‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

Stars Refinement

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt

San Jose, California

Reviewed on 2007-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got the bike about 6 months ago and put about 10k on it. Ride it everyday to work and back about 40 miles. And on the weekends keep it in the lower gear a little longer and it's like you never need to shift. 1st gear around 60-65 mph second will hit 100mph. Then you have 4 more top gears to play with. You don't need this much bike on public roads, but it's nice when it's there. Everybody likes to go fast, anybody can hold the throttle and start a drag race. I like to do certain areas in the mountain that have turns. Pretty long legs, tall gearing. 5 valves per cylinder, of course this things breathes well at high rpms. For the weight of this bike it handles pretty good. Comfort x 2 plus I can throw my girlfriend on the back and still have enough power to go up a hill and pass people without the engine breaking a sweat. Down side in my opinion just can't roll on the throttle & pick up a wheelie with out a little rev then pop off the clutch then goose it and it will come up. I've been told to gear it down one tooth in the front sprocket then jet it, timing advancer, and pipe and all that goes away. Everything in one package bone stock for the price can't be beat! The reviews ARE RIGHT! 10k in 6 months - this bike rocks! I'm just a commuter that gets to thrash around on the weekends. Although I do have a steet leagal KTM 520exc that has been my weekend bike lately.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Manchester, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2006-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike back in April of 2006 as my first street bike as I had ridden only 100-250cc dirt bikes about 12-14 years ago. One climb aboard the silver beast was all it took. Not having ridden in many years, it took a week or so to get used to the power that the bike posesses. The EXUP exhaust valve keeps torque available down low for good cruising power, and when you twist the throttle hard, hang on cause I've gone from 55-120 in 5th with a passenger in the blink of an eye with throttle left to go. Handling is great but it is a heavier bike so you do need to push at speed. Overall an awesome value and fun toy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jrex

PTC, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
2002 FZ1, bought new Oct/03. Fantastic bike in every area... awesome pull after you get out of the lower RPM's (red lines at 11500!), flicks easily on Tail of the Dragon, all day comfort, very fast, good mileage of 45MPG, no mechanical issues. Cycle World mag just rated it the #1 All 'Round Best Street Bike. And with such a great price NO BODY can touch it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Brockton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Before I bought my FZ1, I was looking at the SV1000 and the R1150R just to name a few of the "naked bikes" that are out there. I put 1500 miles doing local rides and I was totally happy with choosing the FZ1. I just returned from a trip from Boston to DC (1000 miles round trip.) The journey totally reinforced the statements about the reliabiity, performance and comfort that are highly referenced on this site. Not only am I more impressed with my bike, the Harley and BMW guys that I made the trip with also tipped their hats. This bike is more than I could have asked for!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas Sharp

Stockton, California

Reviewed on 2004-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I had a 2002 R1 and it was awesome. I traded it in for the FZ1 and was a little leery of it possible performance since I do hit the occasional track day. Not to worry. The FZ is nearly as fast and the handling was good. Sure the R1 is harder edged but the FZ never did anything wrong. The FZ is way more comfortable and I have had fun customizing it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ashley murray

titusville, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned this bike for about 6 months and love it. Put on the Yamaha lower fairing, rear hugger, and GYT-R pipe. Does just about everything as well as you expect. Faster than me and stops great. Excellent bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Lloyd

Rugby, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2003-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a total dream to ride... I have had the bike a year and done plenty of tours in England and Europe. The torque can and will get you out of problems if needed. Having owned plenty of other bikes, this is bike has it all. Highly Recommended!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm at 1k miles of around town and short run riding. So far the longest trip has been just over 200 miles. The only thing bad I can say it all is the windshield is a decoration for highway riding. Otherwise the bike is an overall superstar. Straight line performance just below R1 level, and handling is smooth and confident. One of the best things I like about it as a "standard" is the power band. Below 6-7k rpm its extremely tractable and civilized, while around 7k on up for a standard bike its a pure beast. The suspension is excellent, well thought out and my 02 has gotten high praise for handling from several people riding GXSR 1000's, one Hyabusa owner and a few other very good riders. Overall I give it a best in class rating, and its smooth enough as well as fast enough to compete with cruisers as well as crotch rockets. The best of both worlds. Either of the 2 edge it out as a pure cruiser, or pure street beast but it comes very close to the level's of both in their pure form....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Mac

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I rode some dirt bikes and a few street bikes when I was a kid and I've had a long leave from bikes up until now. I'm now 44 and I guess I'm having that mid life crisis since I started looking at bikes again. Being older and wiser (HA!), I considered myself a beginner and started from scratch. I spent the fall and winter of 02-03 checking out all the bikes. After a ton of personal research I picked the FZ1. Dollar for dollar it showed itself, to me, to be, "the bike". Even when I wrote the check, I have to admit, I thought I might be making a mistake. Wrong! So far, this bike is awesome. Even now as I type this, it is sitting in the garage calling for me to come and play. My god, this bike is easier to handle than the 250's you have to ride in the safety riding classes. The engine will smoothly handle slow speed maneuvers. As for the speed, I understand my mortality better than I ever have and this bike gets my respect. Since this bike can give you anything you ask for, you don't want to get stupid in the head while at the controls. On this bike I periodically remind myself to ride within my personal abilities. With that said, I know I will never push this bike to its limits but it doesn't matter because it is still an awesome bike below 7000 rpm. I have to admit the wind blast is a bit distracting at 60++ mph so I think I'll search around for a little more protection when cruising the highways. I look forward to riding this bike for years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BillWheatley

Tulare, California

Reviewed on 2003-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My last bike was a 1980 1100 Goldwing. I haven't ridden for about 5 years. I bought my blue 02 FZ1 in Janurary 03. I could hardly wipe the smile off my face every time I finished a ride. I have been doing "break-in", keeping it under 6-7 thousand RPM and I am just amazed at the bikes performance. More low end grunt than I expected. Passing a line of cars,trucks RV's, etc., is just a twist of the throtle away in 6th gear.You can forget shifting down anywhere above 3000 Rpm. The motor just flat PULLS. Its light, turns fast if you want, It just depends on your "pucker factor" on how fast you want to go in the corners. I don't think you can beat the "fun factor" with any other bike at this time. WoW.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: