Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (44)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-09 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took more than 16 years to get a bike again. Lots of visits to the showroom to drool. Had to bring a friend to test ride because I did not have a license. The folks at the shop were right about jumping in over my head but, of course, I bought it anyway. I was a bit intimidated going from a 750 to 1500 with all those years in between. I love the bike. Can not think of anything I would trade for it. It sounds great (Vance & Hines) and rides great. Surprisingly smooth with lots of power. The only down for me are the drag bars which are not terribly comfortable when you have short arms. If practical, I will change them and, plan to put heel/toe controls on it.
- Dorfner, C., Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only riding two years, first bike a 95 Virago 750. I wanted a cruiser with a some punch and this is it. I've ridden larger machines but none as quick and fun as this. Have bags and memphis wind shield, added some chrome but the rest is stock. I push it hard all the time and it has never let me down. Sound is fine for me as I don't need it extremely loud. The candy gold gets looks all the time, lots of compliments. Only complaint is the fuel warning light comes on when there is more than 2 gallons left in the big 5 gallon tank. On very long rides, I do get a bit of a pain between the shoulders due to the bar position but nothing that doesn't go away after a short break. Great handling machine even when topped out at 185KM/hr, no wobble, and awesome braking. You can get down low in the curves and scrape the pegs without feeling the least bit out of control with the low profile radial tires.
- Ron, St.Albert, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before buying my 2002 mean streak, I searched on the web to find this site on the rider reviews. Because of the great reviews, I finally bought my bike at a low mileage (almost brand new at 2200 miles because the owner was starting a new family in 2003 and didn't have the time) and WOW I couldn't believe it's great handling. All around phenominal bike!
- Gilles C., Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the Mean streak for almost 4 years now and "never" had a single problem with it. It's reliability is great. Kawasaki has a steady customer here.
- Steve W., Linden, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden for 20+ years. Not a weekend warrior, but I ride a minimum of 300 days per year. Have tried so on many different bikes. Believe when I say The Mean Streak is a pleasure. It's got a great disign, tons of power and is well engineered which makes it easy to control. The price is also unbeatable!!
- TD, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would never buy a Kawasaki again. The first 15 months it was in the shop for 4 months. All the problems I have read about I have experienced with the exception of a few. People that think it is a good bike either are used to riding Harleys, or do not ride it enough to see it break down a lot. First year it was in the shop 3 times for oil leaks from the rear cylinder, and will continue to if you put 500 miles on a day. Driveline will play out around 10 thousand miles and start making noises and surge unless you are traveling fast enough. Underpowered 61hp but if you ride a Harley you are used to this. However with pipes, a powercommander, and an air filter make a huge difference. I can keep 600 sport bikes at bay light to light and the bike will wheelie (pull the tire 4 inches off the ground). Fork seal leak, had idle problems. Tail light burns out prematurely from the bike's vibrations through fender, I am being picky here. The bike is remarkably smooth in the saddle though. I will say the bike looks real cool, and I get compliments every time I take it out. Had problems with the rear disc that was warped, how I don't know because I don't use it, rear bearing played out also, probably why disc was warped. I'm going to sell it though because the city is too large where I live and people do not know how to drive.
- Pete, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Meanie new in Jan.2003. This bike rocks! I've owned a lot bikes, too many to list but none compare to the Mean Streak. It handles like a sportbike.
- Rich Henigin, Blairsville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-09 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot stop raving about my beautiful 2002 Mean Streak. It has the best of both worlds- Great cruiser styling and crotch rocket like handling. I dont know what they are talking about when they say that this bike has a lack of power- sure my Vance and Hines drag pipes help a little but if this bike had any more power I would not know what to do with it. Highly Recommend!
- C. Parke, Richmond, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has it all. The combination of hi-tech (FI sport bike suspension and radisl tires shaft drive) looks - more cool than any stock bike - comfort-superb handling - and price. I've got about 900 miles on my new 2002 red MS and I've never been so pleased with a bike-I've owned 12 and ridden 30.
- John S., Bolton , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-16 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last Fall I test rode a number of heavy weight cruisers and there were some nice bikes. And THEN I got on the Mean Streak! Wow! I couldn't believe how quickly it handled and the brakes were awesome. Maneuvering this near 700 pound bike around town was a piece of cake and I am only 5'4" and 130 pounds. When I brought it back to the dealer they couldn't believe the ear to ear grin on my face. I obsessed about the bike until I finally just went down and bought it. I'm in love!!!!
- Melanie S., Moscow, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 50 years old and have owned many bikes since I was 14. I had the same problems that I have been reading about, the recall on the transmisson. Kawasaki entended my warranty by the month I was out of my bike. Looking past the recall the Mean Streak handles like a sport bike, has plenty of power and will stop on a dime. I just read another review today that explained my attitude, "I am a Streak Freak".
- m poe, Northport, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE HAS THE BEST OF BOTH WORLD KNOT ONLY IS A VERY GOOD LOOKING BIKE IT HAS THE POWER TO BACK IT UP.I DID A LOT OF SHOPPING AROUND BEFORE I BOT IT AND IT'S THE BEST BUY FOR THE MONEY.
- j ryan, redwoodcity, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-06 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden almost every brand of bike known to man,all pale next to my red 02 streak! Every time I ride I get compliments,all well deserved!Beautiful in every sense of the word,fast,nimble, awe inspiring brakes,the best EVER!Anyone who wants more is an insatiable fool,the reverse of me,a totally happy, smiling,streak freak!Vive la STREAK!Encore!My harley pals are GREEN WITH ENVY!
- G.Tracy, Griswold, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
had a gsxr 750 that was a great bike wanted a bike to ride around looked at harly davidsons didnt like the price on them i got the mean streak good price and a great bike
- grande, cinnaminson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike from a previous owner who owned this beautiful bike and he had already began customizing the bike by adding Vance and Hines pipes and chrome throughout with a custom windshield. He took off the Kawasaki emblem from the tank which is the most awesome color "ruby" red I have ever seen! The color just stands out and the new 2003 red is no comparison to the 2002 red. Besides being a flashy bike, it runs like a charm and with excellent handling. I am a 5'2, 125 lb. female who can handle this bike fairly well because of the bikes great build. It has great breaks, the drag bars are not a drag, and the center of gravity with the weight make it an easy smooth handling ride. When I took it down to the local biker hangouts and parked it with all the harleys, I got the most looks, questions and brags all the way down to the sound! Believe me when I say I did alot of research and thought thinking before buying this big bike for little me. I even read all these reviews from the good reviews to the whining about the drag bars, to the rattling noises to whatever. And I still bought the bike and love it, despite peoples concerns/complaints. My gosh, what bike doesnt rattle here and there, and if the drag bars are a problem, I have found plenty of websites to go to in order to customize the bike! I LOVE MY MEANSTREAK!!!! I will send a picture when I can!
- L. Pope, Beaumont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-20 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The "Meanie" has it all. Rides like a sport bike, brakes are incredible, and excellerates great. The only thing is a problem is that the handlebars need to be about 2 inches back. I have found the solution: Aeromach now has a 35 degree bar that moves the bars back 2 inches! Now this bike will have it all! Look out Harley riders! Reliability, looks and sound its great!
- Mark Horsley, Charlotte , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-31 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Mean Streak for a year now and it has performed great in every way. I was out of riding for 15 years and tested a lot of different bikes before buying. The Mean Streak provide the best balance of handling, braking and straight ahead acceleration of all the bikes I tested. I am looking at adding the Thunder Manufacturing Breather kit to get a little more get up and go out of the Streak (additional 16 ponies of HP). Thunder also has a big bore kit that pushes the Streak's HP rating up over 100 ponies. Equivalent to an S&S 107 with better reliability. And the really nice thing is that it a sharp looking bike. I have also done some chrome accents that set it off nicely. I would definitely buy again.
- Mark Badia, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-17 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked it up September 28th. After a couple of rides noticed the fuel low indictor light comes on at half a tank. After explaining to the mechanic at the dealer that the light should not come on until there is just under a gallon left he didn't seem to understand the problem. It took a while, finally he said he would have to look into a fix and call me back. A week later no call-back. I called them back after I got my recall notice stating that the bike should not be ridden until the engine is dismantled and the flange on the drive shaft is replaced by the dealer. haven't even had it a month and I can't wait to get rid of it.
- Arnold Vitarelle, Malta, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-16 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a '02 blue! Had a little trouble adjusting to the clutch, but other than that....what a bike! Smooth power, great low end,great brakes. I haven't ridden in about 10 yeats and the bike really helps you get back into it. Very well balanced, nice throaty sound without being over-bearing. Seating position is the best I've ridden, very comfortable.
- Danny, Upper Marlboro, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a beautiful gold one-I love it. The breaks are awesome, the engine is smooth, the looks are great. This is my 3rd bike and it is the best. The handling is also excellent-I became acclimated to handling the bike very quickly. There are a couple of things that prevent me from giving it 5 stars though. First of all, like the previous reviewer-I have to keep my arms almost straight and lean forward slightly when riding. I would prefer a more relaxed position. Another thing that bothers me is a clacking sound coming from the engine in the lower gears. And last but not least-the engine heat on my legs feels much more intense than my other bikes. None of these things, however, make me regret in any way buying this excellent bike.
- crazy irv, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
what I like: -price (compare to concurrents) -really good acceleration for a custom(you need a VMAX or WARRIOR to pass front) -really good feeling to drive compared to VSTAR or ROAD STAR what I don't like: -lateral wind of more 20 miles complicate the drive - the motor pink (MAKE NOISE) when you use hardly the throttle for acceleration - the dealer said to me that all vulcan 1500 nomad and meanstreak have the same problem - kawasaki is working on it DO YOU HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM ?
- Raymond Hebert, Quebec, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-21 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I POSTED ? REGARDING THUNDER AIR BOX AND POWER COMMANDER. IN RESPONSE TO STEVE R. - THIS IS A REALLY NICE RIDING BIKE. CRASHED MY BELOVED VALKYRIE ON 06/15/02. HOW SAD. I REALLY THOUGHT I WANTED A ROAD WARRIOR UNTIL I GOT OFF OF IT ONTO THE GOLD MEAN STREAK. AFTER RIDING THE TWO BACK TO BACK, I BOUGHT THE STREAK. NOT THE POWER OF THE VALKYRIE, BUT IT'S PLENTY QUICK ENOUGH. HANDLES MUCH BETTER AROUND TOWN AND IN THE GARAGE THAN THE VALKYRIE AND IS SO MUCH SMOOTHER THAN THE ROAD WARRIOR. I ADDED SEVERAL CHROME DRESS-UP ITEMS AND I'M VERY HAPPY WITH THE BIKE. FOR THE MONEY (1/2 THE PRICE OF ANY HARLEY) YOU CAN'T GO WRONG. RIDE SAFE.
- BILL W., CROWN POINT, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came real close to purchasing a 2002 Dyna Low Rider, always thought the Mean Streak was a real head turner. Test rode the Dyna...and the vibration was not a thing I was fond of, guess ya just have to love Harleys. The idle was terrible on the Dyna also. After riding the Mean Streak there was no comparison, SMOOTH sums it up. Everything about this bike is great. Can't believe that they can sell this bike for the price that they do. Bravo Kawasaki! Have a feeling there will be a whole lot of these bikes on the road in the very near future.
- Vulcanized, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just completed a1200km (745 mi.) trip on my newly purchased Streak. Wow, Wow, double Wow. I have owned bikes all my life and I can't remember ever driving a two-wheeler that suited my ideals of what a motorcycle should be. First of all the engine is absolutely fantastic. Gobs of HP, endless amount of touque and the tranny is soooo smooth. The riding position is perfect, nice flat bars where you don't have your arms hanging out in some kind of yoga position, foot pegs close enough that you're not sitting in a position where the errant bug flies up your leg and a saddle that would satisfy any bottom. Well done Kawasaki. you're going to provide me with many hours of fine, fun riding.....
- Kim Smallman, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Mean Streak in May and I can't say enough about it......great looks, great brakes, great handling! The April issue of Cruiser Magazine has a test comparison of eleven different cruisers and the Mean Streak came out on top. Very impressive for the first year out!
- Don , Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: