Suzuki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (132)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-03 2002 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 30 years off cycles, on May 1, 2011, the thrill came back. At 62, I took the plunge and bought a 2000 Marauder (black and fully dressed), with 9,800 miles on the odometer. What a beauty! It runs great and sounds great. The only problem right now is, sharing it with my wife (I'm retired, so I own the bike weekdays and it's hers weekends). I hope to buy a second Marauder in the spring. We live in a small village, so it's not a problem to ride 2-up on our country roads and not see a car for miles. We are having a BLAST. Stay safe and enjoy your rides. I went and bought our second Suzuki in November, 2011. I spotted this ad for a 2002 Marauder and after inspecting, took the plunge. It was in pristine condition, with 11,000 miles and lots of accessories. We now look for excuses to go for a ride together. Both of us are very pleased with our Marauders, and are looking forward to many seasons with them.
- Anonymous, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-25 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where to begin; I put 72,000mi on my Hayabusa. If I didn't love it, I would of sold it long before. It was as reliable as a hammer. The only issues that I had were: the clutch slave cylinder kept leaking, I replaced the seal twice, and the whole unit once. The clutch lever sensor switch went out once(this tells the bike that the clutch is pulled in, so it will allow the bike to start). Second gear started slipping, an issue that I may have caused when I put in an aftermarket clutch that didn't fit right(I pulled it for a stock replacement), a lot of busas have lost second gear, but I think that is has a lot to do with how you treat the bike. There is a lot of torque getting slammed through that tranny, I can imagine that lack of smooth clutch work, combined with a heavy throttle hand will thrash second gear pretty good. Anyway, not a bad record of reliability in 72k of riding. I rode it almost daily, from long distance touring to twisty back roads; all in comfort and pleasure. The forks need heavier springs, and a revalve is a good idea. Otherwise, the bike is absolutely outstanding in its ability to do everything well. As a daily rider, I couldn't ask for more. After you get used to riding a busa, every other motorcycle feels like there is something wrong with it.
- the grinch, santa cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a month since my purchase of 02 Volusia, what a great bike, and very satisfied with everything. I must add that the person I purchased it from made all the up grades. My brother has 07 Boulevard (stock), the Mustang seat alone on mine makes a big difference, as we switch off, we both comment on the comfort level improvement. Other ad on's, windshield, floorboards, heal-toe, bags, passenger backrest, make this bike you can ride for an hour or the day. Buy and Enjoy!
- mcm, lewiston, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at a Honda 750 and my wife said I was too big for the Honda. So I told her to pick out my bike, since she was so smart. The VL800 is the bike of her choice. I didn't even test ride it. I bought it used in 2005 with 1100 miles. The price was right!!! This is a great bike!!! Now that I have been doing some research on them, I found that it is great!! I will tell you this, it is taller than the C90 and one inch shorter. The seat height is the same, and the 800 holds more gas. As for power, the 800 will kick some you know what. Mine is the black and blue two tone, and I get all kinds of compliments including nice HARLEY. Then I laugh and tell them it's a SUZUKI. All in all, it's a great bike and worth the money. Great ride!
- harold , wisconsin dells, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a used 2002 1200S back in 2003 with only 145 miles on the odometer. I have since put 7400 aditional miles on it over the last 4 years. I am a 40+ year old rider who does no racing on the street or track, so performance wise, the Bandit exceeds all that I need. For someone who is an agressive and hopefully experienced rider, the Bandit would not be my first suggestion. Since the Bandit, I have purchased a couple of sport bikes -CBR 954RR and GSXR 1000- and the difference in handling and breaking is night and day. Then again so was the purchase price. For responsible street riding the Bandit has power-o-plenty with torque that requires less shifting than the other bikes. The riding position of the Bandit allows all day rides that would have my back aching on the other bikes. If you enjoy doing your own mechanical work, you will enjoy the easy access to the motor without plastics and radiator to deal with. Pros: Riding Comfort. Easy Engine to work on. Fewer downshifts because of high torque. Low Price. Tons of accessories avalible. Cons: Playing with choke on cold starts vs Fuel Injection that spoils you. Heavy and requires upgrading of suspension to make it more canyon carving friendly. Low Beam very poor. Engine / Mirror vibrations.
- Craig, Sumner, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2002 GSF1200S in 2002. Was pleased with the bike for the first month riding it up and down the coast and freeways. The Pros: Great bike for cruising, good mileage, low maintenance, and reliable. Can ride this baby for hours in comfort. The Cons: Suppressed carburetor's; could use a stage one, two or three with K&N filters and a matching exhaust system will definitely open it up. Poor suspension, not made for heavy riders like myself, needed to modify to a .95 rated spring by Progressive on the front forks, adjusted to heavier oil and a Progressive rear shock; these modifications made a difference in the canyons. Without them, the bike is hard to push through the corners; had to do a lot of trail braking, gear and weight shifting to make it do what I wanted it to do. So, if anyone wants this bike and they are less than 200 lbs, I would say go for it. It is a bike that can last a long time. Great sport tour. But if you want it to be a sport bike with comfort, expect to spend a few grand more, otherwise be happy with what it can do which it does very well.
- Steven Jetton, Petaluma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-05 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got bike fever in the spring of '05. My 1980 Yamaha just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I made my way to the local dealer and after showing me several bikes including a r6 and a 919, he showed me a Bandit. I had been interested in one since '99 but got into a heavy and slow/limited funds funk for quite some time. I bought the Bandit two days later and have never regreted it. I have owned it for two seasons now (winter in Minnesota, though not like it used to be) and find it to be a great all around bike. Tons of power (added more this winter), great handling, and great mpg. My only complaint would be that the seat can get sore on the bottom after awile, but that might just be mine. A friend of mine bought his about a year after I got mine and likes it just as much. He was a big part of the reason I got mine. I have also had interested parties ask about the Bandit in parking lots and have highly recommended it to them as well.
- dave, rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Busa only two days ago and haven't been able to get off of it. Even at a brisk 40 degrees (that's cold in California) it's pure enjoyment. I traded my 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1500 for this Hayabusa. It's a tremendous change in style, but worth it. Even the die-hard cruisers can respect this bike. Incredibly comfortable and outstandingly responsive. I have roughly 16 years experience and this is my fourth bike. Many have said this is not for beginners. I will say that the Hayabusa is not for the IMMATURE. If you want this bike simply because it will do 180 mph without a whimper, then look at something else. Throttle control is very important. She's rock steady at 20 mph and 120 mph. If you are inexperienced, immature, and like to show off...you will get hurt on this bike. The most important bit of advice I can offer to anyone contemplating a Hayabusa is respect it. Not only for the name and reputation, but the reputation of all the other Busa riders out there.
- Neil, Turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is a K2 built in 02. I will start by telling any potential buyer of a 01-02 Bandit 1200 to take it on a long test ride and when fully warmed up check for blue smoke from the exhaust. I myself bought this bike without a test ride as I have had a few Bandits and all were great bikes but some 01-02 models were plagued by a problem (oil burning) that stems from the manufacturing stage and if you buy one it will burn almost as much engine oil as petrol!!! It would appear (so I am told) that the oil holes in the pistons on some were drilled a fraction of an inch above the oil control rings thus allowing the oil into the combustion chambers where it was readily burnt with the fuel. Another theory I have heared is that the valve stem oil seals were at fault, which ever it was caused a lot of oil burning and if you end up with one of these it will cost a major amount of cash to remedy the problem. I was lucky, the dealer where I purchased the bike put it right for me at great cost to themselves. Right, please don't be put off by all that as the Bandit really is a great bike for the cash. I found the 600cc model runs out of steam quite easily and the new 650 model is not much better but at least it does have abs brakes. The 1200's are by far the better option, bags of grunt/torque with the standard set up, change the exhaust and fit k&n filters and it will give most sport bikes a run for their money. You only have to drop a spanner near the engine and the bhp will improve!!! It is, as most will know, an old school engine but what an engine it is. The roll on accelleration is outstanding and it wants to pull your arms out of their sockets at high revs. Be careful, it a wheelie monster as well!! I know a couple of mates who have accieved over 100,000 miles on theirs with no major probs. Bulletproof springs to mind!! Really though, they are a very tough engine which has been tried and tested and is very long lived. Standard windscreens leave a bit to be wanted, the wind buffeting above 80mph is awful, fit a taller aftermarket to this fine all round bike and the world will literally be you touring oyster. This machine is capable of doing everything well, be it solo or two up touring, commuting or taking it for a blast on the twisties you will not go far wrong with this all rounder. Try one and buy it, you WILL enjoy!!
- Tony, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking to buy a V-Twin and found this bike. Not at all disappointed, especially what it would have cost for a "comparible" H-D. Added pipes and windshield, and have the resulting jet-issues as a result of the new pipes. Jet change will fix this. However, my big issue is the seemingly high RPM on the freeway; 70 mph sounds like I am red-lined. No tach is really a bummer.
- Mike, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-13 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a Cadi and will keep the heads turning. I picked it up a couple of weeks ago after doing extensive research on cruisers. Power is good considering mine is loaded with windshield, bags, etc. When you ride it, you don't want to go much faster than approx 70mph because you're just cruising. Just like any other bike that I've had, I want more power just because you get used to how your bike feels after riding it for a while. It doesn't need any more power, but I thought my ZRX1200 needed more after a few months and it was a rocket! It looks and feels like a big bore, but has the price and value that leaves money for more important things than toys. For a tall guy it has ample legroom. Insurance is really low while the fun stays high! It runs on 87 grade unleaded which makes the gas even cheaper. I'd recommend this bike for anyone looking for the most cruiser for the money.
- Kevin White, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 Volusia VL800 with less then 150 miles for an excellent price just two months ago. I had been looking at the new Boulevard C50 when I came across this gem. This was my first new bike in 15 years and I could not be happier with its performance. Prior to getting my Volusia I only rode to and from work. Now I also enjoy leisurely rides with a local motorcycle club. The 40 mpg and 4.5 gallon tank make for great rides without need for frequent stops.
- Pete N., San Angelo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-10 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Many reviews on this site are 5 stars and so is mine. One of the great things about this bike is it is capable of having so many additional things added to it. My passengers love this bike as much as I do, it's so smooth and they have an awesome view with the raised seat and the captains forward lean.
- Mark, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-25 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 35 yrs., and have ridden most anything out there. This bike came box stock ready for my size. I did re-jet it and add Vance & Hines pipes to up the ponies. I also had to purchase a 'gel' seat to make the long trips easier on me. But I couldn't be happier with it. One bad item is the battery being at the bottom of bike and I do mean bottom. Also it is a good thing I know how to listen to an engine since it has no tachometer, bad for first time buyers. I also do not like the spoke wheels, but I needed a scoot for vacation and had to accept the good (price) with the bad (spokes).
- Ms Terry, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. But before I bought this bike I have rode a lot of them from Harleys to Yamahas to Kawasaki's. You name it I rode it and then I sat on the Volusia. Man this is one comfy bike without adding anything. Runs smooth at 75-80 mph. handles great feel good. Trust me you want a good bike get a Suzuki Volusia. Oh yea jus want to say I got a friend who just bought a 1200 HD. He traded in his Volusia now he is kicking himself for doing it. We all tried to tell him.
- softballman, paris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a very large man, and this is my first bike. I bought my 2002 Hayabusa on Valentines Day and I took the Motorcycle safety course, four weeks later, to learn how to ride. Everyone said this is not a beginner's bike, even the maker, that's crap. This bike is so smooth and comfortable. I don't know a lot about bikes, the only bikes I rode were the training bikes on the safety course, (150 and 250 cc's), and my Hayabusa. If you are a large man, take it from me the Hayabusa is the way to go. See you all on the road.
- John, Inglewood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-12 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been interested in the Bandit since its introduction in 1997. When the new design appeared in 2000 I really loved the halogen cat eye headlights, wide mirrors and updated half-fairing. The midrange was smoothed out as well, so I bought one. I have a 1982 GSL650 touring bike, a sort of factory custom with a trunk and full fairing, and it is quite powerful enough for freeway riding, unlike some of the 600-650 machines I'd read about which could barely keep up with traffic etc. So I wondered what a bike with twice the power could do. The Bandit delivers in the speed category: I've had it up to 135 mph and that's as fast as I dared to go, but still had power left it seemed. I think it would look good with an extended swingarm; to extend the wheelbase about 5 inches would make it look even meaner!
- robert allen, Des Moines , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-06 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research on my first bike and bought the Intruder. This is a great bike. Lots of power, a lot more than my brother's Sportster. Really comfortable once I installed the highway pegs. Couldn't be more pleased. The looks stand out and distinguish this bike from all the other Fatboy clones.
- Paul McKenzie, Ashland, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-03 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding in 2001 with a little Suzuki 250. Six months later I got the 2002 Volusia, since then I have got custom paint, pipe, saddlebags, installed neon lights, and removed all decals or stickers that say Suzuki not because I am ashamed of the bike but so it has a more custom look and has people wondering what kind of bike it is. Lots of Harley guys have to take a second look before they realize it's not a hog. Actually I have been told many times it looks better then a lot of hogs and I would have to agree. It handles great and the comfort and power is very satisfying. I would not get any other mid size cruiser except this bike
- AnhTuan Nguyen, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-03 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, Great price, lot's of fun, power and looks from people wishing they were me. Giving the Suzuki 1200s a big Att-a-boy.
- jack germain, tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-28 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did buy this bike for it's look and the price was right and I am a happy biker. In my eye's suzuki is the best brand of bikes that money can buy. I hope that suzuki will in the future do its best as always to give us good value for money
- michael, harelbeke, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my volusia in septerber of 2002. Put lots of chrome accessories on it. Looks great and my cobra drag pipes sounds great, ride with H.D owers and I get the looks and everyone wants to know what kind of a bike it is. It is an awesome bike and looks great.
- cafasso keith, haskell, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-30 2002 Suzuki Intruder 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 Intruder 800 and I love it! It's a great bike for a 5'0" woman that weighs only 100 lbs. However, it's also tough enough that my 200 lb son rides it with no problem.
- bc, Tupelo, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-21 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got this bike, and the first thing the guy I bought it off of did to it was take out the baffles....Im telling you, it sounds amazing!!! Picture a hemi with flowmasters!!!! Such a great sound, closely resembles a harley....Its blue on black,(my favorite colors) and it feels great too!!!! clean take off and acceleration. Looks great!!! CANT GET ENOUGH OF THAT SOUND!! MMMM SO GREAT. I Give it a 6 out of 5 stars!!
- James Hemphill, Covehead Road , Prince Edward Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-18 2002 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I liked my Volusia from the begining , it was a GREAT bike for the money but it just wasn't where i wanted it. I just had it re-jetted and refitted with a new set of pipes and now it is a TERRIFIC ride. It powers like an 1100 bike and sounds even better.
- twowheels53, St Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: