Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

G-Dub

The Burg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
My first bike so I don't have much to base it on. I have ridden a CBRF4I, and from what I experience, this bike is very similar. It's comfortable, quick, and handles like a rollercoaster. I've yet to slip in the turns with my pilots and I've seemed to burn the rubber off them a little faster than intended. I'm selling the bike soon to get a new Daytona 600. I'm definitely sticking to Triumph, actually with the jap bikes. When it comes to looks and personality, these bikes come on top. Oh, did I mention the curves? Wow... I'm not one to do tricks on a motorcycle, but the first week I had the bike I accidently did a few. Wheelies seem to be a little too easy if you crack the throttle in 1st and 2nd. If you're looking for a stunt bike, fix your sprocket and this middleweight machine will more than suit your needs. Done typing, I'm going riding.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Heintz

Manchester, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Let's start with STYLING. Unlike the majority of the latest Japanese bikes, it does not look like a stealth fighter. However, form follows function, and neither the TT600 nor the "stylish" Jap bikes can fly, so who cares? The TT600 has only a few decals to begin with; I removed the large TTs on mine to give it an even cleaner look. Anyone who thinks the TT is "dated" should take a look at an original Ducati 916. Believe me, the 916 looks great and always will; the TT looks better. In fact, park a TT600 somewhere, particularly the yellow one, and you'll soon find a bird (British for girl) sitting on it. It's a chick magnet. Yes, the finish is too soft. My Honda magnetic tankbag actually leaves small fabric marks in the paint after a day of riding. They wax out, but it's annoying. Engine performance is marginal at first, but it improves with mileage. Also, the addition of a Remus oval titanium race can makes an obvious improvement; the Triumph race can is good, too, but it's heavier. The K&N filter helps a bit, too. After break-in service at 1015 miles, my TT600 gave 102 rear-wheel hp on a Dynajet. I have heard that a Power Commander will yield even more. Handling is superb. Fiddling with the stock preload settings was required because I weigh 220 pounds (but I'm cutting back on the beer). Another line or two of preload got me dragging a knee on the stock B010 Bridgestones. The TT600 will stick with an Aprilia Mille in any curve, and is able to pull a little distance on it in really tight curves: i.e., 1st or 2nd gear stuff. I was especially impressed by a these particular qualities. First, the TT does not mind changing lines in a curve. Second, trail braking is cool right down to about 40 degrees of lean angle. Third, you can brake in a turn without the bike standing up. Of course, you need a little more countersteer, but not a whole lot - it's almost mental. Easier, in fact, than the aforementioned Aprilia. Fourth, the bike is so responsive that you have to relearn turning if you're currently riding a liter-class bike or other heavier two-wheeler. I got off an Aprilia and onto the TT, and immediately started oversteering at the same speeds. Go figure that one. Recommendation: tape over the digital speedometer. Otherwise the speeds you can hold in the corners will scare the crap out of you! Reliability and maintainability - the bike is simple and easy to work on. The tech manual is great; buy (or steal) one. The lack of unnecessary body and trim panels contributes to easy access. I've got a 2000 F4, and the TT600 is way easier to work on. don't mention my BMW K1200RS. Examples - time to change the air filter: 10 minutes (includes one cup of coffee). Oil and filter change: 25 minutes. Install a fender eliminator: 2 hours (includes one coffee and two beers). Overall quality: except for the slightly soft finish, I found no flaws on the bike. Everything was done perfectly, the assembly was flawless, every piece fit exactly, and the little bike ran without problem from the first mile on the odometer. Price: Should be the same as or cheaper than the Big Four to give new owners an incentive. Triumph needs to contribute a little more to US political campaigns and get the duty reduced just like the Japs have done with theirs. Only downside: It's not Japanese, so the majority of the US motorcycle press automatically slights it just like they did with Ducati twenty years ago or Aprilia four years ago. End.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonathan Welsh

Greenville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-02-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased a 2002 Triumph TT600 on July 3rd, 2002 and have sincerely loved every minute of ride time I've had so far. Since then, I've logged over 3,500 miles on the bike and have a few observations about its: character, build quality and styling, and performance. Its Character: As the title of my review suggests, the Triumph TT600 seems to have a bit of an identity crisis when compared to other bikes in its class (in fact, solidly placing the TT600 in any class is difficult). The TT600 is constantly put up against Honda's CBR600F4i, Kawasaki's Ninja ZX6-R, Yamaha's YZF R-6, and Suzuki's GSX-R600, but this in itself is troubling. The Triumph's riding position and seat configuration are more upright than ANY of those bikes, and will remind riders of Kawasaki's ZZR-600 rather than the sharper-edged ZX6-R. It's seat height is lower (by almost a full inch) than any of those bikes, and its clip-on positioning (forward crouching-factor if you will)is less dramatic. The bike is much less front-end biased, but that doesn't mean that the front tire isn't confidence-inspiring. A rider buddy of mine (who owns a Suzuki GSX-R1000)described it this way: "You can't help but sit on your butt on the Triumph, but the thing handles better than my bike. It is amazing how far you can lean the thing over and still have tons of grip." The stock suspension settings are less stiff than its competition, but a little fine tuning on my part remedied that. The brakes are SUPERB; I opine they're a bit better than any other 600 available in 2002. But even then, as a devoted owner, I feel the TT doesn't quite know what it's there for. It's not a super-sharp canyon-carver, but I seem to be able to ride it as quickly (or even quicker) than other 600s when the road gets curvy. It's not a squishy-soft sport-tourer, but it's comfortable enough for 350 mile days in the saddle. Its Build Quality and Styling: The TT600 is not an artistically beautiful motorcycle. Having said that, the longer I own it, the more its odd styling cues seem to soften my judgement. The bodywork is solid (read "friggin' heavy") and seems to be made well. My complaints are as follows: 1)The finish on the paint is too soft. Even with normal riding, I had small scuffs on the sides of my tank within about 1000 miles. Another "high scuff area" is found where the side panels meet at the bottom of the bike directly behind the front wheel. Serious scuffs appeared within 500 miles of riding. 2)The positing of the bodywork requires that you drill large holes (about 2 3/4 inches) in the side panels in order to install bodywork-saving framesliders. What's the point of drilling holes through the bodywork you're trying to protect? 3) Why does the bike NOT COME FITTED WITH A REAR WHEEL HUGGER? Because it lacks one, I get all sorts of road grime up into the underseat storage area. Several IMPORTANT items live there and can seriously be damaged by water, grit, mud, etc.: Owners Manual, Tool Kit, Battery, Computer female plug for tuning the EFI, and main circuits. Triumph basically forces owners to purchase rear wheel huggers in order to simply preserve those delicate items! (I guess I shouldn't complain too loudly: my friend's 2002 Ninja ZX-6R didn't come with one either). Its Performance: The longer I ride motorcycles, the more I'm convinced that less than 1% of regular street riders ever utilize ANY 600cc motorcycle to its full potential. Before you brashly dismiss this idea as the musings of a chicken, consider this: have you ever pushed your current bike to its performance threshold? Are you TRULY that skilled? If so, then you shouldn't buy the TT600. Having said that, overall the Triumph is a solid middle-of-the-road performer that can (with the right rider) keep pace with bikes much lighter & more powerful. Believe me, 95 BHP at the rear wheel is PLENTY! I bought the Triumph because I PREFER bikes that are a little different (I own a 1987 Yamaha TZR250 two-stroke street bike. There are only 3 in the USA.)and I wanted a bike with character. What the TT600 does, it does rather well. Hmmmm, this "superb all-around middleweight" thing might have some validity after all.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RICHARD

BETHLEHEM, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-01-15

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I THINK WITH A LITTLE MORE REFINEMENT THIS BIKE COULD BE TOPS I CONSIDER MY SELF TO BE A MIDDLE OF THE PACK RIDER JUST AFTER 3 WEEKS I SMOKED AN R6 AND A ZX6R GOING THROUGH SOME TIGHT TURNS JUST OUTSIDE EASTON PA A PLACE CALLED CEMETARY CURVE THIS BIKE IS SO CLOSE TO THE JAPS IT'S ALL UP TO THE RIDER
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harvey Mushman

Flemingsburg, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2002-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If there's a better 600cc sportbike, I've yet to ride it. Handling is precise, engine is spot on and supremely powerful on the street. As far as looks go, this bike has CLASS, a characteristic of most all the new Triumphs. Absolutely love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stuart C

Savannah, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just had my 500 mile break-in service yesterday so understand this is still a very fresh bike. The bottom line, though, is that I like it a lot. My last bike was a 2002 ZX-6R. On the down side the TT seems little "buzzier",especially at 4500rpm. That is just a "sweet-spot" though, because it only occurs right there. The pegs feel a little higher on TT. The power band seems a little steeper. Upside: The TT seems a lighter bike. The seat is more roomy. I can actually use it all. On the 6R the slope slides you to the tank and it is hard to sit back on the seat. Not on the TT. This only taste, but it seems gorgeous to me. I don't care for the "busy" paint/decal schemes on the other 600's. This solid yellow TT suits me just fine. The shop I bought it from In Augusta is racing it and doing very well. I predict this bike is going to break out into the spotlight this year.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sea MAn

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Nothing better anyone who says the looks are bad and the build was wrong is an idiot. all i know is mine was the greatest bike ive ever owned. the person who said it had a bad build most have had a defective bike. and the corosion most have been a lie because i left mine outside in very salty air by the beach and never had any signs of corosion.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

UK, Florida, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I write only from my experiences on a lengthy test ride on a 2002 model from earlier this year when considering a replacement for a YZF600R. This bike is let down by mainly two things, build quality and looks. The looks are dated. It looks like Triumph have copied a CBR600 from three years ago but lost the plot along the way. Build quality is also below par in my view. The cockpit is too sparse for my liking with the minimum of inner panels to hide the untidy wiring. The cockpit on the model that I rode, also seem to buzz at certain points in the rev range which was poor. The mirrors are too small and feel very plasticky and fragile. Also on the newly registered model that I tried some of the body panel fasteners had started to corrode which isn't impressive. I also thought the screen was too low and failed to protect my head from the blast. On a positive note I found the engine response instant without glitches and the gearbox sweet and the clutch light. The TT600 suspension is supple (for a sports bike,) but offers sublime handling. I found the bike acceptably comfortable (although I wouldn't tour on it) and whatever you think of the looks at least they are distinctive. I like the understated single colour schemes, especially the silver and black colours. The bike I test rode had a triumph race can fitted which makes the bike sound great. Highly recommended ! J Summing up the TT600 is a great handling bike with a great engine but let down by below par build quality, poor minor detailing, and dated looks. There is no way I would pay full price for one but at a discounted price (which they are sure to be when the new Daytona 600 is launched next year) and with attractive finance I would consider one.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonathan Harwood

Bath, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went to my local dealer in Bristol with a colleague to buy a pair of summer gloves (I was riding a GPZ500S at the time) - and as I browsed around the store, I saw it. Black and yellow, with a classically and quintessentially British feel to it - the TT600. I knew it was wrong, but with my colleague egging me on, I had to have it - brand new. It was the 2001 spec (and had been uprated by Triumph) - and it was an eye-opener. Smooth power delivery, sharp handling, com- fortable seating position and phenomenal brakes. My colleague who owns an YZF-R1 suggested we go out for a spin (once the bike was properly run in of course), and so we did. The road (known as the Fosseway, running from Bath to Warwick) is in some places twisty and in other places striaght and fast. I had been riding my TT600 for a month, and he his R1 for a year. What happened? In the twisty sections, I left him behind - a long way behind. I have read review upon review of people being scathing about the TT600, but I have to say that I am really impressed with what the Brits have produced - and since it's latest engine mapping (Jan 2002) it is even better in high gear at low revs. I can chuck this bike all over the place with complete confidence - and give the YZF-R6's, GSX-600's, and CBRs a good run for their money.......Next question, do I go for the new and eagerly anticipated TT600R later this year. ...?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Denise

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There I was at the cycle dealer looking at the Katana and the GSXR600. Then suddenly, I saw this different and unique bike that just forced me to go its way. I straddled the seat and realized I was on a bike that had a 100 year old history. WOW, this thing is different and cool. I loved its unique lines and tremendous style, but I was not happy with the options for color. Not to sound like a whining baby, but I was given a choise between blue and yellow. One would think that with a bike being so unique, that Triumph would want the rider to stand out even more by offering at least 2 other colors like maybe glacier white, or metallic deep forest green. This would be incredible, but the colors they offer are so bland and boring. I rode the bike and it handled really well, but I may opt to go for the GSXR because it is lighter and has more horse power and torque. Dont get me wrong, the bike is beautiful, but they need to lower the price by about 500 bucks and offer more options.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: