‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

296 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chris

Reviewed on 2022-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star view listing

4.0
Sounds better than a Harley, very reliable looks awesome but the most uncomfortable seat. Has anyone found a more comfortable seat. I can’t ride over two hours before my back and butt is hurting to much to ride any further.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2014-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic view listing

5.0
This is my second 1100 V Star Classic. I sold my first one after a year because my wife likes to ride and caught too much air on back. I bought an HD Ultra to solve that issue. I ended up buying another V Star to ride single because I truly love the ride. Especially nice is the low seat and low mass of bike that gives you the comfort of lower to the ground. The low seat at about 27 inches is great for those with short legs compared to the bigger cruisers. Quality for price is outstanding. The retro-like bicycle handle bars are just plain cool and comfortable to ride for shorter runs of 150-200 miles. Longer rides get a bit tiring, especially with the stock seat. You might want to upgrade there with a Mustang seat for comfort. I have a set of Krome double Ds for noise and power, Kurayakan filter for pep and a set of Yamaha passing lights and Iron saddle bags to set it off. I love this bike. PS: The oil change is still a pain with the need to remove exhaust, but once you've done it a couple times it gets easy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MSally1965

Mechanicsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2012-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha Road Star Silverado view listing

5.0
I just bought our 2002 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 1600. I rode her home last night and man am I impressed! I owned a 1998 Yamaha Virago 1100 just before this bike and it always felt like it needed a 6th gear at highway speed. So I decided I needed a bigger bike. I rode her home last night and not only is the seat height the same 28" as the Virago but the floorboards are so comfortable. I looked down, feeling like I was moving too slowly only to realize I was doing 70! No need for anymore gears! I've ridden for 12 years, have owned a Honda and now two Yamahas and hit a deer doing 60 mph. on the Virago. One dead deer and $4,000.00 later and the Virago was good as new. The Silverado makes me feel safer as well, due to the extra weight, the heavier steel tubing and the longer stance. All around I wish I had owned it all along! I don't feel you can get a better ride for the money. Mine came with a Mustang custom seat and Vance & Hines straight drags (which my Virago had as well) and I need to say, the pipes sound awesome without being obnoxious! So, if you're considering it, DONT WAIT! GET ONE NOW!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JB

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 view listing

5.0
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Fredericton , New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2011-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado view listing

4.0
I purchased this bike second hand last year with 50,000 km. on it. It had not been well looked after although it looked great. The worst thing was that the starter motor failed (a very, very common fault that needs to be fixed for your own peace of mind, if you own one that has not had "the kit" retro fitted!) and had to be replaced. Apart from that it has been 100% reliable. My only complaint is the fuel consumption can be high at high speeds. However if you stick to 65 mph. (110 kph.) it is reasonable although still not great (about US 40 mpg. at best and US 30 mpg. at worst - average of 35 mpg. US is about right). Anyway, I've owned three Harleys in the past - an 883 and 1200 Sporty and an Electra Glide. I honestly think the V Star is better once you get over the Harley image thing (although Harleys do sound better in my opinion and look better.....but they just don't have the relaibility). To me, the V Star is what a Harley ought to have been in terms of reliability.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JAMES MACHNIK

JACKSON, Michigan

Reviewed on 2011-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior view listing

5.0
I built this bike - a 2008 Suzuki GSX-R750 Front End. It has a Yamaha race kit with hi-comp pistons, valve springs, cams, big injectors, race ECU and a Barnett clutch kit. It also has a head porting, Barons big air kit, Bridgestone battle axe BT014 tires, radial mount GSX-R brakes and upside down fully adjustable GSX-R front forks with 17-inch front wheel (was 18-inch stock) for faster turning. It also has a rear Barons lowering link, 1-inch fatbars with wiring inside, Yamaha fender eliminator, Vance & Hines pro pipe with alum, billet endcap and much more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

john

Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha WR250F view listing

5.0
This bike is awesome with all the free mods done. It has a ton of power. It's very dependable and starts very easily with the compression thing. It's great for trails and fits me well for how tall I am. It runs just like a YZF with lights and wide ratio transmission.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Lathrop

Plattsburgh, New York

Reviewed on 2010-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic view listing

5.0
Bought bike used 2 weeks ago. First day out, ran over a nail...my fault. The next day, battery dead. Dealer replaced and since then, this is by far the best bike I have ever owned. I've been riding 20 plus years and owned all different bikes. This bike rides better and handles better than any. Great mileage too!!! I would tell anyone who is looking for a reliable fun ride to buy one of these.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KJ

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2010-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Yamaha TT-R225 view listing

5.0
A very nice bike. Awesome for the trails. A little heavier than my XR200 but is also a little faster. Only thing is that it doesn't have a kickstart.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 30
  • 1 - 10 of 296 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: