Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mario

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2007-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After months of searching for a bike, I found that with my height, Yamaha bikes fit me the best (really long legs) and after getting over my ego in having an R6, I found that the 600R is a perfect bike for new rides as well as pros. It has plenty of power, topping out at around 130 or so. Plus, for the price, it can't be beat. I could not afford an R6 and after taking the motorcycle safty course I realized that I did not need a 100+ HP bike, and as far as specs go, from 99 to 07 the 600r have all the same spec just different plastic. This is an amazing bike, you don't need a track bike for the street.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terrence Davis

Lawrenceville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is everything one could ask for in a sport bike. I picked up one three weeks ago. I'm loving it, the bike has more power than I need. A great buy! I would definitely recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

El Paso, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had a 2001 GXR 750, a 2002 600CBR F4i, and a '99 carburated CBR 600. AND all I can tell you is this bike beats them all overall... It is fast, does not get thrown around by the wind like the others, comfortable, and you feel very stable at top speeds compared to these other bikes. If you have the muscle to throw around its weight the road is yours on this bike!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler Pechinski

Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-02-13

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is comfortable and has pretty good power for being a sportbike/touring bike, takes some practice to ride wheelies but once you got it down you'll ride 'em all day, well into second gear, sometimes third if you're lucky. It sticks with R6's on top end too, nice bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shantanu Mathur

Arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike a few months back and am completely in love with it. The best feature about this bike - blend of comfort and performance! I have done more than 300 mi at a stretch on this bike and both my passenger and I were perfectly fine at the end of it. And that trip took us through some mean curves in the mountains too. <br /> Quick things I love<br /> - Comfort<br /> - Handling<br /> - The weight actually makes it very stable at top speeds (mine is 125MPH)<br /> - Very Reliable<br /> - looks<br /> Things which could be better<br /> - It definitely could be faster, I guess the weight does that. However, if you are not taking it to the track and are just cruising through the countryside, this is the bike to do it on. I would definitely recommend it to others.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jake juergens

gulfport, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had my bike for one week before I crashed it. It is a very good bike as far as handling and performance the only complaint is the brakes. I flipped it (don't grab the front brake too hard) other than that perfect for any starter.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James

Buena Park, California

Reviewed on 2004-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I was looking to buy a bike I looked at the CBR600, Suzuki GSXR750, and the YZF600R. I took them all out for a spin, and hands down the Yamaha was the most comfortable to ride. It doesn't have the kick of the GSXR, but you won't kill your back riding to work every day on it either. I did like the CBR600, but the YZF600 had a better price. I live in southern California (where it rains less than 3 times a year) where you can have a bike as your primary vehicle and have yet to have any back problems from riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne Heyesen

Duluth, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have about 7,500 miles on a 2003 Liquid Silver Yamaha YZF 600R. In Duluth, MN, this is quite an accomplishment. I took the thing home on 1-8-03, and have ridden it in every month; great testiment to it's excellent wind breaking abilities. This bike is cheap, capable, comfortable, and a gas to ride. I highly recommend this bike if you want to ride in considerable comfort and still enjoy the performance of a street bike. One story. My brother has a Suzuki 1200 Bandit. Twice the size of my motor. He was in my face constantly about how he could beat me in a drag race. His thinking is that he had twice the motor - he'd obviously win. On a weekday, on a new stretch of freeway, with no traffic, he pulls along my side and gives me the obvious sign "let's get it on". From about 50 mph, I made the mistake of dropping to 3rd gear instead of 2nd (I've been to 95 in 2nd at 15K RPMs). Anyway, he gets a bit of a jump on my. At 130 he hits the wall on his naked 1200, at which time I pass him at about 145. I love to hear him repeat the story that the only time in his life that he's been going 130 and been passed was me on my YZF 600R. Comfort, style, cheap, and FAST. Get one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete

Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I would have to agree a previous review..... This bike is just great for any level rider. I ride a big cruiser but my wife wanted a sport bike so I just bought this bike for my wife(shes a new rider) and I cant say enough about it. it's great for a beginner because it is light and you can keep it well under 5000rpms cruising around and the bike is a tame little kitten,,,but for the more advanced rider, once you hit 7000rpms you better hold on and tighten up your butt cheeks, because at 7000 this tame little kitten turns into a Big roaring lion!!!! The seating position is the best of any sport bike out there and it rides,handles, and shifts smooth as silk! I'm really glad the wife picked this bike because "she" can putt around in it as a new rider and "I" can push it to the limits and have a great time on it too!!! There is only one complaint I have about this bike... The mirrors do not move back far enough to get a safe view behind you. but I will find a fix for that soon. All you married guys out there , If the wife wants one of these do not hesitate!!!! you will both love this machine!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jon nail

san antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike a week ago.I have riden a little bit in my time but have never owned a bike. So I decided I wanted to learn on my own. I gathered the funds and went to the dealership. I love it.It gets me to work and back comfortably and in record time. A great first time bike and powerful enough to please the speed junkies out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: