Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Craig

Sumner, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I picked up a used 2002 1200S back in 2003 with only 145 miles on the odometer. I have since put 7400 aditional miles on it over the last 4 years. I am a 40+ year old rider who does no racing on the street or track, so performance wise, the Bandit exceeds all that I need. For someone who is an agressive and hopefully experienced rider, the Bandit would not be my first suggestion. Since the Bandit, I have purchased a couple of sport bikes -CBR 954RR and GSXR 1000- and the difference in handling and breaking is night and day. Then again so was the purchase price. For responsible street riding the Bandit has power-o-plenty with torque that requires less shifting than the other bikes. The riding position of the Bandit allows all day rides that would have my back aching on the other bikes. If you enjoy doing your own mechanical work, you will enjoy the easy access to the motor without plastics and radiator to deal with. Pros: Riding Comfort. Easy Engine to work on. Fewer downshifts because of high torque. Low Price. Tons of accessories avalible. Cons: Playing with choke on cold starts vs Fuel Injection that spoils you. Heavy and requires upgrading of suspension to make it more canyon carving friendly. Low Beam very poor. Engine / Mirror vibrations.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Jetton

Petaluma, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought a 2002 GSF1200S in 2002. Was pleased with the bike for the first month riding it up and down the coast and freeways. The Pros: Great bike for cruising, good mileage, low maintenance, and reliable. Can ride this baby for hours in comfort. The Cons: Suppressed carburetor's; could use a stage one, two or three with K&N filters and a matching exhaust system will definitely open it up. Poor suspension, not made for heavy riders like myself, needed to modify to a .95 rated spring by Progressive on the front forks, adjusted to heavier oil and a Progressive rear shock; these modifications made a difference in the canyons. Without them, the bike is hard to push through the corners; had to do a lot of trail braking, gear and weight shifting to make it do what I wanted it to do. So, if anyone wants this bike and they are less than 200 lbs, I would say go for it. It is a bike that can last a long time. Great sport tour. But if you want it to be a sport bike with comfort, expect to spend a few grand more, otherwise be happy with what it can do which it does very well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dave

rochester, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got bike fever in the spring of '05. My 1980 Yamaha just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I made my way to the local dealer and after showing me several bikes including a r6 and a 919, he showed me a Bandit. I had been interested in one since '99 but got into a heavy and slow/limited funds funk for quite some time. I bought the Bandit two days later and have never regreted it. I have owned it for two seasons now (winter in Minnesota, though not like it used to be) and find it to be a great all around bike. Tons of power (added more this winter), great handling, and great mpg. My only complaint would be that the seat can get sore on the bottom after awile, but that might just be mine. A friend of mine bought his about a year after I got mine and likes it just as much. He was a big part of the reason I got mine. I have also had interested parties ask about the Bandit in parking lots and have highly recommended it to them as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My bike is a K2 built in 02. I will start by telling any potential buyer of a 01-02 Bandit 1200 to take it on a long test ride and when fully warmed up check for blue smoke from the exhaust. I myself bought this bike without a test ride as I have had a few Bandits and all were great bikes but some 01-02 models were plagued by a problem (oil burning) that stems from the manufacturing stage and if you buy one it will burn almost as much engine oil as petrol!!! It would appear (so I am told) that the oil holes in the pistons on some were drilled a fraction of an inch above the oil control rings thus allowing the oil into the combustion chambers where it was readily burnt with the fuel. Another theory I have heared is that the valve stem oil seals were at fault, which ever it was caused a lot of oil burning and if you end up with one of these it will cost a major amount of cash to remedy the problem. I was lucky, the dealer where I purchased the bike put it right for me at great cost to themselves. Right, please don't be put off by all that as the Bandit really is a great bike for the cash. I found the 600cc model runs out of steam quite easily and the new 650 model is not much better but at least it does have abs brakes. The 1200's are by far the better option, bags of grunt/torque with the standard set up, change the exhaust and fit k&n filters and it will give most sport bikes a run for their money. You only have to drop a spanner near the engine and the bhp will improve!!! It is, as most will know, an old school engine but what an engine it is. The roll on accelleration is outstanding and it wants to pull your arms out of their sockets at high revs. Be careful, it a wheelie monster as well!! I know a couple of mates who have accieved over 100,000 miles on theirs with no major probs. Bulletproof springs to mind!! Really though, they are a very tough engine which has been tried and tested and is very long lived. Standard windscreens leave a bit to be wanted, the wind buffeting above 80mph is awful, fit a taller aftermarket to this fine all round bike and the world will literally be you touring oyster. This machine is capable of doing everything well, be it solo or two up touring, commuting or taking it for a blast on the twisties you will not go far wrong with this all rounder. Try one and buy it, you WILL enjoy!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

robert allen

Des Moines , Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been interested in the Bandit since its introduction in 1997. When the new design appeared in 2000 I really loved the halogen cat eye headlights, wide mirrors and updated half-fairing. The midrange was smoothed out as well, so I bought one. I have a 1982 GSL650 touring bike, a sort of factory custom with a trunk and full fairing, and it is quite powerful enough for freeway riding, unlike some of the 600-650 machines I'd read about which could barely keep up with traffic etc. So I wondered what a bike with twice the power could do. The Bandit delivers in the speed category: I've had it up to 135 mph and that's as fast as I dared to go, but still had power left it seemed. I think it would look good with an extended swingarm; to extend the wheelbase about 5 inches would make it look even meaner!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jack germain

tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike, Great price, lot's of fun, power and looks from people wishing they were me. Giving the Suzuki 1200s a big Att-a-boy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roman Adamik

Monroe, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a brand new 2002 about a month ago. It's a nice looking, comfortable, reliable, good handling and quite powerfull bike. Only have about 800 miles on it but enjoyed every one of them. Bought Nelson-Rigg sport saddlebags and magnetic tank bag to match. Fits my size perfect (6' tall and 185 lb.) Runs little rough between 1,000 and 2,500 RPMs but very smooth past 2,500 RPMs. I definetly recommend this motorcyle for everyone who likes coombination of fun and comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Romper Stomper

mountain view, California

Reviewed on 2003-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
97 Bandit 1200S w/ 32k miles so far, runs strong, pulls hard, 2nd gear power wheelies, very very easy 1st gear off the throttle wheelies all the time, does good stoppies as well. Awesome stunter/drag bike that looks like an old man's tour bike with the fugly fairing. As soon as possible get the Dale Walker jet kit and put a pipe on it (love my Yoshimura RS 3), you will gain at least 15 hp, maybe more. Recently stomped the crap out of a not so well ridden TL 1000 R - that guy was surprised. I am a big fat guy and am very pleased with how well this bike copes with 280 lb rider + passenger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BK

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After reading the dozens of reviews on the Bandit I went for it. I could not be happier. It handles so well, it is balanced and responsive. And on top of that, the best bang for the buck deal. About the only thing I do not like is the placement of the stand since when it is up it hits the tip of my boot and I can feel it vibrating. Disturbing. Highly Recommended
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rick bennett

Flag Pond, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After riding a 01 B12s, and reading all your reviews I decided to buy an 02 B12s,. Got it Sat. Cold ride home took the long way home anyway, 63 miles!! Love it!! Gave 7012.00 OTD. Think it`s a great buy at that price, will work great for myself and occasually riding the wife.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: