Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (21)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-12 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
- JB, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my YZF-R1 from Apex Honda Yamaha on August 1, 2002; it is exactly one year later and the bike is still impressing me. I have taken it to several trackdays and have put numerous miles on it on the street. I did put a Scott's steering stabilizer on it to help calm the front end down; especially when accelerating hard and a Yoshimura RS-1 Slip-on pipe, but other than that everything else I put on it is just to dress it up (windscreen, grips,frame sliders, ect...)But it is holding up just great. I just hada major service done including the valve adjustment and it really didnt need much at all. It has been a GREAT bike and I HIGHLY reccommend it to anyone looking for a supersport motorcycle!! I LOVE IT!!
- Thomas Sharp, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-20 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, of course i love the ducati's, but your statements are way too biased. Obviously you must own a ducti or else it would not be so, because face it, if you do not own a ducati, you cannot ride it every day and preach of it to the heavens. As the previous responder stated an R1 is of course not a Ducati, and a Ducati is of course not an R1, each have pros and cons, but with your regards to the R1 ripping off ducatis style...what the hell are you thinking??? They look nothing alike, the ducati's frame is all together way different, using a post and not a more traditional style like the R1, the ducati also has way less going on on the side fairings, they are basically sheets on the side of the bike yet the R1 has a rather large intake smack dab in the middle if the side. Ok, now for the rear end of the bike, Ducati uses a more blunt end to the tail section, with square tail lights, where as the R1 ha round lights, and a very pointy ended rear section. And now my biggest point to the looks being not similar at all, the Ducatis have a very flat nose, with two slits for lights, very stylish, and then waaaaaaaaaaaaay on the other side of styling is the R1's nose, still incredibly stylish, but reeeaaaally pointy at the nose, and has two jackalantern eyes in the front which i also like. OH WAIT! i forgot to mention the whole exhaust system! As you can clearly see the R1 has a big muffler hanging off the side, very tradtional, then the Ducati again on the other side of the spectrum has an under-seat, twisty pipe system, both stock...And so i conclude my reasoning on why you are completley wrong, although opinions are not right or wrong, i think yours has a major flaw, go take that R1 for another spin, and rev the crap out of it while u ride it, keep those RPM's up (unlike on the Ducati), and gogogo, because thats all this little puppy knows how to do!!!
- MR.YES, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-03 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Of course the R1 in not a Ducati, but a Ducati is no R1 either. You said that the bike was "too wiggly" for you? Doesn't handle like you expected? The reson may be that you are not a performance rider, but a weekend fun seeker. If you knew anything about the R1 it is that it's the most agile handling powerbike around. You seem pretty biased with your "Jap Bike" comment. What does that have to do with anything? I suggest you learn to drive a bike to it's limits before you make a negative comment about a bike you are too scared to ride in the 1st place!
- Edmister, Yorktown, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First time I saw the R1, I thought it was a complete 916 rip off, but after riding my buddies the other day, I know for sure that it is no Ducati. Very wiggly and fidgety, maybe has too much power for its frame. Handling is the most important thing on a bike, and in truth, most of the jap bikes I've ridden just can't cut it.
- Alberto Carreon, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-09 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I carefully researched all the competition before selecting the 2002 R1. After 3 months of ownership I don't have one single regret. As far as performance, nothing has managed to stay out of my rear view mirrors! The bike pulls smoothly at all RPM ranges. It's nice to pull out with the front tire 12" off the ground with so little effort. Even better, it's stable as ever off the line, through deep corners, and under serious braking. Why do you think they call it "The One"? If you are concerned about the 10 horsepower difference between the Suzuki then spend $350.00 for the RAM AIR modification and then the Suzuki has no claims left to boast on!
- Edmister, Yorktown, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-31 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I ever road. Nothing I have been on compares over all. Great power and the looks.... I get stopped everytime I ride about how hot it looks (sliver one anyway). Every body wants one even the GSXR riders have to stop and take notice. It may be a few hp short of the GSXR at the top end but will eat it alive in a corner or off the line. The front tire does love to come up on you (not recomended for beginners) Dispite the rear seat the bike really is made for one. You have to really want to ride to sit back there for long.
- M Collins, Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-25 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back from a rip around the mountains around here. This bike rocks. 2nd gear wheelies. The suspensions is rougher than my R6 was but it is what it is. NOW im just waiting for my mig high mount pipe and a ohlins steering damper. Buy what u like. If u like the gixxer buy it if u like this buy it. All liter bikes this year are good. Take care all safe riding.
- Todd, Worcester , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-27 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well 2000 K's and having great fun, just one thing to look out for is stone damage to the radiator. I was out for a ride with a group of bikes at the weekend and had a stone crack the radiator, not a major I stop the leak by crimping the crack pipe. If you ride close to other bikes then I would recommend fitting some type of screen protection over the rad. My last bike was an FZ1 Fazer, also a great bike and for 18,000 K's nothing to do apart from replace tyres oh it came with a screen over the rad. The 208's on the R1 are very good, I have had one track day and fast rides in the wet on them with no real problems. I will change to Rennsports after these as they are the better tyre for the track and fast riding in the dry. In a staight line the new R1 is much faster than the old one, corners depends on you but the handling is very good even on standard settings.
- Mike Smith, Auckland, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-21 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok i have reviewed this bike before. I have now had the bike for 2 weeks and i have just about broken it in. (545 miles) I have given the bike 5 stars because i am in love with the bike. The bike is not perfect but it gets 5 stars because it is so bad ass and looks so nice. ( bike gets looks everywhere i go, even compliments from harley dudes! the silver one anyhow) NOW for the truth. Compared to my 99 R6 it is a torture rack. Feet want to slip off the pegs because of the position of them. Seat is good as good as R6 but the ergos are not for touring. I will still ride to Canada this year but it will be a bit more painful. I miss the growl of the R6 when i lifted the front wheel. The R1 does not do this... because it takes nothing to lift. I am not complaining because i bought a repliracer, not a tourer. I expected this, i was just a little spoiled with the comfy R6. ( those of you who have never been on the R6 but have heard it is a pain... its not, not the 99 anyway and NOT compared to the 02 R1) Still gets 5 stars. Cant wait til next year to see what im gonna buy!
- Todd , Worcester , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-14 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked it up. Slight bar buzz at 6000 rmp on the highway.(i can go no faster yet) Seating is actually more aggresive than my 99 R6. Feels smaller tho, but im sure the 02 R6 feels a hell of alot smaller as well. Lots of torque down low so far. Slight plastic burning smell but i remember the same from my R6. Still gets 5 stars but i will have a new report in a few weeks.
- Todd M. McAlevey, Worcester , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The worst thing about it is the 7000 RPM limit for 1000 Miles. Although, 7000=110 MPH. I think the Brit magazine Superbike got it right with their description. SportRider and Motorcyclist with Andrew Trivett are off kilter. It does have buzz in the bars at 75 MPH. Not bad, but nothing a slightly larger set of bar ends won't cure, sinse it has only 1/2 an inch ones installed. Clutch does make some noise, but nothing close to a Ducati "Dry" clutch aragement. You do lean forward on the wrists more than the '99-'01's (Noticable around town). Awesome and trick speedo and rev light arragement that even an idiot can set. Handling is intuitive on this bike, and it's there before you are. No headshake noted at this point even into and off of wheelies, bumps, etc. Just remember the more you wheelie the more you need to check the steering head adjustment (loose = headshake). I think this is the reason for more headshake and tank slapper problems in all brands. Kinda chinche straps on the rear seat to accomodate a net or luggage. It isn't bad in the ergo's and two hour gaunts are easy. Wind protection is more ample, but it's still a sportbike. You get clean air across your head which is important, but you can still sit upright at 100+ without feeling as if your going to be blow off the bike. Gobs of power everywhere without major wheel spin (important for speed), and you can take it to 35 MPH in 6th and punch it to 110 without any hesitation, delay, or lugging of engine. SWEET! I would definately give it a 4.5 to 5.0. GSXR? Are you kidding me? Too much wheel spin especially out of turns. Looks like the 750 which looks like the 600. New red for '02, but still boring and repetative. Suzuki still have major drive train noise. The GSXR is still a very able bike, but I prefer the sexier R1!
- Rob, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-08 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i picked up my 2002 r1 on march 6th. i instantly felt the great response from the fuel injection. the handling and turn in is superb,after the break in period i hit 180 mph on the speedo. it felt like it had more to give.note: the shift light stays on in 6th gear after 11000 rpms. all this did was excite me that much more. gixxer 1000 lookout! this bike in capable hands will blow you away,it's the best bike out there if you live life between your legs..
- leander824, west new york , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-02 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i am speechless. buy it, ride it, marry it!!!!!!!!!! today.
- te, dfb, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-27 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was very sad to trade in my 2000 R1 for the new R1, not knowing what I was getting into. All that disappeared though as I rode off on my 2002 R1, which I can say with confidence is a much better bike than the 2000-01 version. Turn-in is much quicker, it feels lighter, and all through the RPM range the engine pulls stronger. Headshake over bumps has also been eliminated. Believe me, this is more power than you'll ever need! Plus this is the best-looking bike ever made! It makes the Gixxer and the CBR look outdated and slow (although they're not slow at all). I love the new gauges, the sweet shift light and the bad-ass LED taillight too! The 2002 R1 offers the best all-around package, bringing together the best of all worlds from all the open classers out there in one mean and sharp-looking bike! To me, the R1 will always be the king of all sportbikes!
- XWing, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2002 R-1 is a very good bike. I like all of the changes that were made for this year addition. This is one of few bikes that you won't need ANY mods on it to enjoy the ride. It gives you handle, speed, and all of the things that you want and look for in a sportsbike. The R-1 has added HP's, but still not even close to the Gixxer 1000. You know what...I really don't CARE!!! The R-1 2002 will give you all that you can handle....and then some. It's a beast on the back roads!!!! If you want the total package get the R-1 while you still can....because they will be plenty of 954's and Gixxers on the floor at your local shop. Trust me. :-)
- Big B, Wash., District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-11 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At least the black and silver is the best looking superbike ever (next to the early CBR silver and black)! With the fuel injection the R1 is VERY responsive, maybe too responsive. It feels solid (no twitchey front end). It leans easy .... very light. Transmission is a little clunky but works well going up the gears and down. The gages etc. are great...wish the turn indicators were atomatic. It is amazing the improvement over my 1994 CBR 900. These bikes seem to be sold out everywhere for 2002. I paid list to get one. This is a motorcycle that will teach you to respect 155 HP pulling a 382 pound motorcycle. My bet is that the YZF-R1 will dominate the superbike racing this year... it has so much potential in the right hands!!!!
- Glynn Donaho, Saint Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-04 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2001 and was looking at trading it in for the new 954 Honda but i read the report from cycle world where they liked the 929 over the 954 so idecided to ride both the 954 nice but not much for the real sportbike person get the r-1 and hold on, its great
- Doug Wareing, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-01 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2002 Yamaha R1. This bike is amazing to say the least. The looks are great alone, but to add to it the power and lightweight feel of the bike is unbelievable. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a serious sportbike. It is definitely the top of its class.
- Bert Cain, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-18 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after riding the 02 R1 this past weekend, I am extremely happy with my choice to go with the Honda 954, between the holywood lighting job on Yamaha's website and the real life blandness of the R1, I did not expect too much from the ride, and that is what I got. No doubt the 954 smokes this F4i Wannabee, hang innthere Yamaha, there is always next year!!
- John San Nicholas, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Words can't even describe this bike. If anyone is thinking about getting any other liter bike aside from the R-1 forget it!! The awesome R-1 has got the gixxer 1000 and the 954rr out-classed in horsepower delivery, looks and fun factor. There's no other bike like it in this world. I'm surprised the new R1 is even street legal it's extremely powerful and not recommended for the faint of heart. I look forward to dusting the gixxer's arse this year
- formula extreme racer, buckrukenville, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: