Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bike reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Phil Waugh

Montgomery, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
To frame this review, let me start by saying that I traded-in a Kawasaki KLR 650 dual sport. I had been looking for several months at moving to something a bit more streetable with decent power and rider ergonomics for local driving as well as 300 - 400 mile weekend trips. I just got home from a nice 50 mile ride (from the dealership) on my brand new DL1000, and while it's still too early to be objective, I'm quite impressed with the difference in ride and power. This bike is very smooth and has a wonderful sound as it tunes up through the gears. I plan on getting the initial break in miles covered on a trip this weekend. I'll post another update once I get some miles under my belt.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Atlantic, Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So comfortable, quick, smooth. Only comfort factor is the windshield, the tall shield helped some, and the Laminar ears helped some. This machine is wonderful and fun. Many miles have been street, some gravel/dirt roads and some trails, it will do it all. Very usable power band, rev low and torque around town or trailing, wind it up when needed on the road, nice little boost when the secondaries open about 4500rpm, and yes the front end gets light in the first 2 gears.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Kessler

Castle Rock, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The V-Strom is just plain right! I've never ridden a bike that felt so ergonomically right till I rode this one. I have ridden enough road bikes to know that anyone who really knows his way around motorcycles would know what I am talking about if they would give the bike a try. Most people find the V-Storm not as appealing as other bikes. When the other manufacturers start sending this type of motorcycle stateside I will be looking at them too. Looks like suzuki addressed some of the issues for 2004. I have ridden several bikes and have no regrets. Another factor that makes this bike so appealing is its large size yet LIGHT weight. It handles very well. My advice, give a long test ride over diverse country and be objective. I bet you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil

Hazel Park, Michigan

Reviewed on 2003-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The summary is miss leading the reason this bike is not good for me is that I never get anything done. Mow the lawn or go for a ride? Time to ride. I bought the DL in Pottstown PA rode it home to Detroit,619 miles.Best ride of my life a little cold the first weekend of May but still fun. The bike is differant big,angular,will wheelie,can ride it all day without being sore,and it's something you don't see alot of so you don't have to try to personalize it to much to be able to tell it apart from everybody elses.It's a bike that probably won't be a big seller.But I'm sure glad I got mine.If you want something between sport bike crouch and cruiser slouch than V-Strom is the real deal.Just keep in mind you might have to hire somebody to do some chores around the house!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry Warden

Woodbridge, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First and foremost this bike is about outstanding value with little compromise. The ergonomics are great and the ability to ride out every tank of gas hasn't gone away after more than 4000 miles. With fuel injection and a proven v-twin motor, the V-Strom doesn't disappoint. Smooth and steady acceleration instill confidence that this bike will never fail you from stop light to stop light or mile marker to mile marker. The 6th gear "over drive" is a nice touch when reaching those hyper speeds of our nation's interstates. The V-Strom quietly cruises along. Real world handling on the V-Strom is second to none. With relatively high pegs, the ability to scrape them never seems to introduce doubt as to the capability of this machine. Balance is like a being on a Segway without the gyroscopes. Lean it over, it can handle it. Be wary of the very sensitive side-stand. Many a stromtrooper has found their bike horizontal after not paying attention to the position of that vertical balance aid. Better still, buy the optional center stand. It's worth every penny. Replace the stock seat and windscreen, and this bike is just perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Vorseth

Bakersfield, California

Reviewed on 2003-02-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely perfect. Suzuki, don't change a thing. Finally, street riding is fun again. I love looking at my charcoal grey DL every day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M. Davidson

Grayslake, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Review should be 4.5 stars. I bought it for the height (I'm 6'5") so I had very few bikes to choose from without having my knees in my ears!!. It is a very easy bike to ride and even new riders shouldn't be worried about buying one. It handles easily and is quite comfortable, but with the upright seating and sports windshield, why did Suzuki style it like this? Either make it open faced or a full screen. It is quite comfortable for passengers and my wife enjoys riding with me but the passenger pegs are a bit high for her (5'9"). It has adequate highway power and even with both of us on board(350lbs+) it is hard to keep under 100mph. For the money it is a very good every day bike and has very little to compare with. If I were to suggest a change to Suzuki, then I would change to the Busa engine to impreove the torque for two up riding and change the styling more like BMW enduro bikes.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Pausma

Fondulac, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2002-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just finally broke down and picked up the 'strom the other day. don't tell my employer but I've already had to take a sick day due to too much fun. The bike has awesome torque, plenty of power, and just feels right. My experience with bikes is pretty much across the board. From the ZX-11 to my latest, the ST-1100. Throw in a V-max, a Bandit, and riding various 600's, I've been around the cycling block (so to speak). I have to say, the V-strom enhances my riding ability like no other. I'm just an average 40 year old with average riding skills but this bike encourages my abilities like no other. I just spent an afternoon with my kid brother who rides a '98 VFR and he couldn't believe what I did to him in the really tight curves. What's really cool is when the riding is over, I'm not hurting anywhere. If you want to lean over the tank and pretend you're Joe racer, stick with a "crotch rocket", but remember you just might get a glimpse of me as I pass you by while you complain about that kink in your wrist or neck. Oh, I forgot to mention, I can't afford a garage full of bikes so this is the best of all worlds for me. With the optional taller screen and a set of bags I'll be going across the country next summer. Only a few other things I might change; A set of pipes to enhance the somwewhat subdued sound and pure street tires instead of the more open tread on the originals.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Bogardus

West Monroe, New York

Reviewed on 2002-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I will try to write the most objective review I can on my VStrom as I can. This bike is very comfortable, even two up. I am in my 50s and can't ride those bikes that have radical seating. The engine has all the power (real world useful power) you could need. Two problems I see with the bike that are experienced by many other owners. First, the windshield is useless. I made an extention that I added to the stock windshield that improved it greatly. Why Suzuki can't get it right is beyond me. Second, the water pump has a slight weep to it and this is a design flaw in the pump. It is not a major deal because the weep is so minor but a flaw nun the less. I will have this issue attended to in the spring under warranty. don't want to have the bike down with only a short time to ride left in the season. There is one other issue that I wish Suzuki had changed which is purely subjective and that is in regards to the chain. I just wish Suzuki had made this bike shaft driven. All in all, considering no bike will have everything someone wants, this bike comes very close. I have had many bikes in my time and I was getting to the point where I was going to give up riding because I couldn't find a bike that fit and worked for me or wasn't boring. Until this bike that is. Now motorcycling is fun again.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bob wittman

wheatland, Wyoming

Reviewed on 2002-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DL1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
it is still to early to predict my long term satisfaction ,but after riding the initial 600 miles my early impressions are very favorable.this bike is by far the most fun motorcyle that i have ever owned or ridden.it is by the way the fourth new suzuki i have bought since 98.it does well in the paved twisties and works on the gravel road surfaces. it has power,handling and 50 m.p.g. to boot.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: