Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

4.1
Write a review
Reliability
4.1
Overall quality
4.1
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jeremy

Texas

Reviewed on 2007-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Stock, this bike is undersprung for most men and it is really choked up from the factory, but once you open up the airbox, jet it, pipe it, and spring it, the bike becomes really fun. Throttle it up in first any time. The torque of this bike really shines, as with most Suzuki's. Very happy with my purchase. Oh, by the way, the engine is TOTALLY bulletproof.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

By-Tor

Crossville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just purchased a 02 Suzuki 650SE and So far I think it was the best choice. After trial and error,visiting every brands dealer,I went with the Suzuki. Not to drop names.. But the (red) brand of bike(650) was to tall. At 6'3" I could barley touch ground! The engine compartment look like a plumbers nightmare..Cheap feeling controls,so-so styling and only one color option turned me out the door in a hurry!! Next up to bat the (green) brand. Yuck! Styling that would stop even a Spammer dead in the road! Felt like sitting on a log. Want to try one out in the back lot?? The Salesman said... No thank you. Well next up the (blue) brand. Excuse me,Sir you say your big bore Dual Sport is a 225cc I ask ? Yes the Salesman replied, we also have a 200cc machine, But not in stock..Just as well, both bikes tied together would'nt make a roost in dry sand. The 225 was a good looking bike but made for a 13 yr. old that's not looking for any highway riding at all. Then came the Suzuki! Superb styling! The fit and finish on this bike is off the hook. Bought it on the spot. They also had 03 models in stock, but they made me a deal on a new 02 model! Riding this bike is AWSOME ! Say ya need torque...Forget about it!! Twist the throttle and your outta here, no matter how steep the mountain road gets! Strong, smooth, consistant power when you need it. Starts with a mere touch of a button, warms up quickly and begs to be ridden promptly!! What little dirt riding I've done with this bike(thus far) is better than I had hoped. Feels very nimble for 650. The stock tires perform well in the dry, but lack bite in loose or damp conditions. Best shifting tranny I've ever used! On any motorcycle, spaced and geard like a Dual Sport should be! Only draw back so-far.. No Tachometer. Might not be issue for some, but I use one for shifting points and ya miss one if you have'nt got it! Check out the 650SE and you'll say... Who would ever choose (RED) (GREEN) or (BLUE) over the DR650SE ??? :)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sgt. Mjr. Mike

Ventura, California

Reviewed on 2003-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding this bike for 9 months now, and I don't have a viable complaint yet!! This bike will go anywhere I am brave enough to point it. that's why I wanted one in the first place. I can be riding anywhere and decide to turn right whenever I want...This bike has enough torque to twist the nuts off of Godzilla. The only challenge so far is that it is a bit heavy,.. but then so am I. Not a problem for me at 275lbs, but I can see how a little guy might whine about it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

New York

Reviewed on 2002-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
rode a xr650l, dr650se, drz400s,kawi650,they best if riding off road most thats what i do,well is the drz 400s,its just a lighter bike to handle and im 6'2" 275 lb i handle the dr650 just fine but the drz feels like a dirt bikeand the dr 650 feels more like street but i ride wheelies best on dr650,lol, they all go about the same speed 100miles hour so thats not the problem ,i have 2100 miles on it a yoshimura pipe ,jetting 90%dirt tires on it so ive pushed it on and off so i know mostly off, and still selling it for drz400s so if any one interested in a good 2002 dr650se in great shape email me,thanks, ray
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lester Gomez

Nashua, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2002-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
Sorry to say, the DR650SEK didn't measure up in my book. This bike stock is verry heavy, far from it's peak proformence, and the OE tires where very poor on the soft dirt. It took over 600.00$ and many mods to make it ride with the rest. If it's trail riding you like, Try the DR-Z.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carson

springfield, Oregon

Reviewed on 2002-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have a 2001 DR650 that I have had for just over a year. I have re-jetted and put DOT knobbies on. This is a fun bike for easy trail riding, fireroads and highway riding. The stock saddle is very abusive and will discourage anyone from more than 300 mile days. I am on my 3rd tail light bracket in just over a year. I had replaced one just a month before the warranty expired, then 5 days after the warranty expires another broken tail light bracket. Suzuki said sorry $80 please. There is a weakness in the bracket design that can't support the weight of the tail light jiggling from the knobbies. If you run DOT knobbies on this bike be prepared to fix broken tail light brackets. One of the chainguard brackets broke off the swingarm a few months ago. A stick may have caused it to break but I noticed the chainguard dangling off the swingarm when I stopped. They only tack weld one side of these so they don't take any lateral stress. I have over 9000 miles on my bike and it has never been down. I ride it very hard and it never misses a beat. The DR650 pulls much stronger than my friends XR650L and much more capable off road than a KLR, but if you want a bike for adventure touring go with the KLR.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Anchorage, Alaska

Reviewed on 2002-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'm a sportbike guy at heart but, after getting orders to Alaska I decided to sell my ZX-11 and get into dualsporting. I bought the DR650 when I got to Alaska and have to say it is a "diffrent" kind of bike. After breaking it in I set out to make it "my" bike. Off came the stock exhaust, on went a Two Brothers Racing pipe along with a K@N air filter and re-jetting kit. These mods tranformed the bike from meek to beast. Wheelies are just a twist of the wrist away. The bike pulls WAY harder than stock and can beat the Harley "big twins" in a drag race. The look on their faces is priceless. Anyway with so many dirt roads in Alaska, this is the perfect bike. Highway rides are windblast city and the new pipe is really LOUD. The pipe did drop about 10 lbs off the bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

medford, New York

Reviewed on 2002-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding three weeks now,with 3 other riders and i have gotten a chance to ride a honda xr 650,drz400,and my sweetie the dr650 and after riding them all i'm glad i purchased the one i did. It fits like glove, only thing i dont care for is the seat is a little hard ,I've ridden a lot off road also but I think I'm going to get more aggresive tires
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: