Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-03-16 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the first 1986 Concours to come to our area (then I lived in Rochester, NY) at its introduction. The Concours will always be one of my favorites. From weekday commutes to 200 mile after work jaunts to 500 mile a day travel, this bike never let my wife and me down. A Targa windscreen improved the helmet buffeting. A Corbin seat, comparable to the current model stock seat, made the bike more comfortable. Johar superbike grips eliminated the minor buzz at high revs. Progressive suspension fork springs firmed the front end and improved ride quality and handling. Large fuel capacity paired with good fuel economy means you'll travel a long time before needing to stop for fuel, and the bike is more than comfortable enough to accommodate that. It is also more than capable in the twisties with a comfortable riding position. This is one great all around motorcycle!
- tom viele, englewood, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 25 years of BMW boxers, I purchased a 2004 Kawasaki Concours last fall. While it's clearly too early to tell about long-term reliability, there is a lot to recommend the bike. First, this is the least expensive sport/touring bike on the market. Second, it's comfortable right out of the box. The only change I'm contemplating is a higher windshield, to reduce helmet buffeting. Third, the much-discussed vibration just isn't an issue. Compared with the BMWs, its much less noticeable and long days (at less than 80 mph) are very comfortable. Fourth, the gas tank is huge. At legal and sub-legal speeds, I'm averaging 50+ mpg. Fifth, the saddlebags are fully equal to the bags on BMWs. Sixth, the liquid cooled engine is very quiet, compared with BMWS, which makes for a very relaxing ride.
- Paul, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-20 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 02 connie, still can't believe I found a new one in 2004. I've only got a couple hundred miles on it so far but I have been pleasantly surprised! This bike feels very secure and stable, handles well for a tourer and I really like the simple styling of this bike. Motor has plenty of "zip" especially over 7,000 rpm and is almost indestructable. Fuel effecientcy is good (40-42 mpg). The only negatives are: average fit and finish and weight (495lbs dry). Other than that I'm loving this bike!!!
- Rob, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-16 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2004 Concours in Oct 03. Coming from a sport bike back ground, the Connie is a sweet long hauler. I did plenty of research on web sites like this one before buying. I put almost 3000 miles on her and figure thats enough time in the saddle to address some of the complaints that I read about before buying. First in line is the "BUZZ", or lack there of. There is a very small buzz felt through the handle bars at higher speeds or revs. But nothing much to speak of. I look at it this way, its just the Connies way of riminding you that you are on a motorcycle. The handle bar reach isn't bad. But if you are short-armed, you may want to call GenMar to get a set of risers. I did, and i love them. Engine heat is noticable only if you are sitting still in traffic on 80+ degree days. The engine heat is something you will appreciate on cold days. The bike is a little top heavy when trying to manuver it when you are not in gear. When in gear, no probs. The still air behind the fairing is great, but on the high temp days you wish there was more flow. Lucky for us, Rifle (I think) makes a windshield system that allows you to open vents on the windshield to allow air flow in this case. The Rifle windshield also reduces the bit of terbulence you get from the stock one at speeds. The only complaint that I have (and it's a small one) is that my foot(size 9.5) hits the left fairing when I am down shifting. Other than that, it has great storage (I can fit my helmet in the saddle bags), the ride is smooth, the power is great and it handles very nicely on all types of roads (twisties, city, highway). She rides nicest between 70mph and 75mph in top gear. Anything over that and you feel like you're pushing the revs, even though you're only at about 4000rmps. Live free and ride on.
- R H, Williston, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike..low price...no buzz...45mpg..fast..good weather protection..shaft drive...maintenace can be performed by owner with simple tools...what else do you want???
- Me Ho, Yes, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-15 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Connie is a great bike if you customize it a little. Most Connie riders make one or another of these changes, so you can find plenty of people to talk to you about them. Slow speed handling is magically transformed by adding a fork brace. Long-legged riders usually add peg extenders. If the bars are too low and far away, you can install other bars. If they buzz too much, change the grips. If the seat doesn't fit you, esp. if it's too wide, narrow it by carving the foam or buy one of several third-party seats. Replace the stock tires with Metzler or Avon tires. If the windshield is too low, install a larger one. If all this sounds expensive, remember that the bike is way less expensive than its competitors, and riders of those bikes have problems, too.
- Mike Bradley, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-12 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my 1988 Concours! Candy apple red purchased used in 1990. Been a good bike, with minimal maintenance. She loves to boogey (not so great for insurance premiums!), and loves the curves. When I first saw the line, I fell in love...and patiently waited for a red to become available. Yes, she is too hot for me to wear shorts in the summer, but shorts offer no protection from the crazy drivers in SE Virginia! Boots and jeans are fine. Kawasaki, I'm glad you're still selling these bikes!
- Concours Lover, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yeah, It gets hot on that bike in the summer. The heat just comes up from the engine. Also the fairing prevents any air from hitting you. If your not on the highway plan on cooking during the summer months. I have a '01 Connie. A motor mount bolt rattled off. The bolt that holds the fairing also rattled off cracking the rest of the fairing. My service guy got it replaced under warrenty from Kawi. Lucky me - $1400 to replace the fairings. Bottom line... Great touring bike, not so great for summers in the city. Very comfy for 2 plus plenty of power.
- BobbyDay, Kew Gardens, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-12 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this back in May of 2002 from the showroom floor. I have been very pleased with the comfortable way it lets me explore the great outdoors. The power it can creat when I need it is amazing. However, it is not a bike for a first time rider because it takes a while to balance it at low speeds. Once you are rolling it is a great cornering and performing machine. My girlfriend is very comfortable on the back after I added the accessory seat package. This is definitely the best bike for the money.
- Spencer M. Frase, Augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-04 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes Brett, the Concours has the ability to scorch its rider and one is a braver man than me if they can ride this thing in shorts. Actually, the only time I experience discomfort is when stuck in trafic for long periods of time. Travellin' down the road, even here in the desert, the comfort level is good. All the heat is expelled right up the drivers legs; bad in summer, very good in winter! As far as maintaining the beast, you should have an easy time of it if you have any mechanical ability. There is body work to remove for most all chores but once you do each task a time or two, you should have no problem. The shop manual and the COG offering, The Best of Chalkdust, ought to get you where you need to go in the maintenance arena. Whatever you do, Brett, always use Loctite blue when you replace any body work screws or for that matter, any screws; they WILL depart the bike if not used! I have owned the bike for 5 years and have only great things to say about the Councours-just remember that it is an old bike trying - and succeeding - to act NEW! Good luck and Great Riding!
- Chris, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Concours in October of 2001. I have to this date put 8000 miles on the bike variety of riding conditions. City, highway, good weather and bad - This bike has done everything I asked and more. The Ninja motor is a bit buzzy but has power to spare. I added a throttle lock to give my hand a rest every so often. I average about 40 miles to the gallon in mixed riding. I can cruise with the cruisers and stay with most of the sport bikes in the twisties. Good solid ride! My only complain is the now slightly dated look and lack of accessories. This is the best value for the dollar.
- John R. Johnston, Wichita Falls , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the first bike I had ever bought brand-new. Previously, I had a Yamaha Venture Royale so hopping on the Concours, it felt very light compared to the Yamaha. I really never intended to buy a new bike until my Yamaha started giving me some problems and I was just fed up with working on it. I was on the internet and noticed the Zero Down/Zero Financing deal from Kawasaki so I talked myself into buying the Concours. I promised that I'd never buy another bike without saddlebags again so that narrowed the list down considerably. Price was also a big factor so the Concours was all that was about left. I also had a co-worker who had a Concours and was very happy with it. The dealer wouldn't let me test drive it so I pretty much bought it blindly. I also didn't test the saddlebags out to see if they could hold my helmet which turned out to be a problem. After having the bike for a short while, I noticed the buzzing was pretty bad and the saddlebags were too small for my XL helmet. I sold the stock bags and bought GIVI E41's for the bike. Pretty pricey but I don't regret it. The GIVI bags look much better than stock, better quality, and hold much more. The buzzing has been reduced about 50% after doing the valve adjust, carb synch, and counter-balancer. Still there but not nearly as bad. Great acceleration, lots of buffeting but I am happy overall with the purchase. I really like the color of my '02 as well.
- Jeff Mouakket, Montgomery Village, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-12 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Connie a week ago and have logged about 400 miles. After riding a "super standard" Honda CB1000F, I'm happy to have a windshield and most of all, storage space. The Connie has much more power than I expected, and I'm still observing the 4000 RPM break-in limit. I'm looking at the 10,500 redline and wondering how you could ever need that. Now, for a downer: I have 11.5 shoes, and I have a heck of a time getting my big foot under the shift lever. Anyone have a fix for this? I averaged 50 mpg on the second tank of gas, so I'm happy about economy. It just seems to be the greatest value in sport touring. I wanted an ST1100, but the best deal I could find on a new 2002 was $10,300, whereas the Connie rolled out at $7300. I don't think the Honda is $3000 more bike. Another negative: the dealer did one pitiful job servicing the bike. Loose screws, filthy, sloppy check out left me disappointed. But I figured I could do a better job at home anyway. I think the luggage would look much better painted the color of the bike, but it looks like it would be tough to mask up the trim. Anybody tried that? Is there a Concours group in South La.? Thanks.
- John Singleton, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first non cruiser and I was very unsure about the sporty style of riding but this bike got me hooked.Can't beat the price and the milage is great. I love it.you will to.
- Bill Stanton, Spring Valley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-05 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This web site is 5 stars. I am looking for a new bike after 5 years hiatus and read all your reviews. Thank you, thank you and thank you. Nothing like getting the facts from the owners! I remember in 1973 ( yes I'm and old biker) I owned a Honda 450 that was very difficut to get on the center stand. An older gentalmen pulled up on a BMW next to me and told me he could get the bike up on the center stand only using 4 fingers. Go ahead- show me. He did! How? He balanced the bike in a strait line. Rolled the bike forward about 1 foot then gentaly rolled the bike backwards keeping it perfictly balanced and in perfit stright line. As the bike picked up backwards rolling speed and monentum he quickly steped on the centerstand lever forcing it to catch on the pavement. The bikes backwards momentum made it jump up on to the centerstand. After a little practice you can get the biggest bike in the world to hop up on the stand no matter your height or weight. When praciticing this little trick have a couple of frends stand by to help until you get the feel for it. Kevin- stay safe and happy journeys
- Kevin , Englewood , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-04 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 Concours in March of this year. This is the second street bike I have owned, the first being a cruiser. Educating myself took a little bit of time seeing that I was used to low seat height, low power, and so-so handling. Be warned that if you are used to a cruiser style bike that there will be a learning curve. I am very pleased with my bike so far, as it has plenty of power and a very agile handling. I have added a set of Gen-Mar risers which help riding position greatly and I highly reccomend them. I havent experienced this "buzz" everyone talks about, but then I have ridden a cruiser for years and they are full of buzz and vibration, so maybe I just dont notice it.My only complants with the bike is it is very heavy at slow speeds. One would think that Kaw could have lowered the weight in a design that is this old. Also need to address the wind wobble as I call it. A brisk breeze makes riding a little exciting, especially on the freeways. Otherwise a Great Bike!
- R.T., Kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-12 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Y2K Concours new, in Feb. 2000. I traded in my '88 Honda Hawk GT with 30,000 mi. got the factory luggage rack & backrest, bag liners, & a new Chase Harper tank bag. After taxes, dealer prep.,etc. I handed over a check for $7,401.00! This is a 6 speed, water cooled,fully faired,shaft drive sport tourer! Mono shock rear end, radial tires, hydraulic clutch, 3 disks,twin odometers, clock, hazard flashers, fuel gauge,7.5 gal. tank....the list goes on & on. I have about 6500 mi on it now, & I still can't find too much to complain about... Maybe a little heavy? Buzzy?I'd like fuel Inj... that's about it.Under the skin it's the old Ninja 1000, so it's a wicked fast bike even with the bag & fairing weight. 90% of a BMW RT for 50 % 0f the cost!
- Jim Keane, New Haven, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-19 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a nine-year hiatus, I returned to riding last summer atop an '01 electric blue Concours. As of mid-March 2002, I have about 3,500 miles on this bike. No matter how much more I might have spent on another brand, I don't think that I could be much more pleased. Mine came out the showroom door for a paltry $8,400 -- and I feel that I've already had a million dollars worth of fun on it. I'm 55, stand 5' 9" and weigh about 180 pounds. The factory bars and footpeg configuration made the riding position just a bit too aggressive and caused me to put too much weight on my wrists and elbows, but the GenMar bar risers solved that problem quickly and inexpensively. Be advised: adding the bar risers makes fork suspension adjustment a bit more difficult than the stock procedure because the interior tunnel of the risers partially obscures the leveling marks and there's less room to get a tool on the adjusting nut. But with a little patience and care, fork suspension adjustment is manageable. I find the factory seat to be very comfortable, and while I will probably add a custom seat at some point, I have yet to spend even one uncomfortable minute on the bike, even after a 250 mile non-stop ride. The buzz -- and the amount of tension required to keep the throttle open at highway speed -- bothers my throttle hand quite a bit. The buss is noticeable only when I'm out on the highway, and then only between 60 and 68 mph. At 70 mph or more, the buzz largely disappears from my bike. The gel palm glove I wear helps considerably, but the additional actions I plan should almost neutralize these problems for me. In town, the buzz is hardly noticeable; primarily because my hand is on the throttle for only short periods. Rather than fiddle with carb balancing or attempting other mechanical solutions, I'll try another approach: first, I'm having a left-bar mounted cruise control installed. The throttle return spring on my bike seems fairly strong and I expend a good deal of effort holding the throttle open at speed. The cruise control should allow me to exert less force on the throttle, hence I should be able to ride with a lighter grasp and therefore have less contact with the buzz. Secondarily, I will replace the hard factory grips with gel grips, which should absorb most of the buzz. The mirrors stay still and clear at all speeds, and also act to deflect air around the hand grips...this is an especially pleasant feature on chilly Georgia winter mornings. I don't find this bike to be top heavy at all, even with a full tank. First gear is smooth and roll-out, even a 90-degree turn in either direction from a dead-stop is light, smooth and predictable. Raising this bike onto the center stand is a bit of a chore for desk-bound, unathletic me, but I do it so seldom that it's not a problem. Adjusting the monoshock's air pressure takes some finesse because of its small air volume, but after 45 minutes of very gracious instruction by the head mechanic at the dealership, I learned how to quickly adjust the suspension so that the bike is ultra comfortable no matter how I ride. I bought a small foot pump with a high-quality pressure guage and quick-connect coupler. The unit is very small, light weight and its plastic envelope keeps the parts secure so they don't rattle around inside my left bag. As others have mentioned, the gas guage is a bit paranoid, but I'd rather have a guage that indicates less gas in the tank than there really is than vice versa. I did ride 250 highway miles, averaging 65 mph, on one tank last week and still had almost a gallon in the main tank -- although the guage indicated dead-empty. My only complaint about this bike is the optical distortion near the top of the windscreen, which can be a challenge when stopping in traffic. I've just about learned how to neutralize the distortion by always ensuring that I look over or around the top of the windscreen. I doubt that I'll get a different windscreen because this one places the air flow exactly where I want it. Highway buffeting seems minor to me, and heat build-up behind the fairing was hardly noticeable last summer. I always wear jeans and leather chaps when I ride, so I am pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the temperature stays. Riding this winter was purely a joy because the engine heat was just right. And like most Concours riders, if anyone even remotely suggests a ride, I'll drop what I'm doing and go...this bike is a beauty. I'm glad I landed in this seat. Jim Coles
- Jim Coles, Hampton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-13 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This report is about my 1987 Concours. I am the original owner, having bought it new in 1988. I have been reseaching other bikes for several years now, and I cannot rationalize another bike purchase except to consider a new Concours. For the under $7800 price for a 2002, there is no value comparison in that price range. You can pick up great quality used ones from $3000-5000. If I was super rich, I might consider a BMW or 2002 Goldwing, but those are 2x the price or more. If you do purchase a Concours, be prepared to purchase a few things that will greatly increase your long term enjoyment of the bike; Rifle windshield system (under $150), Gen Mar handlebar risers (under $100) (or Helibars which are ($200+), Givi trunk and mounting kit (under $200) and Baker Air Wings (under $100). There are also inexpensive items like peg lowering kits, fork braces and highway bars available just for the Concours. If you desire, there are Rick Mayers custom saddles which increase your comfort level on 500+ mile days. The price for all of these extras will still keep the bike well under $9000 and save you big bucks compared to a BMW sport tourer. A quick word about buzziness. The bad news. Yes, there is a buzz, but it happens only at a certain RPM. In some bikes the buzz occurs at about 4000 RPM, which happens to be your engine speed whle on the highway at 65 mph. It just depends on how the bike was set up at the factory. The Good News. The RPM point at which the buzz occurs is easily adjustable. Just sync the carbs after a valve adjust and then, using the counterbalance adjustment nut, move your buzz to a lower RPM point. The whole process can be done in your home garage in less than 3 hours. One of the best things about owning a Concours is the Concours Owners Group (COG). Everyone who is considering a purchase or owns a Concours should visit www.concours.org and sign up for the email list serve which gives you access to a world wide group of experienced owners. The exact link for the email list is http://www.concours.org/listproc.faq.html You don't have to actually join the club to access the email list. I have learned many things from the list, including how to wrench my own bike. Other benefits are a great community of Concours owners who will go for a 200+ mile ride at the drop of a hat. Just this weekend, 6 of us got together and did a 250 mile day from the ocean to the desert and mountains. Last word about heat. Being a faired motorcycle, it will be a hotter ride than an unfaired crotch rocket. Baker Air Wings greatly help, as due highway pegs which bring your legs into the wind. You should never ride a motorcycle wearing just shorts and a t-shirt. Not only is it hot, it is just plain dangerous. Overall, my bike is paid for, the motors run for 150,000 + miles, and everything else is too expensive. So I'll just add accessories and keep on maintaining my bike.
- Paul, RSM, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-07 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Brett, you nailed it. don't know why it's not in print more than it is.Buddy bought 1 in fall & said he tried wearing shorts & needed jeans to protect skin from engine heat. He hasn't even seen summer yet.Also top heavy sitting still or park- ing.He can't put up on mainstand either.But,he loves it once it's moving.
- buddy, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-15 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 Connie that I bought new in October of '99. I have a little over 25,000 miles on the clock now and have nothing but praise for this fast, smooth, do-everything-well bike! In addition to lots of local riding with my club, I have ridden my Connie back home to Pennsylvania, and then down to Florida to visit my brother, and back home to California. On my way back east, I averaged 500 miles a day, making the trip to Pa in five days. On the homeward bound leg from Florida when I was missing my girlfriend and anxious to get home, I rode 700+ miles a day and made it home in four days. My Connie ran like a champ the whole trip, gave me great protection in the rain, and was comfortable, stable and compliant on the highway at average speeds of 70 to 80 mph. Oh - and I was gone three weeks and the only thing I had to carry outside the hard bags was my sleeping bag! I like to turn wrenches and have done a lot of preventative type maintenance on my bike. I have adjusted the valves several times, checked carb sync,(has never been off) lubed the swingarm bearings, steering stem bearings and the driveshaft pinion joint. Maintenance is easy and very few special tools are required for even relatively big tasks. This bike does well around town, in the twisties and on the open highway and I'm looking forward to my trip back east to Pa & Fl again this summer on my beloved Connie!
- Ed Eberhart, Hanford, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-09 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2002 Concours one week ago and its strengths and weaknesses make themselves known immediately. I am 5'9 , 185 lbs and strong for my size. At rest the bike is ungainly and top heavy to move. From zero to 2 mph, with a passenger , you had better be extremely attentive. Above two mph it instantly becomes light, agile and quick steering. It corners intuitively with little effort. Below 3,000 rpm you will dissapointed in it's 1000cc power, expecting more. But above that everything is just fine. 70 mph has 4250 rpm on the tach and the mirrors are clear. My wife and I did 150 miles yesterday and both praised the seat. We could have gone all day. As for the dreaded "Connie Buzz" mine has it too. The fairing buzzes at all rpm. Very audible with an open face helmet, can't hear it at all with the full face helmet. The bars do transmit vibration but not detrimentally so. I still will do the balancer adjustment and carb sync to see if that can be reduced. My reach is short so I have the Genmar Risers on the way. I installed a Givi E460 Travel trunk. Installation is a breeze and it looks great. Holds two full face helmets. The fuel guage is worthless, shows empty after 100 miles. The suspension comes from the factory for only 150 lb solo rider. Two up bottoms things out as delivered. Adjusting the front springload and the rear air assist is extremely easy. Bottom line? It is more of a Ninja than it is a tourer. It gets buffetted around on the highway a little but I love the bike. If you want to pay 16 to 20 grand for silk smooth touring or to get that BMW logo for all to see, go ahead, but $7500 buys a great bike in the Concours.
- R.Nelson, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-04 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 connie in May 2001 and I have to say, in the 26 years that I have been riding street bikes and 4 years off road, this bike is one sporty lookin tourer and handles better than alot of other bikes that I have had. Some riders say there is no buzzing or feel no buzzing, but there is, and all motorcycles have some type of resonating buzz. I will say it does get annoying for long distance riding, and no problem with local roads and I have decided that I would look for a way to overcome or reduce that problem, because the bike is truely worth every penny. I have found a number of websites that deal with resonating buzz and will find the best product and try to reduce this buzz. I cannot wait for spring to arrive. Last year I put over 6200 miles in 6 months. The longest in one day, 422 miles from Rhode Island into the mountians of New Hampshire and back. Great ride and great day!
- Paul, Cumberland, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
April of 2001 I purchased a new hold over 2000 concours (red)I have to admit it is one of the best buys on the market today. Coming from a ZX-11 ninja there was a bit of an adjustment, but didn't take long to fall into the comfort of this sport touring motorcycle. 99 percent of my riding is double up and wife enjoys the comfort as well. We were able to end our season with 9500 miles and so far have been trouble free. If you guys and gals are looking for an inexpensive sport tour, jump on board, the concours truly is a good buy!!
- Jay Kilton, Barre , Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a connie(1999)and commute daily 75miles.Daily is summer and winter and the seasons in between.Clock shows 60.000 km in 20 months. Average fuell consumption 1 liter on 14.5 kms.(1 gallon every 42.5 miles) The bike costs me (including depreciation of 1% per month) 0,20 eurocent p km.(equals us$ 0.285 p/mile) Being 6'6' I've changed the screen into a 4' larger one. It keeps me dry and warm in normal circumstances.Had to put isolation in my jacket and pants when temp reached -5 C. Before that moment never felt cold. Dealer changed both exausts within a year due to rust Had only one small damage, bike fell while standing and a footrest broke.
- Hans Houtakkers, Spanbroek , Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: