Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bryan Lovejoy

Katy, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I absolutely love this bike! Mine is colored precisely like the picture: Sunset Red/Opal White. I use the stock seat for looks and for the ability to hang off on the fast curves, but any long trip would require a decent seat. I'm 48 years old, and yet I have passed young punks on sport bikes on curvy roads. So happy was I with this Triumph, that I became the first RAT Pack leader of the local dealership.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sjm

pasadena, California

Reviewed on 2004-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one of three bikes I own. It's what I call my serious, city, highway do anything bike. If I want to go on a long trip, this is the one. If I'm going downtown L.A. and need to white line, this is the one. If I'm running errands around town, nope, I'll use the Ural sidecar rig. I sold a Harley Low Rider Sport to buy this and have never regretted it. Everyone's got a Harley, but you don't see a whole lot of T-birds. On bike night there's more people looking at my $8,000 Triumph than at the dime-a-dozen $30,000 H-D's. It's got excellent speed and power, handles superbly, super reliability, great comfort (I've got the King/Queen seat), and looks darn good, too. Mine's four years old, and I plan on keeping it forever. This is the first bike I've had that I didn't get tired of.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Gatlin

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After 30+ years of riding and eight motorcycles this one ranks at the top. It currently hast 32K miles on the clock and the engine feels stronger now than it did when I bought it. Smooth operation and plenty of torque. This bike doubles as a cruiser and a tourer. I've been on several 3+ day rides and the T-Bird always functioned flawlessly. Stock seat was way too hard. Triumph King/Queen seat fixed that problem so staying on the bike all day now is no problem. Only down side is I haven't figured out how to adjust the chain without removing the mufflers.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Olah

Eumundi, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Rode a Yamaha 1100 for 20 years - Now that I have the Trumpy, I dont know how I survived!! Great Handling, nice finish. Minus side - no self cancelling indicators, low fuel light, helmet lock & centre stand. King/queen seat is essential for long trips. Will add "competition" silencers for the Triumph sound - and to get rid of the high pitched whistle it does when backing off under compression. Im very happy! Lots of admiration from older generation ex-Triumph owners.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best dam bike I ever owned.. at 10k miles it just keeps getting better. Build quality is superb, engine is incredibly smooth , economical and very torquey, and it looks so cool. Oh yeah, and it handles too..and being a low power version the engine has loads of potential for tweaking. Downside ? It's not a shaftie- if it was it would be perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Wilcox

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is a great alternative to a Harley or similar. I've put after market pipes on mine so it now sounds as good as it looks. Triumph paniers and a summer screen finish it off nicely. Loads of torque, goes arond corners nicely. Best of all that Triumph badge on the tank. On the minus side? Pegs a little too high, seat a litle hard and difficult to take on and off. However the pluses easily outweigh the minuses. Can't think of anything I'd chop it in for!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve McPeake

Richfield, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
haven't owned a bike in 30 years, but after riding a friends I was hooked. This is the kind of bike I wanted in my teens but could not afford. The Thunderbird is beautiful and other than a seat that hurts after 1 hour I love the bike. Will order a seat this winter and probably get a fairing too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DM Dewire

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2002-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Drawn to the T-bird by its retro-look and the $1000 off of the list price, I test rode one during "Triumph Days" and was sold. I'm now 700 miles into the adventure and have no complaints. Very comfortable. (All my fillings are still in place.) Superb handling in all conditions, from sunshine to driving summer thunderstorms. 6-speed gearbox a real plus. Oodles of torque, from 1000 RPM thru redline (8000 RPM). If you're thinking sportster, give the Triumph Thunderbird a look.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: