Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (21)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-01-20 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, final review on this bike because it just died. It started running on one cylinder. After 122K I guess I can't blame it. Other than the motor, the bike is still in great shape and still looks good. I just put tires on it; bummer. I might try to find a motor. A rebuild is too expensive for my taste. So the eleven-year saga ends. I guess I got my money's worth.
- George Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-28 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Again, continuation review of others with the same title. Now have almost 102,000 miles and nothing has changed except more tires. Still runs great. Since last review (#4) have made trips to the Black Hills and Bad Lands in SD in 2007; Maine and New Hampshire in 2008. Not too much this year except running around Missouri and Arkansas. Will probably go back to New England next year. I'm less able to afford a new bike than ever so looks like me and my Vulcan for a few more years. Repairs: Front wheel bearings, one spark plug cap; that's it. Want a Big Baron Air Kit; Maybe next year. Great, comfortable, 45 mpg cruising. Still looks good. Get a lot of jaw dropping when I mention the Mileage. May update in another year or so.
- George Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a continuation per the title. See others for more info. Have turned over 73,000 miles now with still no major repairs. Still original except for the K&N filter. Bike still rides and runs great except for a pinging issue I plan to remedy with a TFI fuel injection modifier. Just put on my 6th rear tire. Gas mileage isn't what it used to be but I still get over 40 mpg. Would like a new bike but don't need it. I believe this bike has the most comfortable stock seat on the market. I've used a Kuryakyn Tombstone backrest bag for about two years now. Very comfortable and handy for extra storage. I'm itching for another long bike trip which I'll do sometime this summer. Looks like I'll be keeping this baby another couple years. At 15,000 or more miles per year, I should be over 100,000 miles by then. The 5 year unlimited mileage extended warranty just expired and I never really got to use it.
- George P. Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 3 years and truly enjoy every ride. It looks great and handles well even with a passenger. Not for a novice.
- R T M, East Hampton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my 1996 Vulcan 800 Classic (which I loved) and bought a much coveted Vulcan 1500 Classic FI. I have read the reviews and articles and finally picked one up.. I got a great deal on a used one with 10k on it in great condition. What a great bike. On the thruway or on the twisties, it was simply a total pleasure to ride. It handled rock solid, was comfortable and inspired confidence. Now if only it will warm up some more so I can get my riding into full swing!
- MattM, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not riden a bike for over 20 years and not owned one for almost 25. I am 6'3" and over 200 lbs so I needed something large enough to hold my frame. This bike is amazing. Extremely smooth, very comfortable seat, and lots of leg room. My last bike was a Honda 360 so the power feels awesome. The wieght of the bike was a concern for me being 51 years old and not as strong as I used to be (who is?) but it is so well balanced that it is no problem at all. Every time i go out on it I feel more and more comfortable. I have over 450 miles so I am almost through the break in period. In a week or so I will go on a nice long trip. This bike is great.
- AJAB, Plainview, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had sold my last bike (82 Yamaha 650) several years ago. Wanted to get back into riding. Test drove several bikes and after driving this 2002 model left over at a dealer I knew I had to buy it. It was so smooth. As compared to others it drove like a cadillac. I really liked the looks as well. The curb weight which lists over 700lbs was easily up from kick stand. (Test drove couple year old Harley with approx curb weight and felt like you had to jerk it up, almost felt top heavy) Nice center of gravity is easily steerable at slow speeds. I have read other reviews and can't say I agree with the slow speeds, now if some of the reviews meant when pushing the bike or backing it up from seated position then yes the bike is a load but other bikes are as well. Just practice and patience is the key. Have had the bike for several weeks and over 650 miles and climbing. A definite buy new or used!!!!
- Bill, Bay City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked at a LOT of bikes, i.e. HD Road King, Yamaha, Honda and bought the Classic 1500FI. Fit me best, had the better engineering, had what I needed: shaft drive, water cooled (live in FL) and was big enough for 2-up riding. I LOVE this bike and would buy another in a second. If Kaw ever comes out with a touring model Nomad, I'm trading in my Classic!
- Steve B, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2001 1500 fl Kaw with 7600 miles.I have used it for basic transportation as well as long range crusing( 1000 miles). this bike does the job admirably. I replaced a 2002 Goldwing with this bike because the "wing" was too heavy and not much fun. I have a slipstreamer windshield, leather bags, Cobra longshots with Cobra FI 2000 fuel modifier(?), K/N filter. The power is not awesome but does the job better than stock. Fuel mileage has fallen about 2 mpg. This is the first bike I have owned with a terrific stock seat. I am large and heavy and need room. The standard job does it for me. I have let to replace any tires or do any repair work. Just normal maintenance. I will keep this one a long time.
- mike c, archer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2002 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI is it is hands down the best bike I have ever owned over the last 30+ years of riding. 5 stars is not even close to what this bike should be rated and as far as I concerned it should be a 10! This bike has it all-adjustablity from the rear shocks to the clutch and brake levers,the best handling for a bike this big and all the torque and power that you need in any situation. It is a little shy on the top end but for all other purposes this bike flat out rules the road. Jump on board everybody Kawasaki has raised the the level of motorcycling back to where it's supposed to be!
- Cycleman, Buffalo,NY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Vulcan Shadow 1500 FI, I love it, the stock seat is very confortable. I can get 300 km with one tank.
- Antonio Arrubarrena, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-18 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
bought a 2001 1500 classic Fi. , left over model got a great price and the bike looks and runs great glad I got the Fi. Very happy with the bike
- rick bennett, flag pond, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my heart set on getting a yamaha V Star Classic, but my dealer steered me towards this beauty, and with the discount, I'm glad he did. It was worth the extra money. Lots to offer for $9500.
- Marfaman, Marfa, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-30 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded my Vulcan 750 for a 2002 Vulcan Classic 1500 FI. I must say that I am very pleased with this bike. It is the expected Kawasaki quality for fit and finish. The torque is awsome, and it is so smooth out on the highway it is hard to believe. Just completed the break-in period, and this baby will rock! I can't even tell my wife is on the back. Got a great price from my dealer also. You can't go wrong with this bike.
- Sneeker, El Dorado, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-22 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best there is. Agile riding in city traffic and highway. Enough power for passing and cruising long distance. Confortable stock seating. Absolutely beautiful design a head turner and maitenance free.Change oil/filter and go. I ride with friends long distance the warmer the engine gets the better it performs and the Harleys break down. My brother and I both have Vulcans 1500 never had a problem..very reliable motorcycle..highly recommended.
- John Paul, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got a 2002 FI 10 days ago: got 1100 miles without a hitch. Have owned a few and ridden alot of different bikes this year... this bike is hands down the best for quality, dollars, overall ride and looks. Silky smooth tranny & suspension, and excellent throttle response in all gears/all RPMs. Spent 7 hours in the saddle one ridin' day to get my 1st 500 and could have gone alot longer: got 50+ mpg, am averaging 46+ mpg highway and city. Can't say enough about what an awesome bike this is, plenty of go for highway passing and great handling for around town; so easy to ride, it's scary. Accessories: Rifle Classic "L" windshield 17" ht.-looks great, works great but does catch some wind from 18 wheelers due to its 25 in. width; also got the Lowers and they work very well; Vance&Hines Longshots: the only pipes to buy, Cobra luggage rack&sissy bar, Alligator highway pegs, Vista Cruise throttle-lock,& various Chrome pieces. Get one today!
- willie, kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I"ve had the bike for two weeks and have been very impressed with it.I added a set of Hard-Krome Double D's 2.75" Big Strights, That the dealer suggested to get the sound I was looking for.I had looked at other bikes , but this one caught my eye. She has plenty of power for two up riding.I've had no problems putting around town are cruising down the highway.
- Bill Berry, Auburn, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-28 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife has a 2001 Classic FI. All the good things you read about are true. This bike is awesome. Unless you like the looks of another full-size V-twin better, there is no reason to even think about buying a different bike. Check out the specs. What other bike out there has all this - shaft drive, hydraulic clutch, hydraulic valves, water cooled, fuel injection. And it works and feels so good. It handles much better than my Nomad at low speed, and for some reason feels like it has more torque. If you are concerned about buffetting with a windshield, do two things - 1) buy some lowers (my wife has some Moxy Lowers; they work great), 2) don't get the Fire and Steel adjustable shield - it is garbage, nothing like the Nomad's. My wife got the large adjustable Rifle shield. When installed with the Moxy lowers and Fire and Steel lightbar, there is no gap between lowers and shield - hence, very little buffetting. She also has the Mustang seat, which she swears by. Read all the reviews. You will see we all agree. This bike is it.
- Dave Hlebechuk, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-25 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the last 10 years I have owned, in order; 89 Honda Magna, 90 Goldwing, 92 FLHTC, 93 Suzuki 1400, 94 Goldwing SE, 94 Goldwing, 98 Shadow Ace Tourer, 97 Valk Tourer, 00 FLH, 00 Concours, 00 Valkyrie, and 02 Vulcan Classic FI. Without a doubt, all factors considered, the Vulcan is the winner in every catagory. It cost me $10,200 out the door, has a bigger engine than a Harley, is more comfortable stock than any bike I have owned, is easily cleaned to show standards in an hour or less, gets 48.4 mpg at speed, and looks GREAT. Put a Memphis Shades 15" windshield on it that you can see over, and Leatherlyke bags on it that pop off in 10 seconds for cleaning, and you have a great tourer, while not killing the whole reason you wanted a fun bike to start with. Maintenance is next to zero compared to the Harleys, after-market parts are readily available, it handles like a dream, and is the best "fit" I have found. I am not "insulted" by having this bike as opposed to the $30,000 Harley that I couldn't sell for anywhere near the money I had in it. I am also not intimidated by my Goldwing friends, who will not admit that they own 3/4 of a car, not a bike. Good travels. Keep the shiny part up. DT
- Dave Tally, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in december last year as a replacement for my 800 vulcan. This bike runs like a dream. I have added some aftermarket part but one needs to take care when ordering extras. Some parts do not fit the FI and vendors does not always specify this when you order extras for a Vulcan 1500 classic so take care. The size of the bike makes the windscreen a bit of a problem area. Do not order a high screen as the distance from the riders head make buffeting a problem if the screen is to high. A low model protecting the upper body works fine but go for a screen where your head sticks out over the screen. Does anyone know any nice tweeking to get more hp from this nice iron?
- Jan Axelsson, Ronnang, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the bike in December 2001. Quality, fit and finish are excellent. I have nearly 3000 miles on the bike and enjoy this big bikes' ability to take on the "twisties" but when at freeway speeds of 65 MPH and above the "Fire and Steel" aftermarket windshield causes some severe buffeting. If anyone has had this experience and has found a way to calm this bufetting (by using windshield lowers?, etc..) please let me know.
- Tom Novacek, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: