Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (15)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-17 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After months of searching for a bike, I found that with my height, Yamaha bikes fit me the best (really long legs) and after getting over my ego in having an R6, I found that the 600R is a perfect bike for new rides as well as pros. It has plenty of power, topping out at around 130 or so. Plus, for the price, it can't be beat. I could not afford an R6 and after taking the motorcycle safty course I realized that I did not need a 100+ HP bike, and as far as specs go, from 99 to 07 the 600r have all the same spec just different plastic. This is an amazing bike, you don't need a track bike for the street.
- Mario, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-10 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is everything one could ask for in a sport bike. I picked up one three weeks ago. I'm loving it, the bike has more power than I need. A great buy! I would definitely recommend this bike.
- Terrence Davis, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a 2001 GXR 750, a 2002 600CBR F4i, and a '99 carburated CBR 600. AND all I can tell you is this bike beats them all overall... It is fast, does not get thrown around by the wind like the others, comfortable, and you feel very stable at top speeds compared to these other bikes. If you have the muscle to throw around its weight the road is yours on this bike!!!
- Jack, El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is comfortable and has pretty good power for being a sportbike/touring bike, takes some practice to ride wheelies but once you got it down you'll ride 'em all day, well into second gear, sometimes third if you're lucky. It sticks with R6's on top end too, nice bike!
- Tyler Pechinski, Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-08 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a few months back and am completely in love with it. The best feature about this bike - blend of comfort and performance! I have done more than 300 mi at a stretch on this bike and both my passenger and I were perfectly fine at the end of it. And that trip took us through some mean curves in the mountains too. <br /> Quick things I love<br /> - Comfort<br /> - Handling<br /> - The weight actually makes it very stable at top speeds (mine is 125MPH)<br /> - Very Reliable<br /> - looks<br /> Things which could be better<br /> - It definitely could be faster, I guess the weight does that. However, if you are not taking it to the track and are just cruising through the countryside, this is the bike to do it on. I would definitely recommend it to others.
- Shantanu Mathur, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my bike for one week before I crashed it. It is a very good bike as far as handling and performance the only complaint is the brakes. I flipped it (don't grab the front brake too hard) other than that perfect for any starter.
- jake juergens, gulfport, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was looking to buy a bike I looked at the CBR600, Suzuki GSXR750, and the YZF600R. I took them all out for a spin, and hands down the Yamaha was the most comfortable to ride. It doesn't have the kick of the GSXR, but you won't kill your back riding to work every day on it either. I did like the CBR600, but the YZF600 had a better price. I live in southern California (where it rains less than 3 times a year) where you can have a bike as your primary vehicle and have yet to have any back problems from riding.
- James, Buena Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-04 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have about 7,500 miles on a 2003 Liquid Silver Yamaha YZF 600R. In Duluth, MN, this is quite an accomplishment. I took the thing home on 1-8-03, and have ridden it in every month; great testiment to it's excellent wind breaking abilities. This bike is cheap, capable, comfortable, and a gas to ride. I highly recommend this bike if you want to ride in considerable comfort and still enjoy the performance of a street bike. One story. My brother has a Suzuki 1200 Bandit. Twice the size of my motor. He was in my face constantly about how he could beat me in a drag race. His thinking is that he had twice the motor - he'd obviously win. On a weekday, on a new stretch of freeway, with no traffic, he pulls along my side and gives me the obvious sign "let's get it on". From about 50 mph, I made the mistake of dropping to 3rd gear instead of 2nd (I've been to 95 in 2nd at 15K RPMs). Anyway, he gets a bit of a jump on my. At 130 he hits the wall on his naked 1200, at which time I pass him at about 145. I love to hear him repeat the story that the only time in his life that he's been going 130 and been passed was me on my YZF 600R. Comfort, style, cheap, and FAST. Get one.
- Wayne Heyesen, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-04 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would have to agree a previous review..... This bike is just great for any level rider. I ride a big cruiser but my wife wanted a sport bike so I just bought this bike for my wife(shes a new rider) and I cant say enough about it. it's great for a beginner because it is light and you can keep it well under 5000rpms cruising around and the bike is a tame little kitten,,,but for the more advanced rider, once you hit 7000rpms you better hold on and tighten up your butt cheeks, because at 7000 this tame little kitten turns into a Big roaring lion!!!! The seating position is the best of any sport bike out there and it rides,handles, and shifts smooth as silk! I'm really glad the wife picked this bike because "she" can putt around in it as a new rider and "I" can push it to the limits and have a great time on it too!!! There is only one complaint I have about this bike... The mirrors do not move back far enough to get a safe view behind you. but I will find a fix for that soon. All you married guys out there , If the wife wants one of these do not hesitate!!!! you will both love this machine!!!
- Pete, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-30 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike a week ago.I have riden a little bit in my time but have never owned a bike. So I decided I wanted to learn on my own. I gathered the funds and went to the dealership. I love it.It gets me to work and back comfortably and in record time. A great first time bike and powerful enough to please the speed junkies out there.
- jon nail, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so mellow at low RPM that you think you're on a Nighthawk or Shadow, not a sport bike. It is much more steetable than higher performance models and has a more relaxed riding position. But twist that throttle and get her above 5500 RPM and the 600R turns into a whole other bike. At 7000 RPM it accelerates faster than you're going to get away with if a cop sees you! I'm a Harley rider primarily, and choppers at that. But I haven't had this much fun just twisting a throttle in a long time. I'd highly recommend the 600R to anyone who wants a comfortable and enjoyable ride, but still likes to kick it in the A** too.
- Keith Sollenberger, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-18 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding for a year and a few months. Started on a Kawi Ninja 250 and rode about 2500 miles on that. Upgraded because the price was right. I'm 5'7" and 125 lbs, so it is a bear for me to walk around with and to try to back up on an incline, but I'm just careful about where I park it so I don't have to. First impression was, "Whoa, this is so heavy (130-140 lbs heavier than Ninja 250) and the throttle and clutch so sensitive (engine knocked out on me at traffic lights 6 times on the way home). What have I gotten into?" but now I'm commuting on it, and it feels great. I spent the first 2 days on my street and in my parking lot learning to feel the clutch and throttle, and how to roll it on in a very gradual and smooth fashion. It took that to form my starting and stopping habits, and now, 2 weeks later, I'm commuting when the weather allows. Great street bike (R6 would be a back and kidney buster on the ragged streets of Honolulu), and so well rounded (I'm still breaking it in, and in 6th gear and at 6000 rpm (break in limit), I'm at 80 mph). Cadillac of 600s and I just love to ride it. I do wish it was about 40-50 lbs lighter, but I'll learn to deal with it.
- Gohan_WD, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-15 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a left over 2002 in all black for $5999. Great Deal considering the only difference between 2002 and 2003 is the paint job. When shopping I sat on them all. R6,R1, zx6r, katana, gsxr you name it and sat on it. Nothing is even came close for comfort. Bike handles amazingly well and breaking is top shelf. Same as race ready big brothers R6 and R1. This bike is no wimp in the power department either. Very quick and good mid-range power. If your looking for a pure hardcore race bike the YZF600R is not for you. But if you want a bike that can soar with eagles and provide extreme comfort then its for you. In the general scheme of things practicality should win every time. Yamaha YZF600R is arguably the most fun and practical sport 600 out there. Real life is not he track. Buy on of these babies and watch your friends stretch their cramped necks, backs and shoulders on road rides. Enjoy!!!!
- Gary Raspantini, Ramsey, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A solid, versatile motorcycle. The most comfortable of the 600's currently available. With over 22K miles, mine has been used to commute to work, tour (by adding soft bags), and ride under all kinds of conditions. Not the fastest 600, not the best for racing, but a reliable street-bike that is both fun to ride and practical.
- C. Brown, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-05 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My summary says it all really. Negatives - Looks are now dated. Instruments especially are old fashioned, mine is always blowing bulbs in the clocks which is irritating. The fasteners and screws do not resist the elements very well. Rear suspension doesn't last well. Too easy to get neutral between 1st and 2nd when accelerating hard. Paint finish doesn't last well. Positives - One of the most comfortable bikes for rider and pillion, period. Good engine with strong midrange power (for a 600) Good under the seat storage. Cheap insurance for a sports 600. Handles well once the suspension is dialed in. Brakes are simply superb, same as used on R6/R1. One of the best all rounders ever.
- d, d, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: