots of fun! I wont be trading the beast in any time soon. And like so many others, I couldn't see spending another 6 to 8 grand for the HD name. And as far as resale values go.....its true that a harley will maintain value better than a VTX. HOWEVER, my reply is simple; "Who the hell cares, cause I aint selling MY VTX!! Dont get me wrong, I like the harley, but I LOVE MY X!! Email me with any questions if your thinking about a beast of your own.
- R Jackson, Snyder, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Stock + windshield, rack/sissy bar. 5000+ miles in first year. Longest trip was 1350 miles in six days carring 420 pounds (with passenger). No leaks, fouled plugs or problems of any kind. Great heavy weight power cruiser. You can burn of the rear tire in no time if you want or you can slide it into 5th gear and and let the huge torque band move you from 40 to blured vision. don't look here for a light, nimble, high rev machine to burn off your knee pads. This is 730 pounds of muscle ready to rumble across town or the country. Seat is at 27 inchs, Driver position is very comfortable even on the long runs. I do wish there was a little more position adjustment in the foot break pedal. The passenger pegs are well positioned, but the removeable back seat is starts to feel thin and narrow on the long runs. The fuel injection system feels like it almost anticipates your throttle input, its only draw back is while doing extreme slow manuvers like snaking thur cone drills in first gear and barely working out of idle(it tends to be a bit choppy when you want "real smooth"). Law abiding driving will average 34 MPG. Sell the horse you rode in on and get your hands on an VTX 1800. You'll never look back except to see your budies faces. Semper Fi (Latin: Always faithful)
- J. Jones, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles on and off for over 20 years. I was intrigued by this bike when it first came out. I have owned 2 Honda Nighthawks a 650 and a 2001 750. Great bikes. I recently found my 2002 VTX on Ebay and it was right in my back yard. I was very concerned that this bike was too big for me or too much power. It took a couple days to get used to the difference in weight and handling. But I must say I love my VTX. It is a great bike. I had it up to 110 MPH and it was as smooth as it can be. The acceleration it awesome. The power is there but it is also a very smooth mild manered machine at the same time. But the beast is there is you ever want to let it out of it's cage. I would recommend this bike Highly.
- Michael Freed, Crestwood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always been one for the "crotch rocket" because I wanted a bike that when I rolled on the throttle it would go. I did not want a cruiser because they have no "get up and go". My brother owns a VTX and he loves it so I purchased one in Miami and Zigzagged across Florida until reaching Orlando. We spent a couple of days at Bikeweek and while there I got to "play" a little after putting about 700 miles on it. Let me be the first to tell you, this bike has the "GET UP AND GO!it will leave you sitting on the pavement at the light if your not careful. I looks and rides great, smooth, comfortable and the Honda name behind it. Since I have been home I have put some "country road" miles on it and it handles great, a little low to the ground and easy to scrape pegs, but handles great. I have no complaints on this bike. IT ROCK AND ROLLS!
- Daniel Stowe, FT. Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-11 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a big bike that would fit my interest. The VTX caught my eye first, because I new very little about it. But after getting on line I quickly realized everyone was talking about the new Honda that did it all. The price was right, it looks great, and it has the same maintance free back ground Honda is famous for. I was curious about the long road trip. So after the break in period I left Lompoc early one morning and started toward Yosimite Vally. It did'nt take long and I was pulling into Mariposa 31/2hrs latter. I spent the night and started home, honestly I could have started back, the same day. The bike is smooth, lots of power, and runs very clean. I know have 5ooo+ miles with absoultly no problems. Thanks to my local shop and Honda for another great experience.
- Dave Long, Lompoc, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-10 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 VTX 1800c; got it right before Thanksgiving 2002. This is simply a great bike. The handling is WAY better that any Harley I have ever ridden. It moves away from a stop light (and anything sitting there besides you) effortlessly. Smooth as glass on highway; no vibration in the bars or feet. Dislikes: Stock suspension is stiff, even on softest setting; progressive shocks will fix that to some extent; low gas indicator comes on at about 100-105 miles into a tank - at this point it takes about 3.2 gallons; maybe the mileage will improve as the bike breaks in more. Feet-foward sitting position makes the back rest I installed worth it. If this bike holds up like most Hondas I have known, it will slip from great into fabulous. Ride Safe!
- Al Patton, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-11 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my bike in March this past spring. Through the season I have put on Honda windshield, Cyclecrafters tach, V&H Big Shots, PC111, Hypercharger, Corbin double touring seat, Beatle Bags and Chin spoiler. Had the side covers chromed along with other parts. This bike is fantastic! Great for crusing the street or crossing the country. Longest 1 day ride was 700 miles running the 4 lane at 75 mph and she averaged 40 mpg. Rode the X on vacation pulling a trailer for 3400 miles. Twist the throttle and this thing rocks! Very comfortable, handles great in the twisties, solid as a rock on the straight. After 35 years of riding, one of the most enjoyable bikes I've owner. 13000 miles on the X and ready to ride!
- Barry, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-05 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2600 miles on mine,and not a single problem.It has been ridden in temps. from 15 to 100 degrees, and the fuel inj. has worked flawlessly.Shifts a little bit stiff,but I have only missed gears when I first started riding it.I have had no problems like the previous e-mailer Paul described. But that doesn't make him a liar.
- bill, Coon Rapids, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-01 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best cruiser out in producton today..And if you can't handle the beast buy another bike. I've been a mechanic graduate from MMI in florida. class of 1990. And all bikes aren't perfect.But this one is pretty darn close.........
- kuma, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-22 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start with i did owen one of these junkers ! Had the bike for 2600 miles. The suspension is very hard. The plugs foul, Honda will do nothing about it. Want more info go to VTXOA.com and you will see how bad it is.By far the worst shifting bike i have ever owened, shift from 2nd to 3rd stay in 2nd.Paint scratches very easy. The bike does have power for a cruiser just don't try takeing on a V-max or a sport bike if you win it's only because the other guy didn't try.I will probably NOT buy another Honda again go to the Gold Wing site thay have problems with that bike also.Do your research before you buy i did and took a chance and lost. Got rid or it. Feel free to E-mail if you have any questions. Ride safe Paul
- Paul S, West Seneca, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-26 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike feels like it's literally flying during an agressive hole shot. Thankfully when needed, the brakes have what it takes to quickly stop this mean machine. Great fun in a beautiful, well-behaved package. I appreciate that this bike has a little extra beyond my comfort zone which keeps me from getting complacent. A solid "10" and a thrill to ride.
- Tyler J., portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-28 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a early release 2002 model and finlly put a clutch in it after 10,000 miles of REAL hard ridding. The factory clutch speced out well within limits but still slipped after i did an air-box mode, filter, pipes, power commander. I put in a Barrnet clutch with new springs and am Very happy with it. It is only a little harder to pull the clutch in and I have had know problems with my hand getting tired in stop and go traffic. The bike has had 3 new tires on the back and two up front which has gotten to be expensive but well worth it. The bike may be heavy but its my first bike ever and I have not haad any weight related problems other than backing up. I am 5'9" and 180#'s. I love the way I am always able to WASTE my buddies ducti 996 light to light on Friday nights in downtown Minneapolis. I never lose to 40 mph to any sport bike. The only bike that ever beat me was a friend who has a TITAN with 135 hp.
- Ducati snack, Apple valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-07 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
just bought mt vtx one week ago. have owned many bikes, but this one is the best. had a 03 fatboy on order just because i wanted a harley. finally got a chance to ride one , was the worst 7 miles i ever rode . test drove a vtx at honda homecoming , bought a illusion blue 03 5 days later . smooth , fast , and beautiful what more could you ask for ? yeah, resale wont be as good as a harley, but dont plan to get rid of my vtx. get on , hold on , this is the best so why mess with the rest.
- jeff mayse, richwood, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-19 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just liquidated some lousy stocks and reinvested the money in a 2002 VTX1800C. This is the best thing I could have done. The power, ride and style are OUTSTANDING. I have had it for about a month and I get complements every time I ride it. Poeple of all ages gawk when I stop to fill it up. I took my daughter to Martha's Vineyard for a weekend excursion and the bike worked flawlessly. My biggest problem was to keep it at 65 - 70 on the highway, it just wanted to fly. I can't believe I was on this thing for over four hours and I did not want to get off! It was smooth and a dream to ride. I looked at Harleys and Roadstars prior to making this purchase and let me tell you, I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE. This machine rocks!
- Greg Stillwagon, Seymour, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-04 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyone seems to think that honda cheaped out on this bike! Truth is the parts are made out of plastic to save on weight and to keep the price of the bike down.. I mean who wants to ride a tank if you don't have to.. The pipes are made for sounds standards and for the best performance for the stock bike. With coffee can size pistons your bound to have a little pop in the exhaust every now and then. Then to all the guys that have all the appearance problems from the show room, don't buy it or get it fixed before you buy it. So if you don't like this bike, spend the extra $12,000.00 and get a harley v-rod and be a puppet and try to buy your respect! WAY TO GO HONDA, AWESOME BIKE!
- PROUD HONDA RIDER, marysville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: