Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-08-17 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have several Harleys. That being said, I have a 2003 Big Dog Bulldog that is red - solid red. It's just red and chrome and let me tell you this sucker will thrill you. I don't care who you are. I have never been passed on Interstate 80 and I take all challengers. I've had it to 145 fast. It's enough to scare me and it was still going. This bike is awesome. My friends hate it because it gets all the attention
- Richard means, Auburn, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I purchased this bike only 7 months ago, It has been GREAT! Only had to replace the throtle cables, and the headlight plug. That can happen to any 7 year old bike. The Big DOG has POWER-GREAT LOOKS-and as far as I am conserned it is very DEPENDABLE. Hell, I want to buy another!
- Jersey James, Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had several big twins and this BULLDOG is by far thee BEST ride. The right side trans makes for a well balanced machine. The bike handles fantastic. Need a break from the machine about every 2 hours on long rides but I'm getting old. Had I known about this bike before, I would've purchased long ago. Thanks to the guys at the dealership. Half a mile down & I was in heaven... had to have it. If you're looking for an awesome ride with great balance & literally no requirements for updgrade...the BULL DOG is the way to go. I sat on the new ones and they're nice but I'm sticking with my '03. She's a beaut.
- EJC, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding over 30 years and have owned a lot of Harleys, but the Bigdog Mastiff that I now own is one of the best, if not the best. When parked next to my Softail Deuce, my Deuce looks soooo inferior. Sad to say, but my Deuce looks like something Mattel would have built. The Bigdog quality is superior, the S&S motor is incredible and the ride is fantastic. And the look is off the charts. Just ask the many, many people who give a thumbs up or gawk at it like no other. Man, I love this ride.!
- JOE YENIK, CATASAUQUA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-06 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 3,000 miles on my PitBull and what a blast. I just got back from the Lone Star Rally with over 300,000 bikes in attendance. I did about a 2 hour drive straight to get there and it was perfect like always. Even with all those super custom bikes, mine still got tons of people taking photos of it. If you need an ego boost, it's the way to go. Everyone at every light has something to say. I have contacted BigDogs by e-mail and they got back to me right away, so the customer service has been great there too. This thing gets to 100mph as fast as my 1000cc sport bike. Being a Ridged, the only thing to watch out for are railroad tracks, but you just learn to bear and grin it.
- Alan Kuehler, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-01 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '03 Chopper used. I felt Big Dog and my dealer could have told me to go away when I had some minor problems. Instead I received the best warranty and service I have ever experienced. When you have a custom bike you have to expect there will be issues arising. Both the factory and the dealership earned themselves a life long customer. As far as the bike, it is totally bad-ass. Not only is it fast and comfortable, but attracts all the attention you would want.
- Johnny Grose, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with the bike with one exception. The electronic component controlling directionals, speedodometer and brake lights has gone out on me three times now. The dealer has repaired it each time, but it's starting to get a little annoying. Would like this issue resolved before warranty is up. Other than that it's fun, fast and noticed by others whenever it's out.
- anonymous, Austell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I must say, 4000 miles into this thing I haven't one regret spending the money on my 2003 pitbull. I was a little hesitant on buying a rigid bike at first, but the second I sat on this thing it instantly became a part of me. Would you believe I bought it without even test riding it? This thing is absolutely awesome from paint to performance!! If you're in the market for a custom with a 2-year warranty and lots of power, try this one out for size. Get ready to be noticed. It's funny that it has even helped out my business being a focal point when I have it parked out front. Oh and for the best part of it, boys get ready for some action, this thing is a woman magnet!!! Trust me!
- Nelson, New Bedford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-18 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so great I may have to buy another one. No problems except for a leaking oil hose, which was replaced in an hour. Long trips are nice on the bike, except for a little stiffness in the suspension. I have no reason to upgrade anything, the bike is near perfect. I may even give this one to the wife and get me my own Chopper.
- mike, virginia beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-25 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding Harley's for 25 yrs. None of them compare to the '03 Big Dog Chopper I own now. Great ride, reliable, and what a head turner. Big Dog has also been great in backing their product.
- Gary S., Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-03 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 20+ years and have owned many different bikes including a Honda Wing, Harley Fat Boy and many others. Without question this is the best looking bike I have ever owned and certainly the most fun to ride. No matter when or where I ride, I am guaranteed to have people pull up next to me with a BIG thumbs up or screaming NICE BIKE! I have not yet gone out without several comments. The bike is built better than any I've owned so far and has a GREAT ride. Big Dog has selected top components and does a GREAT job. I drove 5 hours to pick up this bike. The folks at Big Dog have been great too.
- Phil, Medford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a crusty old retired engineer/waterski coach that has had many Harleys. Quality was number one with me, and even though I worried about things like fiberglass fenders, overall I have got to say I am pleased. It came with a Daytech frame. Every scooter I owned has had some little problems. My old 1988 puked oil after sitting for more than 2 weeks. Lived with that for 15yrs. Pans and Flatheads required constant attention. I plan to just get up close and personal with this ride, and enjoy the heck out of it. I have never experienced smooth power, and so much attention out on the road. After throwing my leg over every Chopper on the planet, reading reviews, talking to every one that would offer comparisons, it boiled down to finding a dealer that would treat me right and put down the money on my choice of color. (the trick sissy-bar mount for the old lady the three times a year, was huge)
- Coach, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Husky Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have spent the last 6 months looking at bikes. HD, Indians, customs, etc. After I test Rode the Husky it was all over. It was the last 03 on the lot and the 04's just arrived. If you are looking for a complete bike with chrome, power, and appeal than this is it. I bought it for myself on my birthday and have never regretted a moment since. Sometimes I just wander into the garage and just stare at it! Every man needs a bike like this. The price was right with all of the customizations already done. Reward your self with one of these serious machines today!
- Rich Nicolosi, La mesa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have rode several choppers but nothing rode as good as the Big Dog Chopper. Handling is great, plenty of power, and it is a great looking bike. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking for a chopper.
- Randy Spradlin, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-22 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Husky Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great handling, powerful, and beautiful machine. I can't take it anywhere without people asking about it. I've ridden plenty of the "fat tire" bikes and if you don't know any better they're o.k. (I guess it's more important to look beefy from behind than to really ride for some guys,) but the 180 on the rear of this bike gives you a machine that can do it all. Balance is great as is the layout. Get over the fad of having a big, fat, back tire and ride a real bike.
- T. Salvador, Port Saint Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2003 Pitbull used with 976 miles on it. The bike was immaculate...and gorgeous. As you all know, BDM puts a ton of emphasis on performance as well as looks. Without fail, whenever I stop at a light, the guy in the car next to me rolls down his window and wants to know about the bike. With the exception of a very small electrical issue (the left turn signal does not turn off after the turn is completed) my bike runs flawlessly. If you are in the market for a factory custom, I can't recommend BDM enough.
- Marc, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning many different bikes over the past twenty years. I cannot seem to find enough great things to say about my new Chopper. Best bike I've ever owned....
- Klean, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-18 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Dealer support, Many top ratings: paint, chrome, start up, finishes. The intitial ride was so perfect in many ways: ride quality, choke and carb perfection, handling, and most important, it great looks and attention! This is a marvelous looking and running machine. You can try and pick at it, but the truth is that this is a tremendous value for the money. A wonderful looking and running "custom" for a very reasonable price!
- Roverpal, Ross, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-28 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As someone who has owned everything from Harleys to Hayabusas, take it from me that this bike is in a class by itself. I just test rode (and ordered) a chopper and came away very impressed. The handling is excellent for a chopper. The bike does have a very slight tendency to turn left due to the offset of the primary. This is a minor tendency and will soon be forgotten after a day or so. Vibration is moderate but certainly tolerable - about what I would expect from a 107" motor. Speaking of the 107" motor, the power is plentiful to say the least. Certainly more than enough to smoke the 250 rear tire down to the rims. The fit and finish is the best I've seen and the bike started easily on a 40 degree day. What a head turner! If you're looking for a back road corner carver, move on. If, however, you're looking for the most well balanced, best looking chopper on the market - look no further. As for the resale value - that remains to be seen - but if you're looking for an investment, buy a mutual fund. While the Texas Chopper is a fine mount, I don't think it can match the Big Dog in the looks department. This is the best money I've ever spent on a bike.
- Paul White, Dracut, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-04 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Husky Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The big dog husky is my first street bike and I could not be more happy. My friends talked me out of a HD, because the big dog already had everything on it! Once the bike arrived I was even more impressed! Oh what a ride!
- Monte Moser, Clovis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-20 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned bike many bikes over the years and have never been happier.This thing get constant attention and everyone wants to know who built it.I'm the only one on the big island with a chopper so far,but I think there will be more to follow.
- jim, hilo, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 20 years off and on. Never a chopper but thought I would take a chance due to my height and build looks better on the chopper. It rides great in my opinion. Turns take a little getting used to but nothing 1 day of riding didnt cure. I will say I have had the same attention others have mentioned. People pull over their cars to look and say "NICE BIKE". I love it. Only have 230 miles now due to working alot but will put much more on it soon. Looking forward to many upgrades soon. As far as the Texas chopper comparison. I never rode a TX Chopper. But one guy I was going to buy a used Big Dog from did. It was his friends. He and his friend said the ride was much better on the BD. And was no better built. He sold his TX Chopper to get a BD. And another guy used to sell Big dogs. Left the dealer to go work elsewhere. Bought a Texas chopper. The other day I saw him at the BD dealer trying to trade his Texas chopper in on a BD Chopper.
- Todd, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first I was a little worried, payed a lot of money and have never ridden a chopper before. I was worried about vibration, cornering and how my wife would like the ride. It's not as smooth as my fatboy but damn close, handled great and my wife likes the ride better than my harley. And you want to talk head turner, you won't know till you are on one. I have had people follow me to try to get me to stop so they can talk to me. I agree it's not the bike for everyone, but you won't hear me grumbling. THANKS BIG DOG!
- w. wardley, huntsville, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-22 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is a fine piece of work. The bike really fits well and is amazingly comfortable to ride. Everyone I see loves the bike. Especially the women! It's a great comfortable cruiser. 6th gear is great on the freeway. In my opinion the Big Dog Chopper is a much nicer looking bike than the Texas Chopper. It does have a tendency to pull mildly left but I don't care!!!!! It is the best bike for the money hands down.
- Todd , Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-19 2003 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode both the big dog and the iron horse texas chopper. The big dog is more comfortable, handles better, and is just and all around better bike. It feels much tighter and better built than the texas chopper.
- roadside, levittown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: