Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Suzuki GZ250 Standard reviews

4.1
Write a review
Reliability
4.1
Overall quality
4.1
Performance
4.1
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Standard

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

larry

lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2003-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The gz 250 was my first bike and I loved it. Surprisingly quick with styling of larger cruisers. Very easy to work on.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ray

omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2003-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I bought this bike in March and have since had it not start for me twice, the license plate bracket fell off and around 2000 miles it started ticking. Overall it is a good bike to start on but most will outgrow it quickly. It is a good bike for running around town but if you plan on any highway driving it definately lacks the power. It will keep up w/ 65 mph traffic on a calm day and a flat road. Gas mileage is great 63-75 mpg. It is a nice bike to look at though and looks like a bigger bike than it is. It maneuvers really well but vibrates a lot and rides kind of rough. Could use a more comfortable seat. Accessories are very difficult to find and expensive.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jbirdy

manassas, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'm a novice and this is my first bike, so take what I say with a grain of salt. I looked at the Rebel, the Ninja 250, the Virago 250(used one), and in the end picked the GZ250. Why? it looks great, it's inexpensive it has excellent ergonomics (for me, anyway) good breaking and control and let's face it, a single piston "thumper" is just cool. But, above all I really like the simplicity of it. Everyone (dealer also) said this bike lacked power. Okay, so it's not a rocket. So what?? In around town cruising (25mph-50mph stop and go, back roads and in city) this bike has plenty of power with some to spare. Maybe not the bike for the interstate, because, it does lack top end (a little) and is lightweight, but average riding, it's great! If you're a novice and people tell you this bike hasn't enouhg power, ask them if they've ever really ridden one. I'm happy I choose this bike. Great so far!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack Solloway

West Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2002-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
On the plus side, it's small, low and light and looks good. BUT, the rear brakes squeal, the chrome is rusting, access to valve tappets requires major surgery. Oil drain plug is hard to locate. Cheap OEM battery died in one year. It runs out of revs at about 65 mph. Generally, there's a lack of good engineering design. Little things like poor design of mirror mounting bolts which are covered by a plug which falls out and you hafta replace it at the dealers, not a parts store. Ditto with tires. Can't get replacements except the OEM Dunlops. I've owned eight Hondas. I'd never buy another Suzuki
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ryoung

Leghigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased a 2001 GZ250 almost a year ago. Insurance is inexpensive at $120.00 a year. At a intersection, It has enough power to pull away from cars. I can cruise around 50 to 60mph easily. I read articles where people had it above 85mph? If you are going against a head wind, it feels a bit lite at 55 - 60 mph. If it has NOT been started for weeks, It started without any problems. Because it is so inexpensive, you don't feel bad if you don't ride it for weeks either! It has larger front tire and gas tank then the Rebel making look bigger than a 250cc. Great first time bike! ryoung
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SAMUEL ORTIZ

OLYMPIA, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had been riding a CH-80 Honda Elite Scooter for several years with dreams of someday riding a real motorcycle, My local dealer had 6 of these babys they had loaned out to the local schools to teach motorcycle safety they were returned to dealership where they were being sold them for $1000.00 off retail. Walking through the showroom picking up a part for my scooter, It was love at first sight the style was beautiful, it looks much bigger than a 250CC, The price was unbeatable. I'm built more for cruisin than for speed, If your a 1st time motorcycle rider,if you like to just cruise at 55 rather than 75, this bike is for you, thank you Suzuki, maybe I can do a commercial for you some day. As Arlo Guthrie would sing I don't WANT A PICKLE I JUST WANT TO RIDE ON MY MOTORCYLCLE
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ten_ji

jacksonville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got mine last night and it is probly the best small bike i have riden. its comfortable. and it looks good
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PENEL518

YONKERS, New York

Reviewed on 2002-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I AM A 28 y.o. WOMAN AND A PROUD OWNER OF A NEW 2002 SUZUKI GZ250. IT IS MY FIRST BIKE AND I DO LOVE IT. IT IS COMFORTABLE, EASY TO HANDLE AND SMOOTH TO RIDE. I LOOK FOWARD TO UPGRADING TO A LARGER BIKE NEXT YEAR BUT IN THE MEANTIME I AM HAVING A GREAT TIME LEARNING WITH THIS BIKE. IT WAS INEXPENSIVE TO BUY, AND GREAT ON GAS...EVERYONE I MEET ARE SURPRISED WHEN I TELL THEM THE FULL SIZE LOOKING BIKE IS ONLY A 250! ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE I RIDE WITH HAVE SPORT BIKES, AND MY BEST FRIEND BOUGHT A KAWI NINJA 250CC. EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE TWO VERY DIFFERENT BIKES, WE LOOK GREAT RIDING TOGETHER IN OUR PACK!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ward Durossette

Euless , Texas

Reviewed on 2002-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have not ridden in over nine years, and was looking to get back into saddle with a training bike. I got a good deal on a used 2002 GZ250, and I must say that this motorcycle is a joy to throw around. Although I will move up to something larger, this bike is perfect for tuning the old reflexes. It's light and nimble, with a forgiving gear ratio. Not a bike for the freeway, due to the light weight. This bike is fun to drive, and I think that it looks good. I am a big guy, and this bike is the biggest of the 250 class bikes that I looked at.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donald Weston

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2002-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki GZ250

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I purchased this bike new in 99. I found that the bike lacks power at the top end. The bike is designed for someone about 90 pounds. Also the chrome plating leaves alot to be desired.The chrome started rusting after the first year regardless of wax applied to the chrome. To give the bike more top end I changed the exhaust system and changed the rear sprocket from the 41 tooth to a 37 tooth sprocket. In doing so this the bike has increased its top end. The jetting of the carburetor still needs a larger jet to help the top end speed. Accessories for this bike is still limited. But with some customizing here can fit almost anything to it. Mine has FX fiberglass saddle bags, 36 in. fish tail exhaust pipe, sportster highway bars, and a FX full wrap rear fender. I have to say it is a fair bike that gets 75 mpg. When I buy another bike it will be a Kawasaki.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: