Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (8)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-04-12 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best full size dirtbike I have ridden by far. It's really reliable and easy to start now that I got the procedure right. I can ride anything on this beast, woods, mx, desert. It'll make it up and thru anything..
- Stephen Gruenbacher, Atwater, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 426 for a little more than a year now and no problems. The suspension is a little soft for anyone 180-190lbs. The power is great, it has great snap out of the corners and loves race gas but does not mind 91. I'm a heavy guy but it pulls me around like nothing. The bike is really reliable and worth buying if you find one.
- Matt Preciado, yucaipa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted to upgrade from my old CR250, bought this mint 2002 426 with spare plastics and exhaust. Took it for a 600 acre ride at Toms Farm central Wales and held on all day. What an absolute beauty in full wolfs clothing, any gear will have this animal pointing at the sun/moon and will howl all day. No terrain is to difficult, Yamaha have got it spot on with this motor.
- Stuart Fisher, STAFFORDSHIRE, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-20 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purcahsed my 2002 YZ426F at the end of March as my first bike. Being that I'm 15, 6'2" and 200lbs, I knew I would be too big for a 125 so I bought this bike. This bike amazes me every time I'm on it. The power is phenominal, and being a novice rider on my hometown track, I could burn any 125 rider and even some of the 250 guys with less than a month's experience in most straights. The four stroke is so forgiving and has made me such a great rider. It inspires confidence but at the same time demands respect. Any bike with close to 50 horses stock has a tendency to demand some.
- Joel, Destin , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-20 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the reviews are right... You really can't tell how fast you are going till you see the trees blurring past you! Incredible torque, yet easy to ride, on track or off road. Only problem is downshifting under power, like climbing hills. Best bet is to start a gear lower and stick with it. BELIEVE in the power of the thumper, and you will prevail! Overall, great bike, but heavy for the hard-core offroad racer.
- Damon, Follansbee, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been Racing,or just riding hard for fun for twenty five years now.I've had the kx500's,xr600's,the 250 two strokes,ect.And,i could'nt pass up a deal from my dealer to buy new off the floor the one 2002'yz426f that he had left this year 5/03.I bought it,i rode it ,And... WOW,it's like riding my old big bore two strokes.Anytime,Anywhere you need the power,and speed,It's there.And the suspention,forget the days of bad landings...Anytime i have gotten in a situation with landings,or unbearable ruts or terrain,it sucks it up like auto pilot.I've rode the '03 honda cr450 and as well the yz450. by far to me the yz426f is more hard hitting,and stronger than the honda.The cr450 is a constant power without as much of quick punch.And the yz450 is too tractor like with low torque, for pulling down a house.But,the 02'426f(when they perfected so many changes from the 00-01's)for motocross it's the ticket. LOng story short Yamaha did'nt have to go to a 450 to keep up with the jones i'd put my 426 up against the honda anyday. A must buy!
- Dan Hodges, Biloxi, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-19 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out a 2 stroke rider and thought 4 strokes were lame,heavy, bikes that sound stupid. No-One could have convinced me that a 4 stroke could be competitive with a 2 stroke. Hahah was I wrong. My yamaha 94 250 sheared the flywheel key and left me with nothing to ride one Sunday at the Wastelands. Untill Terry Painter, (the coolest guy in CMRC history. Now deceased.) Let me do a few laps on his 2001 yz426. At first I was intimidated, but not for long! Man the bike sounded so sweet! I just liked riding harder to hear the motor roar! I went out and traded my old bike and the lump sum of $3400.00 for a new (They put it together for me!)2002 yz426f. I pride myself as a fast junior, and all my buddies are about there as well, me bieng the least experienced rider in the group. I never stood a chance against anyone on my old 94 250 2 stroker. Now My pals cant touch me off the start line, they cant pull through a corner like I can and they cant beat me in a drag race! There is absoloutly no doubt in my mind that The 2002 yz426f is the most powerfull,smooth,and comfortable bike I have ever ridden. Incedentaly my two stroke pals ride: -02 CR 250 Vern -01 TM 300 John -01 RM 250 Derick -01 YZ 250 Reg
- Regan Morben, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 426 is a hot bike it runs circles around my CR500, if they were both brand new it would be a good race to watch. FYI remove the throttle stop and hang on.
- Clint Cavender, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: