Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-26 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I built this bike - a 2008 Suzuki GSX-R750 Front End. It has a Yamaha race kit with hi-comp pistons, valve springs, cams, big injectors, race ECU and a Barnett clutch kit. It also has a head porting, Barons big air kit, Bridgestone battle axe BT014 tires, radial mount GSX-R brakes and upside down fully adjustable GSX-R front forks with 17-inch front wheel (was 18-inch stock) for faster turning. It also has a rear Barons lowering link, 1-inch fatbars with wiring inside, Yamaha fender eliminator, Vance & Hines pro pipe with alum, billet endcap and much more.
- JAMES MACHNIK, JACKSON, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-01 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Warrior used 2 1/2 years ago with 6500 miles on it. It is now at 22,500. Simply put, this is one sweet ride. I've used it both for commuting from SD to Rancho Bernardo, and for a couple of long hauls - most notably, up PCH to Ft. Bragg, about 3 hours north of San Francisco. If you can still get your hands on a good one used, grab it; you won't be disappointed.
- Pete P, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-09 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first time I tested this bike I loved it. The major minus was the seat and foot pegs. I put on drag bars from Yamaha, A cobra FI module, D&D pipes, forward controls, Corbin seat and the Yamaha breather. All in all this is a real fun bike to ride. Big or small you'll love riding this bike. I take short trips because I am lucky enough that this is my second bike, my first is a Wing. I had the transmission upgrade and that (other than normal oil changes etc) are all I have done with this bike. It's quick and I get between 34 and 40+ MPG. Less if you start smoking em'. If I were to do it over again I'd most likely get the power commander rather than the Cobra system. It's reliable, fast, relatively comfortable and fun ... did I say smiles too?
- Fred Jewell, Epping, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning any bike for a while, the new wears off and you might start looking around for something else, maybe just to see what's out there. Many people do. But after owning a Warrior for a while, if & when you do start looking, you very soon come to the realization "It's very difficult to find anything else that compares". A classic motorcycle with high-tech features makes it a drivable performer. Big on bang for the buck right out the box. My only complaint is rear tires. Five in 15k miles. I've learned to mount them myself.
- Gator, OXR, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-14 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Warrior last year. I absolutly love it! I'm 72" tall 270lbs and it has no problem getting me anywhere in style and comfort. I would like to make a few mods but I'll wait till the aftermarket crew gets it right and prices come down. Dislikes; The only one thing I don't like is the backfire on decel from wide open throttle, well I guess I could just not go to W.O.T....................NOT!
- Brian Adkins, Florence, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-11 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just brought my 2002 purple warrior home today 12/11/02. I got the thing way below m.s.r.p at a great finance rate. That was a first. The bike is way more powerfull than I thought it would be.I have been riding motorcycles since I was 11 and I'm 39 now. I thought my liter bikes were fast and they were but you could tell the engine was really working at highway speeds. Not this brute, just coming home I was amazed at it's ability to eat up highway speeds 70-75 mph at 2200 rpm's. Folks the thing wasn't even breathing. This bike cry's for more throttle like a new born looking for it's mother. (To The people at yamaha) "YOU PEOPLE ARE SICK MAN!!!"
- Robin Roberts, Danvers , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-22 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike sold itself as soon as I rode it at the dealership. I sold my 2002 Harley davidson Softtail Deuce to buy it. Positives: 1. great throttle response and power throughout the rev-range, 2. great suspension, 3. awesome brakes. 4. Handles extremely well, bike feels much lighter/smaller than it actually is. 5. Will beat most stock cruisers off the line. 6. Good overall fit and finish. Bike sounds great with after-market exhaust. I have a Power Commander III and BUBs exhaust installed, planning on getting new bars with 2" more pullback. Negatives: limited range due to small tank (4 gal) and high fuel consumption; just over one hundred miles and .9 gal idiot light comes on. Ergonomics are poor for me (5' 9"/215 lbs) - it's a reach to the stock bars, causes me neck pain. Bike has stalled twice; might be related to efi problems.
- Jake Stern, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-26 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I am very happy with my Roadstar especially with the price I got on it $10,099.00 compared to everywhere else I looked this was $1500.00 in savings. The only downfall is the nuclear missile silo on the rear of the bike!! The exhaust has got to go, I just ordered a set of Samson groundpounders and also got a Power commander, I cannot wait to see what the bike will do with these slight mods. I am also going to get a K&N Filter. I will let you know what differences are made with my adjustments, pipes will be in on or about 7-12-02.
- Wayne Davis, Mason, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-19 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased the red Road Warrior.I am sixty years old and this is my second motorcycle. My first bike was the Honda 1100 Sabre. My Sabre performed beutifully and I put 16,000 miles on it in two years. I wanted something with a little more guts. I was planning on buying the Honda VTX, since I had such great performance from my 2000 Sabre, but it felt heavy and I do a lot of city driving in Chicago. Their is no comparision between the Sabre and the Warrior. Even though the Warrior is heavier than the Sabre, It's handling ability makes it feel much lighter. It corners better and brakes in half the distance. As for power, it's smooth and clean. The biggest thrill is when the bike feels like it want to jump out from under you. The solid motor mounts make enough vibes to keep your interest without annoyance. I did not like the way the large muffler looked at first, but now it seems the bike would not looks as good with any other. If changing the pipes brings out a louder reponse, I think I will keep the bike just the way it is. A very satified consumer.
- jtrickle, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-29 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great bike! plenty of power and great handling. must see in person, pictures does it no justice.
- jerry bang, el paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-25 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Life is but a dream, ArooF ArooF I just got this Warrior April 24, I'm still breaking it in slowly, has 440 miles on the LED display, that glows purple. The bike feels like it runs on rails, with power to spare its very nice indeed. Driv'in 153 miles before the res-light comes on, put 3 gals in. Comes out 50 miles per gal guys, power is away there, no matter what gear your in. I bought the purple Warrior, I am very happy with my new toy, would encourage anyone who like to ride, check it out.
- DoGGY_54th, Daly City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-03 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW! I'm grinning every time I pull away from a light or roll on the throttle. The Warrior pulls strong with very little effort and cruises very well. The handling feels light and nimble for a 600+ lb bike. I have gotten lots of complements for the Titanium grey model and even some of my Harley friends have said nice things about it. Yamaha did good. If you are looking for a cruiser that you can lean and want to customize, this is it. The bike flat gets up and goes. Yamaha has lots of accessories for it and I think it is the most bang for the buck. Did I mention the back tire?
- Tony, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-15 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Incredible! This bike has everything...power, looks quality craftmsanship and price! The ergonomics are different from the traditional cruiser but does not take long to adapt to. The only reason I did not give the Warrior five stars was because of the uncomfortable seat. I've never complained about stock seats on my past bikes, but the Warrior's seat sucks.
- jerry, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took this bike for a test drive and Honda Sabre is for sale. Beats HD, Honda VTX, anything else I have ever ridden. Only negative I can see is tank size was sacrificed for speedo location.
- Bill, Hickory, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-05 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha has outdone them selves on this one.I picked up my Metallic Titanium Warrior 2 1/2 weeks ago after putting down a deposit 2 months ago.I would have to say it is one of the finest performing, detailed and finished production motorcycles period. I say this not from a biased owners position. I've been riding for almost 30 years and have owned many Harley's and several motorcycles from the big 4 Japanese manufacturers(dirtbikes,sportbikes and cruisers)and a newer model Triumph.I currently have in my possession 2 Harleys, an 01 Heritage Softail FI With Harleys Big Bore Screaming Eagle Stage 2 performance kit and a Custom Sportster.I also have a Kawasaki ZRX1100. All are great motorcycles, but as a total package, the Warriors got them all beat, with the hot rod looks, premium quality brakes, suspension and chassis parts and that huge air cooled V twin that "just feels so right" and that pounds out such an enormous amount of forward thrust instantly from any RPM on the tach.It just has to be ridden to be believed. I had the opportunity to ride the Harley V-Rod and Honda VTX1800 before deciding on the Warrior. Both have quite a bit less lean angle and do not handle any where close to the way the Warrior does. The VTX is at least 100lbs heavier and did not feel as strong from mid-range and up. The V-Rod is not as strong from low through mid-range and is only slightly stronger in it's upper rev-range. As I said in the begining this is more than an awesome cruiser it is an awesome motorcycle.
- S.C., Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-04 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning a Royal Star, A HD Road King and a 2001 Custom Chrome special construction, along with countles other HD products, the Yamaha Road Star Warrior combines the best of both worlds--V-Twin performance and sport bike handling, and in addition it maintains Yamaha's high standard for fit and finish. This machine is ahead of it's time, and in a one-on-one comparison with the HD V-Rod, it wins hands down.
- PM Motorcycle Club, Concord, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-20 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning a 2000 V-Star 1100 Custom and knowing the quality and performance of this Yamaha product you can imagine what I was thinking when I read that there was going to be a 2002 Road Star Warrior with 80 HP and 102 Torque. I knew that more of a good thing was a good thing. I placed my order in June and received my titanium grey Warrior on 29 Nov. It was exactly what I had hoped for. A performance cruiser meeting Yamahas highest quality standards. From the engineering to the paint, all is exeptional. And they secret of this guy is that they maintained the traditional air cooled V-twin feel and sound. That is what makes this bike a winner. Oh, and of course the power, just twist the throttle on this beast and you will know what I mean. Live to Ride and Ride to Live. Be safe and have a wonderful Xmas holiday and happy new year.
- Kim Henderson, Decatur, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: