Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

JAMES MACHNIK

JACKSON, Michigan

Reviewed on 2011-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I built this bike - a 2008 Suzuki GSX-R750 Front End. It has a Yamaha race kit with hi-comp pistons, valve springs, cams, big injectors, race ECU and a Barnett clutch kit. It also has a head porting, Barons big air kit, Bridgestone battle axe BT014 tires, radial mount GSX-R brakes and upside down fully adjustable GSX-R front forks with 17-inch front wheel (was 18-inch stock) for faster turning. It also has a rear Barons lowering link, 1-inch fatbars with wiring inside, Yamaha fender eliminator, Vance & Hines pro pipe with alum, billet endcap and much more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete P

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2009-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Warrior used 2 1/2 years ago with 6500 miles on it. It is now at 22,500. Simply put, this is one sweet ride. I've used it both for commuting from SD to Rancho Bernardo, and for a couple of long hauls - most notably, up PCH to Ft. Bragg, about 3 hours north of San Francisco. If you can still get your hands on a good one used, grab it; you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Jewell

Epping, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2006-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
From the first time I tested this bike I loved it. The major minus was the seat and foot pegs. I put on drag bars from Yamaha, A cobra FI module, D&D pipes, forward controls, Corbin seat and the Yamaha breather. All in all this is a real fun bike to ride. Big or small you'll love riding this bike. I take short trips because I am lucky enough that this is my second bike, my first is a Wing. I had the transmission upgrade and that (other than normal oil changes etc) are all I have done with this bike. It's quick and I get between 34 and 40+ MPG. Less if you start smoking em'. If I were to do it over again I'd most likely get the power commander rather than the Cobra system. It's reliable, fast, relatively comfortable and fun ... did I say smiles too?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gator

OXR, Alabama

Reviewed on 2004-12-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After owning any bike for a while, the new wears off and you might start looking around for something else, maybe just to see what's out there. Many people do. But after owning a Warrior for a while, if & when you do start looking, you very soon come to the realization "It's very difficult to find anything else that compares". A classic motorcycle with high-tech features makes it a drivable performer. Big on bang for the buck right out the box. My only complaint is rear tires. Five in 15k miles. I've learned to mount them myself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Adkins

Florence, Colorado

Reviewed on 2003-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Warrior last year. I absolutly love it! I'm 72" tall 270lbs and it has no problem getting me anywhere in style and comfort. I would like to make a few mods but I'll wait till the aftermarket crew gets it right and prices come down. Dislikes; The only one thing I don't like is the backfire on decel from wide open throttle, well I guess I could just not go to W.O.T....................NOT!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Roberts

Danvers , Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just brought my 2002 purple warrior home today 12/11/02. I got the thing way below m.s.r.p at a great finance rate. That was a first. The bike is way more powerfull than I thought it would be.I have been riding motorcycles since I was 11 and I'm 39 now. I thought my liter bikes were fast and they were but you could tell the engine was really working at highway speeds. Not this brute, just coming home I was amazed at it's ability to eat up highway speeds 70-75 mph at 2200 rpm's. Folks the thing wasn't even breathing. This bike cry's for more throttle like a new born looking for it's mother. (To The people at yamaha) "YOU PEOPLE ARE SICK MAN!!!"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake Stern

Charleston, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-10-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike sold itself as soon as I rode it at the dealership. I sold my 2002 Harley davidson Softtail Deuce to buy it. Positives: 1. great throttle response and power throughout the rev-range, 2. great suspension, 3. awesome brakes. 4. Handles extremely well, bike feels much lighter/smaller than it actually is. 5. Will beat most stock cruisers off the line. 6. Good overall fit and finish. Bike sounds great with after-market exhaust. I have a Power Commander III and BUBs exhaust installed, planning on getting new bars with 2" more pullback. Negatives: limited range due to small tank (4 gal) and high fuel consumption; just over one hundred miles and .9 gal idiot light comes on. Ergonomics are poor for me (5' 9"/215 lbs) - it's a reach to the stock bars, causes me neck pain. Bike has stalled twice; might be related to efi problems.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne Davis

Mason, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far I am very happy with my Roadstar especially with the price I got on it $10,099.00 compared to everywhere else I looked this was $1500.00 in savings. The only downfall is the nuclear missile silo on the rear of the bike!! The exhaust has got to go, I just ordered a set of Samson groundpounders and also got a Power commander, I cannot wait to see what the bike will do with these slight mods. I am also going to get a K&N Filter. I will let you know what differences are made with my adjustments, pipes will be in on or about 7-12-02.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jtrickle

chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just purchased the red Road Warrior.I am sixty years old and this is my second motorcycle. My first bike was the Honda 1100 Sabre. My Sabre performed beutifully and I put 16,000 miles on it in two years. I wanted something with a little more guts. I was planning on buying the Honda VTX, since I had such great performance from my 2000 Sabre, but it felt heavy and I do a lot of city driving in Chicago. Their is no comparision between the Sabre and the Warrior. Even though the Warrior is heavier than the Sabre, It's handling ability makes it feel much lighter. It corners better and brakes in half the distance. As for power, it's smooth and clean. The biggest thrill is when the bike feels like it want to jump out from under you. The solid motor mounts make enough vibes to keep your interest without annoyance. I did not like the way the large muffler looked at first, but now it seems the bike would not looks as good with any other. If changing the pipes brings out a louder reponse, I think I will keep the bike just the way it is. A very satified consumer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jerry bang

el paso, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
great bike! plenty of power and great handling. must see in person, pictures does it no justice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: