Yamaha Cruisers Reviews (153)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-03-21 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second 1100 V Star Classic. I sold my first one after a year because my wife likes to ride and caught too much air on back. I bought an HD Ultra to solve that issue. I ended up buying another V Star to ride single because I truly love the ride. Especially nice is the low seat and low mass of bike that gives you the comfort of lower to the ground. The low seat at about 27 inches is great for those with short legs compared to the bigger cruisers. Quality for price is outstanding. The retro-like bicycle handle bars are just plain cool and comfortable to ride for shorter runs of 150-200 miles. Longer rides get a bit tiring, especially with the stock seat. You might want to upgrade there with a Mustang seat for comfort. I have a set of Krome double Ds for noise and power, Kurayakan filter for pep and a set of Yamaha passing lights and Iron saddle bags to set it off. I love this bike. PS: The oil change is still a pain with the need to remove exhaust, but once you've done it a couple times it gets easy.
- Ken, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-07 2002 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought our 2002 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 1600. I rode her home last night and man am I impressed! I owned a 1998 Yamaha Virago 1100 just before this bike and it always felt like it needed a 6th gear at highway speed. So I decided I needed a bigger bike. I rode her home last night and not only is the seat height the same 28" as the Virago but the floorboards are so comfortable. I looked down, feeling like I was moving too slowly only to realize I was doing 70! No need for anymore gears! I've ridden for 12 years, have owned a Honda and now two Yamahas and hit a deer doing 60 mph. on the Virago. One dead deer and $4,000.00 later and the Virago was good as new. The Silverado makes me feel safer as well, due to the extra weight, the heavier steel tubing and the longer stance. All around I wish I had owned it all along! I don't feel you can get a better ride for the money. Mine came with a Mustang custom seat and Vance & Hines straight drags (which my Virago had as well) and I need to say, the pipes sound awesome without being obnoxious! So, if you're considering it, DONT WAIT! GET ONE NOW!!!
- MSally1965, Mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just rode my aging 1100 V Star from New Brunswick to Ohio then down to West Virginia, Virginia and the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway back home. WOW what a fantastic ride! The Star did not miss a single beat and was loaded up to the hilt with gear. Ideal cruising speed is 100 KMPH. where you get about 55 MPG. imperial. The bike would sit on 150 KMPH. all day if asked to but the problem is that you get a little vibration over 110 KMPH. I was sitting all day on the Interstates at 120 KMPH. - the engine works a bit harder at that speed but can absolutely without doubt handle it - and I mean for 12 hours non-stop except for food and gas. Vibration at that speed is a little tiresome for the rider though as stated - but that is the only negative. Ironically it seems to smooth out again over about 130 KMPH. but then who wants to chat to the State Troopers about it? All in all these are great bikes (only known fault is the starter motors fail until replaced with a kit which has some improvement). I highly recommend if you want a cheap very reliable bike you can go anywhere on!
- Mark, Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike second hand last year with 50,000 km. on it. It had not been well looked after although it looked great. The worst thing was that the starter motor failed (a very, very common fault that needs to be fixed for your own peace of mind, if you own one that has not had "the kit" retro fitted!) and had to be replaced. Apart from that it has been 100% reliable. My only complaint is the fuel consumption can be high at high speeds. However if you stick to 65 mph. (110 kph.) it is reasonable although still not great (about US 40 mpg. at best and US 30 mpg. at worst - average of 35 mpg. US is about right). Anyway, I've owned three Harleys in the past - an 883 and 1200 Sporty and an Electra Glide. I honestly think the V Star is better once you get over the Harley image thing (although Harleys do sound better in my opinion and look better.....but they just don't have the relaibility). To me, the V Star is what a Harley ought to have been in terms of reliability.
- Mark , Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-26 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I built this bike - a 2008 Suzuki GSX-R750 Front End. It has a Yamaha race kit with hi-comp pistons, valve springs, cams, big injectors, race ECU and a Barnett clutch kit. It also has a head porting, Barons big air kit, Bridgestone battle axe BT014 tires, radial mount GSX-R brakes and upside down fully adjustable GSX-R front forks with 17-inch front wheel (was 18-inch stock) for faster turning. It also has a rear Barons lowering link, 1-inch fatbars with wiring inside, Yamaha fender eliminator, Vance & Hines pro pipe with alum, billet endcap and much more.
- JAMES MACHNIK, JACKSON, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-18 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought bike used 2 weeks ago. First day out, ran over a nail...my fault. The next day, battery dead. Dealer replaced and since then, this is by far the best bike I have ever owned. I've been riding 20 plus years and owned all different bikes. This bike rides better and handles better than any. Great mileage too!!! I would tell anyone who is looking for a reliable fun ride to buy one of these.
- Jeff Lathrop, Plattsburgh, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-01 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Warrior used 2 1/2 years ago with 6500 miles on it. It is now at 22,500. Simply put, this is one sweet ride. I've used it both for commuting from SD to Rancho Bernardo, and for a couple of long hauls - most notably, up PCH to Ft. Bragg, about 3 hours north of San Francisco. If you can still get your hands on a good one used, grab it; you won't be disappointed.
- Pete P, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-05 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning two other bikes that broke down all the time, I decided to pay half the price and go with the V Star 1100 Classic. It is the best choice in motorcycles I have ever made. The shaft drive is smooth, the balanced V-twin is smooth, I put Cobra exhaust on it, jetted it, and it sounds and runs perfectly. I added some chrome detailing on handle grips, fenders, running lights, windshield, etc. I love this bike and I would keep it over any other brand any day.
- Todd, Yuba City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-12 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V Star for 3 weeks. It had 348 miles on it! I got an unbelievable deal on it. It was on the showroom floor for 1 day. I lost my dear sweet honey to cancer 8 weeks ago and truly believe it was her that guided me to the shop that day. I could not be happier with the ride and performance of the V Star. I have just got to 1000 miles so it is just broken in. I have not had any valve tic as of yet. It is the best deal for the money and ride that I found. If you are looking for a bike you have to try a V Star. If you get lucky you might find a new 02 in 08 like me! But I had help from my honey. There was a guy looking at it before me and had gone home to get his wife to look at it and did not make it back in time. I bought it 5 min. before he got back.
- Kevin, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-01 2002 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my Midnight Venture on several long trips from NC to CA and I have only had one problem. A vapor lock. I loosened my gas cap, listened to a whoosh and everything was a go from then on. I would recommend a Venture to anyone that wants an excellent touring bike. I also have a GoldWing and I prefer the Venture when riding by myself. Double, I prefer the Wing.
- Chuck Baker, Aberdeen, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-11 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My V-Star 1100 is still humming smoothly, easily, and comfortably 4 years after its purchase. Although I still don't have enough time to ride as much as I'd like to...foliage touring (leaf peeping) has never been better! Great bike, great product(YAMAHA)and great dealer support. It doesn't get much better than this! Ride safely AND ride something YOU enjoy!
- John, Hudson, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 2002 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several trips to dealers who wanted to put me on bigger bikes because of my size I finally told them that I need to start small to improve my skill level. I was intrested in a cruiser style with the intention of getting a bigger m/c as my novice skill improved. The Yamaha Virago 250 met all my requirements. It is big enough for my height and weight. The engine has taken me up to 75mph on the interstate. The down sides include the seat, no tach, and a serious need for a 6th gear. Pluses include power, style(everyone thinks its a bigger bike), handling and fuel economy (71mpg average).
- Fightntiger, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best all around motorcycle I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of motorcycles even larger. With 69,000 miles it still runs like the day it was new and as smooth as can be and I cruise the highways two up at 85 MPH plus. Except for general maintenance and regular tune-ups I have not had to replace anything and this honey starts with the touch of button and awesome to ride anywhere. This is one of the most under rated motorcycles to most people and I wouldn't be shocked if this motorcycle gets 200,000 plus miles. It might not be the fastest quarter mile bike but very reliable and the babes love it, I call it the babe magnet without question and great on gas 55 MPG Plus. Very light weight at 484 LBS. dry, very easy to handle and a pleasure to drive 500 plus mile per days with the Mustang seat. You can never go wrong buying one of these Yamaha V Star Customs they are built to last and a complete joy to drive anywhere, pure fun and joy that I will treasure always, thanks Yamaha!
- Bad Boy, Savanaha, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-09 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first time I tested this bike I loved it. The major minus was the seat and foot pegs. I put on drag bars from Yamaha, A cobra FI module, D&D pipes, forward controls, Corbin seat and the Yamaha breather. All in all this is a real fun bike to ride. Big or small you'll love riding this bike. I take short trips because I am lucky enough that this is my second bike, my first is a Wing. I had the transmission upgrade and that (other than normal oil changes etc) are all I have done with this bike. It's quick and I get between 34 and 40+ MPG. Less if you start smoking em'. If I were to do it over again I'd most likely get the power commander rather than the Cobra system. It's reliable, fast, relatively comfortable and fun ... did I say smiles too?
- Fred Jewell, Epping, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-16 2002 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Early this summer, I picked up the bike bug again after 10 years or so and bought my buddy's Silverado. I tell you what; this bike has more than doubled its miles since I picked it up 5 months ago. It is so easy to ride, smooth and forgiving that you look for excuses to ride. My one and only regret about getting this bike is I didn't do it sooner. I plan to move up next year, to either an 1100 or a Roadstar only because I have been putting on a lot of highway miles and the 650, though very dependable, does not have enough power for me on the open road. I will be keeping mine though for in and around town. I highly recommend this bike to all.
- Scott Kettner, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-02 2002 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my red/tan Road Star in May 2004. It has unbelievable power as well as is stikingly good looking. I constantly get compliments and inquiries on this big cruiser bruiser. I have since added a set of Silverado bags and a set of Hard Chrome pipes as it sounds and looks great. I would have to highly recommend this bike to any serious cruisers. My wife and I take day trips and bike rallies in Myrtle Beach regularly.
- Greg Rushing, Supply, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in March of 2005 with 3200 miles on it. I have ridden it from Montana to Washington, and on lots of highways. It now has 7500 miles on it and I Love It!! Although I did finally have my first problem with it; after I took it to the dealer for it's 4000 mile maintenance check up. My digital odometer freaked out and went off twice now and my speedometer jumped all crazy about 4 different times since then. Shortly after the check up. Overall I have no complaints. I love it! I put on after market pipes, windshield; and the rumble is great and a great warning too.
- Eric, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's a 2002 but new to me. Had it about an hour now. Seems comfortable, quick, not too noisy, controls simple. After not having ridden for 20 years, was able to climb on and take off. "Like riding a bike". Gotta have a windshield though, the wind isn't fun :)
- Doug, AURORA, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-24 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 V Star in 2004 with 9800 miles. It has been a great bike this last year. No problems except when the brake pads needed to be replaced. I would recommend this bike to all. Yamaha sells tons of aftermarket parts that really make the Bike light up with chrome like a christmas tree. I have had many compliments everywhere I've been. This Bike really turns heads. The only complaint I have is that the stock exhaust is weak, but with some drag pipes to replace them I rate this bike at 100%.
- Alex, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're considering buying this bike - DO IT!!! This bike has been SO reliable. Regardless of the weather, be it pouring rain, long stop lights in ragged heat or fridged cold it always starts right up and stays running like a pro. Best money I ever spent and I plan on purchasing another possibly bigger bike. This V Star is perfect for the beginner or an experience rider.
- June Wright, Wake Forest, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the bike new, immediately put on a windshield, leather bags, backrest and new pipes. This bike has been very reliable- plenty of power- cruise at 90mph all the time- moves well around Atlanta traffic- plenty of top end speed, almost seems governed in lower gears- if any complaint it would be the comfort of the seat on long rides- carries my wife and I without difficulty- able to keep up with all my Harley and Goldwing friends- one of the easiest to handle bikes I have ever ridden- I would buy a bigger bike in the future but have really enjoyed having this one.
- Randy Moore, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research and really like this custom ride. It has more roll on throttle at all speeds and too much for me to get a ticket for. The three bad things are the seat, no forward controls and having to remove the exhaust pipe to change your oil filter. I like the wide rear tire.
- Andy Perkins, Weare, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like this bike a lot. With my weight and a girl on it there is never a need for more power, even at high speed. The weight is fine making it an easy bike to push yet still have a good size engine. The only problem that I have experienced is the rear brake is a little touchy and has locked up a couple times but that's probably my fault. I wish that this bike was a little stretched out though so it was more comfortable for tall guys like me. It would probably be better if this bike was slightly thinner and longer. I like it a lot, but because of the size I am looking for bigger bike (size wise not engine wise)
- Fat Bob, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-22 2002 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my '02 Midnight Venture going into my third season. After not owning a bike for 13 years, I decided to look around for a new bike. I hadn't looked at Yamaha for years and was seriously looking at the 1800 Wing and the H-D Ultra. Since there was a Yamaha dealer a block from my office I thought I would stop in and look around but wasn't expecting to find much. Boy was I surprised. Once I saw this bike, learned of the price and all its standard features, it was a no brainer for me. No one else was offering a five year unlimited mileage warranty, road side assistance (which I doubt you will ever need), and the financing package that others didn't come close to. For the bike it has it all, the ride, the power, the looks. I think I now own the ultimate machine.
- David D.Harker, Waukee, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning any bike for a while, the new wears off and you might start looking around for something else, maybe just to see what's out there. Many people do. But after owning a Warrior for a while, if & when you do start looking, you very soon come to the realization "It's very difficult to find anything else that compares". A classic motorcycle with high-tech features makes it a drivable performer. Big on bang for the buck right out the box. My only complaint is rear tires. Five in 15k miles. I've learned to mount them myself.
- Gator, OXR, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: