Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (52)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-16 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a month since my purchase of 02 Volusia, what a great bike, and very satisfied with everything. I must add that the person I purchased it from made all the up grades. My brother has 07 Boulevard (stock), the Mustang seat alone on mine makes a big difference, as we switch off, we both comment on the comfort level improvement. Other ad on's, windshield, floorboards, heal-toe, bags, passenger backrest, make this bike you can ride for an hour or the day. Buy and Enjoy!
- mcm, lewiston, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at a Honda 750 and my wife said I was too big for the Honda. So I told her to pick out my bike, since she was so smart. The VL800 is the bike of her choice. I didn't even test ride it. I bought it used in 2005 with 1100 miles. The price was right!!! This is a great bike!!! Now that I have been doing some research on them, I found that it is great!! I will tell you this, it is taller than the C90 and one inch shorter. The seat height is the same, and the 800 holds more gas. As for power, the 800 will kick some you know what. Mine is the black and blue two tone, and I get all kinds of compliments including nice HARLEY. Then I laugh and tell them it's a SUZUKI. All in all, it's a great bike and worth the money. Great ride!
- harold , wisconsin dells, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking to buy a V-Twin and found this bike. Not at all disappointed, especially what it would have cost for a "comparible" H-D. Added pipes and windshield, and have the resulting jet-issues as a result of the new pipes. Jet change will fix this. However, my big issue is the seemingly high RPM on the freeway; 70 mph sounds like I am red-lined. No tach is really a bummer.
- Mike, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-13 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a Cadi and will keep the heads turning. I picked it up a couple of weeks ago after doing extensive research on cruisers. Power is good considering mine is loaded with windshield, bags, etc. When you ride it, you don't want to go much faster than approx 70mph because you're just cruising. Just like any other bike that I've had, I want more power just because you get used to how your bike feels after riding it for a while. It doesn't need any more power, but I thought my ZRX1200 needed more after a few months and it was a rocket! It looks and feels like a big bore, but has the price and value that leaves money for more important things than toys. For a tall guy it has ample legroom. Insurance is really low while the fun stays high! It runs on 87 grade unleaded which makes the gas even cheaper. I'd recommend this bike for anyone looking for the most cruiser for the money.
- Kevin White, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 Volusia VL800 with less then 150 miles for an excellent price just two months ago. I had been looking at the new Boulevard C50 when I came across this gem. This was my first new bike in 15 years and I could not be happier with its performance. Prior to getting my Volusia I only rode to and from work. Now I also enjoy leisurely rides with a local motorcycle club. The 40 mpg and 4.5 gallon tank make for great rides without need for frequent stops.
- Pete N., San Angelo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. But before I bought this bike I have rode a lot of them from Harleys to Yamahas to Kawasaki's. You name it I rode it and then I sat on the Volusia. Man this is one comfy bike without adding anything. Runs smooth at 75-80 mph. handles great feel good. Trust me you want a good bike get a Suzuki Volusia. Oh yea jus want to say I got a friend who just bought a 1200 HD. He traded in his Volusia now he is kicking himself for doing it. We all tried to tell him.
- softballman, paris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-03 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding in 2001 with a little Suzuki 250. Six months later I got the 2002 Volusia, since then I have got custom paint, pipe, saddlebags, installed neon lights, and removed all decals or stickers that say Suzuki not because I am ashamed of the bike but so it has a more custom look and has people wondering what kind of bike it is. Lots of Harley guys have to take a second look before they realize it's not a hog. Actually I have been told many times it looks better then a lot of hogs and I would have to agree. It handles great and the comfort and power is very satisfying. I would not get any other mid size cruiser except this bike
- AnhTuan Nguyen, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-28 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did buy this bike for it's look and the price was right and I am a happy biker. In my eye's suzuki is the best brand of bikes that money can buy. I hope that suzuki will in the future do its best as always to give us good value for money
- michael, harelbeke, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my volusia in septerber of 2002. Put lots of chrome accessories on it. Looks great and my cobra drag pipes sounds great, ride with H.D owers and I get the looks and everyone wants to know what kind of a bike it is. It is an awesome bike and looks great.
- cafasso keith, haskell, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-21 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got this bike, and the first thing the guy I bought it off of did to it was take out the baffles....Im telling you, it sounds amazing!!! Picture a hemi with flowmasters!!!! Such a great sound, closely resembles a harley....Its blue on black,(my favorite colors) and it feels great too!!!! clean take off and acceleration. Looks great!!! CANT GET ENOUGH OF THAT SOUND!! MMMM SO GREAT. I Give it a 6 out of 5 stars!!
- James Hemphill, Covehead Road , Prince Edward Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-18 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I liked my Volusia from the begining , it was a GREAT bike for the money but it just wasn't where i wanted it. I just had it re-jetted and refitted with a new set of pipes and now it is a TERRIFIC ride. It powers like an 1100 bike and sounds even better.
- twowheels53, St Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned my Vol for 11 months to the day. This is one amazingly sweet bike and a absolute steal for the money. Long, low, beautifully styled, surprisingly quick and very agile, about the only thing anyone could wish for is more horsepower at the top end to make 70-80 mile an hour cruising more effortless. I traded mine in on a V-Strom. The 'Strom is better suited for highway touring with its amazingly smooth ride, liquid smooth jet-like power, long cruising range (5.8 gal tank) and ability to easily carry loads and loads of luggage.
- Woofy, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-14 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several street bikes prior to purchasing my 2003 Volusia. The bikes ranged from the old Suzuki 380 (yeah...way back then) to a 883 Sportster. I do not consider myself any type of expert on street bikes or cruisers, but I do know what I like. And I absolutely LOVE this bike. Great looks. I got the silver and white one. Decent sound from stock pipes. But they will be replaced with a set of Vance & Hines Straight Shots. Excellent ride. Plus the bike is perfectly balanced. It can easily be pitched left or right for that quick miss of a pothole or similar road hazards. The bike has tremendous torque. It starts pulling from idle all the way to top end. Smooth constant power in any gear at any RPM. The Volusia will cruise all day at speeds considerably higher than the posted interstate limit (cough...cough). I am 6'2" tall and the bike fits much better than the Honda Ace or Kawasakis. They just feel small compared to the Volusia. The Volusia has a wheelbase longer than many bikes with larger displacement. Check for yourself. I am going to add forward controls, just to get some stretch in the legs though. Water cooled. Shaft drive, no annoying chain noise. Almost no maintenance. If you are not looking for the biggest thing out there, you will not be sorry you purchased a Suzuki Volusia. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to email me. I will answer anything that I can honestly.
- Jerry, New Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-30 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2002 Volusia is 9 months old with 6500 miles on it. My wife and I just returned from a 1500 mile trip to TN, NC, Al and GA. Rode Smokie Mountain Parkway, Blue Ridge Parkway and Appalachain Hwy. Beautiful! I recommend Hwy 64 in Tn and NC. Twisty roads and great scenery - especially the many rivers and falls. Bike performed perfectly - no problems. All riding was two up and we had plenty of power. The only weak point on the bike is the rear brake - a little weak. Front disk is very good. This bike is the best value out there. Suzy ate the Interstate up coming home. Great looks, too.
- W. Marsalis, Edwards, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 53 years old and have owned over 30 bikes over the years. I just bought an 03 Volusia. I had decided to buy a 1300 or an 1100, then I saw the Volusia and everything fit. The bike is an eye pleaser, it sounds great and even better when you get on it and I didn't have to mortgage the farm to buy it. I can't imagine why anyone would pay 20k for a Harley just for the name and some kind of imaginary badness when this type of bike is available. This bike is not a Harley wanabe it's a real motorcycle for real people.
- Dan DeCoteau, Montpelier, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own a '98 Intruder 800. I have had my '02 Volusia (yes, I bought it late, but got a great deal for it) for two days now. I love the smooth ride, the incredible looks and sound, and the seat height. Power and acceleration seem ok, though I've also noticed a somewhat "clunky" gear transition. If that doesn't clear up within my initial break-in period, I may take the 15 versus 17 point front sprocket suggestion. Has anyone heard of this apparent fix? As far as the combustion/exhaust goes - I wouldn't re-jet this bike until it was necessary (much later in its lifetime). The factory kit is good - it does run a little lean, but you'll get better gas mileage and not blue your pipes quite so quick. Happy Trails and Safe Riding to All!
- Grant Cooper, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My personal opinion is that we buy cruisers because they look good, and are comfy to ride. Performance is usually secondary (if it wasnt, we'd have bought a crotch-rocket!). I did a huge amount of research before buying my 2003 Pearl White SE- LTD edition. I read every article, website opinion, asked owners of Volusia's and its competitors lots of questions. Rode or at least sat on them all. And after all that, I can say that I don't think theres a better looking, better equipped and better riding 750-900cc class bike available. This bike looks soooo good- I have crowds gather where-ever I park it. People walk right by $30,000 Harleys to view my bike. If you want eye-candy with a great sound and price- the Volusia CANNOT be touched!!
- Keith, Barrie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-17 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Suzuki Volusia is an awesome bike. It is a great all around ride, from around town to the highway. Check out this bike if you are looking for a midweight cruiser at an incredibly reasonable price.
- Rob Stone, Enterprise, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-28 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me say up front that the 128 Cycles staff know what the heck they are doing and what they are talking about. The sales person (MC) suggested the VL800 to me and I could not be happier. The parts dept. set me up with all the extras I wanted, at lower than market cost I might add. 128 Cycles professional service dept. put the finishing touches on my machine and even went out of their way to keep me apprised of the whole procedure. The 128 Cycles staff was courteous, kind and patient with me. They honoured their every word and kindly put up with my constant questions, comments and concerns...ah...even when I was a persistent pain in the neck. The 2002 Suzuki VL 800 is the bike of my dreams and I want to add it was because of the fine people at 128 Cycles that made my first bike experience a positive one. All the extras, leather included, at under 9 grand, well, you just can't beat the price. I will be riding this great machine for a long long time to come. Thanks 128 Cycles for setting me up with the perfect bike, it fits me well. Yours on the free road of life. Steve AKA / MA plate: TSATB
- (9/11) TSA Terrorist Busters, Salem, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had her for 6 weeks now. Second bike ever but first after 18 year layoff. Handles great on the expressway and at low speed. Looks beautiful and the price can't be beat. Looked at other bikes in its class, the Honda 750 ACE and the Yamaha 650 but the Volusia's look and shaft drive made it a hands down winner.
- Lloyd, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-16 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking for a middleweight crusier ? Look no further. This is it. Just over 1 year, 10K miles and it just keeps getting better. Can't touch this bike for the money. Shaft drive is sweet. Maintenance ? Change the oil and wash it. Looks ? People will get out of thier cars to tell you how pretty your bike is. Chicks dig it. Performance? No it's not the fastest bike but people who buy cruisers to go fast miss the point. Buy it and take the money you saved to buy a second go fast scoot for those hooligan days. But, on those cruising days, you can't go wrong with a Volusia. My 4th bike but it would serve as a great first bike, light, easy to handle, low cost, you won't out grow it and quick resale if you deside MC's aren't for you. Did I say pretty ? Oh, yea baby !
- Peggrinder, Midlothian, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-05 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my black and blue Volusia in march 02. I have not had a single problem. As other posts state a 6th gear would be nice, but I ride the highway at 70 to75 regularly with no problems. I have installed hardkrome staggered exhaust and a stage one jet kit which has greatly increased the power. If you like to ride at speeds greater than 75 or ride two up regularly buy a larger displacement bike. Otherwise this is a great bike.
- Bob, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-28 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely amazing. I went to the showroom to trade in my Katana 750 for an Aprilia RSV Mille. Out of curiosity i was looking at the cruisers and this caught my eye. I just sat on the bike to see how it feels to be on a cruiser....what do you know ? 2 hours later i was riding this bike out of the show room. It is black and blue 2002. Its been a year since i got it and absolutely no regrets about it till now....My wife absolutely loves it. For her it was love at first sight also.. My only complaint is... I NEED MORE POWER on this babe...and possibly a 6th gear.
- Amar, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-01 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vstars don't have liquid cool and the Shadows don't have shaft drive. The Volusia has both. It's the same size as the 1100 Vstar dwarfing the other mid-size cruisers. The seat is big, the pipes have a nice rumble, the motor has plenty of pep and because of the size, the ride is nice and there is room for a passenger without crowding.
- Wayne Jones, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-27 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 Volusia. This is a great bike, and for the money, nothing even comes close! Bike is very comfortable, and has plenty of power. I have ridden at sustained speeds of 75+ with no difficulty. Remember, this is a CRUISER! If you want to go 0-150 in 10 seconds, this isn't the bike for you. If you want a comfortable, stylish ride for less than 7 grand, the search is over. Water cooling, and shaft drive add to reliability, and save maintenance. the only drawback, OEM accessories are hellishly expensive, and frequently on back-order. Fortunately there are many other companies getting into the Volusia, so price should come down as availability increases.
- MBallard, Hackettstown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: