Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-03-02 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She handles great, very predictable power delivery and is all around a very nice bike. Negatives: <br /> <ol> <li>Flashing low fuel light. At night you can't get to a gas pump fast enough to make it stop. <li>Beware of wet weather riding. You will want to fill the front spark plug boot up with dielectric grease and re-install. If you don't, you will have a serious mis-fire problem on the front cylinder.
- Marty Johnson, Lecanto, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the amount of money spent. I think it's a great first bike also. I will end up getting a different bike, but won't get rid of the SV. It's an awesome bike to own!
- Pat Fabish, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-07 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 66 year old rider who's been on bigbore bikes for a long time. When I retired I caved into my yearning for a vee twin and positive reviews steered me to the SV650. Whatever I gave up in power is more than made up for in pure fun. However, the torque of this little twin will surprise you. This is a bike that loves to run in the upper rpm band and be thrown through the twisties. On a tight road it can easily run with the big boys. Just keep it in third and the needle between seven and nine grand. The brakes are superb but rarely needed as the engine gives great breaking. The suspension leaves a bit to be desired. Although the forks are adjustable the ride is still on the harsh side. The factory saddle is guaranteed butt burn if you care to tour. I added a Sargeant saddle and can ride all day. A Givi fairing keeps the wind well controlled and a pair of saddlebags makes this an instant sport touring machine. All you have to do is look in the British or other European bike magazines to see why this is such a popular bike. The SV is living proof that size is not everything.
- Don McGovern, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-24 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Greetings fellow SV650 riders! I, like everyone else who has written a review for this sweet bike, absolutely love this midweight v-twin contender. It handles so well in town and on the twisties (with a passanger). It's handling is instant gratification. It has great visibility for commuting and wonderful balance for all types of riding. Things I like most: -always starts right up -handles predictably -the chicks love it -the acceleration is excelartion -park it any where -and I love that insurance Something I did not like was waiting to break it in. I had no trouble breaking in the tires; that is only a 100 miles. However, waiting for the 500 (or is that 600) miles to let the engine rip above 5k rpm was sheer torture. The enigine would just scream for a tight throttle, but I needed to wait. With only 2 miles left to let the good times roll on this great Southern Indiana twistie I found myself in a construction zone! Ughhh! But at 502 miles I finally let it rip. That line between a strong cruise to a flying sport was like breaking the sound barrier. Great bike. Question time: I am 6' and I want to add a screen or small fairing to part the air, any sugestions? I also want a set of medium to large sized side bags. I would appreciate guidance. Happy trails,
- Robert, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-05 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride it to work, albeit on one wheel, everyday. This thing is very fun and very reliable. There are better bikes that cost more, but that's just it, to go faster than 130 MPH you have to pay more money. The SV is the cheapest way to 130 MPH and that is fast enough. I also know it will do at least 110 leaned over too, you could pay more to go faster if you want to. It will do very long wheelies very easily, no third gear lifts but you can shift into it from second and keep going. If you want third gear lifters you have to pay more. The SV is really the most bang for your buck. About being a good starter bike, I disagree with buying a SV. I think it really is too much for a beginner, it may be good for a returning biker but not for the absolute beginner. I think it has too much power overall and way too much at lower RPM's due to the v-twin configuration for beginners. I would suggest something with around 30 horsepower for a beginner. Make the SV your second bike, something to graduate towards.
- Howard Pieratt, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-02 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned primarily cruisers from harley's to yamahas. At 49 years young I stayed away from this bike because I thought it didn't fit the "image". that's bull . This bike is a blast...Power, fun , and handles the curves better then I used to in my younger days. Now the only thing I worry about is setting a bad example for the kids.
- T Pannullo, St Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-27 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW! If you want a pure fun bike, you got it right here. My girlfriend just bought the S model last week and I got to play with it for the first time this weekend. I was having so much fun I could stop smiling for two days. I ride a GSXR 750 and I am acustomed to covering real estate fast to have a good time. On the SV however, you just let go of the clutch and you are having a blast. May not be the power moster of a full sportbike, but you fall in love with the little thumper really fast. 10 times more usable fun than a Gixer. I origionaly labled this bike as a "beginner bike" and I now see the error of my ways. Day to day life on this bike is great. Very impressed. For the money, you can't beat it. don't put off buying this bike, you can't go wrong.
- William Michalsen, Jefferson, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-16 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a huge motor sport fan and this being my first street bike I couldn't ask for anything better. After a few cheap and easy upgrades I am affraid to buy a different bike due to the likely hood of being disapointed in the new bike. I have only been riding on the street for a year and I have had no problems keeping up with the "top of the line" super bikes running around out there. As far as I can tell this is a KICK A$$ bike.
- Kraig, Petaluma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-27 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found a 2001 leftover last month and took it home for $5500 out the door. I don't plan on racing with it, so the lack of an adjustable front suspension wasn't an issue for me. I rode it home from the dealership on June 30th and 950 miles later, I'm still grinning every time I ride it. This is my first motorcycle and after 7 years of research and ALOT of begging, the SV is what I chose. I had a 2003 Harley Sportster Sport ordered for spring delivery, but decided I didn't want to wait that long. I also could not justify $10,300 out the door for a bike that is functionally inferior to the SV. This bike really scoots! I can get through the gears like a dirt bike. I'm 6'1" 175 lbs. and am very comfortable on this bike. The seating position is a real good balance between arms, legs and rear end. On paper, I should be able to dust any stock Harley on the road, 'cept the V-Rod. So far, none of my biker buddies have offered to challenge that.
- Mike, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-16 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow! Just got my SV650S this morning! Love it already! It has plenty of "oomph" while at the same time being forgiving to a novice. It is my first bike, and it took me no time at all to be comfortable enough to cruise around town and a nearby college. I will take baby steps, but this bike will grow with me and surpass my expectations no doubt! Great ride!
- Sibold, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-06 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a long (28 years) wait to ride again, I first bought a cruiser bike, nice but not what I remembered. So I decided to get the SV650. I've had it two weeks, I am ecstatic. This bike handles great, accelerates briskly.
- Bob W, Deptford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-20 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great, it's like a featherweight boxer, super agile and has a decent punch. I fit a small carbon windscreen and got a Staintune Exhaust. Bike is a ton-o-fun.
- Bill, Willis, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-10 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding almost every day since Fall of 1986, and have owned many different bikes. I bought my SV650 to serve as a little commuter bike which would replace my aging ZX10 Ninja. Commuting 20 miles daily on deteriorating roads is easy on the SV. This bike is very stable and does not feel harsh when going over bumps. The riding position is neutral and comfortable with enough room to modify your position (butt back lean forward)to accommodate wind at faster speeds. You will find more than enough power to safely pass other vehicles thanks to Suzuki's awesome v-twin engine and smooth transmission. If you need to carry more stuff than will fit in a backpack there are several luggage options available for this bike. The SV handles passengers with ease. My wife and I together weigh 360 lbs. All I did was use the included spanner to adjust rear preload and off we went. The SV still has the power to pass and take off from a stop and is still easy to control. On your favorite canyon roads the SV will not be left behind by any other bikes depending on your riding ability. The SV's handling is very neutral and light and will not try to stand up mid-corner if you trail brake. The SV has fairly strong engine braking so throttle control is key when lean angles increase. I have a 30 inch inseam and can comfortably stradle the bike without tippy-toeing although my legs are straight. Also insurance on the SV is low since insurance is usually based on displacement power and purpose of the bike. I would recommend the SV650 to a beginner as much as I would to a track day rider/racer. This bike does it all and does it well.
- Eric Thoeming, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-01 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first SV in 1999. It was my first new bike and man was it a sweet deal. It was awesome. Unfortunately, it was stolen a week from it's first anniversary. I replaced it with a 2001 and had just as good a time with it until I wrecked it (truck turning right from the left-hand lane with me in his blind spot). I was unhurt ---Wear your helmet people--- but the bike wasn't so lucky. Which brings me to my new 2002 which I love even more with its newly available adjustable front forks preload. A great starter bike you say? More than that actually. I ride with friends, GSXR750, GSXR600, Monster 900ie, YZF900, Triumph, ZX9R, and guess what...They may be able to pull away from me when there's nothing ahead on a long strech of highway but as soon a traffic picks up...It's zig, zag, zoom, and it's their turn to chase my tail light. This bike is N I M B L E. Flickability should be the bike's middle name. In sumary, a bike is only a good as his rider. My friends buy more bike than they can handle, and I grin every time we ride together. So go on, get your own SV and grin with me.
- S.Corriveau, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-04 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been through quite a few bikes in my 45 years of riding and it was time for something different. I picked the 2002 SV650K2 'cause of all the good reviews. I've only had it 3 days and only gone 250 miles, but I can't find anything wrong with it. Actually, I'm impressed. After the minor control adjustments, this thing fits like a glove. I just can't wait to get some more miles on it to really put it to the test. Maybe after the ride to Daytona.
- John Lovellette, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-16 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A *bargain* platform that performs! A little suspension tweaking and this do-it-all bike blossoms into a giant killer. Power that is usable and available from just above idle all the way to the redline, this bike is easy to ride and more fun than it has any right to be. An excellent all-rounder that responds to performance add-ons and can be modified to serve a wide range of riding styles and riders like no other bike I've owned in 30 years of riding!
- Trace, Fairfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 2002 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
IN SHORT IF YOU WANT A BIKE TO DO IT ALL THIS IS IT. COMFY ENOUGH FOR A TWO HUNDRED MILE TRIP, FAST ENOUGH TO SMOKE A WANNABE RACER, PREDICTABLE ENOUGH FOR BEGINNERS TO FEEL CONFIDENT AS THEIR SKILLS GROW, AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST COOL ENOUGH TO GET LOOKS
- Ben Boulris, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: