Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-06-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am on my second Vulcan 800 Classic. The first one was nice but a little bit of rust from the previous owner not keeping it garaged bothered me. I found a great deal on a VTX so I sold my first Vulcan. I later realized how much I missed my first Vulcan that the first opportunity I got to get another one, I did. I could not be happier. This one had no rust and looked great. I can cruise around with other cruisers or wind it up to be a little more sporty. It loves to cruise at 80-85 and the engine feels so smooth at that speed. I think it has the same sweet spot as my VTX 1300 but this Vulcan is only an 800. Slow speed manuevers are much easier than my old Shadow 750 and VTX, too. I've had cruisers, standards and sportbikes and this one is perfect as it is between the average cruiser and standard. It handles well and inspires confidence. Like I mentioned before, the Vulcan likes to rev so be aware that you might be going faster than you thought. After 16 bikes in six years, I think I found the perfect one for me. It gets 48-55 mpg. and it is easy to get out of the garage without the weight being overbearing. It is perfect in the city and comfortable on the highway.
- par, dc, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2002 about 4 days ago and already put 325 miles on it which, if any one knows Sept weather here, can be a real drag. Bought mine at a local Harley shop. Wow - side by side with a fat boy! I'll take the Harley look with the Kawasaki reliability. It was piped and jetted which adds to the already awesome power. Lots of factory chrome with some extras. Nice chrome drag bars and forward controls. ONE AWESOME BIKE!! What a change from my first bike!
- Ron , Utica , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Not to discount what the others have said, but one of the reasons I picked this bike is BECAUSE of the seat and how soft and comfortable it is. I have absolutely no complaints about his bike. I love it, and when it gets old I will trade in for the latest and great new model.
- Carol, Sterling, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at over priced and vastly over rated Harley's I finally bought a 2002 Vulcan Classic. A fantastic bike all around, I have not one complaint. To all you "gotta have a Harley people," look at the Vulcan and I guarantee you'll buy one. Not only is it a gorgeous bike it will stay with any comparable Harley, no problem. The only thing bigger on the Harley is the price tag. The "I own a Harley" saying means nothing today since there are so many great Jap bikes out there today with the Vulcan in my opinion being one of the best.
- RJM, Poughquag, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-02 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike, the 800 Vulcan Classic is in a Class by itself, lots of features, great power, maintenance free, stylish looks, nice chrome. It has the unique ability to surprise the Big Boys by keeping up with them. Adding a set of pipes and an airbox and she comes alive and surprises all! I would buy another one if I wrecked mine! You really can't get a do-everything good bike like this one. A bulletproof scoot!
- Denny vanderWeerd, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-16 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After more than 20 years of not riding, I bought myself a Vulcan. In 3 days, I put 400+ miles on it, and only slowed down for the rain. Trouble is I don't want to go home!! It is a powerful bike that sometimes goes too fast, and after not riding for so long, it feels way too good! Can't believe I waited so long, but I know I will be putting many miles on it!!
- Brenda, Outside Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-16 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 800 Classic used in late March 2003 with 8,700 miles on it. The previous owner traded it in for a Nomad. The only complaints I have are the F&S windshield top was right in the center of my line of vision. I was either stretching to see over or ducking down to see through. A set of handlebars from a 1500 Vulcan was the fix. The second is the limited ground clearance. My previous ride was an '85 Honda Magna which had more clearance and it took me a while to adjust my entry speed into the turns. The stock seat is ok around town but longer rides, 100 miles or more, require a replacement, at least for my tushy. I now have 13,000 miles on the bike and I'm loving it. The previous owner had added a set of Vance & Hines Cruzers pipes and I've added an air box from Thunder Mfg. and it both sounds good and had a bit more bounce to the ounce. I've also deleted the chain for a belt drive from ScootWorks. Now I just gas it up, twist the loud handle and grin. Ride Safe.
- George "Doc" Thompson, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-27 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned about thirty bikes in my time and have ridden more than I can count and I believe that the 800 classic might be he sweetest of them all. By sweet I mean that it has almost no bad habits. It has enough power for any kind of sane riding, is very stable and comfortable for my 5'11" frame.It has been reliable for the 5500 miles I have logged so far with no problems at all.Vibration is not an issue with its rubber mounted engine and counterbalancer. Its a pretty basic bike but I think it is far better than an 883 sportster in all respects. My only complaint is its lack of ground clearance, but I also spend a lot of time on sportbikes, so that my not be an issue for all riders. I know that I always seem to be grounding the footpegs. This is a bike that a beginner could feel comfortable on but not outgrow. Or maybe never outgrow. Who needs more than 45 or 50 horsepower for cruising the country roads on a nice afternoon? If thats the kind of riding that you do, this is all yo will ever need
- skip cooper, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-24 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only modification I have made to this bike are the pipes, I put a set of Jardine slash cuts on it to get the big sound and boy did I. It's got the sound of a much bigger bike now although not a throaty as a Hog. I suppose if I could change anything it would be the overall power.but, even as a 270lb man it get's me around with the bigboys just fine.
- BigBen, Portcrane, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-28 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, This is my second motorcycle after previously having a Yamaha Maxim X and can say that it is WAY more comfortable than that bike and very responsive and fun to ride around windy roads. I test drove a 1500 Drifter and found it nice on the freeways but kind of cumbersome around the streets. This model on the otherhand feels good on the streets and the big roads.(wind screen a must however) Anyways, I would have to rate this as a very nice ride whether you are into middleweights or the heavies. Try to find a dealer that provides free rides from Kawasaki and try it out. And, please ride safe and never pass on the right! Take Care,
- Crazyhorse, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: