Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike second hand last year with 50,000 km. on it. It had not been well looked after although it looked great. The worst thing was that the starter motor failed (a very, very common fault that needs to be fixed for your own peace of mind, if you own one that has not had "the kit" retro fitted!) and had to be replaced. Apart from that it has been 100% reliable. My only complaint is the fuel consumption can be high at high speeds. However if you stick to 65 mph. (110 kph.) it is reasonable although still not great (about US 40 mpg. at best and US 30 mpg. at worst - average of 35 mpg. US is about right). Anyway, I've owned three Harleys in the past - an 883 and 1200 Sporty and an Electra Glide. I honestly think the V Star is better once you get over the Harley image thing (although Harleys do sound better in my opinion and look better.....but they just don't have the relaibility). To me, the V Star is what a Harley ought to have been in terms of reliability.
- Mark , Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2002 V-Star Silverado for about 2 years now and have 7500 miles. Not a single problem. I'm 6'4" and 220lbs and the bike fits perfect, once I added the floorboard extenders. The stock seat stinks, so got a Corbin. Its shaped better and looks cool. But its a bit hard. 5 hours in the saddle, no problem. 8+ and my butt is toast. Everything is stock, except for a few bits of chrome/leather. It's an excellent long distance bike. No regrets, got the right bike. Enough power and comfort and priced right. The windshield and saddlebags make this bike. Nothing like having some wind protection and storage for those long rides or back and forth to work.
- Dave, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife surprised me for Father's Day 2002 with this bike. I have put 4,000 miles on it and have enjoyed every ride. It's handles well on winding back roads and the interstate. In the Summer of 2003 I'll be touring New England and Nova Scotia. The trip will be 2,000 miles over 9 days. I have every confidence the bike will operate without a problem. One of the guys going on the trip is making sure he knows where the repair shops are for his HD. He paid twice the price for something he can't depend on.
- Mark Bennett, South Glastonbury, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've PUT OVER 5000 MILES ON MY 02 SILVERADO haven't HAD ANY PROBLEMS. GETS ALOT OF COMPLIMENTS & LOOKS.HARLEY FRIENDS SAY IT'S A GREAT LOOKING BIKE. MANY PEOPLE THINK IT'S A HARLEY!
- RUSTY, POYNETTE, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-13 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS IS A GREAT RIDE,GOOD LONG DISTANCE RIDE AS WELL AS AROUND TOWN. TONS OF POWER DOWN LOW. ALL MY BUDS THINK IT'S A NICE LOOKING BIKE INCLUDING MY HARLEY FRIENDS.
- CHOPPER JO, WOONSOCKET, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-05 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first laid eyes on the 1100 Silverado I really fell in love with it. It's a great looking bike with all the extras already installed. The salesman said that they can't keep them on the floor. He failed to mention that you had to adjust the valves after the first 600 miles and every 6ooo miles there after. He also left out the part about removing the pipes to change the oil filter. The seat is really big but it hurts your butt after a few miles. The starter is made cheaply and the bolts twist. If you buy the Yamaha light bar like I did you should send the wife and kiddies to the movies so they don't hear all the cussing you will be doing when you go to install it.
- Jim Bowen, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-30 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched many bikes, many forums, many magazines. For me, this is the best bike for the price. Love the looks and the accessories. My neighbor, who owns 3 Harleys, says, "that's a good looking bike" every time he comes over. No Kidding!
- Bruce, Lomita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-21 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased bike 2/02 have ridden 2200 enjoyable miles. It is a great cruiser. It handles well in the winding roads of East Tn. and has plenty of power. It is also a great low speed bike.
- B. Haun, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-04 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my silverado 1100cc several months ago and it has exceeded my highest expectations. It was my first "street" bike. I found it very easy to ride. It really is a looker and is sooooo smooth. My Harley friends couldn't believe that I got so much bike for so little money - $8800.
- Lance Workman, Big Rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-09 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for my wife. She rode my Valkyrie a few times but it was just too big. This bike is real attention magnet. I took it on a 200 mile ride last weekend to get miles for the 600mi service and it got more attention than my buddies Valkyrie! I weigh 260# and it had plenty of power. The fit and finish are excellent and it seemed the best buy for the money. I don't hear any valve noise. I own 5 other bikes and I'm sure this will grow to be a favorite. Now I wonder if she let me ride it once in a while?
- Travis Chlarson, Ephrata, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-02 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased the new V Star 1100 Silverado and could not be happier. I was looking for a bike with not too much punch (since I am just getting back into riding due to a long time of back problems) but enought to get my wife and I down the road in style and the Silverado fit the bill. The fit and finish are both excellent and with a few add on accessories, like passing lights, light visors and extra chrome, the looks you get from the other rides are well worth it. I would recommend that anyone looking for a middle size cruiser--look no futher than the V Star 1100 Silverado.
- Dave, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: