Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-01 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '03 Chopper used. I felt Big Dog and my dealer could have told me to go away when I had some minor problems. Instead I received the best warranty and service I have ever experienced. When you have a custom bike you have to expect there will be issues arising. Both the factory and the dealership earned themselves a life long customer. As far as the bike, it is totally bad-ass. Not only is it fast and comfortable, but attracts all the attention you would want.
- Johnny Grose, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-18 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so great I may have to buy another one. No problems except for a leaking oil hose, which was replaced in an hour. Long trips are nice on the bike, except for a little stiffness in the suspension. I have no reason to upgrade anything, the bike is near perfect. I may even give this one to the wife and get me my own Chopper.
- mike, virginia beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-25 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding Harley's for 25 yrs. None of them compare to the '03 Big Dog Chopper I own now. Great ride, reliable, and what a head turner. Big Dog has also been great in backing their product.
- Gary S., Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-03 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 20+ years and have owned many different bikes including a Honda Wing, Harley Fat Boy and many others. Without question this is the best looking bike I have ever owned and certainly the most fun to ride. No matter when or where I ride, I am guaranteed to have people pull up next to me with a BIG thumbs up or screaming NICE BIKE! I have not yet gone out without several comments. The bike is built better than any I've owned so far and has a GREAT ride. Big Dog has selected top components and does a GREAT job. I drove 5 hours to pick up this bike. The folks at Big Dog have been great too.
- Phil, Medford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a crusty old retired engineer/waterski coach that has had many Harleys. Quality was number one with me, and even though I worried about things like fiberglass fenders, overall I have got to say I am pleased. It came with a Daytech frame. Every scooter I owned has had some little problems. My old 1988 puked oil after sitting for more than 2 weeks. Lived with that for 15yrs. Pans and Flatheads required constant attention. I plan to just get up close and personal with this ride, and enjoy the heck out of it. I have never experienced smooth power, and so much attention out on the road. After throwing my leg over every Chopper on the planet, reading reviews, talking to every one that would offer comparisons, it boiled down to finding a dealer that would treat me right and put down the money on my choice of color. (the trick sissy-bar mount for the old lady the three times a year, was huge)
- Coach, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have rode several choppers but nothing rode as good as the Big Dog Chopper. Handling is great, plenty of power, and it is a great looking bike. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking for a chopper.
- Randy Spradlin, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning many different bikes over the past twenty years. I cannot seem to find enough great things to say about my new Chopper. Best bike I've ever owned....
- Klean, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-18 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Dealer support, Many top ratings: paint, chrome, start up, finishes. The intitial ride was so perfect in many ways: ride quality, choke and carb perfection, handling, and most important, it great looks and attention! This is a marvelous looking and running machine. You can try and pick at it, but the truth is that this is a tremendous value for the money. A wonderful looking and running "custom" for a very reasonable price!
- Roverpal, Ross, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-28 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As someone who has owned everything from Harleys to Hayabusas, take it from me that this bike is in a class by itself. I just test rode (and ordered) a chopper and came away very impressed. The handling is excellent for a chopper. The bike does have a very slight tendency to turn left due to the offset of the primary. This is a minor tendency and will soon be forgotten after a day or so. Vibration is moderate but certainly tolerable - about what I would expect from a 107" motor. Speaking of the 107" motor, the power is plentiful to say the least. Certainly more than enough to smoke the 250 rear tire down to the rims. The fit and finish is the best I've seen and the bike started easily on a 40 degree day. What a head turner! If you're looking for a back road corner carver, move on. If, however, you're looking for the most well balanced, best looking chopper on the market - look no further. As for the resale value - that remains to be seen - but if you're looking for an investment, buy a mutual fund. While the Texas Chopper is a fine mount, I don't think it can match the Big Dog in the looks department. This is the best money I've ever spent on a bike.
- Paul White, Dracut, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-20 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned bike many bikes over the years and have never been happier.This thing get constant attention and everyone wants to know who built it.I'm the only one on the big island with a chopper so far,but I think there will be more to follow.
- jim, hilo, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 20 years off and on. Never a chopper but thought I would take a chance due to my height and build looks better on the chopper. It rides great in my opinion. Turns take a little getting used to but nothing 1 day of riding didnt cure. I will say I have had the same attention others have mentioned. People pull over their cars to look and say "NICE BIKE". I love it. Only have 230 miles now due to working alot but will put much more on it soon. Looking forward to many upgrades soon. As far as the Texas chopper comparison. I never rode a TX Chopper. But one guy I was going to buy a used Big Dog from did. It was his friends. He and his friend said the ride was much better on the BD. And was no better built. He sold his TX Chopper to get a BD. And another guy used to sell Big dogs. Left the dealer to go work elsewhere. Bought a Texas chopper. The other day I saw him at the BD dealer trying to trade his Texas chopper in on a BD Chopper.
- Todd, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first I was a little worried, payed a lot of money and have never ridden a chopper before. I was worried about vibration, cornering and how my wife would like the ride. It's not as smooth as my fatboy but damn close, handled great and my wife likes the ride better than my harley. And you want to talk head turner, you won't know till you are on one. I have had people follow me to try to get me to stop so they can talk to me. I agree it's not the bike for everyone, but you won't hear me bitchin. THANKS BIG DOG!
- w. wardley, huntsville, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-22 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is a fine piece of work. The bike really fits well and is amazingly comfortable to ride. Everyone I see loves the bike. Especially the women! It's a great comfortable cruiser. 6th gear is great on the freeway. In my opinion the Big Dog Chopper is a much nicer looking bike than the Texas Chopper. It does have a tendency to pull mildly left but I don't care!!!!! It is the best bike for the money hands down.
- Todd , Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode both the big dog and the iron horse texas chopper. The big dog is more comfortable, handles better, and is just and all around better bike. It feels much tighter and better built than the texas chopper.
- roadside, levittown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had mine about 3 months now. Only complaint is that you must be careful on all corners because of clearance. I've added Big Gun II pipes, LED side mounted brake light, spike rear axles covers, spike fork tub, headbolt covers and a custom velocity stack with Joker breathers. Oh,,,double helix spark plug neon as well as color changing neon. Nobody, but nobody gets more looks than this bike.
- Bob, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-02 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden most all and the Big Dog Chopper is the " Top Dog " 5 hp who cares,less vibration better looking swing arm, more bike less bucks.
- Mike, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden both the Dog and the Horse, and I can tell you the Horse has nicer fit and finish, 5 more hp, a fully polished engine, digital speedometer and tachometer, 1 year more warranty, a cool Stealth swingarm, a Steel-Belted Radial 240 rear tire vs the Dog's Bias-Ply 250, a strutless rear fender, and different choices in both wheels and engine displacements! The Dog doesn't compare, and although it is a nice bike, it can't run with a Horse!
- Big J, Ebro, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-21 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my chopper two days and 200 miles ago. Let me say this is my first "bar hopper". My other bike is a 2000 FLHRCI. I knew going into this purchase the ride wouldn't be as comfortable. But what cool fat tire, low riding, bar hopper CAN bost a smooth ride. However, I'll say that the ride is far better than expected. The vibration is there. But it should be!! The seating position is extremely comfortable. The only pain I've had is in the shoulders because this riding position is far different from what I'm used. But... that's a SMALL price to pay for the attention this bike commands. At every stoplight and in every parking lot... people go out of there way to look at it!!! And the bottom line is... that's WHY I BOUGHT IT!!! I wasn't expecting a touring bike style ride. I wanted a ride that commanded attention - turned heads - and put asses in the seats. This bike does exactly that. I love it!!! Sure the 250 rear makes sharp turning a finesse move - but who the hell cares!?! If you're looking for a ride that draws the attention that you want for your bike... this is it!!! Just wait till I get the downwind Forcewinder, Joker Machine breathers, and Paul Yaffe black X-Pipes put on next weekend... Sick... completely sick - AND I LOVE IT!!!
- Jeff Lockhart, Mundelein, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-16 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a Chopper last March and have put a little over 2,500 miles on the beast, thus far. It is an absolute joy to ride and an incredible piece of machinery. This bike brings a smile to my face everytime I'm on it, hell I'm happy just looking at it! This bike is not for everyone and takes some getting used too, but once your in the groove and hitting that sweet spot it's the most awesome ride out there. Hats off to Big Dog for "getting it right"
- Paul Sanscartier, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a BigDog Pitbull for two years and loved it... but when I saw the Chopper and knowing they way BigDog Motorcycles, Inc. takes care of their customers I knew I had to have one. So in April I purchased my Chopper. I have owned 9 bikes since 1979.... everything from a Honda to Harley. (all great bikes) There is know doubt this is the best money I have ever spent. Went you have a Bike like this it better be good... because the person that would never invest in this kind of motorcycle is always ready to say something negative without really knowing anything about it.
- M Willis, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-07 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
be careful if you buy one of these, so many people slow down to take a look when riding on the freeway it's scary. I bought a 15 passenger van to carry all of the women that want to ride with me , but I can only carry one at a time
- mike, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-23 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE ENJOYED EVERY MILE-SLOW RT HANDERS DO REQUIRE A LITTLE MORE RIDER INPUT-BIG DOG HAS PUT A LOT OF ENERGY INTO THIS BIKE AND IT SHOWS-GREAT ATTENTION TO DETAIL-DEALER ADDED STREET SWEEPERS AND REJETTED-PERFECT COMBO!EASY TO START HOT OR COLD-GREAT RESPONSE-NOT THE PERFECT BIKE FOR EVERYONE BUT IT IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE PERFECT BIKE FOR ME!
- KEVIN, WHEELING, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: