Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-11 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2008 from a local dealer. The guy that owned it took very good care of it. I have only had it serviced and just bought a new battery for it. This bike is plenty fast enough, it is pwerful and has lot of torque. I have the black over red color scheme and I get compliments on it all the time. One nice thing, when you are on it for any length of time, you want to be on it longer, it's that comfortable to take on longer trips. I like the shaft drive and it does very well on mileage. I chose this one over two other bikes, both were Harley Davidsons. The Nomad has it all over most bikes this size hands down. Keep it serviced and it'll serve you forever.
- Al, Congress, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-17 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Nomad at an auction w/34000 miles on it. The seller had put screws on the chain tensioners to hide the engine problems so I put the bike in the shop and had the motor rebuilt. I've ridden the bike with my wife and I have to say, it's turned out to be the nicest bike around in looks, comfort and size. Harley riders criticize a lot about anything other than a Harley but being a Harley owner many times in 53 years of riding, this bike blows you away. I pass every thing on the road and the ride and look makes Harleys look like junk minibikes.
- Dana, Greenville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE IS A WORKING HORSE, THE WIFE GIVES IT THUMBS UP. VERY COMFORTABLE RIDE AROUND TOWN OR LONG DISTANCE, GETS GOOD MILEAGE ON FREEWAY OR LOCAL HIGHWAY. FUEL LIGHTS COMES ON AT 165 MILES AND COULD GO FOR ANOTHER 35 MILES, BUT PREFER TO FILL UP WHEN LIGHT COMES ON. THIS BIKE IS HEAVY BUT FAST ENOUGH FOR ME, NO COMPLAINTS - JUST ONE GREAT BIKE.
- ASERO, TACOMA, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding Harley's and Honda's for years, I found a crusier that's truly fun to ride. This bike is made for two riders. After 12000 plus miles the only complaint is buying tires too often.
- Patrick Roy, Estes Park, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A buddy of mine paid way to much for a Harley, with 19k on it, when we left the dealership to go to Nashville which is forty miles four things fell of the bike, then after we got home the thing started dripping oil. I have a Vulcan 1500, which I've had for four years, and all I have done is changed the oil and put new tires on it. Hello!!??
- t marshall, dover, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm amazed by those who think the bike lacks power; it's a cruiser, not a sport bike, and a GREAT one. Very comfortable, very smooth, and it's almost unbelievable how beautifully it handles INCLUDING at low speeds. Love it. I've been riding since '67, got old enough that comfort comes first now, and this bike has that in spades.
- Bill Lloyd, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-23 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unaccustomed to riding a bike of this proportion, I’ve had my share of challenges with my 2002 Nomad Fi. Being 745 lbs (according to the owner’s manual), the Nomad can be difficult to move by foot or to maneuver at a slow speed (just as an anonymous reviewer had previously written). Because of the bike’s weighty size, I’ve mostly concentrated on learning its balance threshold during the 350 miles that I’ve had it so far. In fact, with less than 100 miles on the odometer, I strained my left wrist when I naively tried to muscle it up from the handlebar. This happened when the bike began to lean too far to the left when I was moving it in the garage. Gradually dealing with the Nomad’s weight, I’m still happy to own it because it’s a technically superior motorcycle: It’s comfortable in riding, smooth in shifting, powerful in accelerating, and confident in braking. What this all means is that I feel relax during and after my ride. And to me, that’s the Nomad’s job, and it does it well.
- George Oboza, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 5,600 miles on my 02 Nomad in four months, and I've loved every inch I've traveled. Comfort, power, looks, all at a good price. Only problem I've had is with a needle bearing in the rear end. It's gone bad on me twice now. Warranty covers the repair, but WHY am I having to stop riding for this?
- WC, Tupelo, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have been on motorcycles for 38 years and have owned many makes and models. I find my Nomad is a very well made machine and have put about 9000 miles on it to-date. I pull a trailer (cargo) not a tent trailer, with my wife on behind. Mileage is in the 45 mile per gallon which is more than acceptable. I have had no problems to this day. It is heavy and short turn arounds must be handled with care. I purchased backrests, lightbar, chrome bag rails which look good. Reliability is this machines drawing card. The Bridgestone tires do howl a bit around 50 miles per hour. Great cruiser and all round machine.
- george carscadden, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-22 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2002 Nomad FI for about 3 months now. Added mustang seat, light bar, Vance & Hines bagger exhaust, Power commander, Hyper charger, Highway pegs, backrest, grips, and mirrors. Took it to Austin ROT ralley no problems. Since I added the engine stuff (Power Commander, Exhaust, Hyper Charger) the power is great. Raced a Harley Fatboy on freeway.We both took off in top gear from about 55mph side by side and I smoked him!! The problem with this bike is that it is heavy and at very slow speeds it is easy to drop. I have dropped mine twice in the driveway. The crash gaurds wook to protect the bike. Not a scratch either time. But the last time it fell on my foot and broke it. Now I'm no weak wimp at 180lbs but this bike is DANGEROUS at slow speed or moving by foot. Be careful!! They say 739 lbs. I think it is more like 800lbs with bags full of junk and gas tank full. If you get this bike BE CAREFUL!!!!!
- slim, dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-02 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At an overweight 57 years I am not going to do a "happy butt dance" nor am I going to trade for a BMW. I like long distance cruising, and this one will do fine. It is better handling than the Honda Goldwing that I owned, and costs less than the Harley Fatboy I rented. The quality is first class, the reliability I need is there, and the price is affordable. Instead of a custom seat, a backrest and highway pegs worked just fine. No better value anywhere.
- CHUCK, DALLAS, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-10 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research on this site I felt obligated to share my review with others who may be considering the Nomad F.I. Having owned Honda's, Yamaha's and BMW's, I thought it was time to join the cruiser craze. High points.... -this is the nicest looking cruiser out there in my opinion. Great paint and quality plastic/chrome. -excellent fuel injection system and smooth engine -great wind protection from large windshield -nice saddle bags even if they can't hold a helmet -heat dispersion is a non issue Low Points..... -tires are very poor (Bridgestone) and howl if on any type of angle -drive shaft also has wine whenever decelerating -power ends after about 60 mph -poor seat comfort and no hand rail for passenger -brakes are very poor for this 800 lb. beast -unless you have a bionic tailbone, plan on replacement seat After 5,000 km. I have returned to a 2002 BMW R1150 GS. MotorsportsWorld in Ottawa Canada happily took the trade. I miss the "sexy looking" Kawi but compared to the Beemer, it was 'all show and no go'.
- Tim Harrison, Kingston, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ordered this bike over 4 months ago, finally got it last week. It was certainly worth the wait. Never owned a kawasaki before, very impressed. Have owned 10 bikes in my 34 years of riding and this cycle has it all. The $1000 of fire and steel accessories that came with the bike was a nice feature.Get complements everywhere I go.
- gary pearen, mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-07 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first experience with Nomads was a carbed model which served me well until I zigged when I should'a zagged. This injected wonder took me from home to Dallas, Texas, 1,900 miles, in two and a half riding days, cruise control set at 80, and receiving a payback of 50 miles per gallon. OK, so I had a fierce tailwind, but the bike was flawless. Over the next four days, my daughter and I toured the Texas Hill Country with DFWVROC, then headed for home. Coming home, I gave up on the freeways and went more to the North, topping an 8,200 foot pass in New Mexico. The only thing I had to do to the bike was add fuel. The bottom line is that the bottom suffered no discomfort, none to the wrist, ankles, knees, lower back, nothing. This is one fine motorsofa. The only glitch was a broken speedometer wire, but I can't count that against the bike. I rode hard, and that just allowed me an excuse for the highway rangers.
- John Poynter, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
JUST RETURNED FROM SHORT 300 MILE TRIP, MY 2002 NOMAD FI GOT 50.376 MPG WITH PASSENGER INCLUDED!!! W O W !!!
- J. W. STONE, TUSCALOOSA, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-07 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this ride is super,took off the stock exaust and added V&H dual baggers big change in power,13,000 miles and not a wimper,love it.
- chas. gwaldo, cedar park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best big bike in the world. Smooth, Starts instantly (with the FI.) Ten grand cheeper than a harley. And lots of chrome. If you want a big bike,look at this one last and bring the check book.
- A.. Phillips, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a dream, it has power,comfort and the smoothest shifting bike you will ever find out there. Top of the line for cruisers, if your riding in town or out on the road this is the bike to have, none better. Harley Davidson should learn from Kawasaki on how to build a super nice cruiser like the Nomad.
- ron byram, fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in late Oct, she's metallic biege, named "Honey" and I am loving it, this bike Rocks! My last bike was a Honda CB750K, nice bike if all you want to do is commute. The Nomad handles sweet, it's like dancing with someone you've known for 20 years. Nice pick up, gets me ahead of the dumb drivers, when I need it. The ignition should be in a better spot, and the windshield could be taller (little head buff at higher speeds), but hey if "shoulds" and "coulds" were candys and nuts, we'd all have a Merry Christmas. It rides smooth no vibration till you get up to 90-100 mph, well at least that's what I've heard ;-) Got over 2900 miles on her and no complants. Hope to make it down to Daytona this year, if anyone in the N. Virginia area is heading that way give a holler.
- G S Giles, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: