Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-07-21 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best all around motorcycle I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of motorcycles even larger. With 69,000 miles it still runs like the day it was new and as smooth as can be and I cruise the highways two up at 85 MPH plus. Except for general maintenance and regular tune-ups I have not had to replace anything and this honey starts with the touch of button and awesome to ride anywhere. This is one of the most under rated motorcycles to most people and I wouldn't be shocked if this motorcycle gets 200,000 plus miles. It might not be the fastest quarter mile bike but very reliable and the babes love it, I call it the babe magnet without question and great on gas 55 MPG Plus. Very light weight at 484 LBS. dry, very easy to handle and a pleasure to drive 500 plus mile per days with the Mustang seat. You can never go wrong buying one of these Yamaha V Star Customs they are built to last and a complete joy to drive anywhere, pure fun and joy that I will treasure always, thanks Yamaha!
- Bad Boy, Savanaha, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't know what I did to my bike to make it run as good as it does but it does go. I read other reviews and people aren't extremely pleased with it but I am happy with mine. Some people also say that they can only do 90-95 miles an hour but my V-Star will run 105. But the bike has great ergos and is comfortable for miles and miles. The only complaint I have about it is that the pegs hit the ground rather quick when I lean it hard into a corner. It is also very pleasing to onlookers because of the color I chose which was deep purple and it makes heads turn, I get a lot of request from girls about giving them rides and the passenger seat has seen plenty of passengers. The only thing I have changed to my bike was the air filter and that was all. It now breathes more freely thanks to a K&N. It also looks great in the sun and going down the highway and when I want it to it will light up the rear tire with the flick of my wrist. It would be a great first bike for anyone who wants to get into this sport and learn.
- Frank Carrillo, Eunice, New Mexico, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-12 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 4or 5 other bikes all diff. brands. This is a great bike just big enough for cruising, on those great back roads, or a trip to the store. The only thing I had done was changed the exhaust and had the carb.jetted. That made a HUGE differnce in performance. I would buy another in a heart beat.
- Chuck Demos, Prospect, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased through private owner very few miles. This is a great ladies bike, I stand 5'3, feet flat on ground. Very well balanced, great handling on curves and comfortable for the longer trips. Averaging 48 to 51 miles per gallon. Very Happy w/bike
- Lesley, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 10 years of riding Harleys switched to the star. I loved my Harleys but for the money I saved and the performance of this bike I will never go back. Have received many compliments of bikes appearance and it will cruise all day with the bigger bikes. Smooth comfortable and alot of fun
- b. mccutcheon, salem, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-24 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is really a great bike and super buy for the person who has just learned how to ride and wants a cruiser. I put some shorter cruiser style mirrors on mine which helps cut down on above 60+ vibrations. All and all you can ride the heck out of this bike and don't be afraid to punch it out over 70 miles per hour. I have already taken it on some 6-8 hour cruises with no problems. This bike runs better after you ride the hell out of it for a few months.
- Chef D, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my V Star 650 custom July 12. No real complains at all except if I had more money, I would have bought a V Star 1100. Getting a windshield soon so that I can cruise the interstate. Highly recommended for low budget riders. Gear up and ride safe!
- Gary Leong, Shawnee, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 1100 custom in May and have 1900 miles on it to date. I can't find hardly any flaws with this bike, the worst thing I have found is that after 200 miles the seat gets uncomfortable. Other than that it runs well ,corners well,and looks totally great! I liked it so well i bought my wife a 650 custom a month later.
- Landus Dutton, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my custom for about 2 1/2 months. Almost 2000 miles. Rides great but vibrates at 60 mph+. Unpleasant for long rides. Great on back roads. Highly recommended first bike. Very easy to handle.
- Lorie Gurecki, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-03 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my custom just under 4 months. 5,900 miles later I still love it! PROS: *Great handling *Awsome looking *My vote for best bike for beginners *Lots of aftermarket parts available *Large fuel capacity *Shaft drive *Excellent value CONS: *Constantly looking for that elusive "6th gear" *Bad vibration at 60mph in 5th gear (I'm not sure this is a problem with all of them. If anyone else has it please let me know.) *Stock seat is uncomfortable and not interchangeable between the Custom and the Classic.(What's up with that??) *Liquid cooling would be nice *Why can you buy a cars in 1,000 different colors but only 2 for motorcycles?
- Jackhammer, Ewing, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-12 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my custom for three months and have over 3700 miles on her. No problems mechanically to date. Rides and handles very smoothly over all types of terrain/roads. Would highly recommend this bike for any novice to learn with. (This is my first bike.)
- James, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-07 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1100 custom will be two weeks old on the 8th of june. I have put on 800 miles and loved every mile of the ride. I have size 15 feet and they are a bit taxed to keep on the stock pegs so I will upgrade as soon as I can. The power and the ride are just what you dream of every time you start the ride up. I had a old 750 xs triple and I am glad I traded up. I would not call this a beginners bike but the steering and ride are excellent. I have been improving on the front brakes. Have not thrown the wife over the windshield since the second day! Only problem with passengers is the exhaust melted her shoe tip. Love the bike and hope to be able to ride it for as many years as there are left to us.
- larry Pratt, Glenwood

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-19 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased may 10th 2002. 2002 Vstar 650 custom, purple. Still breaking it in, have about 220 miles so far. This is my 9th bike, and I researched heavily on the internet. It is exactly what I expected. Plenty of power, great looks, good price, and good ergonomics. I am 5'6" 145 lbs, and the bike fits me like it was tailor made. I read some reviews about it revving too high at 65-75 mph, but I have had it a little over 60, and it seems like it wil be fine at interstate speeds. Keep in mind, it may look like a Harley, but it a Japanese bike, and is designed to rev. Starts easily, getting about 50 miles per gallon. I will update this review after more time and miles, but so far I am extremely happy. Fun to ride, $6000 - out the door! Best bang for the buck. Not a race bike - a great cruiser! Highly recommend the MSF rider courses! Ride safe...
- BBD, Northern, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-15 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had not ridden for a number of years and purchased this wonderful looking V Star. Added new Mustang seat, sissy bar and saddlebags, and covered over 7,000 miles in under a year, all trouble free only in shop for oil changes (eat your heart out Harley Riders) Found it a little under powered with a passinger but it coped well on the whole. Have moved on to Mean Streak but kept this bike for the wife to ride and like me she loves it.
- Lee andrews, rensselaer, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-14 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
my ride is a kawi vulcan nomad 1500cc, but got to try out this little gem when a friend asked me to bring it home from the dealer for her. i kept it under 55mph for break-in purposes, but was quite impressed how it handled on the open road on a very windy day. i wish there was something this nice when i learned to ride 25 years ago. this is a great beginner's and intermediate bike.
- patrice zim, st. cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-05 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't rode in 15 years until I bought this Bike. Rides great! A wonderful entry level bike. The only reason I give it a 4 is because of the lack of power for the long runs. don't get me wrong it has good power and will take you anywhere you need to go @ 70+ but after a year I find my self wanting a bigger bike. I would recomend buying a used one to start with and then move up to a bigger bike :)
- Cooter, Lancaster, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-16 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will have to say, this is a great bike to start out on! It handles great,good gas mileage, and just enough power for me. I would recommend to anyone!
- Tina, Inman, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: