Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-04-20 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 17 140 pounds, and I just bought a 2002 Yamaha blue R6. It's great! It's got plenty of power and its handling is great. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone who finds one.
- Patrick, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-17 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to share with everyone my enthusiasm and new love for my red/black 2002 R6. For those looking for their first bike, I highly suggest the R6. Although the comfort isn't the greatest, its an amazing machine that is useable for all experience levels if you have the right head about you. Once you hit that 7000, 8000 rpm range it wants to go...really quick. It is so easy to change from a low speed limit in town to hitting it at 65 out of town. don't be afraid to look at sportbikes for your first love, they may seem intimidating (I know my R6 scared the crap out of me the first time I looked at it) but they are truly forgiving with the capable rider. I do however recommend taking your state certified rider course to get your license; I wouldn't be riding a bike without it. Be careful of the turning radius on the R6 though; you may think you can turn it around in the driveway, but you can't (as I found out). Take that extra time to go straight in and back it out when you need too. The worst thing about dropping your bike isn't the scratch but the ruined psyche. Look to buy at a dealership; you never know what the private seller has done to the bike, but the dealer will thoroughly look it over before taking it in. Best of luck!
- Kyle, Northern Illinois, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-20 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Red '02 new in April '03 and am very proud of my decision. This is my first bike and it gets a lot of attention. This bike really moves when you want it to move and loves the corners. It handles like it's on rails and wants to lean more than you would need it to. I've found it to be very forgiving eventhough it has a lot of power for its class.
- Bernard Tucker, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-15 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO RIDE JUST ABOUT EVERY 600 OUT THERE AND I haven't RIDDEN ONE YET THAT FEELS AS GOOD AS MY 6. I LOVE MY 6 AND WOULD ADVISE ANYONE TO CHECKEM OUT.
- AARON KAKEBEEN, HOLLISTER, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-12 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded from a '96 Suzuki Bandit to this bike. I had been searching for a 600-class sportbike for some time when I found a "New" 2002 Red R6 at a dealer!!! What a surprise -- here it is end of 2003 and there it sat -- 100 miles, full factory warranty AND eligible for Yamaha's financing promotions!!! I test drove it and fell in love. Since then I have ridden up a couple of canyons here in Colorado, and the handling on it is incredible. I am still in the "break in" period so I haven't pushed beyond 8,000, so I'm yet to see what she can really do. My advice -- if you can find one like this -- GET IT!!!
- Brent, Loveland, , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-14 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is the second time i bought a yamaha sportbike the first was a fzr600 back in 89 and now the 02 yzf r-6 what a change the bike is just such a joy to ride and ride it i have 21000 miles since the date of purchase march 2002 this is the best bike i have owned keep up the good work Yamaha you guys rule!!
- rocket, mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-15 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
late summer this year, me and my compadre(r6) took a nasty spill and were able to walk away from it with mild injuries. Amazingly thru it all she's rideable and im alive and able to walk and talk about it. I dont know much about other bikes and how much confidence they actually provide even in the toughest of situaions, all I know is I will always have an (r6) no matter how big my collection of toys may get. Next year by January 2003, I will officially have airbrushed my daughters face on the windscreen of my R6 as a token of my appreciation of being given the chance to tuck her in one for many more nights. p.s: Check us out at the Jacob Javits Centre in January 2003 alongside the pit stop display/ or just email us.
- dizzy devil, hackensak, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-01 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding this bike now for about 2 months and it just keeps getting better and better. The ride is silky and handeling is amazingly light. This bike just wants to be ridden hard!! This bike pulls increadibly hard from 10 000 RPM and up leaving your buddies in the dust. However, this bike is not for pussies!!! The longer you ride, the harder it is on your back and wrists. Who cares though!!! Just a small sacrifice for a wicked bike. If you want comfort go with the F4i..... if you want real performance go with the R6!!!! onemore thing.... the factory pipe is so damn quiet.... my new Yoshimura slip on gives it that distinctive bark!!
- Deemon, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-20 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2002 YZF-R6 is the best toy I have ever owned. Straight out the crate, with no modifications as of yet, I cherish it's raw power & handling. On our first ride out together, I could not help but to lay all the way down on the gas tank and roll the throttle all the way back by the time I was in fifth. sixth, well thats a whole other story. The only regret I have so far is that I live on the north-east and it's the middle of march "the weather sucks." I am however looking forward to a great summer, sunshine and open roads. THANK YOU YAMAHA. Good job.
- DIZASTA, HACKENSACK, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-19 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although November is not a good time in Boston to ride a new bike, I couldn't help but to take it out and ride it when I picked it up. I have to admit....I was apprehensive regarding the aggressive nature of the R6 in comparison to the Katana I had before, but after riding it for an hour I felt I had been on it for over a year. It is more comfortable than it looks and steers pleasantly(once you get moving....tight turns can make you curse). The engine performance is outstanding, providing an adrenaline rush that makes me look for the next opportunity to hit it again. The looks are sexy and the bike is dependable. I have never been so content with a toy purchase....can't wait for it to warm up a bit!!
- Tim Scherer, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been ten very long years since I have owned a motorcycle. My last bike was a Ninja 600 and wow have 600's improved. Handling is sharper with a greater sense of flickability which might be due to the lower weight. Of course the power seems like there's quite a bit more too. And it's been tough keeping this thing below 6K RPM. I cannot wait till the required break-in period is over. The front brake is two fingers if you really have to stop but I usually just use one finger to slow down or scrub speed (used to mtn. bike I guess.) The rear break actually works -- My ten year+ Ninja rear break didn't seem to do anything. The suspension seems kinda firm but with great control. I am about 165lbs. don't know if it needs to break in or I just need to ride it harder :) I researched every 600 diligently, aside from actually test riding before purchasing the R6. I don't think I could have made a bad decision by picking another manufacturer's 600. I chose the Yamaha based on it's reliability (almost Honda like) and compact ergo's. Ironically, my only complaint so far is that it seems difficult to negotiate at very slow speeds. Like in and out of the garage/driveway --> May just be my rustiness... Anyway have fun everyone! I know I have an ear to ear smile under my helmet. BTW, I am proud to be part of the motorcycle community again. It was a beautiful day in Ga today, saw plenty of bikers, it's nice that we acknowledge each other with a wave.
- Ron , Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: