Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruiser reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

106 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike M.

Gainesville, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-04-16

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike yesterday and love it. I rode it home in a 40 mph. cross wind and it stayed glued to the road. My last bike that I loved was a 2000 Honda Shadow 1100, but this beast is a dream come true. When I decided it was time for an new bike, I expected to get the VTX1300 but stumbled across the 1800 for about the same price, and got the bike I really wanted. Crack the throttle on this bike and you better have a good grip. If you don't think the front tire will not lift off the ground, hit a dip at full throttle from a start. This bike is a beast and if you are going to have a passenger, put a back rest on it, she will slip off if you don't. This bike will put a smile on your face and keep it there. I expect to ride this bike for years, and yes I will compare it to Harleys. No, the resale isn't as good, but then again the bike is about 1/3 the price to begin with. So get over the HD name and buy what rides good. I will take a water-cooled bike over an oil-cooled bike any day. Yes, I did make that choice when I bought my Shadow, it came down between that or an XL1200. I chose the Honda.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

don

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
use a listing other than cycle insider...they give BS listings.. one showed to be 49 miles away.. I'm in texas he is in washington ... next one shows waco tx... asked for address to meet and see bike..30 hrs later still no response other than,"yes bike is still for sale", so not trusting these listings...
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Francisco Troconis

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
YEAAAAH, we are in 2021 and probably I’m so late with the review of the Honda VTX 1800 c , Now we have a lot of options ( Suzuki M109R, Harleys 114 Ci, and many others ) .... But guys, The HONDA VTX 1800 Is still amazing and is probably the best choice you can make.... in 2021 is a cheap bike, and is still one of the most powerful bikes in the market, I got my second vtx 1800 this January (this is model C and the last before was a R model ) and this bike could beat almost any Harley (110 and 114 ci ) and is not fast as a triumph rocket 3 or a Yamaha Vmax, but is still too much power for a cruiser motorcycle..... around 100 hp and a lot of torque, the seat is not too comfortable but you can get some of the many options available to improve that, and that’s it, there is not excuses to not consider the vtx 1800 as a very good option when you want to buy a powerful (very powerful) bike for a reasonable price
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg D.

Mount Vernon, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my VTX 1800C used from my neighbor in Feb. 06, with 11,500 miles on the bike and have since added 7,000 miles on the fastest cruiser on two wheels. My VTX came with V&H long shots, Power Commander & Hyper Charger, and on top of all this it was dyno tuned to maximize this rocket of a motorcycle. It also came with a Corbin seat and Honda Line windshield. After my first year on the road with this bike, I have backed off a bit on the thottle and am now averaging about 35 mpg. I love the power & speed to pass anything in my way and look forward to the next ride everyday of the week.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

daddirt

santa cruz, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Logged over 11000 miles this last summer on this bike. Not one bit of trouble. Rode it to Sturgis, from CA, the Grand Canyon, Vegas, Death Valley, Reno Street Vibrations, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, etc. Added a Mustang touring seat which I highly recommend. Looks great and allows you to sit for 3-4 hours without discomfort. Added tallest aftermarket windshield I could find and chrome lowers. The lowers are a must. Otherwise the wind comes under the windshield and shoots right up into your helmet. If you wear a full face helmet the nosie level is maddening w/o the lowers. Added Bubb pipes too. I love the power of this bike. I road with 7 riders to Sturgis. All of them on Harleys. The VTX blew everyone of them away. Especially on hill climbs. I'm looking for a sport tourer just to ride something different. Eyeing the new Triumph Tiger. Think I'll keep my VTX though. The resale isn't that great. I still get lots of compliments on the bike. Especially the pipes. Would recommend the bike to buy. Great value when compared to a Harley. Although the HOG club is a lot of fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Miller

Upper Sandusky, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my bike since Oct. of 2001 and I have nothing to complain about except for the seat, but all stock seats are horrible so I'm not upset at all. The power of the bike is exceptional. When I first got it a friend of mine on a stock 600cc Ninja challenged me to a race to 100mph, and when I hit the mark I looked in my mirror to see how far behind me he was. AWESOME.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Fritts

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Being a first full time rider, I found this bike fun and easy to ride. It handles great and there is plenty of power if needed. Very smooth ride. Love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Baumgartner

Bluffton, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought my VTX1800c new right before July 4th in 2002. I've been on many trips with it and it's a great straight-line cruiser. Get this bike in the twisties and you're bound to scrape the foot-pegs. It's a heavy bike, but handles well at slow speeds. Being heavy, it doesn't get pushed around in the wind like other bikes. The only problem I've had with mine is a spring on the kickstand broke, but my dealer replaced it under warranty. The muffler is pretty big (I nickname it the "Cannon") and it gets pretty hot. More than one passenger has done the dance-of-discomfort by touching their leg against it. The low-end grunt is awesome...the engine pulls strong at very low RPM's. For straight-line cruising, this bike is my choice. If I'm going to go where there are twisties, I take my Yamaha FJR1300. Two completely different bikes, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Hilton

Richmond, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Former Goldwing rider goes to VTX 1800 Retro. I love the bike. It has so much power and is smooth from low gear to 5th geat. I have mounted a few accessories and am waiting on the chrome radiator cover to come in. Sound is a little to low, needs more growl sound, but not bad. I can tell you it is much better a bike than what some of the magazine writers say it is. It is easy to handle, takes corners prety well, and is balanced excellent. Only gripe is the limiter set too low and I exceed the limiter sometime, and that really slow it down whe you want it to go fast!!!. Come on Honda, raise the limit. Beautiful, fast comfortable bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A.K.

Wilmington, Delaware

Reviewed on 2003-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX 1800C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I like my 1800Retro. that's why I bought it. It looks better than any other "affordable" bike. It has alot of power. Comfortable ride everytime, fast or slow or cornering!! Tons of accessories are waiting for you when you are ready throw out more money. I keep mine in a my garage and not a shop. You can guess where I'll be when I am finished with this review. p.s. Factory floorboards, are great. I have learned that their mounting bracket will not allow the bike to lay down "and squize my right leg off". Wow, I am outa here!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 11
  • 1 - 10 of 106 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: