Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-10-11 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My V-Star 1100 is still humming smoothly, easily, and comfortably 4 years after its purchase. Although I still don't have enough time to ride as much as I'd like to...foliage touring (leaf peeping) has never been better! Great bike, great product(YAMAHA)and great dealer support. It doesn't get much better than this! Ride safely AND ride something YOU enjoy!
- John, Hudson, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in March of 2005 with 3200 miles on it. I have ridden it from Montana to Washington, and on lots of highways. It now has 7500 miles on it and I Love It!! Although I did finally have my first problem with it; after I took it to the dealer for it's 4000 mile maintenance check up. My digital odometer freaked out and went off twice now and my speedometer jumped all crazy about 4 different times since then. Shortly after the check up. Overall I have no complaints. I love it! I put on after market pipes, windshield; and the rumble is great and a great warning too.
- Eric, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's a 2002 but new to me. Had it about an hour now. Seems comfortable, quick, not too noisy, controls simple. After not having ridden for 20 years, was able to climb on and take off. "Like riding a bike". Gotta have a windshield though, the wind isn't fun :)
- Doug, AURORA, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the bike new, immediately put on a windshield, leather bags, backrest and new pipes. This bike has been very reliable- plenty of power- cruise at 90mph all the time- moves well around Atlanta traffic- plenty of top end speed, almost seems governed in lower gears- if any complaint it would be the comfort of the seat on long rides- carries my wife and I without difficulty- able to keep up with all my Harley and Goldwing friends- one of the easiest to handle bikes I have ever ridden- I would buy a bigger bike in the future but have really enjoyed having this one.
- Randy Moore, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research and really like this custom ride. It has more roll on throttle at all speeds and too much for me to get a ticket for. The three bad things are the seat, no forward controls and having to remove the exhaust pipe to change your oil filter. I like the wide rear tire.
- Andy Perkins, Weare, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used bike with 6500 miles a few weeks ago and am very pleased with it. The size is perfect, as it is heavy enough to ride smoothly and powerfull enough to get-up-and-go when needed. It's an easy bike to ride and looks great doing it. Also, my V Star Custom riding friends are envious of the fat back tire which is a nice side benefit. Highly recommended.
- Bob, Attleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-09 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd cruiser and by far the best yet. The first time I rode it was love at first sit! It is low, smooth and plenty of power. The stock seat is OK, but an upgrade would be a nice upgrade. I ride with a lot of Harley's and they love the style of the V-Star. I just tell them that I can't afford the "dues" for the Harley club. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants a great bike at a great price.
- bull, Lafayette, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine in may and have 3000 miles on it today. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because Yamaha had no forsight to make adjustable brake and foot peg options. I am 6'4 and 290# long legs with size 15 shoes. The only one that fits is a forward control set up that is way too costly (700.00 Jardine). The bike otherwise is great. The roll on is awsome I have bruises on my ribs to prove it. The wife grabs on them when I roll on and complains about almost becoming a speed bump. she has a back rest and still gets parinoid. I will admit that the top end is way more than I can afford to get a ticket for. after a few hours the saddle gets to be annoying but then that is what a break is for I aint a iron butt candidate. I would recogmend a wind shield for the fact that it is the first bike in 25 years that I have had one. I now can choose the bugs I want to sample. I am almost 50 and have been riding every thing I could since I was 16 and find this bike to be almost everything none of the others were in performance and rideability as well as looks. the only thing the other bikes had over this one is they were paid off long ago. Thanks for reading my ramblings and hope to see you on the road.
- Larry Patt, Glenwood, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back on a bike after a 15 year absence. I rode a yamaha 750 special before. This v star is great. Only drawback is the factory seat!
- mtb, lady lake, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-12 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1100 V-Star is overall a great bike. Great handling and ride. Has adequate power. Will run down the road all day long a 75 without a whimper. My only complaint is the seat. I'm going to switch to an after market seat. Longer trips will bring on the numb butt.
- Tom Meshek, Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-08 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for three and a half months. I am very pleased with the unit. Engine is strong and ride is almost automatic. I am 6.4 and 300 lbs and the only problem is the funky pegs. I think I can fix them with a little iron stock and a chrome job this winter. I have size 15 shoes and so the fit is at best a chore on long trips.As of today I have 2200 miles with and with out a passenger. I have no overheating problems and there seems to be no lack of power. The valve train is a tad noisey but that could be because the engine is smooth and quiet. The pipes are stock but sound gets better with the miles under them. This winter i will manufacture some foreward controlls because the cheapest set seems to be in the extremely over priced to me catagory. Have a windshield for the first time in 20 years of riding and enjoy the ride so much better. Roll on power is great I just about lost the old lady dueling with a semi for top end uphill. I rate this ride as a great bargin and a great ride. By the way I am 50 and still ridin as much as possible even in the winter.
- Larry, Glenwood, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 1100 custom in May and have 1900 miles on it to date. I can't find hardly any flaws with this bike, the worst thing I have found is that after 200 miles the seat gets uncomfortable. Other than that it runs well ,corners well,gets 51 mpg and looks totally great! I liked it so well i bought my wife a 650 custom a month later.
- Landus Dutton, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-12 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike. Long space in between bikes, like 30 years. Did a lot of reading and a little test driving before selecting. Best combination of brakes, handling, acceleration, and comfort in the 1100cc class.
- Dave Hull, Salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-01 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been reading about the valve noise that the Vstars are known for and I spoke to my local Yamaha dealer about it. He said he knows about the problem and it's related to the air pump and not the valve's. He said that the EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) valve makes the air pump tick and if you remove the EGR valve, the noise will go away. (Sounds highly illegal to me.) I've been waiting for a resolution to this problem before I buy this bike and want to know if anyone else believes this story or not. How bad is the noise and does it affect the performance of the bike at all?
- Paul, Rocky Mount , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-31 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd like to thank everyone who's written a review on this board. It really helped me to make my decision to buy my 1100 Custom. I took the MSF course for fun: the best $150 I ever spent on entertainment. I never rode a bike before in my life, but I was hooked the first day of the MSF course. I bought my bike a week after I finished the course with a cumulative 13 hours of riding experience. I test rode the Honda VLX650 deluxe, Yamaha V-Star 650 custom, and V-Star 1100 Classic. I liked the sound the 1100 made, and I read and heard that it has plenty of power. I bought the bike new - out of the carton. A week later I had Cobra Classic Deluxe pipes installed, and my bike really sounds good: exactly like the digital sound on the Cobra web-site. They aren't too loud on idle or warm-up (no complaints from the neighbors). When you rev the motor or accelerate, it sounds like the V-Twin thunder I've always dreamed about. So far, I've only experienced the clicking noise everyone mentions once. Just after I reached 400 miles, my motor started clicking REALLY loud. I thought it was an old clunker car next to me at the intersection, but the sound followed me. I stopped and shut the bike down shortly after. The clicking noise went away upon restart. I thought it might have been caused by the 40 mile ride I went on, thinking maybe the motor might have been overheating. I don't know though. Everyone says that the VStar 650 sounds like it's reving high at 60mph, but my motor sure sounds like it's reving pretty high at 60 too. I guess that's normal for Japanese bikes - kinda like the Japanese cars. Anyhow, this bike has exceeded all my expectations. It also fit within my budget. I had wanted a Harley Wide-Glide or Softtail Standard, but I couldn't afford the minimum $15,000.00 society/cultural membership fee for those bikes. For now it still remains my dream. The V-Star 1100 Custom - the best decision I could have made for my first bike: It has the looks, it has the power, and it has the value.
- David, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-23 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with this bike. The balance is great. The handling is easy and effortless. I love the power and look forward to many long rides on the road. I talked to many owners before I purchased this bike because I have ridden water cooled bikes in the past. Everyone I talked to had no complaints and loved their bike. After purchasing it I can understand why.
- Laura, Auburn, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the new plug for the crankcase and had the dealership check it out. It turns out that I only lost a half a quart so there is no damage. The plug just wasn't torqued whenever it was put together. I was wrong about fifth gear. No more problems. I love the bike more and more every time I ride it.
- Mike, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: