Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (32)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-09-09 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With good rubber, and a sorted suspension, Oh yeah and a scosch of rider skill, this bike will embarrass sportier bikes with ease. She pulls like a train from the bottom up, and on less than 10/10ths roads, she will not let you down. Makes a great track bike on the weekend and then a great commute bike for daily riding.
- merlin, Buffalo City , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-18 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 05 zrx for about 4 months now and ride when I can. It is a solid bike which feels like it was made just for me. Ergonomically speaking I really have no issues. It appears laid out with my frame in mind. The bike feels planted for my type of riding. It handles directional inputs well and inspires trust. Fit and finish are as good as any I've observed. Kawasaki motors are both stout and reliable and that goes with any machine they make. In other words, reliability is a non-issue. The bike has consistently delivered 50 plus mpg with mild to moderate power application. Not bad for a motor that is barely broken in. I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Reliability of The ZRX 1200R is Fantastic. The Performance of The ZRX 1200R is Great. The Comfort of The ZRX 1200R when you're riding around town or on a long ride, It's one smooth ride. And last but not least, the quality is legendary.
- Big John, Coshocton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-14 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. I've owned mine since Nov. of 2001. It has lots of power out of the box, but that power can be greatly improved by adding different mods. The bike is very comfortable and capable--it can be a tourer, a drag bike, a track bike, commuter bike, etc.
- Chris Anderson, Keysville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-02 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my bike for 2 years now and have almost 10,000 miles of trouble free riding. I ride all kinds of roads and find it at home in the twisties as I do on nice country winding roads. The power is mind blowing yet it is as velvet smooth throughout the power band as a cruiser. The only down side I see is the front forks can feel spongey when "hangin'" it out on tight twisties. Overall once used to and adjusted to your style it's very predictable!
- Warren Harding, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a used 2002 to quench my midlife crisis. I have not ridden in 20 years, but this bike made me feel as if I had never left the saddle. My last bike was a 1980 Honda CB750F super sport. Needless to say bikes have come a long way in 20 years. This bike can be ridden with a calm decorum or blast off like a raging beast without losing composure. I am glad to be back riding. Thanks Kawasaki for such a great bike!
- Dr. Arnold, Dothan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is quite the time machine...if old Eddy could have only imagined. I have 19,000 miles on it, have not had any mechanical trouble of any kind. I bring it in for service at the set intervals in the owners manual and I have to say that I totally believe that I will see 50,000 miles with this thing! Yeah it might be heavy by sportbike purists, but they like all that plastic in front of them for protection from the wind, so they don't count. I haven't brought the rpms up over 7,000 even once yet, basically because it's insane and I'm afraid of the ticket. don't fool yourself people, this bike is fast. I didn't care too much for the Bridgstones that come stock, I'm using Metezler mez4`s now. They look like they'll last at least twice as long as the 10,000 miles I was able to limp out of them. that's where the extra weight comes into play. You can burn up the rear tire in less than 4,000 miles if you are the aggressive type. I recently installed a yoshimura muffler (rs3). I got the sound I wanted and a little more power as well, Now it sounds as awesome as it was intended to. The stock muffler was almost silent ! Performance is always good whether I have my girl riding two up or just solo, the electronic fuel/air/timing control sees to it every time. It's really very cool to have all the technology in a bike that makes you feel like your Mad Max back in the seventies! I suppose if I have a complaint it would be that my rearend gets sore after 3 1/2 hours in the saddle, I'm not sure if a corbin would save me this discomfort. The foot pegs are located just where they should be for long term comfort in between the distance of your knee and hip, so you can move your butt around on the long trips. I used to have a Bmw R60/6 and my ZRX is every bit as comfortable as it was, with 10 times the performance. I rode to Laconia this summer, round trip the same day with my ZRX, it was a 460 mile drive when I finished, and I wasn`t crippled like so many others were after the one way trip. With the exception of the posterior region aformentioned. I love this bike, yeah it's no ZX10R...but it sure isn't a slug either. It will take a good performance if they want to run with you, basically, watch them shrink in your mirrors, which don`t vibrate untill about 4,500 rpms. Did I mention that braking is phenominal? It is. If you know what you're looking for and find yourself looking at a ZRX1200R, you will not be disappointed. If something were to ever happen to this bike I would have to buy another without consideration of any other machine.
- T. Ryan, barkhamsted, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Put just a little over a hundred miles on it since I've owned it. The previous owner put a Muzzy titanium 4 into 1 on it and had it rejetted. My only complaint about the bike is being a five speed. Otherwise I love the old school looks it has. I eventually will add some other things to it like a corbin seat. The bike handles well and the ergos are good. Great bike for the money!
- Jim , Janesville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-02 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike new as a leftover model last August. I commute to work each day even in bad weather and overall the bike is a great all-around machine. The brakes seem weak for 6 piston calipers. The bike is a little heavy but ridden smooth it can hustle right along. I am just now starting to feel more comfortable with the machine. It usually takes around 5,000 miles before I feel that I know a bike's capabilities. My only complaint so far deals with washing the bike. Water always finds its way and fills up the number 1 cylinder and I have to partially remove the tank to absorb the water.
- James Darrough, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-27 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This ZRX1200R is an all around, all-purpose top-notch bike. Craftsmanship, quality, performance and price is great. The acceleration is significant and the torque of this engine is obvious. The bike has nimble handling. All the reviews I read before I bought the bike were very positive. Its performance, speed, handling all has exceeded my expectations.
- Mercury27, Santa Barbara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-12 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a left over 2002 ZRX1200R from a dealer and I Love this bike. I was finally able to take it for a spin last night for the first time due to the winter conditions. The bike handles great and has plenty of power even though the break-in redline of 4000rpms. I found it very nice that you don't have to be in the perfect gear to accelerate. It will pull even though it is in one higher gear than it should be without a problem. It was about 40 degrees last night and it was awfully cold this is why I only put on 50 miles. Otherwise I feel that the seat was very comfortable. Being a rather above average in size I chose this bike for the comfort that it provides me. Not having to be all cooped up bent over. That is for the younger folk. I have ridden Z10's and 9's and the V-max in the past. And this bike just fits in so nicely. As I further ride this bike once the fresh 4" of snow melts off of the road I will be back with more reviews.
- Jason Stokes, Constantia, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever owned and I have had many. Did some some low cost performance mods and this bike is just awesome! Nonstop grins. Aftermarket seat (Corbin) makes it even better. I'm ready to buy another one just to keep in case Kawasaki stops making them. If you are looking for a "do it all" bike that can keep up with the best of them look no further. Great bike and a great value. Green ones go faster ;-)
- Bernie Sandy, Hudson, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-02 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
MY BIKE ARRIVED YESTARDAY, RODE IT FOR ABOUT 50 MILES, IT IS EXHILIRATING MACHINE, FAST STOPS ON A DIME AND HANDLES MUCH BETTER THAN I EXPECTED, I HAD THE DEALER INSTALL A FORK BRACE, MUZZY STAINLESS EXHAUST, AND THE JET KIT, ITS LOOKS, SOUNDS, AND FEELS LIKE A MILLION DOLLARS..... AND COST A WHOLE BUNCH LESS, THE BLUE IS JUST A GREAT COLOR, THE GREEN JUST didn't DO IT FOR ME AND EVERYHTING I OWN IS GREEN, YES I'M IRISH... GO TO YOUR LOCAL DEALER AND GET THIS BIKE YOU HEAR ME...... I MEAN NOW AND YOU won't BE SORRY!
- THOMAS CORRIGAN, CORTLAND MNR, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-19 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I PURCHASED THE BIKE IN NOV, AND HAVE BEEN SATISFYED WITH IT. IT DOES EVERYTHING WELL. HAS GOOD POWER TOO. VERY COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS AS WELL AS SHORT ONES. I WILL KEEP THIS BIKE FOR A LONG TIME TO COME.
- JEFF GILL, ROCKY MOUNT N.C., North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-13 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote "I LOVE THIS BIKE" over a year ago and still do. I have over 12,500 miles on it now. I rode from Seattle, WA to FL for Daytona - did 1185 miles in one 24 hour period (shipped it from AK). I'm considering increasing it's power, an easy thing to do with it's ZX11 based engine. It's midrange is still "perfect" but I'd like to give it some top end snap (Muzzy). The seat is OK and hearing of the nightmares in dealing with Corbin acceptable although I'm ready to stand for awhile after 150 miles or so when I hit reserve. I'm also considering heavier fork oil/spring spacers although it's action with everything cranked up all the way in front isn't bad. I've looked around and rode an Aprillia Tuono but I can't find anything that gives the all-arounder smile per mile of the "Rex". She's looking more and more like a "keeper". Forgot to mention that using Honda's HP4 oil significantly "slicked up" the transmission.
- Dale, Suart, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine for 4 months. Incredible bike. I'm 6 ft and 300 lbs, but no problem for this bike. Handles like its on rails. Plenty of torque - just twist the trottle in ANY gear and go! I've done several 500 mile weekends on this bike and come away each time with more admiration for it. Kawasaki got this one right. Fit and finish is superb. Gas mileage (34 mpg) is good for 1200 CC. I like the looks of the bike and the semi-upright seating position.
- TexRex, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-09 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I posted the `bought blind` review recently, having now ridden it I am one happy bunny,selling my 73 Z1 to make way for this bike was hard, but after 150 miles on it this weekend just gone ,I know I made a great choice,pulls from idle in top like an express train,can`t wait for the first service so I can use some more of its midrange torque, plenty of room for a pillion passenger too.superb bike.
- Simon Kendall, penryn, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The perfect bike. Over the last three months I have reviewed every make and model eliminating them one at a time. My first decision was to define my riding style and desire for a specific type of bike. Eliminated TOURING, Sport Touring, Off Road. Street or Sport. I have an 81' CB900F and was looking for a new bike. It came down to the 03 ZRX1200R. Have a couple hundred miles on in and could not be happier, I feel I could ride all day long, good saddle, so a long trip would be easy, around town easy to handle at a stop, good acceleration, what a beauty, The best bike in the mix right now from my point of view, been riding since about 66'. Mike
- Mike, Coloradon Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-09 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm basically a long distance road rider and when I bought the ZRX a year ago, it was just a second bike for when I felt the need for speed. Well, I only rode her about 1500 miles last year, so when I traded her for a new Gold Wing, I did not feel I'd miss her,.....WRONG! A week later I was back at the dealer and brought her back home. I will still ride the Wing most of the time. But the experience, great power and handling of the ZRX is something I just gotta have for those days when wheelies, speed, and fast turns are on the order.
- Barry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-19 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 100 miles on my new ZRX. What an awesome bike ! I traded my 2002 Buell for the Kawasaki, and have never been happier. The power is smooth, riding position is very comfortable. I am 6'1" 220 and have no issues with the ride. I am trying to hurry up and get my 600 mile oil-change and inspection so I can get the RPM's up to 6000.
- Brent, The Woodlands, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-06 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
today is 02/06/03,and this was a very happy day.....i got the traditional green kawasaki.i went a whole 28 miles,due to it being a brisk 28 degree's...but enjoyed ever minute of it...its a whole lotta bike,good styling,great response,excellent braking....im all smiles here...will check back later when i have put some miles on it.....
- Larry, Toms River, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-05 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like the retro ELR looks, the comfort, the brakes, the handling, and the generous under-seat storage space. All are good. But the engine is nothing short of amazing! So much torque over such a wide RPM spread... how DO they do it? I absolutely love this bike! I traded in a new Kawasaki Mean Streak - I had it four months and rode it about 900 miles. After four months on the ZRX1200, I had nearly 1,600 miles... and I have a Gold Wing for out-of-town trips! The ZRX1200 is not for everyone, with its retro styling and monster motor, but I love it!
- Gordon Banks, Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-18 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am now 47 years of age and the children have all left home and come to think of it, so has the former Wife. I am now a free man once more. I spend my working days in Courts dealing with marriage and defacto relationship breakdowns. Yes, I know I might be a saint or a parasite, and anyway, who cares. I have recently completed an advanced motorcycle defensive riding course on the Gold Coast with "Top Rider" and now have all the refreshed skills which I never had 20 years ago when I had my last bike. Having obtained all the protective gear of a Shoei RF800 helmet, a Black Rose leather jacket with all the armour and a set of dragging kevlar reinforced trousers, I went in pursuit of the Super (Muscle) bike of my dreams. My last super bike was a Honda 750/4 bored to 836 that was a Z1 eater. I have ridden the Kawasaki zrx1200r, the Suzuki Bandit 1100, the Suzuki GS1400, and the Yamaha 1300 and many other naked bikes. I had decided that anything 1000cc or less was for mice and not men. I knew that there was no substitute for cubic inches. The Eddie Lawson classic in the most modern form is the bike of the dreams of old men who remember the joy of life and can now afford to find it. From the first moment, it feels just right. A big man on a big bike. The bike just fits neatly between my legs. A solid bike but it never feels heavy or uncontrollably large. The seating position is just right for those of us who never learned to ride a bike laying down. This is a sit up and beg for more bike. When sitting on the comfortable seat one just reaches forward to take control of the handle bars. Just so natural and very comfortable. Just a slight lean forward from directly upright. The riding position means that you always feel in control of the bike. Easily adjustable levers mean that you can adjust the controls to the size and the strength of your hands. All comfortable and feels just right. Easy to reach choke near to the clutch lever means no reaching into the bowels of the earth. Ignition on and electric start. Breath life into this little baby. Quick warm up from cold, and ride away. Massive torque means that you do not need many revs to move out. Shifting is manly. Being one myself, I am unsure what a woman would think. The shift mechanism is not for the mice, and better for the men but positive and rather precise. This engine pulls like a bull in springtime. Torque and horsepower all come in from the lower rev range. For instance it is not unusual to ride around town without going past 2,000 revs. But for more sprightly riding in town, going to 3,000 to 3,500 revs sees this baby sing and move swiftly. In fact it is not necessary to give the lady a hiding to enjoy the ride. Before the motor was run in, I could not seem to get it to rev freely above 5,000 revs. Either I was babying it or it just did not feel willing. Anyway such caution was good in the beginning as I was able to get the feel of the bike for a number of weeks before I gave it a tickle. My feelings on the motor are that the motor is starting to loosen up after 1,800 kilometres and does she love to scream. On the weekends I take the little lady (not the former or present wife either) on the back of the new bike and go to breakfast some hours ride away. Well this is Australia and it is a little under populated, fortunately. Well, as I was going to say, I had the little lady on the back of the bike after returning from breakfast some distance from home and found that when I had need to accelerate strongly from a stop entering a freeway, I just pulled on the throttle and the motor swung to 6,500 revs and wow, does this unit travel. All very safe and all very predictable and all very quick. Handling civilised and superb. The brakes have plenty of feel and are capable of precise application. No fade, just all balls, just like the rest of the bike. One of my Barrister mates said after viewing it for the very first time, that it was the sort of bike worth leaving home for and he is a happily married man. A Super (Muscle) Bike just for those who would like to leave the married bliss and boredom and who would like to discover life once more. This is a full blooded bike for the full blooded mature male who has the balls to own one. Ride it and you will get all the satisfaction a man could ever need. Discount the alimony and support payments to buy it, if you dare. I just dare you. Regards
- Peter L. Hanlon, Brisbane Queensland, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-10 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Perfect everyday performance bike, real world power and handling and underseat storage with usable two-up accomodations.
- Tony P., Kenmore, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-09 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
smooth delivery of power Some people buy the ZRX for hooligan antics. Some get it from nostalgia for the Kawasaki race bikes of the early 80s. Others enjoy the remarkably smooth delivery of extraordinary low and mid-range power. For me, you can add making it a very comfortable sport-tourer. I've added GIVI hard bags and a higher screen to permit me to take long rides in the Rockies and South West. I also commute on the ZRX. I had an asphalt and steel post incident on my 2001 ZRX 1200 (my fault). I didn't have to think very much to replace the totaled bike with a 2002 ZRX 1200. I never even reconsidered any other bike. I'm thrilled with it.
- Ron Hewitt Cohen, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: