Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-31 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the bike about 6 months ago and put about 10k on it. Ride it everyday to work and back about 40 miles. And on the weekends keep it in the lower gear a little longer and it's like you never need to shift. 1st gear around 60-65 mph second will hit 100mph. Then you have 4 more top gears to play with. You don't need this much bike on public roads, but it's nice when it's there. Everybody likes to go fast, anybody can hold the throttle and start a drag race. I like to do certain areas in the mountain that have turns. Pretty long legs, tall gearing. 5 valves per cylinder, of course this things breathes well at high rpms. For the weight of this bike it handles pretty good. Comfort x 2 plus I can throw my girlfriend on the back and still have enough power to go up a hill and pass people without the engine breaking a sweat. Down side in my opinion just can't roll on the throttle & pick up a wheelie with out a little rev then pop off the clutch then goose it and it will come up. I've been told to gear it down one tooth in the front sprocket then jet it, timing advancer, and pipe and all that goes away. Everything in one package bone stock for the price can't be beat! The reviews ARE RIGHT! 10k in 6 months - this bike rocks! I'm just a commuter that gets to thrash around on the weekends. Although I do have a steet leagal KTM 520exc that has been my weekend bike lately.
- Matt, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-18 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike back in April of 2006 as my first street bike as I had ridden only 100-250cc dirt bikes about 12-14 years ago. One climb aboard the silver beast was all it took. Not having ridden in many years, it took a week or so to get used to the power that the bike posesses. The EXUP exhaust valve keeps torque available down low for good cruising power, and when you twist the throttle hard, hang on cause I've gone from 55-120 in 5th with a passenger in the blink of an eye with throttle left to go. Handling is great but it is a heavier bike so you do need to push at speed. Overall an awesome value and fun toy.
- Ken, Manchester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-13 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2002 FZ1, bought new Oct/03. Fantastic bike in every area... awesome pull after you get out of the lower RPM's (red lines at 11500!), flicks easily on Tail of the Dragon, all day comfort, very fast, good mileage of 45MPG, no mechanical issues. Cycle World mag just rated it the #1 All 'Round Best Street Bike. And with such a great price NO BODY can touch it.
- jrex, PTC, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-31 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I bought my FZ1, I was looking at the SV1000 and the R1150R just to name a few of the "naked bikes" that are out there. I put 1500 miles doing local rides and I was totally happy with choosing the FZ1. I just returned from a trip from Boston to DC (1000 miles round trip.) The journey totally reinforced the statements about the reliabiity, performance and comfort that are highly referenced on this site. Not only am I more impressed with my bike, the Harley and BMW guys that I made the trip with also tipped their hats. This bike is more than I could have asked for!
- Mark, Brockton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I had a 2002 R1 and it was awesome. I traded it in for the FZ1 and was a little leery of it possible performance since I do hit the occasional track day. Not to worry. The FZ is nearly as fast and the handling was good. Sure the R1 is harder edged but the FZ never did anything wrong. The FZ is way more comfortable and I have had fun customizing it.
- Thomas Sharp, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-30 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for about 6 months and love it. Put on the Yamaha lower fairing, rear hugger, and GYT-R pipe. Does just about everything as well as you expect. Faster than me and stops great. Excellent bike
- ashley murray, titusville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-31 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a total dream to ride... I have had the bike a year and done plenty of tours in England and Europe. The torque can and will get you out of problems if needed. Having owned plenty of other bikes, this is bike has it all. Highly Recommended!!!
- Steve Lloyd, Rugby, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-24 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm at 1k miles of around town and short run riding. So far the longest trip has been just over 200 miles. The only thing bad I can say it all is the windshield is a decoration for highway riding. Otherwise the bike is an overall superstar. Straight line performance just below R1 level, and handling is smooth and confident. One of the best things I like about it as a "standard" is the power band. Below 6-7k rpm its extremely tractable and civilized, while around 7k on up for a standard bike its a pure beast. The suspension is excellent, well thought out and my 02 has gotten high praise for handling from several people riding GXSR 1000's, one Hyabusa owner and a few other very good riders. Overall I give it a best in class rating, and its smooth enough as well as fast enough to compete with cruisers as well as crotch rockets. The best of both worlds. Either of the 2 edge it out as a pure cruiser, or pure street beast but it comes very close to the level's of both in their pure form....
- Chris, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-21 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode some dirt bikes and a few street bikes when I was a kid and I've had a long leave from bikes up until now. I'm now 44 and I guess I'm having that mid life crisis since I started looking at bikes again. Being older and wiser (HA!), I considered myself a beginner and started from scratch. I spent the fall and winter of 02-03 checking out all the bikes. After a ton of personal research I picked the FZ1. Dollar for dollar it showed itself, to me, to be, "the bike". Even when I wrote the check, I have to admit, I thought I might be making a mistake. Wrong! So far, this bike is awesome. Even now as I type this, it is sitting in the garage calling for me to come and play. My god, this bike is easier to handle than the 250's you have to ride in the safety riding classes. The engine will smoothly handle slow speed maneuvers. As for the speed, I understand my mortality better than I ever have and this bike gets my respect. Since this bike can give you anything you ask for, you don't want to get stupid in the head while at the controls. On this bike I periodically remind myself to ride within my personal abilities. With that said, I know I will never push this bike to its limits but it doesn't matter because it is still an awesome bike below 7000 rpm. I have to admit the wind blast is a bit distracting at 60++ mph so I think I'll search around for a little more protection when cruising the highways. I look forward to riding this bike for years to come.
- Big Mac, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-18 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a 1980 1100 Goldwing. I haven't ridden for about 5 years. I bought my blue 02 FZ1 in Janurary 03. I could hardly wipe the smile off my face every time I finished a ride. I have been doing "break-in", keeping it under 6-7 thousand RPM and I am just amazed at the bikes performance. More low end grunt than I expected. Passing a line of cars,trucks RV's, etc., is just a twist of the throtle away in 6th gear.You can forget shifting down anywhere above 3000 Rpm. The motor just flat PULLS. Its light, turns fast if you want, It just depends on your "pucker factor" on how fast you want to go in the corners. I don't think you can beat the "fun factor" with any other bike at this time. WoW.
- BillWheatley, Tulare, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-10 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A friend of mine bought a 2002 FZ1. The FZ1 has much more top end power than my 2002 Speed Triple, but my low end torque equals it out. Stock on stock it was close. Then he bought a akropovic full system for like 1200 dollars, i though he was crazy!! Well I rode it then, and it was pyscho fast, like r1 fast. Then he added razzo? sp. clip ons, cause the ride angle was not meant for cornering with stock bars. It is so bloody fast now, very nice bike he has 10,000 miles on it in 6.5 months (loves to ride) Nice bike but kinda a big bike I am 6ft 190lbs and slow speed turns are intimidating on this bike. For the money and power and quality hard to beat it....
- Jay, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-08 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I know that everyone won't share my view, but for anyone looking for a fantastic do-everything bike, the FZ1 is it. I've had mine since 4/02 and have put over 10K miles on it already. I'm not an expert rider, but I can handle myself and like to push it from time to time and the FZ is one bike that is capable of scaring me silly (in a good way, of course). It's really two different bikes, one that's relatively tame under 6K rpm, then is transformed into some kind of beast after that. Big plus - there's plenty of aftermarket parts available for common complaints such as the high bars and small windscreen, but even stock this bike has it all. Another plus - online you can find some of the best forums and sites devoted to the FZ. If you get this bike, you'd have to have impossibly high standards not to love it. Enjoy!
- John, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-31 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 02 FZ-1 in June. I also own a CBR954 and had a YZF600R before that. I will keep my comments limited to the FZ. There are not enough adjectives to describe how great a bike this is. Yamaha combined all the features you would want, stupid fast, super comfortable, great looking, nice instrumentation, adjustable suspension, and the list goes on. I have riding friends with R1's, RC-51's, GSXR's, I have no problems keeping pace. And after 3 or 4 hours, I am the one who is ready for more!! This bike is really two bikes: Mr Jeckel under 5000 RPM--nice leisurely rides to work. On the weekends: Mr Hyde comes out--this thing really wakes up above 5000 RPM. This bike is extremely smooth and just a blast to ride, especially on long rides. I think this bike is the "best of all worlds". I plan to keep it for a long while. The only two complaints I have (and they are minor at that) is the turn signal arrows and clock on the dash are hard to see in the bright sunlight. The underseat storage room is pretty small as well. Other than that, all other features of this bike are superb. If you are thinking of getting this bike, I HIGHLY recommend it. Keep the rubber side down--Ride Well.
- Steve Golik, Andover, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-19 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the FZ1 after test riding about twenty different bikes. The Suzuki bandit and the VT1000 just didn't do much for me. The Triumph Trophy was nice but was overpriced and reminded me of an early 80's Kawasaki 900. I really loved the Kawi ZX12R but couldn't see riding around all day on it (but the power was awesome). Loved the BMW's but didn't want to rob a bank. The Harley's were nice to look at but not much fun to ride. I bought the FZ1 because it seemed to combine everthing I liked in all the other bikes in a package that you can ride on all day and still has great power and handling as well as great looks. This is my seventh bike and I thought no bike could replace my FJ1100 as my favorite, but I think this one will.
- Eric, Wis Rapids, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-21 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My dad just bought one and I get to ride it. Its a powerful bike, the only bad thing about it is wind but otherwise its perfect.
- mike, West sac, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-17 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After breakin 2000+ miles, the FZ1 still is a joy to ride. It's comfortable, fast and smooth. Performance is absolutely stunning above 7000RPM. Good looks as well, I got a few "nice bike" thrown at me. Worth every penny so far! Ride safely!
- Jean-Pierre Deslandes, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-09 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2002/silver FZ1 about 6 weeks ago and have just finished break-in period. Having traded off my Bandit 1200S for the Fazer, I was apprehensive about if the bike was really that much different in performance. It is more refined, better suspension, and really rips when provoked! It's all that the Bandit was, and more. You can't beat the steering feel in the corners. This bike makes me crave going for a ride again and again. It's that great!
- Ted, Fallbrook, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since 7 years old. Had 1986 FJ 1200 brand new and liked that bike. Now that I'm older I went the Harley route and was bored out of my mind with the performance. Purchased 02 FZ1 and absolutly love it. Smooth powerband, 6 speed-throw from 5th to 6th a little tall. Bike feels real light at first but once you get used to it, corners like a dream. It's a great bike for anyone but especially for late 30's who can't take the drastic down handlebar pain. Enjoy riding those also for about a mile or two. Cant go wrong if you want speed and like to put on a 100 miles a day. Go with the FZ1. Sportbikes are where its at.
- Steve Joy, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-31 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes on and off for around 30 years, all styles and sizes. I've never ridden [or even heard of] a bike like this, the combination of sportbike handling and power combined with the comfortable ergonomics make it the perfect bike for a day of riding on our twisty colorado mounain roads. if you are looking at other naked bikes, don't waste your time, buy this one.
- Michael, Aspen, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-21 2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at the BMW R1150R, Ducati Monster 900 Dark, Triumph Speed Triple and the Honda 919 I decided to buy the Yamaha. They put out the best bike for the money. Look at the details. Awesome performance for an awesome price. It's an old mans R-1. At 42 I like sitting up. We are fortunate to have so many good bikes to choose from. Another person may have justified another product. I based my decision on value. After 2000 miles and three months I am still happy.
- Jim Pickren, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: